DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 2/28/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 8-11, 13, and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Li (11213429) hereafter Li.
Regarding claims 1, 10, and 11, Li discloses in figs 1-3 protective glasses and/or sunglasses, comprising: a frame (100) adapted to support a lens (300 and 400) assembly; a lens assembly (seen in fig. 2), at least partially surrounded by the frame (100) and comprising: at least one structural lens (300 and 400) made of plastic material (col. 4, lines 1-5); and at least one liquid crystal (LC) film of the guest-host (GH) type (col. 6, lines 20-25), arranged on an inner side of the at least one structural lens (300 and 400) and controlled by an electronic board powered by an energy source (col. 2, lines 45-55); wherein: the at least one structural lens (see fig. 2 and 5) comprises a free edge (fig. 2-5), extending beyond an outline of the at least one LC film (fig. 2-5, col. 3, line 44 – col. 4, line 40), at which the lens assembly is fixed to the frame (fig. 2-5); between the frame and the at least one LC film there is a free space (see fig. 2-5, col. 3, line 44 -col. 4, line 55); and the frame is provided with a vertically projecting rib (see fig. 2 and 5) covering said free edge of the at least one structural lens and said free space with the at least one LC film (fig. 2-5, col. 3, line 44 – col. 4, line 55 and col. 6).
Regarding claim 2, Li discloses the protective glasses and/or sunglasses of claim 1, wherein the electronic board controls activation of the at least one LC film (col. 3, lines 44-55), provided with a maximum transparency state (col. 3, lines 15-55), as a function of an ambient lighting level so that the at least one LC film remains in said maximum transparency state until reaching a lighting threshold, after which the at least one LC film begins to reduce transparency as ambient lighting increases (fig. 2-5, col. 3).
Regarding claim 8, Li discloses the protective glasses and/or sunglasses of claim 1, further comprising a pair of temples hinged to the frame, said pair of temples being made of a material having an elastic modulus lower than half of a material of which the frame is made (fig. 2-5, col. 3 and col. 4).
Regarding claim 9, Li discloses the protective glasses and/or sunglasses of claim 1, wherein said energy source consists of one or more photovoltaic cells (col. 3).
Regarding claim 13, Li discloses the protective glasses and/or sunglasses of claim 1, wherein the energy source is positioned behind the at least one structural lens and outside a perimeter of the at least one LC film (fig. 2-5, col. 3 and col. 4).
Regarding claim 14, Li discloses the protective glasses and/or sunglasses of claim 1, wherein the energy source is positioned outside a perimeter of the at least one LC film in an upper central part of the protective glasses and/or sunglasses (fig. 2-5, col. 3 and col. 4).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-7 and 12 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: with respect to claims 3-7 and 12 the prior art does not disclose the claimed combination of limitations to warrant rejection under 35 USC 102 or 103.
Conclusion
/JAMES C. JONES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872