,5-22DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 6-10, 12, 14-17, 19-20 and 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. US Patent Pub. No.: 2020/0296614 A1, hereinafter, ‘Lee’ in view of Manalakos et al., US 20220038927 A1, hereinafter, ‘Manolakos’.
Consider Claim 1, Lee teaches a base station (e.g., see Base station 1410 of figure 14) for wireless communication, comprising: at least one memory(e.g., see memory 1412 of figure 14); and at least one processor(e.g., see processor 1411 of figure 14 ) coupled with the at least one memory and configured to cause the base station to: transmit, to a first user equipment (UE), first configuration information (e.g., see at least figure 9, S910, “ Ranging configuration information” and figure 12, S1210, “ranging configuration information”) regarding a ranging measurement operation between the first UE and one or more second UEs (e.g., see figure 9 - steps 920 and 930- RNG REQ, RNG -RES).
However, Lee does not specifically teach first configuration information regarding a time period related to a ranging measurement operation between the first UE and one or more second UEs, wherein the time period includes at least one of a ranging time window and a ranging time gap, wherein the ranging measurement operation is executed by the first UE to the one or more second UEs during the ranging time window, and wherein a radio frequency (RF) switch procedure for the ranging measurement operation is executed by the first UE during the ranging time gap.
In analogous art, configuration information regarding a time period related to measurement operation (e.g., see at least measure gap configuration 1120, figure 11 and noted in at least 0142-0149), wherein the time period includes at least one of a time window and a time gap (e.g., see at least measure gap timing as notes in at least 0122-0149 ), wherein the measurement operation is executed by a first node to the one or more second nodes during the time window(e.g., see at least 0145- “In NR, the serving cell configures a UE with periodic measurement gaps during which the UE is expected to perform RRM measurements.”), and wherein a radio frequency (RF) switch procedure for the measurement operation is executed by the node during the time gap (e.g., this is met based on the teachings of at least 0146- “at the start of a measurement gap, the UE tunes to the target frequency, then performs the measurement, and then tunes back (i.e., switch RF)to the source frequency at the end of the gap. No uplink transmission is permitted inside a measurement gap, as the UE is not synchronized to the uplink timing for inter-frequency or inter-RAT cells”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to perform the measurements between the two UEs using configured measurement windows as defined the standard and applied in Manolakos to arrive at the claimed first configuration information regarding a time period related to a ranging measurement operation between the first UE and one or more second UEs, wherein the time period includes at least one of a ranging time window and a ranging time gap, wherein the ranging measurement operation is executed by the first UE to the one or more second UEs during the ranging time window, and wherein a radio frequency (RF) switch procedure for the ranging measurement operation is executed by the first UE during the ranging time gap for purpose improving signaling efficiencies.
Consider Claim 7 and as applied to the Processor of claim 16 and Method of claim 22, Lee teaches a first user equipment (UE) for wireless communication (e.g., UE 1420, figure 14 teaches a UE ), comprising: at least one memory(e.g., see memory 1422, of figure 14 teaches a UE with a memory); and at least one processor coupled with the at least one memory and configured (e.g., see processor 1421, figure 14 teaches a UE with a processor) to cause the first UE to: receive, from a network node, first configuration information regarding measurement operation(e.g., see at least figure 9, S910, “ Ranging configuration information” and figure 12, S1210, “ranging configuration information”), execute the ranging measurement operation to the one or more second UEs(e.g., see figure 9 - steps 920 and 930).
Lee does not teach to receive, from a network node, first configuration information regarding a time period related to a ranging measurement operation between the first UE and one or more second UEs, wherein the time period includes at least one of a ranging time window and a ranging time gap; execute the ranging measurement operation to the one or more second UEs during the ranging time window; and execute a radio frequency (RF) switch procedure for the ranging measurement operation during the ranging time gap (i.e., the base station configures the UE to perform measurements between the UE and another device that is not necessarily the Base Station).
In analogous art, Manolakos teaches to receive, from a network node, first configuration information regarding a time period related to a measurement operation (e.g., see at least measure gap configuration 1120, figure 11 and noted in at least 0142-0149), wherein the time period includes at least one of a ranging time window and a ranging time gap(e.g., see at least measure gap timing as notes in at least 0122-0149 ); execute the ranging measurement operation during the ranging time window(e.g., see at least 0145- “In NR, the serving cell configures a UE with periodic measurement gaps during which the UE is expected to perform RRM measurements.”); and execute a radio frequency (RF) switch procedure for the ranging measurement operation during the ranging time gap(e.g., this is met based on the teachings of at least 0146- “at the start of a measurement gap, the UE tunes to the target frequency, then performs the measurement, and then tunes back (i.e., switch RF )to the source frequency at the end of the gap. No uplink transmission is permitted inside a measurement gap, as the UE is not synchronized to the uplink timing for inter-frequency or inter-RAT cells”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to perform the measurements between the two UEs using configured measurement windows as defined the standard and applied in Manolakos to arrive at the claimed first configuration information regarding a time period related to a ranging measurement operation between the first UE and one or more second UEs, wherein the time period includes at least one of a ranging time window and a ranging time gap, wherein the ranging measurement operation is executed by the first UE to the one or more second UEs during the ranging time window, and wherein a radio frequency (RF) switch procedure for the ranging measurement operation is executed by the first UE during the ranging time gap for purpose improving signaling efficiencies.
Consider Claims 2, 8 and 17, Lee teaches the configuration information (e.g., see at least figure 9, S910, “Ranging configuration information” and figure 12, S1210, “ranging configuration information”).
However, Lee does not specifically teach wherein the first configuration information includes at least one of: configuration information regarding the ranging time window; and configuration information regarding the ranging time gap.
In analogous art, Manolakos teaches to receive, from a network node, first configuration information regarding a time period related to a measurement operation (e.g., see at least measure gap configuration 1120, figure 11 and noted in at least 0142-0149), wherein the time period includes at least one of a ranging time window and a ranging time gap(e.g., see at least measure gap timing as notes in at least 0122-0149 ).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to provide configuration information regarding ranging window and time for the purpose of improving signaling efficiencies between device nodes.
Consider Claims 6, 14 and 20, Lee teaches wherein the ranging measurement operation includes at least one of: a ranging reference signal (RS) transmission at an observer UE; a ranging RS transmission at a target UE(e.g., see reference signal or sequence noted in at least 0157); a ranging RS reception at the observer UE(e.g., see reference signal or sequence noted in at least 0157); a ranging RS reception at the target UE; a target-unaware ranging signal transmission at the observer UE; a target-unaware ranging signal reflection reception at the observer UE; a positioning reference signal (PRS) transmission via a sidelink (e.g., see sidelink communication as described with respect to figures 18 and 19), wherein the sidelink is between two of the observer UE, the target UE, and an anchor UE, and wherein the PRS transmission is performed via at least one of the observer UE, the target UE, and the anchor UE; and a PRS reception via the sidelink, wherein the PRS reception is performed via the at least one of the observer UE, the target UE, and the anchor UE.
Consider Claim 9, Lee teaches the claimed invention except wherein the configuration information regarding the ranging time window includes at least one of: an indication indicating the first UE can execute which measurement kind of the ranging measurement operation in the ranging time window; a role of the first UE when using the ranging time window; an identifier (ID) of a UE associated with the ranging measurement operation within the one or more second UEs; an indication indicating whether the ranging time window can be used by the first UE for all of the one or more second UEs; one or more preconditions of the ranging time window applied to the first UE; a time length of the ranging time window; a repetition period in a time domain of the ranging time window; a start time offset to the repetition period in the time domain of the ranging time window; timing advance applied at the first UE when using the ranging time window; a frequency band associated with the ranging time window; and a reference cell indicator associated with the ranging time window.
In analogous art, Manolakos teaches one or more preconditions of the ranging time window applied to the first UE (i.e., this is met based on measurement gap configuration – noted in figure 11); a time length of the ranging time window (i.e., this is met based on the measurement period noted in at least figure 11); a repetition period in a time domain of the ranging time window (i.e., this is met based on the measurement repetition noted in at least figure 11).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to try wherein the configuration information regarding the ranging time window includes at least one of: an indication indicating the first UE can execute which measurement kind of the ranging measurement operation in the ranging time window; a role of the first UE when using the ranging time window; an identifier (ID) of a UE associated with the ranging measurement operation within the one or more second UEs; an indication indicating whether the ranging time window can be used by the first UE for all of the one or more second UEs; one or more preconditions of the ranging time window applied to the first UE; a time length of the ranging time window; a repetition period in a time domain of the ranging time window; a start time offset to the repetition period in the time domain of the ranging time window; timing advance applied at the first UE when using the ranging time window; a frequency band associated with the ranging time window; and a reference cell indicator associated with the ranging time window for the purpose of performing measurements.
Consider Claim 10, Lee teaches the claimed invention except wherein the configuration information regarding the ranging time gap includes at least one of: an indication indicating whether the RF switch procedure related to the ranging time gap is only dedicated for the ranging measurement operation or is shared between the ranging measurement operation and a further measurement operation; an indication indicating the first UE can execute which switch kind of the RF switch procedure in the ranging time gap, wherein a switch kind of the RF switch procedure includes at least one of: the RF switch procedure for transmission, and the RF switch procedure for reception; a role of the first UE when using the ranging time gap; an identifier (ID) of a UE associated with the RF switch procedure within the one or more second UEs; one or more preconditions of the ranging time gap applied to the first UE; a time length of the ranging time gap; a repetition period in a time domain of the ranging time gap; a start time offset to the repetition period in the time domain of the ranging time gap; timing advance applied at the first UE when using the ranging time gap; a frequency band associated with the ranging time gap; and a reference cell indicator associated with the ranging time gap.
In analogous art, Manolakos teaches in at least 0146- “at the start of a measurement gap, the UE tunes to the target frequency, then performs the measurement, and then tunes back to the source frequency at the end of the gap. No uplink transmission is permitted inside a measurement gap, as the UE is not synchronized to the uplink timing for inter-frequency or inter-RAT cells”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to try (see specifically bolded and underlined features that are suggested in the cited sections of Manolakos )wherein the configuration information regarding the ranging time gap includes at least one of: an indication indicating whether the RF switch procedure related to the ranging time gap is only dedicated for the ranging measurement operation or is shared between the ranging measurement operation and a further measurement operation; an indication indicating the first UE can execute which switch kind of the RF switch procedure in the ranging time gap, wherein a switch kind of the RF switch procedure includes at least one of: the RF switch procedure for transmission, and the RF switch procedure for reception; a role of the first UE when using the ranging time gap; an identifier (ID) of a UE associated with the RF switch procedure within the one or more second UEs; one or more preconditions of the ranging time gap applied to the first UE; a time length of the ranging time gap; a repetition period in a time domain of the ranging time gap; a start time offset to the repetition period in the time domain of the ranging time gap; timing advance applied at the first UE when using the ranging time gap; a frequency band associated with the ranging time gap; and a reference cell indicator associated with the ranging time gap for the purpose of performing measurements.
Consider Claims 12 and 19, Lee teaches wherein the first configuration information or the request is included in at least one of: a radio resource control (RRC) signaling message (e.g., see at least RRC exchanges suggested in 0048); a medium access control (MAC) control element (CE); a system information broadcast message; a dedicated sidelink signaling message; a sidelink MAC CE; and a sidelink system information broadcast message.
Claim(s) 15 and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. US Patent Pub. No.: 2020/0296614 A1, hereinafter, ‘Lee’ in view of Manalakos et al., US 20220038927 A1, hereinafter, ‘Manolakos’ and further in view of Wu US Patent Pub. No.: 2018/0255493.
Consider Claims 15 and 21, Lee as modified by Manolakos teaches the claimed invention except wherein the at least one processor is further configured cause the first UE to: reselect or handover to a second cell different from a first cell of the first UE, wherein the first cell is configured by the first configuration information; and release the first configuration information.
In analogous art, Wu teaches wherein the at least one processor is further configured cause the first UE to: reselect or handover to a second cell different from a first cell of the first UE, wherein the first cell is configured by the first configuration information; and release the first configuration information (e.g., see release or modify the configuration 0042-0046).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing to try wherein the at least one processor is further configured cause the first UE to: reselect or handover to a second cell different from a first cell of the first UE, wherein the first cell is configured by the first configuration information; and release the first configuration information for the purpose of resource optimization.
Claim(s) 5, 11, 13 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. US Patent Pub. No.: 2020/0296614 A1, hereinafter, ‘Lee’ in view of Manalakos et al., US 20220038927 A1, hereinafter, ‘Manolakos’ and further in view Jiang et al. US Patent Pub. No.: 2019/0373621, hereinafter, ‘Jiang’.
Consider Claims 5, 11 and 18, Lee as modified by Manolakos teaches the claimed invention except wherein the at least one processor is further configured to cause the base station to receive a request for the time period from the first UE.
In analogous art, Jiang teaches in paragraph 0060 whereby the at least one RTT ranging scheduling message (i.e., a time period) at 402/502 is transmitted in response to a ranging scheduling request transmitted by the UE 405 to the fixed reference node 505(i.e., a Base station ) (or another network component that schedules the RTT ranging procedure 400 on behalf of the fixed reference node and/or other fixed reference nodes).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to incorporate the timing request as suggested by jiang for the purpose of improving signaling efficiencies between device nodes.
Consider Claim 13, Lee as modified by Manolakos teaches the claimed invention except wherein the request includes at least one of: an indication for requesting the first configuration information; an indication indicating whether the first UE can execute the ranging measurement operation in the ranging time window; an indication indicating whether the first UE can execute the RF switch procedure in the ranging time gap; a role of the first UE when using the ranging time window; the role of the first UE when using the ranging time gap; an identifier (ID) of a third UE associated with the ranging measurement operation within the one or more second UEs; an ID of a fourth UE associated with the RF switch procedure within the one or more second UEs; an indication indicating whether the ranging time window can be used by the first UE for all of the one or more second UEs; an indication indicating whether the ranging time gap can be used by the first UE for all of the one or more second UEs; an indication indicating whether the ranging time gap is only dedicated for the ranging measurement operation or is shared between the ranging measurement operation and a further measurement operation; capability information of the first UE associated with the ranging time window; capability information of the first UE associated with the ranging time gap; a time length of the ranging time window; a time length of the ranging time gap; a repetition period in a time domain of the ranging time window; a repetition period in the time domain of the ranging time gap; start time of the ranging time window; start time of the ranging time gap; start time offset to a repetition period in the time domain of the ranging time window; start time offset to a repetition period in the time domain of the ranging time gap; timing advance of the ranging time.
In analogous art, Jiang teaches an indication indicating whether the first UE can execute the ranging measurement operation in the ranging time window (i.e., this would be indicated based on a request for a schedule to perform said execution in paragraph 0060 whereby the at least one RTT ranging scheduling message (i.e., a time period) at 402/502 is transmitted in response to a ranging scheduling request transmitted by the UE 405 to the fixed reference node 505(i.e., a Base station ) (or another network component that schedules the RTT ranging procedure 400 on behalf of the fixed reference node and/or other fixed reference nodes).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to try wherein the request includes at least one of: an indication for requesting the first configuration information; an indication indicating whether the first UE can execute the ranging measurement operation in the ranging time window; an indication indicating whether the first UE can execute the RF switch procedure in the ranging time gap; a role of the first UE when using the ranging time window; the role of the first UE when using the ranging time gap; an identifier (ID) of a third UE associated with the ranging measurement operation within the one or more second UEs; an ID of a fourth UE associated with the RF switch procedure within the one or more second UEs; an indication indicating whether the ranging time window can be used by the first UE for all of the one or more second UEs; an indication indicating whether the ranging time gap can be used by the first UE for all of the one or more second UEs; an indication indicating whether the ranging time gap is only dedicated for the ranging measurement operation or is shared between the ranging measurement operation and a further measurement operation; capability information of the first UE associated with the ranging time window; capability information of the first UE associated with the ranging time gap; a time length of the ranging time window; a time length of the ranging time gap; a repetition period in a time domain of the ranging time window; a repetition period in the time domain of the ranging time gap; start time of the ranging time window; start time of the ranging time gap; start time offset to a repetition period in the time domain of the ranging time window; start time offset to a repetition period in the time domain of the ranging time gap; timing advance of the ranging time window; timing advance of the ranging time gap; a frequency band associated with the ranging time window; and a frequency band associated with the ranging time gap for the purpose of performing measurements.
Conclusion
/CHARLES T SHEDRICK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2646