Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendment filed on March 5, 2026 amends claims 1, 3-7, and 9-14 and cancels claim 2. Claims 1 and 3-14 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on March 5, 2026 regarding the newly presented claim limitations have been fully considered and are moot as shown in the rejections that follow. The newly presented claims, which necessitate a new ground of rejection, is taught by newly cited reference, Sadamura (US 2021/0300364), in combination with previously cited reference, Mimura et al. (US 2019/0118831), as shown in detail in the rejections that follow.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1 and 3-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “the second control command being a control command for planning a target trajectory …” and that “a switching unit” is used to switch “a control command to be output to an actuator unit for controlling motion of the vehicle from the first control command to the second control command.” It is unclear how a second control command plans a target trajectory because the second control command is used to control motion. Moreover, Examiner notes that the published specification at [0049] states that a second control command generation unit 530 plans a trajectory. For the sake of examination, the Examiner will strike-out the above-identified language from claim 1.
Appropriate amendments are required to address the above-identified issues. No new matter should be added for any amendment. The Examiner reserves the right to re-examine the merits of the claims at a future date after appropriate amendments are made by the Applicant to address the foregoing rejection.
Claims 3-14 depend on independent claim 1. Claims 3-14 are also rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b), second paragraph because they inherit the limitations and fail to resolve the deficiencies of their respective independent claims.
Regarding claim 5, it is unclear why the claim recites “such that, at the time of switching the control command, the path and the velocity change with a derivative value of a curvature of a path less than a predetermined value or with a jerk in a left-right direction of the vehicle less than a predetermined value.” Why wouldn’t the switching occur when the derivative value of the curvature of a path is greater than a predetermined value or with a jerk in left-right direction being more than the predetermined value? Examiner notes that the switching would occur when the jerk in left-right direction requires smoothing so as to provide a more comfortable ride. For the sake of examination, the Examiner will strike-out the above-identified language from claim 5.
Claims 6-7 depend on independent claim 5. Claims 6-7 are also rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b), second paragraph because they inherit the limitations and fail to resolve the deficiencies of their respective independent claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 3-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sadamura (US 2021/0300364) in view of Mimura et al. (US 2019/0118831).
Regarding claim 1, Sadamura teaches a vehicle control device provided in a vehicle, the vehicle control device comprising: a forward information acquisition unit that acquires forward information of the vehicle; (see at least Sadamura at Abstract which discloses a travel control device for a vehicle; Examiner maps travel control device to vehicle control device. Also, see Sadamura at Fig. 1 which illustratively discloses an external environment detecting device comprising a radar 17, lidar 18, and external camera 19. Examiner maps external environmental detecting device to the forward information acquisition unit that acquires forward information of the vehicle.)
a first control command acquisition unit that acquires a first control command, the first control command being a control command according to at least one of a first driver assistance function that causes the vehicle to track a path along a shape of a road on which the vehicle travels, a second driver assistance function that causes the vehicle to travel at a constant set velocity, and a third driver assistance function that, when the vehicle approaches a preceding vehicle, causes the vehicle to follow the preceding vehicle while maintaining an appropriate inter-vehicle distance; (see at least Sadamura at [0052] in conjunction with Fig. 1 which discloses that the ACC switch 12 is a switch configured to receive instructions regarding automated driving that relate to a vehicle speed V from the occupant, and includes a main switch 22, a vehicle speed setting switch 23, and an inter-vehicle distance setting switch 24. Sadamura at [0052] further discloses that the main switch 22 is configured to receive an instruction to start or stop adaptive cruise control (ACC) from the occupant. In the adaptive cruise control, the vehicle (the own vehicle) is controlled to travel at a speed equal to or lower than a set vehicle speed Vs so as to follow a preceding vehicle which is traveling ahead of the own vehicle in the same lane. The vehicle speed setting switch 23 is configured to receive an input of the set vehicle speed Vs from the occupant. The set vehicle speed Vs serves as an upper limit value of the vehicle speed V during the adaptive cruise control. The inter-vehicle distance setting switch 24 is configured to receive an input of a set inter-vehicle distance Ds from the occupant and that the set inter-vehicle distance Ds is a minimum inter-vehicle distance between the own vehicle and the preceding vehicle during the adaptive cruise control. Examiner maps receiving an input of the set vehicle speed Vs from the occupant to a second driver assistance function that causes the vehicle to travel at a constant set velocity. Alternatively, Examiner maps receiving an input of a set inter-vehicle distance Ds from the occupant to a third driver assistance function that, when the vehicle approaches a preceding vehicle, causes the vehicle to follow the preceding vehicle while maintaining an appropriate inter-vehicle distance. Examiner maps the ACC switch, for example, to the first control command acquisition unit. Examiner maps instructions from occupant to the first control command.)
a second control command generation unit that generates a second control command, the second control command being a control command for planning a target trajectory including a path and a velocity such that an acceleration in a left-right direction of the vehicle or a jerk in a left-right direction of the vehicle are each within a predetermined range and causing the vehicle to track the target trajectory; (see Sadamura at [0007] which discloses that preferably, when the lane travel control (LKAS, RDM) is being executed, the vehicle speed control unit (33) sets the vehicle speed upper limit value (Vm) to be lower than when the lane travel control is not being executed; see Sadamura at [0010] which discloses that according to a configuration, the vehicle speed upper limit value is set based on the lateral acceleration limit value that increases as the curvature of the lane acquired by the lane information acquisition unit becomes larger, that therefore, it is possible to make the vehicle turn without excessively lowering the vehicle speed when the lane travel control is being executed by the steering control unit, and that therefore, comfortable and highly convenient vehicle speed control can be performed within the range tolerable to the occupant; see Sadamura at [0107] which discloses that when the vehicle speed V is low, the occupant is less likely to feel uneasy even if the lateral acceleration G is high and tends to tolerate a larger lateral acceleration G compared to when the vehicle speed V is high, that in the present embodiment, the vehicle speed control unit 33 determines the vehicle speed upper limit value Vm based on the prescribed lateral acceleration limit value Gm (Gm1, Gm2), and the lateral acceleration limit value Gm (Gm1, Gm2) is set to a larger value as the radius of curvature R of the lane becomes smaller, as shown in FIG. 5, that the vehicle speed upper limit value Vm is set based on the lateral acceleration limit value Gm (Gm1, Gm2) that becomes larger as the curvature of the lane acquired by the external environment recognizing unit 31 becomes larger, that when LKAS is being executed by the steering control unit 32, the vehicle is allowed to turn without excessively lowering the vehicle speed V, and that therefore, comfortable and highly convenient vehicle speed control can be performed within the control range tolerable to the occupant. Examiner maps vehicle speed control unit to a second control command generation unit. Examiner notes that setting the vehicle speed upper limit value based on the lateral acceleration limit value that increases as the curvature of the lane acquired by the lane information acquisition unit becomes larger corresponds to including a path and a velocity such that an acceleration in a left-right direction of the vehicle or a jerk in a left-right direction of the vehicle are each within a predetermined range and causing the vehicle to track the target trajectory. Examiner notes that the limits to vehicle speed correspond to maintaining acceleration in a left-right direction of the vehicle or a jerk in a left-right direction to within a predetermined range.)
Sadamura discloses at the forward information acquisition unit (see Sadamura at Fig. 1 which illustratively discloses an external environment detecting device comprising a radar 17, lidar 18, and external camera 19). Sadamura does not expressly disclose and a switching unit that, determines whether the forward information of the vehicle acquired [at the forward information acquisition unit] satisfies a predetermined switch condition, and when determining that the switch condition is satisfied, switches a control command to be output to an actuator unit for controlling motion of the vehicle from the first control command to the second control command which in a related art Mimura teaches (see Mimura at [0006] which discloses a vehicle control system (100) includes an operation reception unit (70) configured to receive an operation of an occupant of a vehicle, an automated driving control unit (120) configured to automatically perform at least one of speed control and steering control of the vehicle. Also, see Mimura at Fig. 2 which depicts detection device DD and vehicle sensor 60; Examiner notes that the detection device and/or vehicle sensor correspond to devices that provide the forward information; see Mimura at [0124] in conjunction with Fig. 2 which discloses that a switch control unit 150 switches between the automated driving mode and the manual driving mode on the basis of the signal input from the automated driving changeover switch 87A and that the various operation switches 86 output an operation signal to the vehicle control system 100. Examiner maps manual driving mode to the mode which includes setting the vehicle speed upper limit value based on the lateral acceleration limit value that increases as the curvature of the lane acquired by the lane information acquisition unit becomes larger. Also, see Mimura at Fig. 2 which depicts output of switch control unit 150 being received by the traveling control unit 160; Examiner maps traveling control unit to the actuator unit. Further see Mimura at [0132] which discloses that the traveling control unit 160 automatically performs at least one of the speed control and the steering control of the subject vehicle M on the basis of a schedule determined by the action plan generation unit 144 and the trajectory generation unit 146 described above, that for example, the traveling control unit 160 controls the traveling driving force output device 200, the steering device 210, and the brake device 220 so that the subject vehicle M passes through the (scheduled) traveling trajectory (trajectory information) generated by the trajectory generation unit 146 at the scheduled time. Examiner further notes that controlling the traveling driving force output device also corresponds to outputting to an actuator. Examiner maps automated driving control unit and/or switch control unit to the recited switching unit. Examiner maps the output of the switch control unit 150 as depicted in Mimura at Fig. 2 to the recited a control command. Mimura at [0091] teaches that the vehicle control system 100 is realized by one or more processors or hardware having an equivalent function. Examiner notes that the vehicle control system and/or the automated driving control unit comprises the switch control unit 150. Thus, the switch unit may be realized by one or more processors or hardware. Examiner maps the switch control unit 150 to the recited switch unit. Examiner has shown a teaching based on a broadest reasonable interpretation of the claimed language.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Sadamura to include a switching unit that, determines whether the forward information of the vehicle acquired satisfies a predetermined switch condition, and when determining that the switch condition is satisfied, switches a control command to be output to an actuator unit for controlling motion of the vehicle from the first control command to the second control command, as taught by Mimura.
One would have been motivated to make such a modification to switch between driving modes and outputs, as suggested by Mimura at [0146].
Regarding claim 3, the modified Sadamura teaches the vehicle control device according to claim 1, wherein, at least when determining that the forward information of the vehicle does not satisfy the switch condition or when determining that a predetermined vehicle motion is required, the switching unit switches the control command to be output to the actuator from the second control command to the first control command (see Mimura at [0006] which discloses an interface control unit (174) configured to cause the output unit to output information indicating a relationship between an operation amount related to the speed control or the steering control from the occupant of the vehicle received by the operation reception unit and a threshold value of an operation amount at which control for switching from the automated driving to the manual driving is implemented by the automated driving control unit. Examiner notes that a particular threshold value must be met for the switching to occur and vice-versa. Also, see Mimura at [0124] in conjunction with Fig. 2 which discloses that a switch control unit 150 switches between the automated driving mode and the manual driving mode on the basis of the signal input from the automated driving changeover switch 87A and that the various operation switches 86 output an operation signal to the vehicle control system 100. Examiner notes that meeting the threshold value corresponds to satisfying a predetermined condition that is required and vice-versa. Further, see Mimura at [0132] which discloses that the traveling control unit 160 automatically performs at least one of the speed control and the steering control of the subject vehicle M on the basis of a schedule determined by the action plan generation unit 144 and the trajectory generation unit 146 described above, that for example, the traveling control unit 160 controls the traveling driving force output device 200. Examiner notes that controlling the traveling driving force output device corresponds to utilizing the actuator.)
Regarding claim 4, the modified Sadamura teaches the vehicle control device according to claim 3, comprising a memory unit storing information on a trajectory including a path and a velocity along which or at which the vehicle has traveled in an output state of one of the first control command and the second control command, (see Mimura at [0092] which discloses that the vehicle control system 100 includes a storage unit 180. Also, see Mimura at [0094] which discloses that the storage unit 180 stores information such as high accuracy map information 182, target lane information 184, action plan information 186, an override threshold value 188, and mode-specific operation permission or prohibition information 190. Examiner notes that action plan information corresponds to information on a trajectory including a path and a velocity along which or at which the vehicle has traveled in an output state of one of the first control command and the second control command.)
wherein the switching unit switches, in accordance with the information on the trajectory prior to switching the control command stored in the memory unit, the control command to be output to the actuator unit, from one of the first control command and the second control command to the other of the first control command and the second control command, such that at the time of switching the control command, the path and the velocity change with a derivative value of a curvature of a path less than a predetermined value or with a jerk in a left-right direction of the vehicle is less than a predetermined value (see Mimura at [0006] which discloses an interface control unit (174) configured to cause the output unit to output information indicating a relationship between an operation amount related to the speed control or the steering control from the occupant of the vehicle received by the operation reception unit and a threshold value of an operation amount at which control for switching from the automated driving to the manual driving is implemented by the automated driving control unit; see Mimura at Fig. 7 which illustratively describes deviation OS; see Mimura at [0108] which discloses that the subject vehicle position recognition unit 140 recognizes a deviation OS from a traveling lane center CL of a reference point (for example, a center of gravity) of the subject vehicle M and an angle formed with respect to a line connecting the traveling lane center CL of a direction of travel of the subject vehicle M, as the relative position of the subject vehicle M with respect to the traveling lane L1. See Mimura at [0124] in conjunction with Fig. 2 which discloses that a switch control unit 150 switches between the automated driving mode and the manual driving mode on the basis of the signal input from the automated driving changeover switch 87A and that the various operation switches 86 output an operation signal to the vehicle control system 100. Also, see [0125] which discloses that the switch control unit 150 compares the operation amount indicated by the signal input from the constitution of the driving operation system (for example, at least one of the traveling driving force output device 200, the steering device 210, and the brake device 220) in the HMI 70 with the threshold value (the override threshold value 188) of the operation amount stored in the storage unit 180 and in addition, for example, the operation amount includes the magnitude of the operation force. Examiner maps deviation to the jerk in the left-right direction of the vehicle; see Mimura at [0112] which discloses that it is noted that the action plan generation unit 144 may dynamically change the action plan regardless of the target lane information 184 according to a situation change of the subject vehicle M. Examiner notes that based on whether a threshold value of an operation amount is met, such as a deviation OS meeting a particular threshold value, the switching unit may switch between automated driving and manual driving as implemented by the automated driving control unit.)
Regarding claim 5, Mimura teaches the vehicle control device according to claim 3, comprising a trajectory prediction unit predicting a future trajectory based on one of the first control command and the second control command, wherein the switching unit switches, in accordance with the trajectory predicted by the trajectory prediction unit, the control command to be output to the actuator unit, from the one of the first control command and the second control command to the other of the first control command and the second control command [such that, at the time of switching the control command, the path and the velocity change with a derivative value of a curvature of a path less than a predetermined value or with a jerk in a left-right direction of the vehicle less than a predetermined value] (see Mimura at [0006] which discloses a vehicle control system (100) includes an operation reception unit (70) configured to receive an operation of an occupant of a vehicle, an automated driving control unit (120) configured to automatically perform at least one of speed control and steering control of the vehicle and switch from automated driving to manual driving on the basis of the operation received by the operation reception unit, an output unit (70) configured to output information, and an interface control unit (174) configured to cause the output unit to output information indicating a relationship between an operation amount related to the speed control or the steering control from the occupant of the vehicle received by the operation reception unit and a threshold value of an operation amount at which control for switching from the automated driving to the manual driving is implemented by the automated driving control unit. See Mimura at [0115] in conjunction with Fig. 9 which discloses that the trajectory candidate generation unit 146B generates a candidate for the trajectory on the basis of the traveling aspect determined by the traveling aspect determination unit 146A and that FIG. 10 is a diagram illustrating an example of the candidate for the trajectory generated by the trajectory candidate generation unit 146B. See Mimura at [0124] in conjunction with Fig. 2 which discloses that a switch control unit 150 switches between the automated driving mode and the manual driving mode on the basis of the signal input from the automated driving changeover switch 87A and that the various operation switches 86 output an operation signal to the vehicle control system 100. Examiner maps candidate for the trajectory to the predicted future trajectory.)
Regarding claim 6, Mimura teaches the vehicle control device according to claim 5, wherein the switching unit switches the control command to be output to the actuator unit from the one of the first control command and the second control command to the other of the first control command and the second control command (see Mimura at [0006] which discloses a vehicle control system (100) includes an operation reception unit (70) configured to receive an operation of an occupant of a vehicle, an automated driving control unit (120) configured to automatically perform at least one of speed control and steering control of the vehicle and switch from automated driving to manual driving on the basis of the operation received by the operation reception unit, an output unit (70) configured to output information, and an interface control unit (174) configured to cause the output unit to output information indicating a relationship between an operation amount related to the speed control or the steering control from the occupant of the vehicle received by the operation reception unit and a threshold value of an operation amount at which control for switching from the automated driving to the manual driving is implemented by the automated driving control unit. Also, see Mimura at Fig. 2 which depicts detection device DD and vehicle sensor 60; Examiner notes that the detection device and/or vehicle sensor correspond to devices that provide the forward information, as explained earlier; see Mimura at [0124] in conjunction with Fig. 2 which discloses that a switch control unit 150 switches between the automated driving mode and the manual driving mode on the basis of the signal input from the automated driving changeover switch 87A and that the various operation switches 86 output an operation signal to the vehicle control system 100. Examiner previously noted that one of the operation signals of the various operation switches determines the control command. Also, see Mimura at Fig. 2 which depicts an output of switch control unit 150 (which depends on the signal input from the various operation switches) being received by the traveling control unit 160; further see Mimura at [0132] which discloses that the traveling control unit 160 automatically performs at least one of the speed control and the steering control of the subject vehicle M on the basis of a schedule determined by the action plan generation unit 144 and the trajectory generation unit 146 described above, that for example, the traveling control unit 160 controls the traveling driving force output device 200, the steering device 210, and the brake device 220 so that the subject vehicle M passes through the (scheduled) traveling trajectory (trajectory information) generated by the trajectory generation unit 146 at the scheduled time. Examiner notes that controlling the traveling driving force output device corresponds to outputting to an actuator.)
such that the trajectory based on the other of the first control command and the second control command matches at least part of the trajectory predicted by the trajectory prediction unit (see Mimura at Fig. 11 which illustratively discloses at least one matching trajectory point K which gets wider based on vehicle speed, for example.)
Regarding claim 7, Mimura teaches the vehicle control device according to claim 5, wherein the switching unit switches the control command to be output to the actuator unit from the one of the first control command and the second control command to the other of the first control command and the second control command such that a trajectory for the vehicle gradually shifts from the trajectory predicted by the trajectory prediction unit to the trajectory based on the other of the first control command and the second control command (see Mimura at [0006] and at [0124] as was mentioned previously by the Examiner; see Mimura at [0117] in connection with Fig. 11 which illustratively discloses a gradual shift based on trajectory points K which gets wider based on vehicle speed, for example. Examiner notes that the trajectory points may be switched based on operational control signals provided by various operation switches 86 in conjunction with whether the vehicle is to be driven autonomously or manually.)
Regarding claim 8, Mimura teaches the vehicle control device according to claim 3, wherein, when a driver of the vehicle performs a steering operation, the switching unit switches the control command to be output to the actuator unit from the second control command to the first control command (see Mimura at [0006] which discloses a vehicle control system (100) includes an operation reception unit (70) configured to receive an operation of an occupant of a vehicle, an automated driving control unit (120) configured to automatically perform at least one of speed control and steering control of the vehicle and switch from automated driving to manual driving on the basis of the operation received by the operation reception unit, an output unit (70) configured to output information, and an interface control unit (174) configured to cause the output unit to output information indicating a relationship between an operation amount related to the speed control or the steering control from the occupant of the vehicle received by the operation reception unit and a threshold value of an operation amount at which control for switching from the automated driving to the manual driving is implemented by the automated driving control unit.)
Claims 9-12 are directed toward a vehicle control device that performs steps that are substantially the same as that recited in the vehicle control device of claims 4-7. The cited portions of the reference(s) used in the rejection of claims 4-7 teach the steps recited in the vehicle control device of claims 9-12. Therefore, claims 9-12 are rejected under the same rationale used in the rejections of claims 4-7.
Independent claim 13 recites a vehicle control method that performs the steps recited in the vehicle control device of claim 1. The cited portions of the prior art used in the rejection of claim 1 teach the corresponding limitations recited in the method of claim 13. Therefore, claim 13 is rejected for the same reasons as stated for claim 1 above.
Independent claim 14 recites a vehicle control system that performs the steps recited in the vehicle control device of claim 1. The cited portions of the prior art used in the rejection of claim 1 teach the corresponding limitations recited in the vehicle control system of claim 14. Therefore, claim 14 is rejected for the same reasons as stated for claim 1 above. Furthermore, Mimura teaches an external environmental recognition sensor device (see Mimura at [0106] which discloses that the subject vehicle position recognition unit 140 recognizes a lane (a traveling lane) on which the subject vehicle M is traveling and a relative position of the subject vehicle M with respect to the traveling lane on the basis of the high accuracy map information 182 stored in the storage unit 180, and the information input from the finder 20, the radar 30, the camera 40, the navigation device 50, or the vehicle sensor 60. Also, see Mimura at Fig. 2 which depicts detection device DD and vehicle sensor 60. Examiner maps one or more of the finder 20, the radar 30, the camera 40, the navigation device 50, or the vehicle sensor 60 to the external environmental recognition sensor device. Examiner interprets the first control unit to be any device, circuitry, and/or executable software pictured in Mimura at Fig. 2, such as the switch control unit 150, for example, which acquires the operation signal from the various operation switches 86. Examiner interprets the second control unit to be any device, circuitry, and/or executable software which generates a second control command for setting vehicle in motion based on an indicator different from that of the first control command such as one of the various operation switches 86, for example, which generates various operation signals from the various operation switches 86. Examiner interprets the actuator unit to be any device, circuitry, and/or executable software which controls the motion of the vehicle, such as the traveling control unit 160.)
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ROY RHEE/Examiner, Art Unit 3664