DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Claims 1-12 are pending and are subject to this Office Action. This is the first Office Action on the merits of the claims.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description:
Pg. 14, Line 10: Inlet Channel 52
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
Pg. 1, Line 20: "unpleasantly could when" should read "unpleasantly cold when"
Pg. 13, Line 22: "cartridge 16 is bigger" should read "cartridge 14 is bigger"
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 9, 11, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Fraser (US 20190150520 A1).
With regard to Claim 1, Fraser, directed to an aerosol delivery device, teaches (i) an aerosol provision system [0042] comprising a reusable part (Fig. 4: #2), meeting the claim limitation of a main unit, and a separable and reusable mouthpiece cap (Fig. 4: #44, [0045]). (ii) The reusable part (Fig. 4: #2) receives and is coupled with a cartridge part (Fig. 4: #4a) for storing liquid [0066]. The cartridge part (Fig. 4: #4a) coupled with the reusable part (Fig. 4: #2), further comprises a heating element (Fig. 4: #14, [0042]). (iii) The mouthpiece cap (Fig. 4: #44) comprises an opening (Fig. 4: #30), that is in fluid communication with an opening (Fig. 4: #24a) of a second primary air channel (Fig. 4: #24), for a user to receive the generated aerosol [0063].
(iv) The mouthpiece cap (Fig. 4: #44) can engage with the reusable part (Fig. 4: #2) at a peripheral portion of the component in a snap-fit manner [0069]. (v) A first primary air channel (Fig. 4: #22) is formed between the mouthpiece cap (Fig. 4: #44) and reusable part (Fig. 4: #2). One would find it inherent that their engagement positions allow for the air channel (Fig. 4: #22) to be formed. (vi) The first primary air channel (Fig. 4: #22) and the second primary air channel (Fig. 4: #24) form a path [0072]), from an air inlet (Fig. 4: #20) to the opening (Fig. 4: #30) through the heating element (Fig. 4: #14, [0034 & 0063]).
With regard to Claim 2, Fraser teaches wherein the airflow path from the air inlet (Fig. 4: #20) to the opening (Fig. 4: #30) is formed upon assembly of the reusable part (Fig. 4: #2) and the mouthpiece cap (Fig. 4: #44, [0072]).
With regard to Claim 3, Fraser teaches wherein the cartridge part (Fig. 4: #4a) is replaceable [0045].
With regard to Claim 4, Fraser teaches wherein a portion (Fig. 4: "P") of the airflow path from the air inlet (Fig. 4: #20) to the opening (Fig. 4: #30) is defined between the cartridge part (Fig. 4: #4a) and the mouthpiece cap (Fig. 4: #44).
With regard to Claim 5, Fraser teaches wherein the cartridge part (Fig. 4: #4a) is tubular.
With regard to Claim 6, Fraser teaches wherein the cartridge part (Fig. 4: #4a) defines a central primary air channel (Fig. 4: #3, [0067]).
With regard to Claim 7, Fraser teaches wherein the path created by the first primary air channel (Fig. 4: #22) and the second primary air channel (Fig. 4: #24) leads through the primary air channel (Fig. 4: #3, [0034]).
With regard to Claim 9, Fraser teaches wherein the mouthpiece cap (Fig. 4: #44) has a lateral surface (Fig. 4: "L") and a proximal end (Fig. 4: "PE").
With regard to Claim 11, Fraser teaches wherein the air inlet (Fig. 4: #20) is arranged in a lateral surface of an outer housing of the reuseable part (Fig. 4: #2, [0068]).
With regard to Claim 12, Fraser teaches wherein the mouthpiece cap (Fig. 4: #44) comprises an opening (Fig. 4: #30) at a mouthpiece end (Fig. 4: #18) to allow the user to inhale generated aerosol [0063].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fraser (US 20190150520 A1), as applied to claims 1 and 6 above, and further in view of Davis (US 20200221769 A1).
With regard to Claim 8, Fraser teaches all the limitations of the claims as set forth above, however modified Fraser is silent to:
Wherein the complementary structural components of the mouthpiece of the main unit comprise a hollow element that extends into the central channel of the cartridge
Davis, directed to vaporizer cartridge devices and systems, teaches a mouthpiece assembly (Fig. 2B: #201B) comprising a hollow inner stem (Fig. 2: #240) that extends into a vapor chamber (Fig. 2: #239, 0047). One of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to modify the complementary structural components of Fraser to include Davis’s inner stem such that it extends into the central channel of Fraser's cartridge to provide a dedicated vapor passage and maintain fluid communication between the chamber and mouthpiece [0047], providing a more defined and controlled vapor flow path.
Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the complementary structures of modified Fraser to wherein the complementary structural components of the mouthpiece or the main unit comprise a hollow element that extends into the central channel of the cartridge because both Fraser and Davis are directed to improving the passage of airflow in aerosol generating devices. Davis teaches an inner stem inserted into a vapor chamber to provide a dedicated vapor passage and maintain fluid communication between the chamber and mouthpiece [0047 and this merely involves the use of a known airflow technique to improve similar aerosol generating devices in the same way.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fraser (US 20190150520 A1), as applied to claims 1 and 9 above.
With regard to Claim 10, Fraser teaches wherein the air inlet (Fig. 1: #120) is arranged on a lateral surface of the detachable part (Fig. 1: #104, [0024]), wherein the detachable part has an integrally formed mouthpiece end (Fig. 1: #118, [0021]). Thus, the outer housing of the detachable part (Fig. 1: #104) constitutes the outer housing of the mouthpiece. One of ordinary skill in the art would have found it obvious to modify the Figure 4 embodiment of Fraser with the air inlet location of Figure 1, as Fraser teaches that the air inlet can be adjusted to accommodate different configurations and provide compatibility with other reusable parts [0075].
Conclusion
/O.O.D./Examiner, Art Unit 1755 /PHILIP Y LOUIE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1755