DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5-6, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Takahata et al. (JP2012252909A English Machine Translation provided with this Office Action).
Regarding claim 1, Takahata discloses a battery rack ([0024] outer casing 13 to be mounted) comprising: at least one battery pack (See annotated Fig. 1 below); a rack frame on which the battery pack is mounted (Fig. 1, outer casing 13); and a water tank (Fig. 1, inner container 15) having a coolant (Fig. 1, fire extinguishing agent 12) mounted on the rack frame (See Fig. 1); wherein the at least one battery pack comprises: a battery cell stack in which a plurality of battery cells are stacked (See Fig. 1, multiple unit cells 11), a pack frame that houses the battery cell stack (Fig. 1, inner casing 14), and a cooling member that is located on an upper side of the battery cell stack (Fig. 1, nozzle 16 is interpreted to be a cooling member because it provides the coolant) and contains the coolant, wherein the cooling member is connected to the water tank (See Fig. 1), wherein at least one fragile part (See annotated Fig. 2 below, stopper or resin plug 17) that breaks or melts above a predetermined temperature or pressure ([0019] plug is melted by heat above the upper limit temperature) is formed on a lower plate (Lower plate is made of Fig. 1 top inner casing and Fig. 2, lower section) of the cooling member (See Fig. 1, nozzle is part of the lower plate), and wherein when a level of the coolant is lowered by opening the at least one fragile part of the cooling member, the coolant is supplied from the water tank to the cooling member ([0019] when the stopper 17 is broken, the tip hole 16a of the nozzle 16 is opened).
Regarding claim 2, Takahata discloses the battery rack (See annotated Fig. 1 above) of claim 1, wherein the water tank is located on an upper part of the rack frame (See Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 3, Takahata discloses battery rack (See annotated Fig. 1 above) of claim 1, wherein the cooling member comprises an inlet port (Fig. 2, lower section) and an outlet port (Fig. 2, upper section) for injecting the coolant into an internal space, wherein the inlet port and the outlet port are connected to an external cooling system (See Fig. 1).
Because the coolant is injected from the inner container to the inner casing housing the unit cells ([0022] extinguishing agent 12 is introduced from the inner container 15 into the inner casing 14), the coolant is necessarily circulated through the inlet port and the outlet port of the nozzle.
Regarding claim 5, Takahata discloses the battery rack (See annotated Fig. 1 above) of claim 1, wherein the at least one battery pack is a plurality of battery packs (See Fig. 1, multiple inner casings with unit cells), and the water tank is connected to the cooling member included in each of the plurality of battery packs (See Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 6, Takahata discloses the battery rack (See annotated Fig. 13 above, battery rack 1) of claim 1, wherein a plurality of openings (Fig. 2, tip hole 16a at each nozzle) are formed in the lower plate of the cooling member (See Fig. 1), with each of the plurality of openings being closed by a sealing member (See Fig. 2), and wherein the at least one fragile part is a portion where the plurality of openings is located (See Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 13, Takahata discloses the battery rack (See annotated Fig. 1 above) of claim 1, wherein an upper plate of the cooling member is integrated with the pack frame (See Fig. 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4, 7, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takahata et al. (JP2012252909A English Machine Translation provided with this Office Action) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Chung (KR20210076261A English Machine Translation provided with this Office Action).
Regarding claim 4, Takahata discloses the battery rack (See annotated Fig. 1 above) of claim 3, but does not disclose wherein the inlet port is connected to the external cooling system through an inflow manifold wherein the outlet port is connected to the external cooling system through a discharge manifold, and wherein the water tank is connected to the discharge manifold.
Chung discloses a battery energy storage system comprising of battery racks ([0021]) in which the inlet port is connected to the external cooling system (See annotated Fig. 6 below) through an inflow manifold (Fig. 6, fine fire extinguishing pipe 414) wherein the outlet port is connected to the external cooling system through a discharge manifold (Fig. 6, fire extinguishing device 410), and wherein the water tank (Fig. 6, agent storage device 411) is connected to the discharge manifold (See Fig. 6). Chung also discloses that the system of fire extinguishing device and pipes makes it possible to extinguish a locally generated fire at a corresponding level, thereby preventing economic loss by preventing the fire from being extinguished unnecessarily far beyond the local area ([0048]).
Takahata and Chung are analogous prior art to the current invention because they are concerned with the same field of endeavor, namely battery packs with a fire extinguishing system.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the battery rack of Takahata such the inlet port is connected to the external cooling system through an inflow manifold wherein the outlet port is connected to the external cooling system through a discharge manifold, and wherein the water tank is connected to the discharge manifold as taught by Chung in order to extinguish a locally generated fire at a corresponding level, preventing economic loss by preventing the fire from being extinguished unnecessarily far beyond the local area.
Regarding claim 7, Takahata discloses the battery rack (See annotated Fig. 1 above) of claim 1, wherein the at least one fragile part (See annotated Fig. 2 above, stopper or resin plug 17) is a portion where the plurality of openings (Fig. 2, tip hole 16a at each nozzle) is located in the lower plate (See Fig. 1, nozzles part of lower plate) and wherein the lower plate is formed with a plurality of openings (See Fig. 1, multiple tip toles 16a) but does not disclose that the cooling member comprises a cooling tube that provides a flow path for the coolant and a cooling hose attached to the cooling tube, and the cooling hose is located so as to correspond to the plurality of openings.
Chung discloses a battery energy storage system comprising of battery racks ([0021]) in which the cooling member comprises a cooling tube (See annotated Fig. 6 above, fire extinguishing device 410) that provides a flow path for the coolant and a cooling hose (Fig. 6, fine fire extinguishing pipe 414) attached to the cooling tube, and the cooling hose is located so as to correspond to the plurality of openings ([0022] nozzle attached to the end of the fine fire extinguishing pipe). Chung also discloses that the system of fire extinguishing device and pipes makes it possible to extinguish a locally generated fire at a corresponding level, thereby preventing economic loss by preventing the fire from being extinguished unnecessarily far beyond the local area ([0048]).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the battery rack of Takahata such that the cooling member comprises a cooling tube that provides a flow path for the coolant and a cooling hose attached to the cooling tube, and the cooling hose is located so as to correspond to the plurality of openings as taught by Chung in order to extinguish a locally generated fire at a corresponding level, preventing economic loss by preventing the fire from being extinguished unnecessarily far beyond the local area.
Regarding claim 14, Takahata discloses the battery rack (See annotated Fig. 1 above) but does not disclose an energy storage system comprising at least one battery rack as set forth in claim 1.
Chung discloses a battery energy storage system comprising of battery racks ([0021]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to use the battery rack of modified Takahata in the battery energy storage system as disclosed by Chung because combination of battery rack to be used in an energy storage system is well within the ambit of one of ordinary skill in the art. MPEP 2141 III(A) Combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takahata et al. (JP2012252909A English Machine Translation provided with this Office Action) and Chung (KR20210076261A English Machine Translation provided with this Office Action) as applied to claim 7 above, and further in view of Kim et al. (US20210074974A1)
Regarding claim 8, modified Takahata discloses the battery rack of claim 7, but does not disclose the lower plate and the cooling tube are connected by a strap-shaped fixing member.
Kim discloses an energy storage module including a plurality of battery cells [0062] in which the lower plate ([0060] top plate 140) and the cooling tube ([0060] ducts 141) are connected by a strap-shaped fixing member ([0060] extinguisher sheet 150). Kim also discloses that the extinguisher sheet may be positioned such that the openings therein are respectively aligned with the ducts of the top plate.
Takahata, Chung, and Kim are analogous prior art to the current invention because they are concerned with the same field of endeavor, namely battery packs with a fire extinguishing system.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the battery rack of modified Takahata such that the lower plate and the cooling tube are connected by a strap-shaped fixing member as taught by Kim in order to align the openings of the lower plate and cooling tube.
Claims 9-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takahata et al. (JP2012252909A English Machine Translation provided with this Office Action) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Shi et al. (US20200212379A1).
Regarding claim 9, Takahata discloses the battery rack (See annotated Fig. 1 above) of claim 1 with the lower plate but does not disclose that the lower plate comprises a first part where the at least one fragile part is formed and a second part where the at least one fragile part is not formed,
wherein a thickness of the first part is smaller than a thickness of the second part.
Shi discloses an electrode assembly of multiple cells ([0022]) with a lower plate in which the lower plate comprises a first part where the at least one fragile part ([0031] vent piece 32) is formed and a second part where the at least one fragile part is not formed ([0031] cap plate 31),
wherein a thickness of the first part is smaller than a thickness of the second part. ([0034] depth of the first groove is larger than a thickness of a vent piece). Shi also discloses that the larger the thickness, the greater the strength of the plate when the electrode units expand ([0039]) to prevent unintended rupture of the fragile part ([0035]).
Takahata and Shi are analogous prior art to the current invention because they are concerned with the same field of endeavor, namely battery packs with a fragile part fire extinguishing system.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify the battery rack of Takahata such that a thickness of the first part is smaller than a thickness of the second part as taught by Shi in order to increase the strength as the electrode units expand and prevent unintended rupture of the fragile part.
Regarding claim 10, Takahata discloses the battery rack (See annotated Fig. 1 above) of claim 9, but does not disclose explicitly that the thickness of the first part is less than or equal to half of the thickness of the second part.
As the strength of the first and second part is a variable that can be modified by adjusting said thickness of the part, with said strength increasing as the thickness is increased, as evidenced by Shi ([0035] and [0039]), the thickness of said first and second parts would have been considered a result effective variable by one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made. As such, without showing unexpected results, the claimed thickness of said first and second parts cannot be considered critical. Accordingly, one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made would have optimized, by routine experimentation, the thickness of the first part of modified Takahata such that it is less than or equal to half of the thickness of the second part to obtain desired strength as the electrode units expand and prevent unintended rupture of the fragile part (In re Boesch, 617 F.2d. 272, 205 USPQ 215 (CCPA 1980)), since it has been held that where the general conditions of the claim are disclosed in the prior art, discovering the optimum or workable ranges involves only routine skill in the art. (In re Aller, 105 USPQ 223).
Regarding claim 11, Takahata discloses the battery rack (See annotated Fig. 1 above) of claim 9 with a lower plate.
Shi further discloses an electrode assembly of multiple cells ([0022]) with a lower plate in which the lower plate (See annotated Fig. 5 below) is formed by joining a first layer (vent piece 32) and a second layer (cap layer 31) having different thicknesses to each other (Fig. 5, vent piece 32 and cap plate 31), wherein the thickness of the first part corresponds to a thickness of the first layer (See Fig. 5, vent piece), and wherein the thickness of the second part corresponds to the thickness of the first layer and a thickness of the second layer (See Fig. 5, cap plate).
Regarding claim 12, Takahata discloses the battery rack (See annotated Fig. 1 above) of claim 9.
Shi further discloses an electrode assembly of multiple cells ([0022]) in which an upper plate (See annotated Fig. 5 above, piece) coupled to the lower plate (31 and 32) of the cooling member comprises a bent part (See Fig. 5, bend on cap plate), wherein a crest of the bent part corresponds to the first part (See Fig. 5, vent piece), and wherein a trough of the bent part corresponds to the second part (See Fig. 5, cap plate).
Conclusion
/DAN NGUYEN TRAN/Examiner, Art Unit 1754
/SUSAN D LEONG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1754