DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendments filed on 6/5/2026 does not put the application in condition for allowance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 6, and 12-13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 and a2 as being anticipated by Durney (US Pub No. 2015/0007871).
Regarding Claim 1, 6, and 12-13, Durney et al. teaches a photovoltaic module support [Fig. 1A-1C, 0020-0021], wherein the photovoltaic module support is a structural member formed by stamping and bending [0047, 0044], and a support body provided with a recessed reinforcing feature, [0044, 0048, Flat sheet metal blanks from which these components are formed may be patterned, for example, with grooves, these are read as a recessed reinforcing feature].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7, 9-10, and 12-13, and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Almogy (US Pub No. 2011/0271999)
Regarding Claim 1, Almogy et al. teaches a photovoltaic module support [340, Fig. 8, 0111], wherein a support body [entire structure of 340, Fig. 8, 0111], wherein the support body is provided with a recessed reinforcing feature [See annotated figure below].
The solid line and dashed line are used to show the recessed reinforcing feature, there are three more recessed reinforcing feature on the right of the lines in the structure of 340. The dashed line part is to show the bottom part of the groove, the recessed reinforcing feature is in a backward C shape.
[AltContent: connector][AltContent: connector][AltContent: connector][AltContent: connector]
Regarding Claim 2, Almogy et al. is relied upon for the reasons given above, Almogy et al. teaches wherein the number of the recessed reinforcing feature is at least one, which is arranged at least one of bending corners of the support body [see annotated figure, part of the grooves are at the bending corners]
Regarding Claim 3, Almogy et al. is relied upon for the reasons given above, Almogy et al. teaches wherein the number of the recessed reinforcing feature is at least one, which is arranged at a non-bending corner area of the support body [see annotated figure, part of the grooves are at the non-bending corners]
Regarding Claim 4, Almogy et al. is relied upon for the reasons given above, Almogy et al. teaches wherein the number of the recessed reinforcing feature formed by stampingis at least one, which is arranged at least one of bending corners of the support body [See annotated figure]
Regarding Claim 5, Almogy et al. is relied upon for the reasons given above, Almogy et al. teaches wherein the number of the raised reinforcing feature formed by stamping is at least one, which is arranged at a non-bending corner area of the support body [see annotated figure, and claim 1]
Regarding Claim 6, Almogy et al. is relied upon for the reasons given above, Almogy et al. teaches wherein the support body is further provided with a limited flange fixedly connected with the support body, and the limiting flange is configured for limiting a frame of a photovoltaic module [see annotated figure, and claim 1]
The circle is used to show the support body
[AltContent: oval]
Regarding Claim 7, Almogy et al. is relied upon for the reasons given above, Almogy et al. teaches wherein the support body comprises a first mounting plate fixedly connected with a photovoltaic module, a second mounting plate fixedly connected with a supporting member, and a connecting plate fixedly connecting the first mounting plate and the second mounting plate.
The circle is used to show the first and second mounting plate, and the rectangle is the connecting plate.
[AltContent: rect][AltContent: oval][AltContent: oval]
Regarding Claim 9, Almogy et al. is relied upon for the reasons given above, Almogy et al. teaches wherein the first mounting plate and the second mounting plate are located at a same side of the connecting plate [see annotated figure in claim 7]
Regarding Claim 10, Almogy et al. is relied upon for the reasons given above, Almogy et al. teaches wherein the first mounting plate and the second mounting plate are located at two opposite sides of the connecting plate, respectively [see annotated figure in claim 7, although not directly on opposite sides, the first and second mounting plates are technically “on” both sides of the connecting plate, since they are part of the structure]
Regarding Claim 12, Almogy et al. is relied upon for the reasons given above, Almogy et al. teaches wherein suport body is further provided with a reinforcing flange fixedly connected with the support body, and the reinforcing flange is located at a side portion of the support body [see rejection of claim 6]
Regarding Claim 13, Almogy et al. is relied upon for the reasons given above, Almogy et al. teaches wherein the reinforcing flange has an opening and/or a welding portion that are located at least one of bending corners of the support body [see rejection of claim 1]
Regarding Claim 16, Almogy et al. is relied upon for the reasons given above, Almogy et al. teaches a photovoltaic power station, comprising: a supporting
assembly, and a photovoltaic module fixed to the supporting assembly, wherein the
supporting assembly is the photovoltaic module supporting assembly according to claim
1 [Fig. 20, 0182].
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 6/5/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Regarding the new limitations, the interpretation taken for the “reinforcing groove” is also interpreted as a “recessed reinforcing feature” meeting the limitations of the claims.
Regarding the arguments about Durney et al., Durney et al. teaches a support body provided with a recessed reinforcing feature, [0044, 0048, Flat sheet metal blanks from which these components are formed may be patterned, for example, with grooves, these are read as a recessed reinforcing feature].
Regarding the arguments about the Almogy et al. reference, Almogy et al. teaches the support body is provided with a recessed reinforcing feature [See annotated figure below]. The recessed reinforcing feature of Almogy et al. is within 340 of Figure 8, it is recessed and provides some degree of a reinforcing feature as it is part of the structure of 340.
Regarding the product by process limitation, the claims does not require a raised reinforcing feature formed by stamping, the limitation is part of a “and/or” limitation.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8 and 11 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Durney (US Pub No. 2015/0007871) and Almogy (US Pub No. 2011/0271999) are the closest prior art.
Durney et al. and Almogy et al. teaches limitations of the claims but does not disclose the limitations of “wherein the first mounting plate is provided with a first mounting hole for fixing the photovoltaic module , and/or the second mounting plate is provided with a second mounting hole for fixing the supporting member.” In claim 8, and “further comprising a third mounting plate for fixedly connecting with the supporting member, wherein the third mounting plate is fixedly connected with the first mounting plate by an auxiliary connecting plate.” in claim 11
These references, nor any other reference or combination of references in the prior art suggest or render obvious the limitations of “wherein the first mounting plate is provided with a first mounting hole for fixing the photovoltaic module, and/or the second mounting plate is provided with a second mounting hole for fixing the supporting member.” In claim 8, and “further comprising a third mounting plate for fixedly connecting with the supporting member, wherein the third mounting plate is fixedly connected with the first mounting plate by an auxiliary connecting plate.” in claim 11
Therefore; claim 1 is allowed once the limitations of claims 8 and 11 are incorporated into claim 1.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MICHAEL Y SUN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1728