DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on November 13, 2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings were received on February 28, 2024. These drawings are acceptable.
Claim Objections
Claims 30 objected to because of the following informalities:
Lines 2-3 of claim 30 partially recites “cause the client (to:”. It should be corrected as - - cause the client to: - -
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 18-20, 22, 26, and 28-29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Shi et al. (hereinafter “Shi”, US 2021/0314060).
Regarding claim 18, Shi discloses a network node device (i.e., gNB2 1304 as shown in Fig. 13), comprising:
at least one processor (i.e., base station 1500 includes a processor 1504 as shown in Fig. 15); and
at least one memory including computer program code (i.e., memory 1506 includes program instructions stored within the memory 1506 as described in paragraph 0078);
the at least one memory and the computer program code configured to, with the at least one processor, cause the network node device to:
when the network node device is connected to a first satellite of a non-terrestrial network (i.e., the gNB2 1304 is connected to Sat2 1308 as shown in Fig. 13), identify at least one client device needing to be served by the network node device (i.e., identifying UE2 1310 needing to be served by gNB2 1304 because Sat1 1306 is moving away from a geography area 1312 (i.e., moving away to the left) as shown in Fig. 13), wherein the at least one client device is currently served by a second network node device via a first cell provided by a second satellite of the non-terrestrial network (i.e. UE2 1310 is currently served by gNB1 1302 via Cell1 1314 provided by a Sat1 1306 at T1 as shown in Fig. 13);
in response to identifying that the at least one client device needs to be served by the network node device, provide a second cell to at least one the client device via the second satellite (i.e., in response to identifying that the UE2 1310 needs to be served by the gNB2 1304, at T2, both Sat1 1306 and Sat2 1308 are overlapping in the geography area 1312 as shown in Fig. 13. This reads on “a second cell”, which is a temporary cell before switching of claim language. Also, the connections to the first and second CU stations 1102 and 1104 are maintained at T2 see paragraphs 0061-0064); and
after the at least one client device has performed a handover from the first cell to the second cell (i.e., handover from cell 1114 to cell 1116 as described in paragraphs 0061, and 0065), switch the second cell to be provided by the first satellite (i.e., switching from Sat1 1306 to Sat2 1308 at T2 as shown in Fig. 11 & 13, and as described in paragraphs 0057-0058, and 0061-0064. Cause handover of UE from one satellite to another as described in paragraph 0038).
Regarding claim 19, Shi discloses all limitations recited within claims as described above. Shi also discloses wherein the first cell and/or the second cell are Earth-fixed cells (i.e., cell 1 & 2 as shown in Figs. 11 & 13) and the at least one client device needs to be served by the network node device due to the second satellite moving out-of-range for serving the at least one client device (i.e., Sat1 1306 as shown in Fig. 13, or Sat-DU1 1106 as shown in Fig. 11 is moving out of range).
Regarding claim 20, Shi discloses all limitations recited within claims as described above. Shi also discloses wherein the at least one memory and the computer program code are further configured to, with the at least one processor, cause the network node device to, after providing the second cell to the at least one client device via the second satellite, instruct the at least one client device to perform a handover from the first cell to the second cell (i.e., cause handover of UE from one cell to another as described in paragraph 0061, and 0063).
Regarding claim 22, Shi discloses all limitations as recited within claims as described above. Shi also discloses wherein the first satellite (i.e., the Sat2 1308 as shown in Fig. 13) and the second satellite (i.e., the Sat1 1306 as shown in Fig. 13) are connected via an inter-satellite link and/or the network node device (i.e., the Sat2 1308 and the Sat1 1306 are connected via gNB2 1304 as shown in Fig. 13) and the second network node device are connected via an inter-gNB link (i.e., the gNB2 1304 are connected via Xn interface as shown in Fig. 13) and wherein the second cell is routed to the second satellite via the inter-satellite link and/or the inter-gNB link (i.e., both Sat1 1306 and Sat2 1308 are overlapping in the geography area 1312 as shown in Fig. 13, and as described in paragraph 0061-0064. Also, see Fig. 13, and its descriptions).
Regarding claim 26, Shi discloses satellite (i.e. Sat1 1306 as shown in Fig. 13), comprising:
provide a first cell to at least one client device (i.e. cell1 1314), wherein the at least one client device is served by a second network node device via the first cell (i.e. UE2 1310 is currently served by gNB1 1302 via Cell1 1314 provided by a Sat1 1306 at T1 as shown in Fig. 13);
in response to the at least one client device needing to be served by a first network node device (i.e., identifying UE2 1310 needing to be served by gNB2 1304 because Sat1 1306 is moving away from a geography area 1312 (i.e., moving away to the left) as shown in Fig. 13), provide a second cell to the at least one client device, wherein the at least one client device is served by the first network node device via the second cell (i.e., in response to identifying that the UE2 1310 needs to be served by the gNB2 1304, at T2, both Sat1 1306 and Sat2 1308 are overlapping in the geography area 1312 as shown in Fig. 13. This reads on “a second cell”, which is a temporary cell before switching of claim language. Also, the connections to the first and second CU stations 1102 and 1104 are maintained at T2 see paragraphs 0061-0064); and
after the at least one client device has performed a handover from the first cell to the second cell (i.e., handover from cell 1114 to cell 1116 as described in paragraphs 0061, and 0065), switch off the second cell, allowing the second cell to be provided by a first satellite (i.e., switching from Sat1 1306 to Sat2 1308 at T2 as shown in Fig. 11 & 13, and as described in paragraphs 0057-0058, and 0061-0064. Cause handover of UE from one satellite to another as described in paragraph 0038).
It is also inherent that the satellite comprises at least one processor, at least one memory including computer program code.
Regarding claim 28, Shi discloses all limitations as recited within claims as described above. Shi also discloses wherein the first cell and/or the second cell are Earth-fixed cells (i.e., cell 1 & 2 as shown in Figs. 11 & 13) and the at least one client device needs to be served by the first network node device due to the satellite moving out-of-range for serving the at least one client device (i.e., Sat1 1306 as shown in Fig. 13, or Sat-DU1 1106 as shown in Fig. 11 is moving out of range).
Regarding claim 29, Shi discloses a client device (i.e., UE2 shown in Fig. 13), comprising:
identify that the client device needs to be served by a first network node device (i.e., identifying UE2 1310 needs to be served by gNB2 1304 because Sat1 1306 is moving away from a geography area 1312 (i.e., moving away to the left) as shown in Fig. 13), wherein the first network node device is connected to a first satellite of a non-terrestrial network (i.e., the gNB2 1304 is connected to Sat2 1308 as shown in Fig. 13), wherein the client device is currently served by a second network node device via a first cell provided by a second satellite of the non-terrestrial network (i.e., UE2 1310 is currently served by gNB1 1302 via Cell1 1314 provided by a Sat1 1306 at T1 as shown in Fig. 13);
in response to identifying that the client device needs to be served by the first network node device, identify a second cell served by the first network node device and provided by the second satellite (i.e., in response to identifying that the UE2 1310 needs to be served by the gNB2 1304, at T2, both Sat1 1306 and Sat2 1308 are overlapping in the geography area 1312 as shown in Fig. 13. This reads on “a second cell”, which is a temporary cell before switching of claim language. Also, the connections to the first and second CU stations 1102 and 1104 are maintained at T2 see paragraphs 0061-0064); and
perform a handover from the first cell to the second cell (i.e., handover from cell 1114 to cell 1116 as described in paragraphs 0061, and 0065), wherein the second cell is switched to being provided by the first satellite after the handover (i.e., switching from Sat1 1306 to Sat2 1308 at T2 as shown in Fig. 11 & 13, and as described in paragraphs 0057-0058, and 0061-0064. Cause handover of UE from one satellite to another as described in paragraph 0038).
It is also inherent that the client device comprises at least one processor, at least one memory including computer program code.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shi in view of Cui et al. (hereinafter “Cui”, US 2022/0182898).
Regarding claim 21, Shi discloses all limitations recited within claims as described above, but does not expressly disclose features of this claim.
In a similar endeavor, Cui discloses device, system, and method for handover with simultaneous UE transmission beams. Cui also discloses wherein the at least one memory and the computer program code are further configured to, with the at least one processor, cause the network node device to, before switching the second cell to be provided by the first satellite, inform a timing of the switch to the at least one client device and/or instruct the at least one client device not to perform scheduling and/or measurements during the switch (i.e., restricting channel scheduling as described in paragraphs 0021 and 0197).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art to modify the teachings of the cited references, and arrive at the present invention.
The motivation/suggestion for doing so would have been to prevent interference within the network.
Claim(s) 23-24, and 30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shi in view of Roy et al. (hereinafter “Roy”, US 2021/0136641).
Regarding claim 23, Shi discloses all limitations recited within claims as described above, but does not expressly disclose features of this claim.
In a similar endeavor, Roy discloses synchronized handover without random access in LEO-NTN. Roy also discloses wherein the at least one memory and the computer program code are further configured to, with the at least one processor, cause the network node device to:
collect new satellite parameter settings for the at least one client device (i.e., the source and target beam-spots (satellite cells) communicate to finalize handover decision and time of handover as described in paragraph 0007); and
inform the new satellite parameter settings to the at least one client device before switching the second cell to be provided by the first satellite (i.e., the UE receives handover time, satellite ephemeris, a timing advance as described in paragraphs 0007-0008).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art to modify the teachings of the cited references, and arrive at the present invention.
The motivation/suggestion for doing so would have been to enable to seamless handover between cells without interruption.
Regarding claim 24, Shi and Roy disclose all limitations recited within claims as described above. Roy also discloses wherein the new satellite parameter settings comprise at least one of: Doppler shift, pathloss, transmit power, satellite ephemeris, and/or timing advance (i.e., satellite ephemeris as described in paragraphs 0007-0008).
Regarding claim 30, Shi discloses all limitations recited within claims as described above, but does not expressly disclose features of this claim.
In a similar endeavor, Roy discloses synchronized handover without random access in LEO-NTN. Roy also discloses wherein the at least one memory and the computer program code are further configured to, with the at least one processor, cause the client device to:
obtain new satellite parameter settings for the first satellite from the first network node device (i.e., the source and target beam-spots (satellite cells) communicate to finalize handover decision and time of handover as described in paragraph 0007); and
use the new satellite parameter settings after the second cell has been switched to being provided by the first satellite (i.e., the UE receives handover time, satellite ephemeris, a timing advance as described in paragraphs 0007-0008).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art to modify the teachings of the cited references, and arrive at the present invention.
The motivation/suggestion for doing so would have been to enable to seamless handover between cells without interruption.
Claim(s) 25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shi in view of Shrestha et al. (hereinafter “Shrestha”, US 2022/0360319), and further in view of Cui.
Regarding claim 25, Shi discloses all limitations recited within claims as described above, but does not expressly disclose features of this claim.
In a similar endeavor, Shrestha discloses timing configuration management for network entities. Shrestha also discloses wherein the at least one memory and the computer program code are further configured to, with the at least one processor, cause the network node device to:
implement a switch gap during which the network node device switches the second cell to be provided by the first satellite (i.e., measurement gap as described in paragraphs 0023-0025, and Abstract).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art to modify the teachings of the cited references, and arrive at the present invention.
The motivation/suggestion for doing so would have been to enable the UE to reselect another cell with optimal service.
The combination of Shi and Shrestha, however, does not expressly disclose:
instruct the at least one client device not to perform scheduling and/or measurements during the switch gap and/or instructs the at least one client device to take the new satellite parameter settings into use after the switch gap.
Furthermore, Cui discloses device, system, and method for handover with simultaneous UE transmission beams. Cui also discloses:
instruct the at least one client device not to perform scheduling and/or measurements during the switch gap and/or instructs the at least one client device to take the new satellite parameter settings into use after the switch gap (i.e., restricting channel scheduling as described in paragraphs 0021 and 0197).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art to modify the teachings of the cited references, and arrive at the present invention.
The motivation/suggestion for doing so would have been to enable the UE to prevent interference.
Claim(s) 27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shi in view of Chi et al. (hereinafter “Chi”, US 2021/0223380).
Regarding claim 27, Shi discloses all limitations as recited within claims as described above, but does not expressly disclose features of this claim.
In a similar endeavor, Chi discloses method for monopulse single beam phased array tracking for communications using beam jitter. Chi also discloses wherein the at least one memory and the computer program code are further configured to, with the at least one processor, cause the satellite to provide the first cell and the second cell using a single antenna beam (i.e., single beam phased array antenna is used as described in Abstract).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art to modify the teachings of the cited references, and arrive at the present invention.
The motivation/suggestion for doing so would have been to enable the device to perform handoff more effectively.
Conclusion
/Wayne H Cai/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2644