DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “third cold box” of claim 1 and “wherein the top section of the low-pressure column has a feed point for a second transfer liquid, and the base section of the argon column has an extraction point for the second transfer liquid, wherein the base section of the argon column and the top section of the low-pressure column are arranged in such a way that the extraction point for the second transfer liquid is above the feed point for the second transfer liquid” of claim 10 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Specification
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-12 objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1, line 18: “the base section and the top section of the low-pressure column” should read “the base section of the low-pressure column and the top section of the low-pressure column”
Claim 1, line 38: “the argon column (14, 15)” should read “the argon column”
Claim 2, line 2: “a base section” should read “the base section”
Claim 2, lines 2-3: “the base section and the top section of the argon column” should read “the base section of the argon column and the top section of the argon column”
Claim 6, lines 2-3: “wherein an empty section of the argon column or in the base section of the argon column is arranged” should read “wherein an empty section is arranged in the argon column or in the base section of the argon column”
Claim 7, line 2: “the first or second cold box” should read “the first cold box or the second cold box”
Claim 10, line 2: “the first or the second cold box” should read “the first cold box or the second cold box”
Claim 11, line 2: “the fist section (14)” should read “the first section of the crude argon column is formed by the base section of the argon column”
Claim 12, line 1: “wherein a system” should read “wherein the system”
Claims 2-8 and 10-12 are also objected to by virtue of their dependency on claim 1.
Claim 9 is also objected to by virtue of its dependency on claim 8.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(a)
Claims 1-12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 1, line 40 recites, “the pure oxygen column is arranged in the second cold box” which is not supported by the present disclosure as Fig. 2-4 depict the pure oxygen column 1 to be arranged in the first cold box 110. This arrangement is further described in the following recitation of the specification, “The high-pressure column 11, the base section 12 of the low-pressure column and the base section 14 of the argon column and the pure oxygen column 18 are arranged in the first cold box 110, and the top section 13 of the low-pressure column and the top section 15 of the argon column are arranged in the second cold box 120, just like the pure argon column 20. This results in the advantages of a corresponding embodiment according to the invention (Pg. 26, paragraph 82)”.
Claim 9, lines 1-2 recite, “having a subcooling heat exchanger which is arranged below the base section of the argon column” which is not supported by the present disclosure as Fig. 2 and 4 depict subcooling heat exchanger 17 to be arranged below the top section of the low-pressure column 13. This arrangement is further described in the following recitation of the specification, “As illustrated in dashed lines here, the subcooling heat exchanger 17 can in particular be arranged below the top section 13 of the low-pressure column in the second cold box 120 such that an orthogonal projection of the subcooling heat exchanger 17 onto the horizontal plane H overlaps with the orthogonal projection of the top section 13 of the low-pressure column onto this horizontal plane H in particular (Pg. 26, paragraph 83)”.
Claims 2-8 and 10-12 are also rejected by virtue of their dependency on claim 1.
Claim 9 is also rejected by virtue of its dependency on claim 8.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the orthogonal projection of the argon column" in lines 7-8. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. The Examiner recommends changing “the orthogonal projection of the argon column" in lines 7-8 of claim 1 to “an orthogonal projection of the argon column".
Claim 1, lines 27-31 recite, “the pure oxygen column and the argon column or a base section of the argon column are arranged side by side such that an orthogonal projection of at least one upper part of the pure oxygen column onto the horizontal plane does not overlap with the orthogonal projection of the argon column or the base section of the argon column onto the horizontal plane (H)” which is unclear to the Examiner as to how the limitation further limits the claim as the recitation of lines 27-31 is duplicative of the recitation of lines 5-9 of claim 1. For purposes of examination, the Examiner will interpret the recitation of lines 27-31 to be purely duplicative of the recreation of lines 5-9 of claim 1. The Examiner recommends removing one of the two duplicative recitations.
A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, claim 3 recites the broad recitation “wherein the pure argon column is arranged in the first cold box or the second cold box”, and the claim also recites “in particular in the cold box in which the top section of the argon column designed as a crude argon column is arranged” which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims. For purposes of examination, the Examiner the examiner will interpret the narrower language as (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required.
Claim 3 recites the limitation "the cold box" in line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. The Examiner recommends changing “the cold box” in line 4 of claim 3 to “a cold box”.
Claim 3 recites the limitation "the top section of the argon column" in line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. The Examiner recommends changing “the top section of the argon column” in line 4 of claim 3 to “a top section of the argon column”.
A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c). In the present instance, claim 7 recites the broad recitation “a subcooling heat exchanger which is arranged in the first or second cold box”, and the claim also recites “in particular in the second cold box below the top section of the low-pressure column” which is the narrower statement of the range/limitation. The claim(s) are considered indefinite because there is a question or doubt as to whether the feature introduced by such narrower language is (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required, or (b) a required feature of the claims. For purposes of examination, the Examiner the examiner will interpret the narrower language as (a) merely exemplary of the remainder of the claim, and therefore not required.
Claim 10, lines 2-3 recite, “and no third cold box is used” which is unclear to the Examiner as claim 1 from which claim 10 depends positively claims a third cold box. The recitation of claim 10 contradicts the limitations of claim 1 from which claim 10 depends and makes it unclear as to whether or not the claimed invention includes a third cold box. The Examiner recommends making amendments to the claims to clarify whether or not a third cold box is claimed.
Claim 11 recites the limitation "the first section (14) of the crude argon column" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. The Examiner recommends changing “the first section (14) of the crude argon column" in line 2 of claim 11 to “a first section of the crude argon column".
Claims 2-8 and 10-12 are also rejected by virtue of their dependency on claim 1.
Claim 9 is also rejected by virtue of its dependency on claim 8.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 and 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lochner (US Patent No. 10,591,209), hereinafter Lochner in view of Hirose et al. (US 20200318898), hereinafter Hirose and Kunz et al. (WO 2020083528), hereinafter Kunz.
Regarding claim 1, Lochner discloses a plant for low-temperature separation of air, having a rectification column system having a high-pressure column, a low-pressure column, an argon column and a cold box system (Fig. 1, air separation plant 100, high-pressure column 1, two-piece low-pressure column having a foot section 2 and a top section 3, two-piece crude argon column having a foot section 4 and a top section 5, first cold box A, second cold box B, third cold box C),
wherein
the low-pressure column is divided into at least a base section and a top section (Fig. 1, two-piece low-pressure column having a foot section 2 and a top section 3),
the base section and the top section of the low-pressure column are arranged next to one another in such a manner that an orthogonal projection of the base section of the low-pressure column onto the horizontal plane (H) does not intersect with an orthogonal projection of the top section of the low-pressure column onto the horizontal plane (H) (Fig. 2 of Lochner depicts foot section 2 and top section 3 of the low-pressure column to be arranged next to one another in such a manner that an orthogonal projection of the base section of the low-pressure column onto the horizontal plane does not intersect with an orthogonal projection of the top section of the low-pressure column onto the horizontal plane),
the high-pressure column is arranged below the base section of the low-pressure column in such a manner that an orthogonal projection of the high-pressure column onto the horizontal plane (H) intersects with the orthogonal projection of the base section of the low-pressure column onto the horizontal plane (H) (Fig. 1 of Lochner depicts high-pressure column 1 to be arranged below the foot section 2 of the low-pressure column in such a manner that an orthogonal projection of the high-pressure column onto the horizontal plane intersects with the orthogonal projection of the base section of the low-pressure column onto the horizontal plane),
the cold box system has a first cold box, a second cold box and a third cold box (Fig. 1, first cold box A, second cold box B, third cold box C),
the high-pressure column together with the base section of the low-pressure column is arranged in the first cold box (Fig. 1; Col. 9, lines 57-59, A denotes a first cold box which is designed for receiving the high-pressure column 1 and the foot section 2 of the low-pressure column),
the top section of the low-pressure column is arranged in the second cold box (Fig. 1; Col. 9, lines 59-61, A second cold box B can be designed for receiving the top section 3 of the low-pressure column),
the argon column or one or more sections of the argon column is or are arranged in the third cold box (Fig. 1; Col. 9, lines 61-63, In the example shown, a third cold box C is designed for receiving the top section 5 of the crude argon column).
However, Lochner does not disclose the rectification column system having a pure oxygen column,
the pure oxygen column and the argon column or a base section of the argon column are arranged side by side such that an orthogonal projection of at least one upper part of the pure oxygen column onto the horizontal plane does not overlap with the orthogonal projection of the argon column or the base section of the argon column onto the horizontal plane (H),
the pure oxygen column has a feed point for a first transfer liquid and the argon column or the base section of the argon column has an extraction point for the first transfer liquid, wherein the pure oxygen column and the base section of the argon column are arranged such that the extraction point for the first transfer liquid is geodetically above the feed point for the first transfer liquid.
Hirose teaches the rectification column system having a pure oxygen column (Fig. 1, high-purity oxygen rectification column 8),
the pure oxygen column and the argon column or a base section of the argon column are arranged side by side such that an orthogonal projection of at least one upper part of the pure oxygen column onto the horizontal plane does not overlap with the orthogonal projection of the argon column or the base section of the argon column onto the horizontal plane (H) (Fig. 1 of Hirose high-purity oxygen rectification column 8 and the third column bottom section 61 of crude argon column 6 to be arranged side by side in such a way that an orthogonal projection of at least one upper part of the pure oxygen column onto the horizontal plane does not overlap with the orthogonal projection of the base section of the argon column onto the horizontal plane),
the pure oxygen column has a feed point for a first transfer liquid and the argon column or the base section of the argon column has an extraction point for the first transfer liquid, wherein the pure oxygen column and the base section of the argon column are arranged such that the extraction point for the first transfer liquid is geodetically above the feed point for the first transfer liquid (Fig. 1, high-purity oxygen rectification column 8, intermediate portion drawing line L62, third column bottom section 61 of crude argon column 6; Pg. 4, paragraph 76, An intermediate portion drawing line L62 is a line for introducing, into an intermediate portion of the oxygen rectification portion 82 (preferably a lower stage than a central position of the oxygen rectification portion 82), an oxygen-rich liquid (intermediate-portion drawn liquid) drawn from the intermediate portion of the third rectification portion 62 (preferably a lower stage than a central position of the third rectification portion 62); Further, Fig. 1 of Hirose depicts the extraction point for the intermediate portion drawing line L62 to be arranged geodetically above the feed point for intermediate portion drawing line L62).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the plant of Lochner as modified the rectification column system having a pure oxygen column, the pure oxygen column and the argon column or a base section of the argon column are arranged side by side such that an orthogonal projection of at least one upper part of the pure oxygen column onto the horizontal plane does not overlap with the orthogonal projection of the argon column or the base section of the argon column onto the horizontal plane (H), the pure oxygen column has a feed point for a first transfer liquid and the argon column or the base section of the argon column has an extraction point for the first transfer liquid, wherein the pure oxygen column and the base section of the argon column are arranged such that the extraction point for the first transfer liquid is geodetically above the feed point for the first transfer liquid as taught by Hirose. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to produce a high-purity liquid oxygen stream for sale and other commercial usage while, simplify component arrangement within the system to improve space utilization, and to reduce the number of pumps required to operate the system to reduce overall plant costs.
Further, Lochner as modified does not disclose the pure oxygen column is arranged in the second cold box.
Kunz teaches the pure oxygen column is arranged in the second cold box (Fig. 31, fifth rectification column 15, third prefabricated cold box 3130; Pg. 42, lines 18-19, a fifth rectification column 15 is used, which is set up as a rectification column for providing high-purity oxygen; Pg. 54, lines 30-32, Rectification column 13 can be arranged in a third prefabricated cold box 3130. The third cold box 3130 in the illustrated example also contains the fifth Rectification column 15 arranged; Further, although Kunz refers to the cold box 3130 as a third cold box, the third cold box 3130 of Kunz corresponds to the claimed second cold box as the claimed second cold box is said to house the top section of the lower pressure column and the third cold box 3130 of Kunz houses lower pressure rectification columns 12 and 13).
Lochner as modified fails to teach w the pure oxygen column is arranged in the second cold box, however Kunz teaches that it is a known method in the art of low-temperature air separation plants to include the pure oxygen column is arranged in the second cold box. This is strong evidence that modifying Lochner as modified as claimed would produce predictable results (i.e. simplifying component arrangement within the system to improve space utilization). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lochner as modified by Kunz and arrive at the claimed invention since all claimed elements were known in the art and one having ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no changes in their respective functions and the combination would have yielded the predictable result of simplifying component arrangement within the system to improve space utilization.
Regarding claim 2, Lochner as modified discloses the plant according to claim 1 (see the combination of references used in the rejection of claim 1 above), wherein the argon column is divided at least into a base section and a top section, wherein the base section and the top section of the argon column are arranged next to one another in such a manner that an orthogonal projection of the base section of the argon column onto the horizontal plane (H) does not intersect with an orthogonal projection of the top section of the argon column (Lochner, Fig. 1, two-piece crude argon column having a foot section 4 and a top section 5; Fig. 1 of Lochner depicts foot section 4 and top section 5 of the crude argon column to be arranged next to one another in such a manner that an orthogonal projection of the base section of the argon column onto the horizontal plane does not intersect with an orthogonal projection of the top section of the argon column).
Regarding claim 3, Lochner as modified discloses the plant according to claim 1 (see the combination of references used in the rejection of claim 1 above), wherein the argon column is designed as a crude argon column and further a pure argon column is provided, wherein the pure argon column is arranged in the first cold box or the second cold box, in particular in the cold box in which the top section of the argon column designed as a crude argon column is arranged (Lochner, Fig. 1, two-piece crude argon column having a foot section 4 and a top section 5, pure argon column 6; Col. 9, lines 63-66, As explained, the top section 3 of the low-pressure column and the top section 5 of the crude argon column (optionally together with the pure argon column 6) can also be arranged in a shared cold box).
Regarding claim 11, Lochner as modified discloses the plant according to claim 1 (see the combination of references used in the rejection of claim 1 above), wherein the first section of the crude argon column is formed by the base section thereof (Lochner, Fig. 1, two-piece crude argon column having a foot section 4 and a top section 5).
Regarding claim 12, Lochner as modified discloses a method for the low temperature separation of air, wherein a system according to claim 1 is used (see the combination of references used in the rejection of claim 1 above).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lochner as modified by Hirose, and Kunz as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Rottmann et al. (US Patent No. 4,824,453), hereinafter Rottmann.
Regarding claim 4, Lochner as modified discloses the plant according to claim 1 (see the combination of references used in the rejection of claim 1 above).
However, Lochner as modified does not wherein the extraction point for the first transfer liquid is 1 to 30 theoretical plates above a sump of the base section of the argon column.
Rottmann teaches wherein the extraction point for the first transfer liquid is 1 to 30 theoretical plates above a sump of the base section of the argon column (Fig. 1, raw argon column 10, high-purity oxygen column 23, liquid fraction 22; Col. 7, lines 64-67, A side liquid fraction is removed from the raw argon column at a point 3 to 5 plates above the bottom liquid by a pipe 22 and delivered to a high-purity oxygen column 23).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the Plant of Lochner as modified wherein the extraction point for the first transfer liquid is 1 to 30 theoretical plates above a sump of the base section of the argon column as taught by Rottmann. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification because the impurities (krypton, xenon and hydrocarbons) are held by the plates between the argon column bottom and the side fraction removal point in the argon column (Rottmann, Col. 9, lines 2-4).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lochner as modified by Hirose, and Kunz as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Lochner (US Patent No. 10,690,408), hereinafter Lochner ‘408.
Regarding claim 5, Lochner as modified discloses the plant according to claim 1 (see the combination of references used in the rejection of claim 1 above), wherein the base section of the argon column has a feed point for a second transfer liquid, and the top section of the low-pressure column has an extraction point for the second transfer liquid (Lochner, Fig. 1, stream m; Col. 9, lines 2-3, an argon-rich stream mis taken off and fed into the foot section 4 of the crude argon column).
However, Lochner as modified does not disclose wherein the top section of the low-pressure column and the base section of the argon column are arranged such that the extraction point for the second transfer liquid is above the feed point for the second transfer liquid.
Lochner ‘408 teaches wherein the top section of the low-pressure column and the base section of the argon column are arranged such that the extraction point for the second transfer liquid is above the feed point for the second transfer liquid (Fig. 1 of Lochner ‘408 depicts the low-pressure column 11 and the first section 81 of the argon column to be arranged such that the extraction point for the argon-enriched stream 80 is above the feed point for the argon-enriched stream 80).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the plant of Lochner as modified wherein the top section of the low-pressure column and the base section of the argon column are arranged such that the extraction point for the second transfer liquid is above the feed point for the second transfer liquid as taught by Lochner ‘408. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to reduce the number of pumps required to operate the system to reduce overall plant costs.
Claims 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lochner as modified by Hirose, and Kunz as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Cavagne et al. (US 20200132368), hereinafter Cavagne.
Regarding claim 6, Lochner as modified discloses the plant according to claim 1 (see the combination of references used in the rejection of claim 1 above).
However, Lochner as modified does not disclose wherein an empty section of the argon column or in the base section of the argon column is arranged.
Cavagne teaches wherein an empty section of the argon column or in the base section of the argon column is arranged (Fig. 1, supporting structure 14A).
Lochner as modified fails to teach an empty section of the argon column or in the base section of the argon column is arranged, however Cavagne teaches that it is a known method in the art of low-temperature air separation plants to include teach an empty section of the argon column or in the base section of the argon column is arranged. This is strong evidence that modifying Lochner as modified as claimed would produce predictable results (i.e. providing equal heights for the distillation columns (Cavagne, Pg. 2, paragraph 36)). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lochner as modified by Cavagne and arrive at the claimed invention since all claimed elements were known in the art and one having ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no changes in their respective functions and the combination would have yielded the predictable result of providing equal heights for the distillation columns (Cavagne, Pg. 2, paragraph 36).
Regarding claim 7, Lochner as modified discloses the plant according to claim 1 (see the combination of references used in the rejection of claim 1 above), comprising a subcooling heat exchanger (Lochner, Fig. 1, subcooling counterflow heat exchanger 13).
However, Lochner as modified does not disclose the subcooling heat exchanger which is arranged in the first or second cold box, in particular in the second cold box below the top section of the low-pressure column.
Cavagne teaches the subcooling heat exchanger which is arranged in the first or second cold box, in particular in the second cold box below the top section of the low-pressure column (Fig. 1 of Cavagne depicts subcooling heat exchanger 12 to be disposed in the cold box 10 below the first column 2 and the second column 4; Fig. 2 of Cavagne depicts subcooling heat exchanger 12 to be disposed in the cold box 10 below the argon column 6).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the plant of Lochner as modified to arrange the subcooling heat exchanger in the first or second cold box, in particular in the second cold box below the top section of the low-pressure column as taught by Cavagne. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to make the cold box more compact (Cavagne, Pg. 2, paragraph 31).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lochner as modified by Hirose, and Kunz as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Hirose (TW 202009434), hereinafter Hirose ‘434.
Regarding claim 8, Lochner as modified discloses the plant according to claim 1 (see the combination of references used in the rejection of claim 1 above).
However, Lochner as modified does not disclose wherein the top section of the low-pressure column has a feed point for a second transfer liquid, and the base section of the argon column has an extraction point for the second transfer liquid, wherein the base section of the argon column and the top section of the low-pressure column are arranged in such a way that the extraction point for the second transfer liquid is above the feed point for the second transfer liquid.
Hirose ‘434 teaches wherein the top section of the low-pressure column has a feed point for a second transfer liquid, and the base section of the argon column has an extraction point for the second transfer liquid, wherein the base section of the argon column and the top section of the low-pressure column are arranged in such a way that the extraction point for the second transfer liquid is above the feed point for the second transfer liquid (Fig. 1A, lower section 31 crude argon distillation tower, second distillation column 21, second oxygen-rich liquid feedline L4; Pg. 5, paragraph 15, The second oxygen-rich liquid feed line (L4) is used to supply the second oxygen-rich liquid from the bottom (311) of the lower distillation column (31) to the middle part (213) of the second distillation column (21) (or The position of the tower below the middle section); Further, Fig. 1A of Hirose ‘434 depicts the wherein the lower section 31 of the argon column and the second distillation column 21 to be arranged in such a way that the extraction point for the second oxygen-rich liquid feedline L4 is above the feed point for the second oxygen-rich liquid feedline L4).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the plant of Lochner as modified wherein the top section of the low-pressure column has a feed point for a second transfer liquid, and the base section of the argon column has an extraction point for the second transfer liquid, wherein the base section of the argon column and the top section of the low-pressure column are arranged in such a way that the extraction point for the second transfer liquid is above the feed point for the second transfer liquid as taught by Hirose ‘434. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to reduce the number of pumps required to operate the system to reduce overall plant costs (Hirose ‘434, Pg. 5, paragraph 16).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lochner as modified by Hirose, Kunz, and Hirose ‘434 as applied to claim 8 above, and further in view of Cavagne et al. (US 20200132368), hereinafter Cavagne.
Regarding claim 9, Lochner as modified discloses the plant according to claim 8 (see the combination of references used in the rejection of claim 8 above), comprising a subcooling heat exchanger (Lochner, Fig. 1, subcooling counterflow heat exchanger 13).
However, Lochner as modified does not disclose the subcooling heat exchanger below the base section of the argon column.
Cavagne teaches the subcooling heat exchanger below the base section of the argon column (Fig. 2 of Cavagne depicts subcooling heat exchanger 12 to be disposed in the cold box 10 below the argon column 6).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the plant of Lochner as modified to arrange the subcooling heat exchanger below the base section of the argon column as taught by Cavagne. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to make the cold box more compact (Cavagne, Pg. 2, paragraph 40).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lochner as modified by Hirose, and Kunz as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Lochner (EP 3614082), hereinafter Lochner ‘082.
Regarding claim 10, Lochner as modified discloses the plant according to claim 1 (see the combination of references used in the rejection of claim 1 above).
However, Lochner as modified does not disclose in which all cold apparatus parts are arranged in the first or the second cold box and no third cold box is used.
Lochner ‘082 teaches in which all cold apparatus parts are arranged in the first or the second cold box and no third cold box is used (Fig. 7; Pg. 13, paragraph 80, line cold box 40 is provided in each case Figure 7 The arrangement shown on the left shows all of the separating units, namely the high-pressure column 1, the foot section 2 of the low-pressure column, the head section 3 of the low-pressure column and the crude argon column 4 with the pure argon column 5 in a common column cool box, which is also indicated here by 50, to which are arranged immediately connects the cable gold box 40. The pillar gold box and the line gold box 40 can in particular be connected to one another at their corresponding surfaces. In the in Figure 7 The view shown on the right is of a corresponding L-shaped pillar gold box, denoted here by 50 ', and the line cold box 40 is fitted into the pillar gold box 50' in the manner shown).
Lochner as modified fails to teach all cold apparatus parts are arranged in the first or the second cold box and no third cold box is used, however Lochner ‘082 teaches that it is a known method in the art of low-temperature air separation plants to include all cold apparatus parts are arranged in the first or the second cold box and no third cold box is used. This is strong evidence that modifying Lochner as modified as claimed would produce predictable results (i.e. simplifying component arrangement within the system to improve space utilization). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Lochner as modified by Lochner ‘082 and arrive at the claimed invention since all claimed elements were known in the art and one having ordinary skill in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no changes in their respective functions and the combination would have yielded the predictable result of simplifying component arrangement within the system to improve space utilization.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Pompl (US Patent No. 6,530,242) discloses a similar low-temperature air separation plant.
Kurtz et al. (US Patent No. 11,740,015) discloses a similar low-temperature air separation plant.
/DEVON MOORE/Examiner, Art Unit 3763 December 12th, 2025
/FRANTZ F JULES/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3763