DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election with traverse of species I, claims 1-14 and 9-11 in the reply filed on 08/03/2026 is acknowledged.
The traversal is on the ground(s) that it is respectfully submitted that the Examiner's Election of Species Requirement is improper in view of the fact that a reasonable number of species are set forth in the present application, and such is permitted by Rule 146. This is not found persuasive because a plurality of state of charge estimation models estimating the SOC and SOH of each of the plurality of battery cells based on the battery information are processed through different species. Each of the species requires features not found in the other species, and are therefore mutually exclusive, independent, and distinct. In addition, these species are not obvious variants of each other based on the current record. Therefore, there is a serious search and/or examination burden for the patentably distinct species as set forth above. The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDSs) submitted on 02/28/2024, 01/29/2025, and 04/22/2025 were in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-4 and 9-11are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more.
Regarding claim 1,
Specifically, representative Claim 1 recites:
A battery system comprising:
a battery including a plurality of battery cells;
a communication device that communicates with an upper system on which the battery system is mounted, and receives identification information of the upper system;
a monitoring device that collects at least one of battery information including a plurality of cell voltages of the plurality of battery cells, a current of the battery, and a temperature of the battery;
a storage device that stores a plurality of state of charge estimation models estimating an SOC of each of the plurality of battery cells based on the battery information according to a predetermined algorithm, and stores first weight values corresponding to the identification information; and
a controller that calculates an average value of first SOCs by adding up results of applying the first weight values to a plurality of SOCs estimated by the plurality of SOC estimation models.
The claim limitations in the abstract idea have been highlighted in bold above; the remaining limitations are “additional elements.”
Step 1: under the Step 1 of the eligibility analysis, we determine whether the claims are to a statutory category by considering whether the claimed subject matter falls within the four statutory categories of patentable subject matter identified by 35 U.S.C. 101: Process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter. The above claim is considered to be in a statutory category (Machine).
Step 2A, Prong One: under the Step 2A, Prong One, we consider whether the claim recites a judicial exception (abstract idea). In the above claim, the highlighted portion constitutes an abstract idea because, under a broadest reasonable interpretation, it recites limitations that fall into/recite an abstract idea exceptions. Specifically, under the 2019 Revised Patent Subject matter Eligibility Guidance, it falls into the groupings of subject matter when recited as such in a claim limitation that falls into the grouping of subject matter when recited as such in a claim limitation, that covers mathematical concepts - mathematical relationships, mathematical formulas or equations, mathematical calculations and mental processes – concepts performed in the human mind including an observation, evaluation, judgement, and/or opinion.
For example, the limitations of “a plurality of state of charge estimation models estimating an SOC of each of the plurality of battery cells based on the battery information according to a predetermined algorithm (page 16, lines 4-page 19, lines 13 of instant application)” and “calculates an average value of first SOCs by adding up results of applying the first weight values to a plurality of SOCs estimated by the plurality of SOC estimation models (page 16, lines 1-page 22, line 22)” are mathematical calculations. There is no particular word or set of words that indicates a claim recites a mathematical calculation. That is, a claim does not have to recite the word "calculating" in order to be considered a mathematical calculation. For example, a step of "determining" a variable or number using mathematical methods or "performing" a mathematical operation may also be considered mathematical calculations when the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim in light of the specification encompasses a mathematical calculation. See MPEP 2016.04(a)(2)C. The limitation of “first weight values corresponding to the identification information (see page 4, lines 15-23 and page 15, line 14-page 19, line 5 of instant application)” is mental process (evaluation/judgement) or mathematical calculations (See MPEP 2016.04(a)(2)C). If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mathematical calculations and human mind, then it falls within the “Mathematical Concept” and “Mental Processes” groupings of abstract ideas. Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea.
Regarding claim 9,
Specifically, representative Claim 9 recites:
A battery state estimation method comprising:
determining first weight values corresponding to identification information of an upper system on which a battery system is mounted;
receiving a plurality of states of charge (SOC) from a plurality of state of charge (SOC) estimation models estimating an SOC of each of the plurality of battery cells included in a battery based on battery information according to a predetermined algorithm; and
calculating an average value of first SOCs by adding up results of applying the first weight values to the plurality of SOCs,
wherein the battery information includes.
The claim limitations in the abstract idea have been highlighted in bold above; the remaining limitations are “additional elements.”
Step 1: under the Step 1 of the eligibility at least one of a plurality of cell voltages of the plurality of battery cells, a current of the battery, and a temperature of the battery analysis, we determine whether the claims are to a statutory category by considering whether the claimed subject matter falls within the four statutory categories of patentable subject matter identified by 35 U.S.C. 101: Process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter. The above claim is considered to be in a statutory category (Process).
Step 2A, Prong One: under the Step 2A, Prong One, we consider whether the claim recites a judicial exception (abstract idea). In the above claim, the highlighted portion constitutes an abstract idea because, under a broadest reasonable interpretation, it recites limitations that fall into/recite an abstract idea exceptions. Specifically, under the 2019 Revised Patent Subject matter Eligibility Guidance, it falls into the groupings of subject matter when recited as such in a claim limitation that falls into the grouping of subject matter when recited as such in a claim limitation, that covers mathematical concepts - mathematical relationships, mathematical formulas or equations, mathematical calculations and mental processes – concepts performed in the human mind including an observation, evaluation, judgement, and/or opinion.
For example, the limitations of “determining first weight values corresponding to identification information of an upper system on which a battery system is mounted (see page 4, lines 15-23 and page 15, line 14-page 19, line 5 of instant application)“ is mental processes (evaluation/judgement) or mathematical calculations (See MPEP 2016.04(a)(2)C). The limitation of “calculating an average value of first SOCs by adding up results of applying the first weight values to the plurality of SOCs, wherein the battery information includes at least one of a plurality of cell voltages of the plurality of battery cells, a current of the battery, and a temperature of the battery (see page 5, lines 10-20 of instant application)” is mathematical calculations. The limitation of “calculating an average value” is an indicative of mathematical calculations. Further, the limitation of “at least one of a plurality of cell voltages of the plurality of battery cells, a current of the battery, and a temperature of the battery” merely further defines or describes the battery information that is used to perform abstract idea (i.e. a plurality of state of charge estimation models estimating an SOC of each of the plurality of battery cells). If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mathematical calculations and human mind, then it falls within the “Mathematical Concepts” and “Mental Processes” grouping of abstract ideas. Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea.
Step 2A, Prong Two: under the Step 2A, Prong Two, we consider whether the claim that recites a judicial exception is integrated into a practical application. In this step, we evaluate whether the claim recites additional elements that integrate the exception into a practical application of that exception. This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application.
Therefore, the claims are directed to a judicial exception and require further analysis under the Step 2B.
Step 2B:
The above claims comprise the following additional elements:
In Claim 1: a battery system (preamble); a battery including a plurality of battery cells; a communication device that communicates with an upper system on which the battery system is mounted, and receives identification information of the upper system; a monitoring device that collects at least one of battery information including a plurality of cell voltages of the plurality of battery cells, a current of the battery, and a temperature of the battery; a storage device; controller and
In Claim 9: a battery state estimation method (preamble); receiving a plurality of states of charge (SOC) from a plurality of state of charge (SOC) estimation models estimating an SOC of each of the plurality of battery cells included in a battery based on battery information according to a predetermined algorithm.
The additional elements such as upper system, battery system, battery, and a plurality of battery cells, storage device, and controller are recited at a high-level of generality without descriptions of its specific structure/features to perform the claimed features for producing the mathematical process addressed above (MPEP 2106.05(d)). Further, note that step of “receives identification information of the upper system; a monitoring device that collects at least one of battery information including a plurality of cell voltages of the plurality of battery cells, a current of the battery, and a temperature of the battery; a storage device” and “ receiving a plurality of states of charge (SOC) from a plurality of state of charge (SOC) estimation models estimating an SOC of each of the plurality of battery cells included in a battery based on battery information according to a predetermined algorithm” are insignificant (gathering data) extra-solution activity (MPEP 2106.05(g)). Further, the additional element of “a battery system” and “a battery state estimation method” are preamble statements reciting purpose or intended use (See MPEP 2111.02) (II)). Therefore, none of the additional elements indicate a practical application.
Further, the claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because these additional elements/steps are well-understood, routine, and conventional in the relevant based on the prior art of record (Takechi (WO2021053976A1, Griffin et al (US 2014/0089629 A1)). For example, Takechi and Griffin teach a battery including a plurality of battery cells (page 3, lines 35-39 of Takechi; para. [0144] of US 20140089629); a communication device that communicates with an upper system on which the battery system is mounted, and receives identification information of the upper system (page 3, lines 35-page 4, lines 3 of Takechi; para. [0166] of Griffin); a monitoring device that collects at least one of battery information including a plurality of cell voltages of the plurality of battery cells, a current of the battery, and a temperature of the battery (page 21, lines 3-6 of Takechi and para. [0144] of Griffin); a storage device that stores (page 10, lines 21-34 of Takechi and para. [0070]-[0071] of para. [0166] of Griffin).
Claims 2-4 and 10-11,
All features recited in these claims are abstract ideas, as all features found in these claims are directed towards mathematical calculations/mental processes and high level generality such as controller, storage, upper system. The explanation for the rejection of Claims 2-4 and 10-11, therefore are incorporated herein and applied to Claims 1 and 9. These claims therefore stand rejected for similar reasons as explained in above Claims 1 and 9.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 and 9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Masanori et al. (US 2022/0223949 A1, hereinafter referred to as “Masanori”) in view of Min (KR 20160139990A, hereinafter referred to as “Min”) and Kikuchi et al. (WO 2017/158727A1, hereinafter referred to as “Kikuchi”).
Regarding claim 1, Masanori teaches a battery system (Figs 1-2) comprising:
a battery including a plurality of battery cells (para. [0033]: the battery packs 100-1 to 100-n are those in which a plurality of lithium-ion battery cells);
a communication device that communicates with an upper system (para. [0034]: battery pack) on which the battery system is mounted (para. [0032]: since the wireless communication device is mounted inside the battery pack 100 in this way, wireless communication of the battery packs 100-1 to 100-3 with a terminal device 301; para. [0034]: the terminal device 301 can be connected to a base station 360 of a telephone company using a telephone communication network 361 and can be connected to a server device of a manufacturer of the battery pack 100 or a support company 300 using a network 350 such as the Internet), and
a monitoring device that collects at least one of battery information including a plurality of cell voltages of the plurality of battery cells, a current of the battery, and a temperature of the battery (para. [0033]: the battery packs 100-1 to 100-n are those in which a plurality of lithium-ion battery cells; para. [0065]: The microcontroller 154 monitors a current value and a cell temperature, and monitors states of the upper cell unit 146 and the lower cell unit 147 to control an operating status of the two in an integrated manner… The microcontroller 154 stores a battery voltage, a temperature, and a count value of the number of times of charging which have been monitored in the storage device);
a storage device that stores a plurality of information of each of the plurality of battery cells based on the battery information according to a predetermined algorithm (para. [0065]: The microcontroller 154 monitors a current value and a cell temperature, and monitors states of the upper cell unit 146 and the lower cell unit 147 to control an operating status of the two in an integrated manner… The microcontroller 154 stores a battery voltage, a temperature, and a count value of the number of times of charging which have been monitored in the storage device), and
stores first values corresponding to the identification information (para. [0039]: The slot 124 is an insertion port for a T terminal from which a signal serving as identification information of the battery pack 100 is output to the power tool main body or a charging device).
Masanori does not specifically teach receiving identification information of the upper system, state of charge (SOC) estimation models estimating an SOC, weight value, and a controller that calculates an average value of first SOCs by adding up results of applying the first weight values to a plurality of SOCs estimated by the plurality of SOC estimation models.
However, Min teaches receiving identification information of the upper system (page 10, lines 8-9: The battery interface unit 510 receives the position identification information for positioning the battery pack of the electric vehicle from the charging device of the battery pack or the electric vehicle; page 10, lines 19-20: the battery interface unit 510 receives the position identification information or the battery identification information through wireless communication).
Masanori and Min are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same filed of battery system. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the receiving identification information of the upper system such as is described in Moon into Masanori, in order to include information for identifying the location of any one of the electric device and the charging device (Moon, page 5, lines 31-32)..
Masanori and Min do not specifically teach state of charge (SOC) estimation models estimating an SOC, weight value, and a controller that calculates an average value of first SOCs by adding up results of applying the first weight values to a plurality of SOCs estimated by the plurality of SOC estimation models.
However, Kikuchi teaches teach state of charge (SOC) estimation models estimating an SOC (page 7, lines 23-25: the battery capacity estimation device according to the present embodiment includes a voltage detection unit 101, a current detection unit 102, a temperature detection unit 103, a first SOC estimation unit 104, a second SOC estimation unit 105), weight value (page 7, line 41: The SOC correction ratio table storage unit 111 calculates the weight (r) of the battery capacity SOC_V (t); page 14, lines 35-36: new resistance data is weighted and reflected when changing the resistance lookup table used for estimating the resistance of a battery), and
a controller (page 10, line 47: computer) that calculates an average value of first SOCs by adding up results of applying the first weight values (page 7, line 41: The SOC correction ratio table storage unit 111 calculates the weight (r) of the battery capacity SOC_V (t); page 10, lines 38-39: Based on the estimated battery capacity SOC_I (t) is calculated (S409). Then, the SOC correction unit 107 estimates the calculated weighted average as the battery capacity SOC (t) of the battery cell (S409); page 14, lines 35-36: new resistance data is weighted and reflected when changing the resistance lookup table used for estimating the resistance of a battery) to a plurality of SOCs estimated by the plurality of SOC estimation models (page 7, lines 23-25: the battery capacity estimation device according to the present embodiment includes a voltage detection unit 101, a current detection unit 102, a temperature detection unit 103, a first SOC estimation unit 104, a second SOC estimation unit 105;)).
Masanori and Kikuchi are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same filed of battery monitoring system. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the state of charge (SOC) estimation models estimating an SOC, weight values, and calculating an average value of first SO described in Cs by adding up results of applying the first weight values such as are described in Kikuchi into Masanori, in order to allow the battery capacity SOC (t) to be estimated using the battery capacity SOC_V (t) estimated every time shorter than the time until the battery capacity SOC (t) is estimated for the first time (Kikuchi, page 3, lines 27-28).
Regarding claim 2, Masanori in view of Min and Kikuchi teaches all the limitation of claim 1, in addition, Masanori teaches the identification information (para. [0039]: The slot 124 is an insertion port for a T terminal from which a signal serving as identification information of the battery pack 100 is output to the power tool main body or a charging device).
Masumori does not specifically teach the controller calculates an average value of second SOCs by adding up results of applying second weight values, corresponding to the information and a predetermined estimation condition, to the plurality of SOCs.
However, Kikuchi teaches the controller (page 10, line 47: computer) calculates an average value of second SOCs by adding up results of applying second weight values, corresponding to the information and a predetermined estimation condition, to the plurality of SOCs (page 7, line 41:see claim 1 above; page 10, lines 38-39: see claim 1 above; page 10, lines 20-26: the resistance data updating unit 124 updates the resistance value of the resistive data updating unit 124 based on the average value of the plurality of resistance data stored in the memory unit 110 according to the SOC-T condition, the average value of the maximum value and the minimum value…the average value is obtained by multiplying each of the weights corresponding to the importance or influence.; page 16, lines 1-4: the resistance data updating unit 124 updates the average value of the plurality of resistance data stored in the memory unit 110 according to the SOC-T condition, (Step S60). In step S60, the weighted average value between the new resistance data and the previously stored resistance data is calculated, note that the above feature of “updated unit 124” in page 10, lines 20-26 and page 16, lines 1-4 reads on “adding up results of applying second weight values, corresponding to the information and a predetermined estimation condition, to the plurality of SOCs”).
Masumori and Kikuchi are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of battery monitoring system. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the adding up results of applying second weight values such as are described in Kikuchi into Masumori, in order to allow the battery capacity SOC (t) to be estimated using the battery capacity SOC_V (t) estimated every time shorter than the time until the battery capacity SOC (t) is estimated for the first time (Kikuchi, page 3, lines 27-28).
Regarding claim 3, Masumori in view of Min and Kikuchi teaches all the limitation of claim 2.
Masumori and Min do not specifically teach that the estimation condition is determined according to a result of comparing each of the cell voltages with a predetermined reference value.
However, Kikkuchi teaches that the estimation condition is determined according to a result of comparing each of the cell voltages with a predetermined reference value * (page 8, lines 10-11: The first SOC estimation unit 104 estimates the battery capacity SOC_V (t) of the battery cell based on the battery voltage V (t) of the battery cell detected by the voltage detection unit 101).
Masumori and Kikuchi are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same filed of battery monitoring system. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the estimation condition such as are described in Kikuchi into Masumori, in order to allow the battery capacity SOC (t) to be estimated using the battery capacity SOC_V (t) estimated every time shorter than the time until the battery capacity SOC (t) is estimated for the first time (Kikuchi, page 3, lines 27-28).
Regarding claim 4, Masumori in view of Min and Kikuchi teaches all the limitation of claim 4, in addition, Masumori teaches the storage device stores a plurality of pieces of identification information of the upper system on which the battery system is mounted (para. [0039]: The slot 124 is an insertion port for a T terminal from which a signal serving as identification information of the battery pack 100 is output to the power tool main body or a charging device).
Misumori and Min do not specifically teach that the first weight values corresponding to each of the plurality of pieces of information, and the second weight values corresponding to each of the plurality of pieces of information.
However, Kikuchi teaches that the first weight values corresponding to each of the plurality of pieces of information, and the second weight values corresponding to each of the plurality of pieces of information (page 7, line 41: The SOC correction ratio table storage unit 111 calculates the weight (r) of the battery capacity SOC_V (t); page 10, lines 38-39: Based on the estimated battery capacity SOC_I (t) is calculated (S409). Then, the SOC correction unit 107 estimates the calculated weighted average as the battery capacity SOC (t) of the battery cell (S409); page 14, lines 35-36: new resistance data is weighted and reflected when changing the resistance lookup table used for estimating the resistance of a battery; page 10, lines 20-26: the resistance data updating unit 124 updates the resistance value of the resistive data updating unit 124 based on the average value of the plurality of resistance data stored in the memory unit 110 according to the SOC-T condition, the average value of the maximum value and the minimum value…the average value is obtained by multiplying each of the weights corresponding to the importance or influence; page 16, lines 1-4: the resistance data updating unit 124 updates the average value of the plurality of resistance data stored in the memory unit 110 according to the SOC-T condition, (Step S60). In step S60, the weighted average value between the new resistance data and the previously stored resistance data is calculated, note that the above feature of “weighted values” in page 7, line 41 and page 10, lines 38-39 and “updated unit” in page 10, lines 20-26 and “page 16, lines 1-4” reads on “the first weight values corresponding to each of the plurality of pieces of information, and the second weight values corresponding to each of the plurality of pieces of information”).
Masumori and Kikuchi are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same filed of battery monitoring system. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the first and second weighted values such as are described in Kikuchi into Masumori, in order to allow the battery capacity SOC (t) to be estimated using the battery capacity SOC_V (t) estimated every time shorter than the time until the battery capacity SOC (t) is estimated for the first time (Kikuchi, page 3, lines 27-28).
Regarding claim 9, Masumori does not specifically teach a battery state estimation method comprising: determining first values corresponding to identification information of an upper system on which a battery system is mounted, a battery state estimation method comprising: first weight values, receiving a plurality of states of charge (SOC) from a plurality of state of charge (SOC) estimation models estimating an SOC of each of the plurality of battery cells included in a battery based on battery information according to a predetermined algorithm; and calculating an average value of first SOCs by adding up results of applying the first weight values to the plurality of SOCs, wherein the battery information includes at least one of a plurality of cell voltages of the plurality of battery cells, a current of the battery, and a temperature of the battery.
However, Min teaches determining first values corresponding to identification information of an upper system on which a battery system is mounted (page 10, lines 8-9: The battery interface unit 510 receives the position identification information for positioning the battery pack of the electric vehicle from the charging device of the battery pack or the electric vehicle; page 10, lines 19-20: the battery interface unit 510 receives the position identification information or the battery identification information through wireless communication; page 6, lines 36-37: determining the position of the battery pack using the calculated position identification information, note that the above feature of page 10, lines 8-9, page 10, lines 19-20, and “determining the position of the battery pack using the calculated position identification information” reads on “determining first values corresponding to identification information of an upper system on which a battery system is mounted”).
Masanori and Min are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same filed of battery system. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the determining first values corresponding to identification information of an upper system such as is described in Moon into Masanori, in order to include information for identifying the location of any one of the electric device and the charging device (Moon, page 5, lines 31-32)..
Masanori and Min do not specifically teach a battery state estimation method comprising: first weight values, receiving a plurality of states of charge (SOC) from a plurality of state of charge (SOC) estimation models estimating an SOC of each of the plurality of battery cells included in a battery based on battery information according to a predetermined algorithm; and calculating an average value of first SOCs by adding up results of applying the first weight values to the plurality of SOCs, wherein the battery information includes at least one of a plurality of cell voltages of the plurality of battery cells, a current of the battery, and a temperature of the battery.
However, Kikuchi teaches first weight values (page 7, line 41: The SOC correction ratio table storage unit 111 calculates the weight (r) of the battery capacity SOC_V (t); page 10, lines 38-39: Based on the estimated battery capacity SOC_I (t) is calculated (S409). Then, the SOC correction unit 107 estimates the calculated weighted average as the battery capacity SOC (t) of the battery cell (S409)),
receiving a plurality of states of charge (SOC) from a plurality of state of charge (SOC) estimation models estimating an SOC of each of the plurality of battery cells (page 7, line 41: The SOC correction ratio table storage unit 111 calculates the weight (r) of the battery capacity SOC_V (t); page 10, lines 38-39: Based on the estimated battery capacity SOC_I (t) is calculated (S409). Then, the SOC correction unit 107 estimates the calculated weighted average as the battery capacity SOC (t) of the battery cell (S409)) included in a battery based on battery information according to a predetermined algorithm (page 14, lines 35-36: new resistance data is weighted and reflected when changing the resistance lookup table used for estimating the resistance of a battery, note that the above feature of page 14, lines 35-36 reads on “predetermined algorithm”); and
calculating an average value of first SOCs by adding up results of applying the first weight values to the plurality of SOCs (Fig. 2 and page 8, lines 47-page 8, lines 1: when estimating the battery capacity SOC (t) using the battery capacity SOC_V (t), the SOC correction unit 107 estimates the battery capacity SOC_V (t) estimated by the first SOC estimation unit 104 and the second SOC estimation unit 105. The weighted average with the obtained battery capacity SOC_I (t) is estimated as the battery capacity SOC (t) of the battery cell),
wherein the battery information includes at least one of a plurality of cell voltages of the plurality of battery cells, a current of the battery, and a temperature of the battery (page 7, lines 23-25: The voltage detection unit 101 detects each cell voltage of a plurality of battery cells (an example of a storage battery) included in the assembled battery as a battery voltage V (t). The current detection unit 102 detects a current value I (t) of a current flowing through each of the plurality of battery cells included in the assembled battery. The temperature detector 103 detects the temperature T (t) of each of the plurality of battery cells included in the assembled battery).
Masumori and Kikuchi are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same filed of battery monitoring system. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the first weight values and receiving a plurality of states of charge (SOC) such as are described in Kikuchi into Masumori, in order to allow the battery capacity SOC (t) to be estimated using the battery capacity SOC_V (t) estimated every time shorter than the time until the battery capacity SOC (t) is estimated for the first time (Kikuchi, page 3, lines 27-28).
Regarding claim 10, Masumori in view of Min and Kikuchi teaches all the limitation of claim 9, in addition, Masumori teaches determining second values corresponding to the identification information (para. [0039]: The slot 124 is an insertion port for a T terminal from which a signal serving as identification information of the battery pack 100 is output to the power tool main body or a charging device).
Masumori and Min do not specifically teach that determining of the first weight values comprises determining second weight values, corresponding to the information and a predetermined estimation condition, and wherein the calculating of the average value comprises calculating an average value of second SOCs by adding up results of applying the second weight values to the plurality of SOCs.
However, Kikuchi teaches Kikuchi teaches determining of the first weight values comprises determining second weight values, corresponding to the information and a predetermined estimation condition (page 8, lines 47-48: the SOC correction unit 107 estimates the battery capacity SOC_V (t) estimated by the first SOC estimation unit 104 and the second SOC estimation unit 105), and
wherein the calculating of the average value comprises calculating an average value of second SOCs by adding up results of applying the second weight values to the plurality of SOCs (Fig. 2 and page 8, lines 47-page 8, lines 1: when estimating the battery capacity SOC (t) using the battery capacity SOC_V (t), the SOC correction unit 107 estimates the battery capacity SOC_V (t) estimated by the first SOC estimation unit 104 and the second SOC estimation unit 105. The weighted average with the obtained battery capacity SOC_I (t) is estimated as the battery capacity SOC (t) of the battery cell).
Masumori and Kikuchi are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same filed of battery monitoring system. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate determining of the first weight values such as is described in Kikuchi into Masumori, in order to allow the battery capacity SOC (t) to be estimated using the battery capacity SOC_V (t) estimated every time shorter than the time until the battery capacity SOC (t) is estimated for the first time (Kikuchi, page 3, lines 27-28).
Regarding claim 11, it is dependent on claim 10 and has similar limitations as of claim 3 above. Therefore, it is rejected under the same rationale as of claim 3 above.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Lim et al. (WO 2018151431 A1) teaches that the present invention relates to a method for estimating a state of charge (SOC) of an energy storage system (ESS) and, more specifically, ESS SOC estimation method for estimating an SOC of an ESS through a voltage modeling scheme using different parameters according to a charging/discharging state.
Baba et al. (JP 6755162 B2) teaches an estimation device that enables more accurate estimation in consideration of restrictions caused by an actual hysteresis phenomenon. In an estimation device 10 that estimates a charge rate SOC of a battery 1 using an equivalent circuit model 41 of the battery 1.
Xiong et al. (CN 110687462 B) teaches that the invention provides a full-life-cycle joint estimation method for SOC and capacity of a power battery, which adopts battery system aging data acquired in real time, extracts temperature change parameters under multiple aging stages based on a model, establishes a battery model containing information of the multiple aging stages, respectively implements SOC estimation by matching with a filter algorithm, and calculates the SOC and the capacity of the current time by using weights corresponding to different aging states.
/SANGKYUNG LEE/Examiner, Art Unit 2858
/LEE E RODAK/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2858