Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: a selection unit to permit in claim 9.
Claim Objections
Claim 7 is objected to because of the following informalities: The preliminary amendment states “the subset is predefined on the basis of a relative position in relation to the communication partner or on the basis of context information” however the specification (para 11, 27 of the PGPub) states “the subset (DRPWL) has been or is firmly predefined or is selected on the basis of a relative position in relation to the communication partner (UE) or on the basis of context information” and “firmly predefined or being selected on the basis of a relative position in relation to the communication partner or on the basis of context information. If the subset is firmly predefined, there is no longer a need for manipulation-proof determination of the respective subset when the method is carried out. If the subset is selected on the basis of a relative position in relation to the communication partner” (emphasis added). It is clear from the specification that the subset is either predefined OR selected on the basis. The examiner will interpret claim 7 as having both options such as “the subset is predefined or selected on the basis of a relative position…”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 6-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang (US 2015/0244432) hereafter Wang in view of Li et al. (US 2015/0312057) hereafter Li.
1. Wang discloses a method for communicating with two or more communication partners using a multi-antenna arrangement designed for directional transmission, the method comprising:
operating the multi-antenna arrangement using directional transmission parameters (para 3-7; fig 3, 314, 316, 317; para 44-46);
limiting the directional transmission parameters for a particular communication partner to a subset of the directional transmission parameters, the subset depending on the particular communication partner (fig 3, 314, 316, 317; para 44-46); and
determining the subset by transmitting a pilot signal from the communication partner (para 44).
Wang does not explicitly disclose a cryptographically protected pilot signal. However, in an analogous art, Li discloses channel estimation including a cryptographically protected pilot signal (para 23-26). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the implementation of Wang with the implementation of Li in order to improve the precision of channel estimation (para 13).
2. Wang and Li disclose the method as claimed in claim 1, wherein the directional transmission parameters cause the multi-antenna arrangement to send communication signals directionally or to produce direction-dependent sensitivity in the multi-antenna arrangement (Wang, para 3-7, sweep through a number of antenna beam directions to determine the beam with the best signal quality).
3. Wang and Li disclose the method as claimed in claim 1, wherein the directional transmission parameters include beamforming parameters and/or directional sensitivity parameters (Wang, para 44-46).
4. Wang and Li disclose the method as claimed in claim 1, wherein the multi-antenna arrangement comprises a radio antenna arrangement (Wang, fig. 2 and corresponding text; Li, para 2, 22). The motivation is the same that of claim 1 above.
7. Wang and Li disclose the method as claimed in claim 1, wherein the subset is predefined or selected on the basis of a relative position in relation to the communication partner or on the basis of context information (Wang, para 44-46).
8. Wang and Li disclose the method as claimed in claim 1, wherein the subset is determined by a reference measurement (Wang, fig 3, 311 and corresponding text).
9. Wang discloses a communication device comprising: a multi-antenna arrangement designed for directional transmission (para 3-7; fig 3, 314, 316, 317; para 44-46); a selection unit to permit only a subset of the directional transmission parameters dependent on a communication partner of the communication device (fig 3, 314, 316, 317; para 44-46).
10. Wang discloses the communication device as claimed in claim 9, the communication device comprising a transmission device and/or a reception device (figs 1 and 2 and corresponding text).
Conclusion
/JAMES R TURCHEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2439