DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group II, claims 4 – 5 in the reply filed on July 22, 2026 is acknowledged. Claims 1 – 8 are pending; claims 1 – 3 and 6 – 8 are withdrawn; claims 4 – 5 have been considered on the merits.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on May 20, 2024 and September 15, 2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 4 – 5 are drawn to a method of producing transesterified fats or oil however are rendered indefinite for reciting “allowing the enzyme agent…to act on” oils and fats because the claim fails to set forth positive steps that must be carried out to meet the scope of the claims. It is unclear what must be carried out “to act on” a fat or oil since the phrase is not specifically defined by the claim language or specification.
Claims 4 – 5 are further indefinite for depending on a withdrawn claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 4 – 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by CN 106591258 (IDS 05.20.2024, FPD #4) as evidenced by SEQ ID NO 4 Result 3 and Romdhane et al. (IDS 05.20.2024, NPL #1).
Regarding claim 4, CN'258 teaches a lipase (SEQ ID NO:2) that is 99.1% identical to the claimed SEQ ID NO: 4 (see SEQ ID NO 4 Result 3). The reference teaches that lipases function to catalyze transesterification and are used in bioenergy (e.g., biodiesel) and oil processing (p.2, English Translation (ET)), which is interpreted as a teaching to allow lipases to act on oils to produce transesterified oils (see Romdhane et al., in support). In this regard, the reference is interpreted to teach a method comprising allowing a lipase to act on oils, wherein the lipase has an amino acid sequence that is 99.1% identical to claimed SEQ ID NO:4, which would inherently result in a transesterified oil.
Regarding claim 5, CN'258 teaches the lipase is thermophilic (p.2, ET) and active at 20 - 60°C, which is a temperature of 60°C or higher as claimed (p.2).
Thus, the reference anticipates the claimed invention.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Romdhane et al. (IDS 05.20.2024, NPL #1) as evidenced by SEQ ID NO 2 Result 1.
Regarding claim 4, Romdhane teaches methods for producing transesterified oils, the method comprising allowing a lipase to act on oils (p.114), and wherein the lipase is 98.7% identical to claimed SEQ ID NO: 2 (See Result ID NO 2 Result 1).
The reference anticipates the claimed subject matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4 – 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Romdhane et al. (IDS 05.20.2024, NPL #1) as evidenced by SEQ ID NO 2 Result 1; in view of CN 106591258 (IDS 05.20.2024, FPD #4) as evidenced by SEQ ID NO 4 Result 3.
Regarding claim 4 Romdhane teaches methods for producing transesterified oils for biodiesel production (p, the method comprising allowing a lipase to act on oils (p.112, 114), and wherein the lipase is 98.7% identical to claimed SEQ ID NO: 2 (See Result SEQ ID NO 2 Result 1).
Regarding claim 5, Romdhane does not teach the method wherein the method occurs at a temperature of at least 60°C. However, Romdhane teaches high activity lipases that are active and stabile at 60°C (p.112). Further, CN'258 teaches a lipase capable of catalyzing transesterification and making biodiesel, wherein the lipase is 99.1% identical to claimed SEQ ID NO: 4 (see SEQ ID NO 4 Result 3) and active at 60°C (p.2, ET). CN'258 teaches thermostable lipases derived from thermophilic bacteria (e.g., both lipases disclosed by the cited references) are advantageous in that they demonstrate strong solvent stability, have good potential for biotechnology and industrial applications, and have high enzyme activity (p.2). In this regard, at the time the claims were filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to practice the methods of Romdhane at 60°C since lipases with high thermal stability were already known in the art and that these lipases demonstrate higher stability under these stronger conditions. Moreover, at the time the claims were filed, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to allow the lipase of CN'258 to act on an oil at 60°C with a reasonable expectation for successfully producing transesterified oils.
Thus, the invention as a whole is prima facie obvious over the references, especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
/RUTH A DAVIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1699