DETAILED ACTION
under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) were submitted on 09/10/2024, 05/23/2025, 10/30/2025, 01/26/2026. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 6, 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103(a) as being unpatentable over HAMAGAMI (JP 2012132380 A), in view of YASHIRODAI (US 20190107007 A1), and further in view of MIZUNOUE (US 20180283385 A1).
With regard to Claim 1, and Claims 6 and 11 with parallel limitations, HAMAGAMI teaches:
(Claim 1) A method (Claim 6) A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing a computer program (Claim 11) A device (HAMAGAMI is in same technical field, see abstract and [0005], and [0011]: “joint flange surface…closer to the rotor” )
for estimating a flange surface pressure distribution in a rotary machine, (HAMAGAMI, FIGs. 5-9, with [0005]: “horizontal joint flange surface”; [0010]: “turbine casing according to the present invention has a scroll-shaped steam inlet passage provided around a rotor at the end of the casing”; and [0019]: “[FEM analysis result which shows the surface pressure distribution in the horizontal joint flange surface”)
the rotary machine comprising: a rotor rotatable about an axis extending in a horizontal direction; (HAMAGAMI, as above, [0005], and FIG1. with [0021]: “perspective view showing a configuration example of…turbine…includes a rotor 2 and a forward casing 10 that houses the rotor 2. The rotor 2 is rotatably supported by the bearing 6”; Examiner interprets “axis extending in a horizontal direction” as analogous to reference configuration shown in FIG. 1.)
a pressure distribution estimating step of obtaining, by using the three-dimensional modified shape model, a pressure distribution of one flange surface out of the lower flange surface and the upper flange surface in a fastened state where the upper-half casing is fastened to the lower-half casing by the plurality of bolts. (HAMAGAMI, FIGs. 7A, 7B, 8 with [0006]: “FEM analysis (i.e., “ 3D modified shape model”) result showing opening deformation of the passenger compartment around the steam inlet passage…showing the surface pressure distribution on the horizontal joint flange surface”;)
HAMAGAMI does not teach explicitly
a casing in which a working fluid flows, the casing being configured to cover an outer periphery of the rotor
a stationary component disposed in the casing and attached to the casing, the casing including an upper-half casing on an upper side, a lower-half casing on a lower side, and a plurality of bolts configured to fasten the upper-half casing to the lower-half casing,
the upper-half casing including an upper flange formed with an upper flange surface facing downward,
the lower-half casing including a lower flange formed with a lower flange surface facing upward and opposing the upper flange surface in a vertical direction, the upper flange
the lower flange including bolt holes which extend through the upper flange and the lower flange in the vertical direction, and into which each of the plurality of bolts is insertable,
the method comprising: a reference model receiving step of receiving a three-dimensional reference shape model of the rotary machine, the three-dimensional reference shape model being acquired in advance;
a measured coordinate receiving step of receiving measured three-dimensional coordinate data at a plurality of positions on the upper flange surface and measured three- dimensional coordinate data at a plurality of positions on the lower flange surface,
the measured three-dimensional coordinate data being measured in an open state where the upper- half casing is not fastened to the lower-half casing by the plurality of bolts after the rotary machine is disassembled;
a condition receiving step of receiving conditions including a tightening torque of the plurality of bolts, an elastic coefficient of the plurality of bolts, elastic coefficients of the upper-half casing and the lower-half casing, weights of the upper-half casing and the lower- half casing, and a weight of the stationary component;
a modified model creating step of creating a three-dimensional modified shape model by modifying the three-dimensional reference shape model based on the measured three- dimensional coordinate data at the plurality of positions received in the measured coordinate receiving step; and
YASHIRODAI teaches:
a casing in which a working fluid flows, the casing being configured to cover an outer periphery of the rotor (YASHIRODAI is in same technical field, see Abstract and see [0007] (explicitly teaching method, non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, computer program, and device); and FIG.1, element 10, with [0023]: “equipped with a casing 10… a rotary body 30”); and, [0024]: casing 10 is a casing covering the outer periphery of the stationary body 20 and the rotary body 30” )
a stationary component disposed in the casing and attached to the casing, (YASHIRODAI FIGs.1,2, element 20, [0006]: “lower half part of the stationary body in the lower half part of the casing” and [0023]: “FIG. a stationary body 20”; Examiner notes bolts as shown in FIG. 1, depicting element 20 attached to casing.)
the casing including an upper-half casing on an upper side, a lower-half casing on a lower side, and a plurality of bolts configured to fasten the upper-half casing to the lower-half casing (YASHIRODAI, abstract: “a casing consisting of an upper half part and a lower half part fastened together by bolts” and [0024]: “casing 10…is of a double structure consisting of an outer casing 11 and an inner casing 12…are of a vertically divided structure…the casing 10 is composed of a lower half part consisting of the outer casing lower half part 11a and the inner casing lower half part 12a, and an upper half part consisting of the outer casing upper half part 11b and the inner casing upper half part 12b.”)
the upper-half casing including an upper flange formed with an upper flange surface facing downward, (YASHIRODAI, FIGs 1,2, with [0025]: “outer casing lower half part 11a and the outer casing upper half part 11b have thick-walled flanges 13a and 13b”; Examiner asserts “upward” and “downward” are determined by vertical axis orientation, see [0006]: “casing having an upper half part and a lower half part fastened together by bolts…and of a vertically divided structure supported by the lower half”)
the lower-half casing including a lower flange formed with a lower flange surface facing upward and opposing the upper flange surface in a vertical direction, the upper flange (YASHIRODAI, as above, FIGs 1,2, with [0025] and [0006])
the lower flange including bolt holes which extend through the upper flange and the lower flange in the vertical direction, and into which each of the plurality of bolts is insertable, (YASHIRODAI, as above, Abstract: “casing consisting of an upper half part and a lower half part fastened together by bolts”; with orientation of flange as above, FIGs 1,2, with [0025] and [0006]; and [0025]: “outer casing lower half part 11a and the outer casing upper half part 11b have thick-walled flanges 13a and 13b…bonded to each other by firmly fastening together the flanges 13a and 13b by a plurality of bolts 14 and nuts 15”)
the method comprising: a reference model receiving step of receiving (YASHIRODAI, [0034]: “extraction of the evaluated portion is effected, for example, by FE analysis (finite element analysis), the actual result data analysis, or a combination of these… by using, for example, the design information (three-dimensional computer-aided design (CAD) data) (i.e., “reference model”)” )
a three-dimensional reference shape model of the rotary machine (YASHIRODAI, as above, [0034]: “design information (three-dimensional computer-aided design (CAD) data)…of the steam turbine (i.e., “rotary machine”)” )
the three-dimensional reference shape model being acquired in advance (YASHIRODAI, [0034]: “evaluated portion extraction procedure 51 is a procedure of previously extracting”; Examiner interprets “acquired in advance” as analogous to reference term “previously extracting”)
a measured coordinate receiving step of receiving measured three-dimensional coordinate data (YASHIRODAI, see [0034]: “it is also possible to use the measurement information of the three-dimensional configuration of the steam turbine 1 measured by a three-dimensional measurement device or the like at the time of production. The analysis of the actual result data is executed by using, for example, the database of the actual result data obtained through the measurement of the casing configuration at the time of assembly/disassembly of a turbine”)
at a plurality of positions on the upper flange surface and measured three- dimensional coordinate data at a plurality of positions on the lower flange surface, (YASHIRODAI, see [0035]: “measurement information on the three-dimensional configuration of the actual turbine obtained through scanning…for example, that the maximum assumed value of the movement amount of the evaluated portion is approximately several mm, the length of one side of the mesh can be set to be approximately 30 mm. Since the dimension in the radial direction of the casing 10 is several hundred mm, and the dimension thereof in the axial direction is equal to or more than 3000 mm, this element division number provides a sufficient level of accuracy”; Examiner interprets “plurality of positions” as analogous to reference teaching measurements on a grid pattern, suggesting multiple measurements; [0046]: “scanning data gained at each position…a measurement method in which a plurality of three-dimensional laser measurement devices are installed and in which their scanning operations are performed in conjunction with each other, or a flexible measurement method in which a portable three-dimensional measurement device is employed.”)
the measured three-dimensional coordinate data being measured in an open state where the upper- half casing is not fastened to the lower-half casing by the plurality of bolts after the rotary machine is disassembled (YASHIRODAI, as above, [0034]: “measurement information of the three-dimensional configuration”; and see [0006]: “actually measuring a three-dimensional configuration of the upper half part and the lower half part of the casing in an open state (i.e., “not fastened”)”)
a condition receiving step (YASHIRODAI, FIG. 6 with [0033] “turbine assembly support program…procedure of analyzing deformation of the turbine components with the assembly…includes evaluated portion extraction procedure 51… includes an actual measurement information reading procedure 54, (i.e., “condition receiving step”)”)
receiving conditions including tightening of bolts, an elastic coefficient of the plurality of bolts, weights of the upper-half casing and the lower- half casing, and a weight of the stationary component; (YASHIRODAI, [0004]: “actual casing involves variation in the deformation amount at the time of bolt fastening due to individual differences in configuration and material” [0034]: “FE analysis is executed by using, for example, the design information (three-dimensional computer-aided design (CAD) data, material, and operating condition); Examiner interprets “elastic coefficient” to be generally related to material property constants, and as such is implicitly taught by reference as necessary information input for FE analysis model development; and [0003]: “when upper and lower half parts of the casing are not fastened together by the bolts, they slightly bend due to their own weight”)
modified shape model by modifying the three-dimensional reference shape model based on the measured three- dimensional coordinate data at the plurality of positions received in the measured coordinate receiving step; (YASHIRODAI, as above teaches 3D modeling in [0034]; and see Abstract: “generating a correction model obtained through correction of the finite element model (i.e., “modified shape model)”; and [0007]: “calculate the deformation amount of the evaluated portion through analysis using a correction model reflecting actual measurement information of a real machine (i.e., “modifying …model”)”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify HAMAGAMI to include the structural components and process steps taught by YAHIRODAI as described in detail above because the structure disclosed by YASHIRODAI describes in detail specific components and input values that would improve the method of HAMAGAMI and result in a more reliable and accurate surface pressure determination for flange surfaces in a range of applications. One of ordinary skill would see an obvious connection between the objectives, structure and method of YAHIRODAI and the finite-element-based method of HAMAGAMI as a way to use existing components measurements to further the goal of a more efficient and accurate way to determine surface pressure between connected flange structures.
HAMAGAMI as modified by YASHIRODAI as taught above does not explicitly teach:
receiving conditions including a tightening torque of the plurality of bolts, an elastic coefficient of the plurality of bolts, elastic coefficients of the upper-half casing and the lower-half casing.
MIZUNOUE teaches:
consideration of conditions including a tightening torque of the plurality of bolts, an elastic coefficient of the plurality of bolts, elastic coefficients of the upper-half casing and the lower-half casing, weights of the upper-half casing and the lower- half casing, and a weight of the stationary component; (MIZUNOUE is in same technical field, [0001]: “relates to a technology of preventing a leak of a fluid from between flanges in a fluid apparatus including the flanges that are fastened together”, and [0003]: “shell of the compressor is typically divided in a horizontal direction, and a flange of an upper half-split body and a flange of a lower half-split body are fastened by bolts”, and [0018] By the work-hardening step of plastically deforming the fastened flanges, yield strength of a material used for the flanges is increased based on the work-hardening. Thus, by the correction step, an irregular surface caused by yield of the flanges can be corrected to a state before plastic deformation, and when fluid pressure is again applied with the flanges being fastened, strain of the flanges can be maintained within an elastic region. Specifically, even if stress caused by fluid pressure, heat deformation, or the like is applied to the flanges, plastic deformation of the flanges can be avoided, thereby maintaining an axial force of the fastening member. Thus, without increasing a clamping force, surface pressure required for preventing a leak can be ensured on the mating surfaces of the flanges to reliably seal between the flanges; and FIG. 4 with [0062]: “stress-strain curves…elastic modulus (i.e. “elastic coefficients”)”; and [0087]: “plastic deformation reduces the axial force of the bolt 70”; Examiner asserts one of ordinary skill would relate implication of torque with axial force of bolt based on function of bolt as flange fastener.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify HAMAGAMI, as modified by YASHIRODAI and taught above, to include the additional information of bolt torque, and elastic material coefficients as specifically taught by MIZUNOUE because this would be seen as an obvious improvement in model development using the FEM process of HAMAGAMI and modified to incorporate the structure and material property components of YASHIRODAI to ensure that a robust and reliable understanding of material properties and interactions when flange components are connected is part of model development for a more accurate determination of flange surface pressure based on known physical properties.
With regard to Claims 2, 7, and 12, HAMAGAMI, in view of YASHIRODAI and MIZUNOUE, teaches the limitations of Claims 1, 6, and 11, respectively.
HAMAGAMI further teaches:
With regard to Claim 2,
receiving a pressure distribution and a temperature distribution in the casing, a temperature outside the casing, (HAMAGAMI, FIG. 6 with [0031]: FEM analysis result showing the surface pressure distribution on the horizontal joint flange”; and [0004]: “inner wall surface side of the scroll-shaped steam inlet passage is in direct contact with relatively high-temperature steam, and thus becomes hot…outer wall surface side of the steam inlet path is relatively low temperature…temperature distribution around the steam inlet passage”)
a linear expansion coefficient of the bolts according to temperature, (HAMAGAMI, see [0007]: “difference in thermal expansion between the two”; Examiner asserts reference teaches required knowledge of thermal properties of materials, analogous to claimed invention.)
and linear expansion coefficients according to temperature and heat transfer coefficients according to temperature of the upper-half casing and the lower-half casing, when the rotary machine is in operation, (HAMAGAMI, see [0007], as above, and [0013]: “thermal expansion amount of the ground ring is smaller than the thermal expansion amount of the passenger compartment near the steam inlet passage”; Examiner notes as above, interpretation that reference teaches knowledge of thermal property constants for modeling and evaluation of expansion.)
the pressure distribution estimating step includes obtaining a pressure distribution of the one flange surface when the casing is in the fastened state and the rotary machine is in operation, by using the conditions received (HAMAGAMI, as above, FIGs. 7A, 7B, 8 with [0006]: “FEM analysis (i.e., “ 3D modified shape model”)”, where flange is depicted as closed in FIG. 7A, with resulting model shown in FIG. 7B.; and see [0019]: “FEM analysis result which shows the surface pressure distribution in the horizontal joint flange surface…deformation of the passenger compartment around a steam entrance way”; and FIG.6 with [0031]:”FEM analysis result showing the surface pressure distribution on the horizontal joint flange surface 11. In FIG. 6, the surface pressure distribution is represented by color shading, which means that the surface pressure is large at a dark color place”; Examiner notes FIG.6 model is while steam is operational through flange.)
HAMAGAMI does not explicitly teach:
a condition receiving step
a thrust force applied to the stationary component
the measured three-dimensional coordinate data being measured in an open state where the upper-half casing is not fastened to the lower-half casing by the plurality of bolts after the rotary machine is disassembled
YASHIRODAI teaches as above,
a condition receiving step (YASHIRODAI, FIG. 6 with [0033] “turbine assembly support program…procedure of analyzing deformation of the turbine components with the assembly…includes evaluated portion extraction procedure 51… includes an actual measurement information reading procedure 54, (i.e., “condition receiving step”)”)
a thrust force applied to the stationary component (YASHIRODAI, as above teaches stationary component, FIGs.1,2, element 20 with [0023]: “stationary body 20”;; and see [0004]: “fastening force is increased by utilizing contraction of the bolt”; Examiner interprets “thrust force” to mean merely the force along the axial (vertical) direction, analogous to reference.)
the measured three-dimensional coordinate data being measured in an open state where the upper-half casing is not fastened to the lower-half casing by the plurality of bolts after the rotary machine is disassembled (YASHIRODAI, as above, teaches 3D data and modeling, in at least [0006] and [0034]: “measurement information of the three-dimensional configuration”; and further teaches data when not fastened, [0006]: “actually measuring a three-dimensional configuration of the upper half part and the lower half part of the casing in an open state (i.e., “not fastened” or “disassembled”)”; Examiner interprets “disassembled” to mean generally “not connected” in the context of a two-part flange structure, analogous to reference.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify HAMAGAMI, as modified by YASHIRODAI and MIZUNOUE as taught above, to include a condition receiving step, consideration of thrust force applied to stationary component, and measured 3D coordinate data measured while casing flange is in an open state, as further taught by YAHIRODAI because these would provide additional specificity to the behavior of the casing/flange system without additional required structural or measurement components as part of the process and method as taught by HAMAGAMI for determining flange pressure distribution and provide an overall improvement to accuracy and reliability of the resulting pressure distribution.
Claims 3, 8 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103(a) as being unpatentable over HAMAGAMI, in view of YASHIRODAI and MIZUNOUE, , as applied to Claims 2, 7, and 12 above, and further in view of YASHIRODAI-2018 (US 20180307205 A1).
With regard to Claims 3, 8, and 13, HAMAGAMI, in view of YASHIRODAI and MIZUNOUE, teaches the limitations of Claims 2, 7, and 12, respectively.
HAMAGAMI further teaches:
receiving, as the conditions, pressure distributions and temperature distributions in the casing before and after the change in working fluid when the rotary machine is in operation (HAMAGAMI, FIGs. 7A, 7B, 8 with [0006]: “FEM analysis (i.e., “ 3D modified shape model”) result showing opening deformation of the passenger compartment around the steam (i.e. “working fluid”) inlet passage…showing the surface pressure distribution on the horizontal joint flange surface”; and FIG. 6 with [0031]: FEM analysis result showing the surface pressure distribution on the horizontal joint flange”; and [0004]: “inner wall surface side of the scroll-shaped steam inlet passage is in direct contact with relatively high-temperature steam, and thus becomes hot…outer wall surface side of the steam inlet path is relatively low temperature… temperature distribution around the steam inlet passage”)
the pressure distribution estimating step includes obtaining a pressure distribution of the one flange surface when the rotary machine is in operation and after the change in the working fluid flowing into the casing, by using the conditions (HAMAGAMI, as above, FIG. 6 with [0031]: FEM analysis result showing the surface pressure distribution on the horizontal joint flange”; [0011]: “surface pressure of the horizontal joint flange surface at this portion is reduced by the surface pressure improving bolts provided closer to the rotor than the plurality of fastening bolts surrounding the steam inlet passage in the vicinity of the horizontal joint flange surface.”; Examiner interprets “before” and “after” operation to be analogous to reference teaching pressure distribution before and after steam is in passage.)
YASHIRODAI teaches as above:
conditioning receiving step receiving conditions (YASHIRODAI, FIG. 6 with [0033]: “includes an actual measurement information reading procedure 54, (i.e., “condition receiving step”)”)
a thrust force applied to the stationary component (YASHIRODAI, as above, FIGs.1,2, element 20 with [0023]: “stationary body 20”; )
HAMAGAMI, as modified by YASHIRODAI and MIZUNOUE as taught above, does not explicitly teach:
receiving, as the conditions, a change time from start to end of a change in a flow rate of the working fluid flowing into the casing before and after the change in the flow rate of the working fluid, when the rotary machine is in operation, and
YASHIRODAI-2018 teaches:
receiving, as the conditions, a change time from start to end of a change in a flow rate of the working fluid flowing into the casing before and after the change in the flow rate of the working fluid, when the rotary machine is in operation (YASHIRODAI-2018 is in same technical field, [0001]; “relates to a method of assembling a turbine, an assembly work supporting system, and a control program”; YOSHIRODAI-2018 teaches similar components as taught by YASHIRODAI cited above, see [0024]; and see [0048]: “values of the parameters including the temperature and pressure of the working fluid supplied to the turbine (“when the rotary machine is in operation”), the heat transfer rate between the working fluid and the casing, and the turbine operation time (i.e., “change in time from start to end of a change in a flow rate or the working fluid”), and the parameters related to the material (i.e., “parameters”) and configuration of the casing are varied using the turbine design conditions as a reference, and are input to the turbine model, whereby the simulation data on the configuration of the casing upper half part and the casing lower half part is gained”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify HAMAGAMI, as modified by YASHIRODAI and MIZUNOUE as taught above, to include receiving conditions including a change in time from start to end of a change in a flow rate of the working fluid into the casing, as described above, as taught by YASHIRODAI-2018 because the additional information regarding timing would improve the model and estimation method of HAMAGAMI as modified in combination with YASHIRODAI and MIZUNOUE above, by allowing for a more detailed calculation of changes to flange and casing parameters based on thermal variation caused by working fluid.
Claims 4, 9 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103(a) as being unpatentable over HAMAGAMI, in view of YASHIRODAI, MIZUNOUE, and YASHIRODAI-2018, as applied to Claims 2, 7, and 12 above, and further in view of ISHIBASHI (JP 2019049233 A)*
*English translation used for examination provided
With regard to Claims 4, 9, and 14, HAMAGAMI, in view of YASHIRODAI and MIZUNOUE, teaches the limitations of Claims 2, 7, and 12, respectively.
HAMAGAMI further teaches:
pressure distribution estimating step (HAMAGAMI, FIGs. 5-9, with [0005]: “horizontal joint flange surface”; [0010]: “turbine casing according to the present invention has a scroll-shaped steam inlet passage provided around a rotor at the end of the casing”; and [0019]: “[FEM analysis result which shows the surface pressure distribution in the horizontal joint flange surface”)
YASHIRODAI further teaches:
a creep model receiving step of receiving a creep model indicating a creep strain over time with respect to the upper-half casing and the lower-half casing (YASHIRODAI, [0034]: “evaluated portion extraction procedure 51 is a procedure of previously extracting as an evaluated portion a specific part of the casing 10 highly sensitive to deformation…casing 10 is exposed to high temperature working fluid, with the result that it undergoes a non-elastic deformation (mainly creep deformation) in which the flanges are undulated as shown in FIGS. 7 and 8”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify HAMAGAMI, as modified by YASHIRODAI and MIZUNOUE as taught above, to include a creep model receiving step of receiving a creep model indicating a creep strain over time with respect to the upper-half casing and the lower-half casing, as further taught by YASHIRODAI because understanding the small deformation caused by creep would lead to a more precise estimation of the flange pressure distribution by including even small perturbations to a surface shape.
YOSHIRODAI-2018 further teaches:
wherein the condition receiving step includes receiving, as the conditions, an accumulated operation time of the rotary machine until a current time point and an accumulated operation time of the rotary machine until the casing is brought into the open state after the rotary machine is operated after the current time point; ([0028]: “case where an existing turbine (an existing actual machine) which has been operated for a fixed period of time (i.e., “accumulated operation time”) is disassembled and assembled again (i.e., “bought to open state after…operated”)”)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify HAMAGAMI, as modified by YASHIRODAI and MIZUNOUE as taught above, to include timed measurements of operation time, as taught by YASHIRODAI-2018 because additional information regarding timing would improve the model and estimation method of HAMAGAMI as modified in combination with YASHIRODAI and MIZUNOUE above, by allowing for a more detailed calculation of changes to flange and casing parameters based on thermal variation caused by working fluid.
HAMAGAMI, as modified by YASHIRODAI, MIZUNOUE and YASHIRODAI-2018 as taught above, does not explicitly teach:
pressure distribution estimating step includes obtaining a pressure distribution of the one flange surface after creep deformation at a scheduled time point at which the casing is brought into the open state after the rotary machine is operated after the current time point, by using the conditions
ISHIBASHI teaches:
pressure distribution estimating step includes obtaining a pressure distribution of the one flange surface after creep deformation at a scheduled time point at which the casing is brought into the open state after the rotary machine is operated after the current time point, by using the conditions (ISHIBASHI is in same technical field, P1, “technical field: relates to a method of assembling a turbine, a turbine assembly support system, and a control program”; and P3 “flange formed after the casing is assembled using a thin film surface pressure sensor that is formed to a thickness that can be inserted into the gap on the flange surface of the casing and can measure the pressure distribution as a surface”; and FIG.4 with P7, “Second Embodiment” – P8: “schematically showing the deformation of the flange surfaces 13 and 14… turbine after actual operation, when the inner wheel 200 is opened, the flange surfaces 13 and 14 tend to have waviness and opening due to the influence of creep deformation under high temperature condition” (i.e., “after creep deformation”))
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify HAMAGAMI, as modified by YASHIRODAI, MIZUNOUE, and YASHIRODAI-2018 as taught above, to include pressure distribution estimating step includes obtaining a pressure distribution of the one flange surface after creep deformation at a scheduled time point at which the casing is brought into the open state after the rotary machine is operated after the current time point, by using the conditions, as taught by ISHIBASHI, because the impact of creep deformation on the flange would improve overall pressure distribution method with increased precision. One of ordinary skill would see the obvious combination of the specific reference to including creep deformation information in a pressure distribution model as taught by HAMAGAMI as modified in combination with YASHIRODAI and MIZUNOUE above, as a way to further refine a pressure distribution estimation based on physical implication of temperature and pressure variation on flange, as well as differences in materials used for structures.
Claims 5, 10, and 15, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103(a) as being unpatentable over HAMAGAMI, in view of YASHIRODAI and MIZUNOUE, as applied to Claims 1, 6, and 11 above, and further in view of LÉTAL (Létal, “Estimating leak rates of circular gaskets under nonuniform contact pressures using EN 13555 test data”, International Journal of Pressure Vessels and Piping 200 (2022) 104809)
With regard to Claims 5, 10, and 15, HAMAGAMI, in view of YASHIRODAI and MIZUNOUE, teach the limitations of Claims 1, 6, and 11, respectively.
HAMAGAMI, as modified by YASHIRODAI and MIZUNOUE as taught above, does not teach:
method for evaluating leakage, and a leakage evaluating step of obtaining a region in which a value obtained by dividing a pressure indicated by a pressure distribution obtained in a pressure distribution estimating step by a maximum pressure or a rated pressure of the working fluid is less than a predetermined tolerance.
LÉTAL teaches:
method for evaluating leakage, (LÉTAL is in same technical field, see Abstract: “Design and evaluation of bolted flange connections for pressure vessels and piping increasingly requires tightness estimates, which can be quantified by leak rate” (i.e., “evaluating leakage”))
a leakage evaluating step of obtaining a region in which a value obtained by dividing a pressure indicated by a pressure distribution obtained in a pressure distribution estimating step by a maximum pressure or a rated pressure of the working fluid is less than a predetermined tolerance. (LÉTAL, Abstract: “allow bolted flange connection leak rate estimation based on gasket contact pressure history. During the test, leak rate is measured at uniform gasket contact pressure distributions.”; and P104808: “improved approach considers fluid and gasket contact pressures, assuming that when the former is greater than the latter, fluid will propagate trough the seal”; and FIG. 1 with P2, § “2.2. Typical leak rate estimation procedure”, “Leak rate is function of maximum and current contact pressure”, and Equation 1; and FIG. 2, with P2: “In case of uniform contact pressure, leak rate estimation involves just interpolation of an unloading curve for the maximum contact pressure and then finding the intersection of the curve with current contact pressure, the example of which can be seen in Fig. 1. This approach is however not applicable in general case, where the leak rate would be different at any point of gasket contact surface. Fig. 2”; Examiner asserts LETAL teaches consideration of pressure ration in case of a non-uniform contact (i.e., “surface”) pressure distribution, including ratio of pressures, P3 see 3.1. Simplified approach for leak rate limits”, and equations in that section)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify HAMAGAMI, as modified by YASHIRODAI and MIZUNOUE and taught above, to include method for evaluating leakage, and a leakage evaluating step of obtaining a region in which a value obtained by dividing a pressure indicated by a pressure distribution obtained in a pressure distribution estimating step by a maximum pressure or a rated pressure of the working fluid is less than a predetermined tolerance, as taught by LÉTAL because this would provide a more robust understand and performance expectation of a flange in a casing subject to a working fluid with a varying pressure. One of ordinary skill would see the leak determination as an obvious combination with the pressure distribution modeling and estimation method and system of HAMAGAMI, as modified by the detailed structure of YASHIRODAI and time-dependent measurement methods as taught above, as a way to prepare for potential malfunction in the form of leakage from a particular flange, based on measurable parameters used in a robust modeling method as taught by HAMAGAMI. Further One of ordinary skill would see logical benefit of implementing a leakage evaluation step in the pressure distribution estimation method/system, since the step would not require additional measurements, and would allow for a quick assessment using a dimensionless index. Moreover, the leakage evaluation step would improve the overall ability to track gasket degradation and/or achieve quantitative structural deformation assessment which may be used to determine the potential for early-stage leaks in systems with variations in fluid load conditions.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Marek (Marek, et al., “Tightness problems at the flange connection in transient
temperature and high pressure condition”, Engineering Failure Analysis 133 (2022) 105986) – teaches another leak estimation method using pressure and temperature with a working fluid.
/TONI D SAUNCY/Examiner, Art Unit 2857
/Catherine T. Rastovski/Supervisory Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2857