Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-4, 7-10 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: a monitoring unit configured to verify in claim 9.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 6-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nagaraja et al. (US 2018/0249453) hereafter Nagaraja in view of MIMO is Spatial to Us by Johnson hereafter Johnson and further in view of Li et al. (US 2015/0312057) hereafter Li.
1. Nagaraja discloses a method for communicating with two or more communication partners using a multi-antenna arrangement designed for directional transmission, the method comprising:
operating the multi-antenna arrangement using directional transmission parameters (para 130-132; see also figs 4-5 and corresponding text);
limiting the directional transmission parameters for a particular communication partner to a subset of the directional transmission parameters, the subset depending on the particular communication partner (para 131-133); and
determining the subset by transmitting a pilot signal from the communication partner (48, 53, 95, 99, 112);
storing the determined subset in a directional transmission parameter whitelist defining permissible sets of directional transmission parameters (para 134-135); and
using determined directional transmission parameters for communication with the particular communication partner only if the determined directional transmission parameters are permissible according to the directional transmission parameter whitelist (para 135).
Nagaraja discloses MIMO (para 37), phase and amplitude (para 53) but does not explicitly disclose wherein the subset of directional transmission parameters includes at least an amplitude and a phase of the transmission. However, in an analogous art, Johnson discloses MIMO technology including wherein the subset of directional transmission parameters includes at least an amplitude and a phase of the transmission (Section: Transmit Beamforming (TXBF), TxBF allows a MIMO transmitter using multiple antennas to adjust the phase and amplitude). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the implementation of Nagaraja with the implementation of Johnson in order to achieve higher signal to noise ratio and better received amplitude (Section: Transmit Beamforming (TXBF)).
Nagaraja and Johnson do not explicitly disclose a cryptographically protected pilot signal. However, in an analogous art, Li discloses channel estimation including a cryptographically protected pilot signal (para 23-26). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the implementation of Nagaraja and Johnson with the implementation of Li in order to improve the precision of channel estimation (para 13).
2. Nagaraja, Johnson, and Li disclose the method as claimed in claim 1, wherein the directional transmission parameters cause the multi-antenna arrangement to send communication signals directionally or to produce direction-dependent sensitivity in the multi-antenna arrangement (Nagaraja, para 65, 130-135).
3. Nagaraja, Johnson, and Li disclose the method as claimed in claim 1, wherein the directional transmission parameters include beamforming parameters and/or directional sensitivity parameters (Nagaraja, para 130-135).
4. Nagaraja, Johnson, and Li disclose the method as claimed in claim 1, wherein the multi-antenna arrangement comprises a radio antenna arrangement (Nagaraja, para 53, 57-58; fig 3).
7. Nagaraja, Johnson, and Li disclose the method as claimed in claim 1, wherein the subset is selected on the basis of either a relative position in relation to the communication partner or context information (Nagaraja, para 130-135).
8. Nagaraja, Johnson, and Li disclose the method as claimed in claim 1, wherein the subset is determined by a reference measurement (Nagaraja, para 130-135).
Claim(s) 9-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nagaraja (US 2015/0244432) hereafter Nagaraja in view of MIMO is Spatial to Us by Johnson hereafter Johnson.
9. Nagaraja discloses a communication device comprising: a multi-antenna arrangement designed for directional transmission (para 53, 57-58; fig 3); a monitoring unit configured to verify transmission parameters using a directional transmission parameter whitelist defining permissible sets of directional transmission parameters (para 130-135), and to permit only a subset of the directional transmission parameters dependent on a communication partner of the communication device and the directional transmission parameter whitelist (para 130-135). Nagaraja discloses MIMO (para 37), phase and amplitude (para 53) but does not explicitly disclose wherein the subset of directional transmission parameters includes at least an amplitude and a phase of the transmission. However, in an analogous art, Johnson discloses MIMO technology including wherein the subset of directional transmission parameters includes at least an amplitude and a phase of the transmission (Section: Transmit Beamforming (TXBF), TxBF allows a MIMO transmitter using multiple antennas to adjust the phase and amplitude). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the implementation of Nagaraja with the implementation of Johnson in order to achieve higher signal to noise ratio and better received amplitude (Section: Transmit Beamforming (TXBF)).
10. Nagaraja discloses the communication device as claimed in claim 9, the communication device comprising a transmission device and/or a reception device (figs 1 and 2 and corresponding text).
Conclusion
/JAMES R TURCHEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2439