Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 10, 13,15,16,17, 27 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 10, 17,27, contains the trademark/trade name “Spandex” Where a trademark or trade name is used in a claim as a limitation to identify or describe a particular material or product, the claim does not comply with the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph. See Ex parte Simpson, 218 USPQ 1020 (Bd. App. 1982). The claim scope is uncertain since the trademark or trade name cannot be used properly to identify any particular material or product. A trademark or trade name is used to identify a source of goods, and not the goods themselves. Thus, a trademark or trade name does not identify or describe the goods associated with the trademark or trade name. In the present case, the trademark/trade name is used to identify/describe the functional filaments and, accordingly, the identification/description is indefinite. For purposes of compact prosecution, Spandex will be interpreted as polyurethane, which is the underlying chemical. Claims 13, 15,16 are dependent on claim 17 and are also rejected.
Claim 7 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Claim 7 is a restating of part of claim 8, and does not include additional limitations. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 10, 17,13,15,16, 27,23, 25,26,are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aubuchon (US 20200300405 A1), hereafter known as Aubuchon, in view of Courtney (US 0678850 A), hereafter known as Courtney, in further view of Dieter (EP 1855042 A2), hereafter known as Dieter.
Regarding claim 10, Aubuchon discloses a method for fabricating a liner for a tubular hose (para 0004, Aubuchon),
comprising selecting filler yarns and warp yarns (para 0003, warp and weft (filler) yarns are selected, Aubuchon),
wherein said selecting the filler yarns comprises selecting a combination of functional filaments and filling filaments (para 0044, yarn structure 4, yarn can be twisted combination of two or more fiber types, so one can be considered functional and the other filling, Aubuchon),
the functional filaments being elastic filaments (para 0048, warp and weft yarns are elastic, Aubuchon),
and combining the functional filaments and the filling filaments, in a ratio selected according to a target radial expansion and compression of the liner (para 0049, to eliminate the loss of strength from compression and expansion mentioned in para 0048, a composite yarn can be made of multi filament core yarn wrapped with a staple fiber yarn of a different fiber, which is a ratio of 1:1, Aubuchon), under a selected twisting tension and with a selected twist number; into filler yarns (para 0044 and 0049, the filler yarn can be twisted, so a twisting tension is inherently required to product the twisting, and the yarn will naturally have a number of twists per inch (the twist number), but specific tension and twist numbers are not disclosed);
twisting together a number of the filler yarns, between 2 and about 30 yarns, into filler threads (para 0044, yarn composition 4, the filler yarn can be formed by twisting two or more yarns, forming a secondary yarn, or thread, Aubuchon);
twisting together the warp yarns into warp threads (para 0043, yarn composition 4, the warp yarn can be formed by twisting two or more yarns, forming a secondary yarn, or thread, Aubuchon);
and positioning the hose in a weaving machine and weaving the liner around the hose by interlacing the filler threads and the warp threads, thereby sheathing the hose with the liner (not disclosed);
wherein the functional filaments are SpandexTM filaments (not disclosed), the filling filaments are one of
i): polyester filaments (para 0044, filament combination can be Kevlar and polyester, thus the filler filaments can be polyester, Aubuchon) and
ii) texturized polyester filaments,
the SpandexTM" filaments and the polyester filaments are combined in a ratio in a range between 1 and 10 % of the SpandexTM filaments by weight of the polyester filaments (not disclosed),
under a twisting tension selected in a range between 0.4 N and 0.7 N, and with a twist number in a range between 0.5 and 2 twist per inch (TPI) (not disclosed);
and the warp yarns are yarns of spun polyester filaments and of continuous polyester filaments (para 0032, the warp yarns can be spun continuous polyester filaments, Aubuchon).
Aubuchon does not disclose specific twist tension and twist numbers. However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to adjust the twisting tension and twists per inch (twist number), since it has been held that the provision of adjustability, where needed, involves only routine skill in the art. In re Stevens, 101 USPQ 284 (CCPA 1954).
Aubuchon does not disclose placing the hose in a weaving machine and weaving the liner around the hose by interlacing the filler threads and the warp threads to sheathe the hose with the liner. However, Courtney teaches placing the hose in a weaving machine and weaving the liner around the hose by interlacing the filler threads and the warp threads to sheathe the hose with the liner (lines 76-83, the tube has fabric 5, made of warp and weft threads, woven onto it via a weaving machine, Courtney). Courtney describes a hose with a woven liner, a field closely related to Aubuchon and the claimed invention. Therefore it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before time of file to have incorporated the teachings of Courtney into Aubuchon and use a weaving machine to weave the fabric layers of Aubuchon directly onto the hose of Aubuchon. Using weaving machines to weave a liner onto a hose is well known in the art, and the machine produces a seamless and tight layer of threads (lines 79-83, Courtney), which allows the hose to resist expansion forces from internal pressure (lines 86-92, Courtney).
Aubuchon in view of Courtney does not disclose the functional filaments to be spandex (polyurethane). However, Dieter teaches a hose with polyurethane filaments (page 3, last paragraph, page 4, paragraph 1, , filament can be polyurethane, Dieter). Dieter describes a fiber reinforced hose, as field closely related to Aubuchon, Courtney, and the claimed invention. Therefore it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before time of file to have incorporated the teachings of Dieter into Aubuchon in view of Courtney and use polyurethane filaments as the functional filaments of Aubuchon. Polyurethane filaments will impart its natural abrasion resistance onto the liner, which will benefit the fire hose of Aubuchon in view of Courtney and Dieter since fire hoses often experience abrasive environments. Additionally, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to use polyurethane as the material of the functional filaments, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416. See also Ballas Liquidating Co. v. Allied industries of Kansas, Inc. (DC Kans) 205 USPQ 331.
Aubuchon in view of Courtney and Dieter does not disclose specific ratio of functional and filler filaments. However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to adjust the twisting tension and twists per inch (twist number), since it has been held that the provision of adjustability, where needed, involves only routine skill in the art. In re Stevens, 101 USPQ 284 (CCPA 1954).
Regarding claim 17, Aubuchon discloses an external liner for a flexible hose (fig 1, para 0004, flexible hose has external liner layer, Aubuchon), the liner being woven from filler threads and warp threads (para 0045, outer layer is woven, warp and weft (filler) yarn can have a core of multifilament yarn wrapped with spun staple yarn, forming a secondary yarn, or thread, Aubuchon);
wherein the filler threads are twisted from filler yarns (para 0045, weft (filler) yarn can have a core of multifilament yarn wrapped with spun staple yarn, forming a secondary yarn, or thread, Aubuchon) , the filler yarns being selected as a combination of functional filaments and filling filaments (para 0045, the core and staple yarns that form the composite yarn can be made of different filaments, the core yarn filaments can be considered filling filaments, and the staple yarn filaments can be considered functional filaments, Aubuchon),
wherein the functional filaments are elastic filaments selected for abrasion resistance (para 0045, the staple (functional) filaments are selected to protect the core (filler) filaments from abrasion, Aubuchon), the filling filaments are selected for binding property (para 0045, core (filling) fibers provide tensile strength, binding the layer together, Aubuchon);
the functional filaments and the filling filaments being combined (para 0045, the core and staple yarns are wrapped together, Aubuchon), in a ratio selected according to a target radial expansion and compression of the liner, into filler yarns, under a selected twisting tension and with a selected twist number (para 0044 and 0049, the filler yarn can be twisted, so a twisting tension is inherently required to product the twisting, and the yarn will naturally have a number of twists per inch (the twist number), but specific tension and twist numbers are not disclosed);
and a number of filler yarns, being twisted together into filler threads (para 0044, yarn composition 4, the yarn can be formed by twisting two or more yarns, forming a secondary yarn, or thread, Aubuchon);
wherein the warp threads are twisted from warp yarns (para 0045, warp yarn can have a core of multifilament yarn wrapped with spun staple yarn, forming a secondary yarn, or thread, Aubuchon), the warp yarns being selected according to a target rigidity in a longitudinal direction of the liner; and twisted together into warp threads (para 0045, the warp yarns can comprise a core yarn that provides tensile strength, which is also strength in a longitudinal direction of the liner due to the filament directions, and are twisted together with a staple yarn, Aubuchon);
and wherein the filler threads and the warp threads are woven into the liner in a weaving machine, the flexible hose being positioned in a center of the weaving in such a way that the liner is woven around the flexible hose, thus sheathing the hose once the hose is retrieved from the weaving machine (not disclosed);
and wherein the functional filaments are SpandexTM filaments (not disclosed), the filling filaments are one of :
i)polyester filaments and texturized polyester filaments (para 0044, filament combination can be Kevlar and polyester, thus the filaments can be polyester, Aubuchon),
the SpandexTM filaments and the polyester filaments are combined in a ratio in a range between 1 and 10 % by weight of the polyester filaments, under a twisting tension selected in a range between 0.4 N and 0.7 N, and with a twist number in a range between 0.5 and 2 twist per inch (TPI) (not disclosed);
and the warp yarns are yarns of spun polyester filaments and of continuous polyester filaments (para 0032, the warp yarns can be spun continuous polyester filaments, Aubuchon).
Aubuchon does not disclose specific twist tension and twist numbers. However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to adjust the twisting tension and twists per inch (twist number), since it has been held that the provision of adjustability, where needed, involves only routine skill in the art. In re Stevens, 101 USPQ 284 (CCPA 1954).
Aubuchon does not disclose placing the hose in a weaving machine and weaving the liner around the hose by interlacing the filler threads and the warp threads to sheathe the hose with the liner. However, Courtney teaches placing the hose in a weaving machine and weaving the liner around the hose by interlacing the filler threads and the warp threads to sheathe the hose with the liner (lines 76-83, the tube has fabric 5, made of warp and weft threads, woven onto it via a weaving machine, Courtney). Courtney describes a hose with a woven liner, a field closely related to Aubuchon and the claimed invention. Therefore it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before time of file to have incorporated the teachings of Courtney into Aubuchon and use a weaving machine to weave the fabric layers of Aubuchon directly onto the hose of Aubuchon. Using weaving machines to weave a liner onto a hose is well known in the art, and the machine produces a seamless and tight layer of threads (lines 79-83, Courtney), which allows the hose to resist expansion forces from internal pressure (lines 86-92, Courtney).
Aubuchon in view of Courtney does not disclose the functional filaments to be spandex (polyurethane). However, Dieter teaches a hose with polyurethane filaments (page 3, last paragraph, page 4, paragraph 1, filament can be polyurethane, Dieter). Dieter describes a fiber reinforced hose, as field closely related to Aubuchon, Courtney, and the claimed invention. Therefore it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before time of file to have incorporated the teachings of Dieter into Aubuchon in view of Courtney and use polyurethane filaments as the functional filaments of Aubuchon. Polyurethane filaments will impart its natural abrasion resistance onto the liner, which will benefit the fire hose of Aubuchon in view of Courtney and Dieter since fire hoses often experience abrasive environments. Additionally, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to use polyurethane as the material of the functional filaments, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416. See also Ballas Liquidating Co. v. Allied industries of Kansas, Inc. (DC Kans) 205 USPQ 331.
Aubuchon in view of Courtney and Dieter does not disclose specific ratio of functional and filler filaments. However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time invention was made to adjust the twisting tension and twists per inch (twist number), since it has been held that the provision of adjustability, where needed, involves only routine skill in the art. In re Stevens, 101 USPQ 284 (CCPA 1954).
Regarding claim 13, Aubuchon in view of Courtney and Dieter discloses the method of claim 17, wherein the functional filaments are selected among thermoplastic polyurethane (TPU) elastomer filaments, polyester based thermoplastic polyurethane (TPU), and textile filaments (page 3, last paragraph, page 4, paragraph 1, filament can be polyurethane, which is a textile fabric, Dieter) ;
the filling filaments are selected among glass filaments, carbon filaments and polyester filaments (para 0044, filament combination can be Kevlar and polyester, thus the filler filaments can be polyester, Aubuchon);
and the warp yarns comprise spun polyester filaments and continuous polyester filaments (para 0032, the warp yarns can be spun continuous polyester filaments, Aubuchon).
Regarding claim 15, Aubuchon in view of Courtney and Dieter discloses the method of claim 17, wherein the number of filler yarns is comprised in a range between 2 and 30 (para 0044, yarn composition 4, the filler yarn can be formed by twisting two or more yarns, Aubuchon. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976)).
Regarding claim 16, Aubuchon in view of Courtney and Dieter discloses the method of claim 17, wherein the number of filler yarns is comprised in a range between 2 and 30 (para 0044, yarn composition 4, the filler yarn can be formed by twisting two or more yarns, Aubuchon. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976)); with a twist number in a range between 0.5 and 2 twist per inch (TPI) (not disclosed, although and the yarn will naturally have a number of twists per inch).
Aubuchon in view of Courtney and Dieter does not disclose a specific twist number. However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to adjust the twist number, since it has been held that the provision of adjustability, where needed, involves only routine skill in the art. In re Stevens, 101 USPQ 284 (CCPA 1954).
Regarding claim 27, Aubuchon disclose a flexible hose (fig 1, hose 100, Aubuchon), comprising an external liner woven from filler threads and warp threads (fig 1, external liner 125 is woven; para 0045, warp and weft (filler) yarn can have a core of multifilament yarn wrapped with spun staple yarn, forming a secondary yarn, or thread, Aubuchon),
the filler yarns being selected as a combination of functional filaments and filling filaments (para 0045, the core and staple yarns that form the composite yarn can be made of different filaments, the core yarn filaments can be considered filling filaments, and the staple yarn filaments can be considered functional filaments, Aubuchon),
wherein the functional filaments are elastic filaments selected for abrasion resistance (para 0045, the staple (functional) filaments are selected to protect the core (filler) filaments from abrasion, Aubuchon), the filling filaments are selected for binding property (para 0045, core (filling) fibers provide tensile strength, binding the layer together, Aubuchon);
the functional filaments and the filling filaments being combined (para 0045, the core and staple yarns are wrapped together, Aubuchon), in a ratio selected according to a target radial expansion and compression of the liner, into filler yarns, under a selected twisting tension and with a selected twist number (para 0044 and 0049, the filler yarn can be twisted, so a twisting tension is inherently required to product the twisting, and the yarn will naturally have a number of twists per inch (the twist number), but specific tension and twist numbers are not disclosed);
wherein the warp threads are twisted from warp yarns (para 0045, warp yarn can have a core of multifilament yarn wrapped with spun staple yarn, forming a secondary yarn, or thread, Aubuchon), the warp yarns being selected according to a target rigidity in a longitudinal direction of the liner; and twisted together into warp threads (para 0045, the warp yarns can comprise a core yarn that provides tensile strength, which is also strength in a longitudinal direction of the liner due to the filament directions, and are twisted together with a staple yarn, Aubuchon);
and wherein the filler threads and the warp threads are woven into the liner in a weaving machine, the flexible hose being positioned in a center of the weaving in such a way that the liner is woven around the flexible hose, thus sheathing the hose once the hose is retrieved from the weaving machine (not disclosed)
wherein the functional filaments are SpandexTM filaments (not disclosed), the filling filaments are one of :
i) polyester filaments (para 0044, filament combination can be Kevlar and polyester, thus the filaments can be polyester, Aubuchon) and
ii) texturized polyester filaments,
the SpandexTM filaments and the polyester filaments are combined in a ratio in a range between 1 and 10 % by weight of the polyester filaments, under a twisting tension selected in a range between 0.4 N and 0.7 N, and with a twist number in a range between 0.5 and 2 twist per inch (TPI) (not disclosed);
and the warp yarns are yarns of spun polyester filaments and of continuous polyester filaments (para 0032, the warp yarns can be spun continuous polyester filaments, Aubuchon).
Aubuchon does not disclose placing the hose in a weaving machine and weaving the liner around the hose by interlacing the filler threads and the warp threads to sheathe the hose with the liner. However, Courtney teaches placing the hose in a weaving machine and weaving the liner around the hose by interlacing the filler threads and the warp threads to sheathe the hose with the liner (lines 76-83, the tube has fabric 5, made of warp and weft threads, woven onto it via a weaving machine, Courtney). Courtney describes a hose with a woven liner, a field closely related to Aubuchon and the claimed invention. Therefore it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before time of file to have incorporated the teachings of Courtney into Aubuchon and use a weaving machine to weave the fabric layers of Aubuchon directly onto the hose of Aubuchon. Using weaving machines to weave a liner onto a hose is well known in the art, and the machine produces a seamless and tight layer of threads (lines 79-83, Courtney), which allows the hose to resist expansion forces from internal pressure (lines 86-92, Courtney).
Aubuchon in view of Courtney does not disclose the functional filaments to be spandex (polyurethane). However, Dieter teaches a hose with polyurethane filaments (page 3, last paragraph, page 4, paragraph 1, filament can be polyurethane, Dieter). Dieter describes a fiber reinforced hose, as field closely related to Aubuchon, Courtney, and the claimed invention. Therefore it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before time of file to have incorporated the teachings of Dieter into Aubuchon in view of Courtney and use polyurethane filaments as the functional filaments of Aubuchon. Polyurethane filaments will impart its natural abrasion resistance onto the liner, which will benefit the fire hose of Aubuchon in view of Courtney and Dieter since fire hoses often experience abrasive environments. Additionally, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to use polyurethane as the material of the functional filaments, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416. See also Ballas Liquidating Co. v. Allied industries of Kansas, Inc. (DC Kans) 205 USPQ 331.
Aubuchon in view of Courtney and Dieter does not disclose specific ratio of functional and filler filaments. However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to adjust the twisting tension and twists per inch (twist number), since it has been held that the provision of adjustability, where needed, involves only routine skill in the art. In re Stevens, 101 USPQ 284 (CCPA 1954).
Regarding claim 23, Aubuchon in view of Courtney and Dieter discloses the flexible hose of claim 27, wherein the functional filaments are ones of:
thermoplastic polyurethane elastomer filaments, polyester based polyester based thermoplastic polyurethane (TPU) filaments, and textile filaments (page 3, last paragraph, page 4, paragraph 1, filament can be polyurethane, which is a textile fabric, Dieter);
the filling filaments are ones of: glass filaments, carbon filaments and polyester filaments (para 0044, filament combination can be Kevlar and polyester, thus the filler filaments can be polyester, Aubuchon);
and the warp yarns comprise spun polyester filaments and continuous polyester filaments (para 0032, the warp yarns can be spun continuous polyester filaments, Aubuchon).
Regarding claim 25, Aubuchon in view of Courtney and Dieter discloses the flexible hose of claim 27, wherein the number of filler yarns is comprised in a range between 2 and 30 (para 0044, yarn composition 4, the filler yarn can be formed by twisting two or more yarns, Aubuchon).
Regarding claim 26, Aubuchon in view of Courtney and Dieter discloses the flexible hose of claim 27, wherein the number of filler yarns is comprised in a range between 2 and 30 (para 0044, yarn composition 4, the filler yarn can be formed by twisting two or more yarns, Aubuchon. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976)); with a twist number in a range between 0.5 and 2 twist per inch (TPI) (not disclosed, although and the yarn will naturally have a number of twists per inch).
Aubuchon in view of Courtney and Dieter does not disclose a specific twist number. However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to adjust the twist number, since it has been held that the provision of adjustability, where needed, involves only routine skill in the art. In re Stevens, 101 USPQ 284 (CCPA 1954).
Claim 29 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aubuchon in view of Courtney and Dieter, in further view of Haytock (US 3272235 A), hereafter known as Haytock.
Regarding claim 29, Aubuchon in view of Courtney and Dieter discloses the flexible hose of claim 27, but does not disclose further comprising attachment rings for connecting an external element to the hose.
However, Haytock teaches attachment rings for connecting an external element to the hose (fig 1, rings 13, Haytock). Haytock describes a hose with fabric reinforcement, a field related to Aubuchon, Courtney, and Dieter. Therefore it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before time of file to have incorporated the teachings of Haytock into Aubuchon in view of Courtney and Dieter and the attach attachment rings of Haytock to the hose of Aubuchon in view of Courtney and Dieter. The loops of Haytock allow the hose to be suspended from support structures or other objects to be attached to the hose (lines 25-28, Haytock).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8,2,3,4,5,6,9,20,30 allowed.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Wilkinson (US 20040154676 A1) discloses hose with abrasion resistant polyurethane filament.
Mezzalira (US 5477888 A) discloses using a weaving machine to weave reinforcement onto a hose.
Tracy ( US 4488333 A) discloses a lash patch with holes to attach straps that can be attached to substrates.
King (US 20150265863 A1) discloses a ring that can be strapped to a hose
/H.L./Examiner, Art Unit 3753
/KENNETH RINEHART/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3753