DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDSs) submitted on 5/24/2024 and 3/19/2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim 3 is objected to because of the following informalities: it is recommended that "a drive device that uses magnetic force to rotatably drive the agitator . Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Watkins et al. (US 2016/0281043 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Watkins et al. discloses a cell culturing device that cultures cells (para. 0001), comprising: a vessel (bioreactor 100) that accommodates a culture solution containing a medium (abstract “culture medium”) and cells (para. 0002 “cells”); an agitator that is provided in the vessel and agitates the culture solution (impeller 109); a discharge pipe that discharges the culture solution in the vessel to outside the vessel (harvest tube 105); and an oxygen intake pipe that draws oxygen into the vessel (sparger tube 106), the discharge pipe having an end below the agitator in a vertical direction (Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 2, Watkins et al. discloses a cell culturing device wherein the oxygen intake pipe has an end positioned so as to overlap the agitator in the vertical direction (Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 3, Watkins et al. discloses a cell culturing device further comprising: a drive device that uses magnetic force to rotatably drive the agitator contactlessly from outside the vessel (para. 0035 “magnetic drive assembly for impeller”; para. 0038 “the driving assembly remains isolated from the culture medium inside vessel”); and a control device that controls an operation of the drive device (para. 0004 “control system… agitation”; paras. 0044-0045).
Regarding the limitation “wherein after the control device stops the drive device, the culture solution is discharged through the discharge pipe to outside the vessel”, it has been held that a claim containing a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus if the prior art apparatus teaches all the structural limitations of the claim (MPEP § 2114 II). Therefore, the apparatus disclosed by Watkins et al. would be fully capable of achieving every claimed intended use because the prior art apparatus is disclosed to have a magnetic drive assembly to control an impeller (para. 0035), and a harvest tube (105) and would be structurally capable of discharging a culture solution after operation of a drive device has stopped absent clear evidence otherwise.
Citation of Pertinent Prior Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure: Anderson (US 4,649,118) discloses a cell culture apparatus including a magnetic stirrer and tubes for introducing gas and withdrawing medium and cells.
Conclusion
/ASHLEY LOPEZLIRA/Examiner, Art Unit 1799
/MICHAEL A MARCHESCHI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1799