DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Group I, presently claims 1-31, in the reply filed on 6/09/2026, is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claims 32, 38, 40, 42, 44 and 53 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to nonelected inventions, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. The election is treated as being made without traverse in the reply filed on 6/09/2026.
Claims 1-31 are under consideration on the merits.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-8, 13-29, and 31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yu et al. (WO 2011/056971; provided in the IDS dated 2/28/2024) as evidenced by Yu et al. (Science (2009), 324, 797-801; Reference U, and hereafter referred to as “Yu 2009”).
Yu teaches a method of maintaining pluripotency (e.g. preventing differentiation) of human induced pluripotent stem cells the method comprising reprogramming human foreskin fibroblasts into iPS cells by transfecting said fibroblasts with episomal vectors pEP4EO2SCK2MEN2L and pEP4EO2SET2 which inherently encode for OCT4, SOX2,NANOG, LIN28, c-Myc, and KLF4 as evidenced by Yu 2009 (see Fig. 1A of Yu 2009), and then culturing the transfected fibroblasts on mouse embryonic fibroblasts and with a culture media composition comprising DMEM/F12, PD0325901 (i.e. a MEK inhibitor), CHIR99021 (i.e. a GSKβ inhibitor), and A-83-01 (i.e. a TGFβ inhibitor) and human LIF and lacking any growth factor(s) wherein the iPS cells are not further passaged (Yu at [00219]-[00222], anticipating claims 1, 2-4 (e.g. the iPS cells made for claim 2, and the iPS cells made by a TGFβ inhibitor for claims 3 and 4), 6-8, 13-24, 26, 27, and 31.
In a separate embodiment, Yu teaches a method of maintaining pluripotency (e.g. preventing differentiation) of human induced pluripotent stem cells the method comprising reprogramming human foreskin fibroblasts into iPS cells by transfecting said fibroblasts with episomal vectors pEP4EO2SCK2MEN2L and pEP4EO2SET2 which inherently encode for OCT4, SOX2,NANOG, LIN28, c-Myc, and KLF4 as evidenced by Yu 2009 (see Fig. 1A of Yu 2009), and then culturing the transfected fibroblasts on a feeder-free (3D) Matrigel® substrate with conditioned medium comprising zebrafish bFGF (i.e. zbFGF) or mTeSR®1 supplement to obtain human ES cell-like iPS cells and with a culture media composition comprising PD0325901 (i.e. a MEK inhibitor), CHIR99021 (i.e. a GSKβ inhibitor), and A-83-01 (i.e. a TGFβ inhibitor) and human LIF and lacking any growth factor(s) wherein the iPS cells are not further passaged (Yu at [00219]-[00222], anticipating claims 1, 2-4 (e.g. the iPS cells made for claim 2, and the iPS cells made by a TGFβ inhibitor for claims 3 and 4), 6-8, 13-24, 29, and 31.
In a separate embodiment, Yu teaches a method of maintaining pluripotency (e.g. preventing differentiation) of human induced pluripotent stem cells the method comprising reprogramming human foreskin fibroblasts into iPS cells by transfecting said fibroblasts with episomal vectors pEP4EO2SCK2MEN2L and pEP4EO2SET2 which inherently encode for OCT4, SOX2,NANOG, LIN28, c-Myc, and KLF4 as evidenced by Yu 2009 (see Fig. 1A of Yu 2009), and then culturing with a culture media composition comprising DMEM, N2B27 supplement or CM, and PCAL to obtain partially reprogrammed iPS cells (i.e. piPSC), PD0325901 (i.e. a MEK inhibitor), CHIR99021 (i.e. a GSKβ inhibitor), and A-83-01 (i.e. a TGFβ inhibitor) and human LIF and lacking any growth factor(s), wherein the piPSCs are cultured under feeder-free conditions, and wherein piPSCs are further passaged such as to yield a 16-cell embryo signature and/program (Yu at [00219]-[00221], [00232], and [00234] and “16CE” in Fig. 6), anticipating claims 1, 5-8, 13-25, 27, 28, and 31.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8 and 13-31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yu et al. (WO 2011/056971; provided in the IDS dated 2/28/2024).
The teachings of Yu as evidenced by Yu 2009 are relied upon as set forth above in rejected claims 1-8, 13-29, and 31 as anticipated under 35 U.S.C. § 102.
Regarding claim 30, Yu further teaches envisions suspension culturing of the stem cells ([00144]). As such, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was filed to culture the ES, iPS, and or pISPCs of Yu in suspension culture. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to do so and the skilled artisan would have been motivated to do so because Yu expressly considers the substitution of adherent and/or cell feeder methods with suspension culture methods as an alternative embodiment. Therefore, the substitution would simply and predictably yield suspension culture methods in Yu’s methods of maintaining pluripotency in various species of stem cells; see M.P.E.P. § 2143(I)(B).
Therefore, the invention as a whole would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill before the invention was filed.
Claims 9-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yu as evidenced by Yu 2009 to claim 1 above, and further in view of Jaenisch et al. (US 2020/0239855; provided in the IDS dated 2/28/2024).
The teachings of Yu as evidenced by Yu 2009 are relied upon as set forth above.
Regarding claim 9, Yu as evidenced by Yu 2009 does not teach a non-human mammalian cell. Regarding claim 10, Yu as evidenced by Yu 2009 does not teach a ruminant cell. Regarding claim 11, Yu as evidenced by Yu 2009 does not teach wherein the cell is a bovine cell, an ovine cell, or a caprine cell, a cervine cell. Regarding claim 12, Yu as evidenced by Yu 2009 does not teach wherein the cell is a murine cell, an equine cell, a feline cell, or a canine cell.
Jaenisch teaches methods of reprogramming somatic cells to generate multipotent or pluripotent cells (Abstract). Jaenisch teaches starting mammalian somatic cells comprising human, mouse (e.g. murine), bovine, ovine, sheep and goats (e.g. caprine), canine, feline, and horse (e.g. equine) ([0089]-[0090] and claim 24), reading on claims 9-12. Jaenisch teaches fibroblasts as an exemplary species of somatic cell ([0032]), reading on claims 9-12.
Regarding claims 9-12, a person of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in substituting the different sources of mammalian somatic cells such as fibroblasts of Jaenisch for the human fibroblasts Yu because all of the sources of mammalian cells are explicitly taught as being useful for THE SAME PURPOSE as starting somatic cells in methods of reprogramming said somatic cells to pluripotent cells. Therefore, these compositions are functional equivalents in the art, and substituting one for the other would have been obvious at the time of the invention. “When a patent ‘simply arranges old elements with each performing the same function it had been known to perform’ and yields no more than one would expect from such an arrangement, the combination is obvious.” See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385 (U.S. 2007) at 1395-1396, quoting Sakraida v. AG Pro, Inc., 425 U.S. 273 (1976) and In re Fout, 675 F.2d 297, 301 (CCPA 1982) (“Express suggestion to substitute one equivalent for another need not be present to render such substitution obvious”).
Therefore, the invention as a whole would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill before the invention was filed.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed. No claims are free of the art.
/Sean C. Barron/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1653