DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group II, claims 21-26 in the reply filed on 31 August 2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 27-29 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 23-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 24 depends from itself. It is thus unclear what limitations are required to meet claim 24. For purposes of examination, claim 24 is interpreted as being dependent upon the instant independent claim 21.
Claim 23-24 recite the limitation "the side wall" in lines 2 and 1-2 respectively. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claim 21, from which the claims depend, do not previously recite a side wall. For purposes of examination, claims 23 is interpreted as instead reciting “wherein the biodegradable container has a side wall with a thickness of biodegradable container has a side wall, wherein the side wall
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 17-26 and 30-36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pluquet et al. (US 20200216244 A1) in view of Krishnaswamy et al. (US 20150147929 A1).
To note, claim 21 is addressed first as it is the independent claim and all other claims are addressed in chronological order.
Regarding claim 21, Pluquet teaches a biodegradable container comprising a first layer (resin layer/biodegradable film) and a second layer (biodegradable substrate), wherein the first layer comprises a biodegradable resin comprising a polyhydroxyalkanoate (PHA) resin and a polylactic acid or polybutylene succinate resin (Pluquet, Abstract, Par. 0001-0003, 0032-0039, and 0135-0138). Pluquet teaches the second layer comprises a polylactic acid (PLA) or a polybutylene succinate (PBS) (Pluquet, Par. 0032-0039, 0087-0089, and 0115-0118). The layer arrangement of a first PHA layer and a second PLA or PBS layer is the same as the instant invention per the instant claim 24. Pluquet teaches the first layer has a thickness of less than 0.3 mm and the second layer has a thickness of 0.3-2.3 mm (Pluquet, Par. 0030), resulting in a total thickness of 0.3-2 mm, which overlaps the range of the instant invention of 0.8-3 mm per the instant claim 23. This further results in a thickness ratio of the first layer to the second layer of greater than 1:1, which overlaps the range of the instant invention of 1:1 to 1:3 per the instant claim 25.
Pluquet is silent regarding the biodegradable container having a compressive strength of 5 kgf/cm2 or more.
Krishnaswamy teaches a biodegradable container comprising biodegradable resin comprising a PHA resin and a PBS resin (Krishnaswamy, Abstract, and Par. 0046). Krishnaswamy teaches a ratio of the PHA to PBS is 95/5 to 50/50 (1:0.05 to 1:1) including 50/50 (1:1) (Krishnaswamy, Par. 0087), which lies within the range of the instant invention of 1:0.1 to 1:2.3 per the instant claim 18. Krishnaswamy teaches the PHA resin comprises 3-HB units in an amount of 15-75 wt.% and 4-HB units in an amount of 25-85 wt.% (Krishnaswamy, Par. 0006-0009), which are the same units as the instant invention in an amount that renders obvious the amounts and ratio of the instant invention per the instant claims 20, and 30-34. Krishnaswamy teaches the PHA resin further comprises 3-HH units (Krishnaswamy, Par. 0010), which is the same as the instant invention per the instant claims 19 and 35.
Pluquet and Krishnaswamy are analogous art as they both teach biodegradable containers comprising a biodegradable resin comprising a blend of a PHA resin and a PBS resin. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used the biodegradable resin of Krishnaswamy as the biodegradable resin of the first layer of Pluquet. This would allow for a biodegradable resin with improved toughness, tear, and puncture resistance properties (Krishnaswamy, Par. 0005).
Regarding the limitation of the compressive strength, modified Pluquet teaches a biodegradable container that is identical or substantially identical to the claimed invention. Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977), see MPEP 2112.01. Modified Pluquet teaches a biodegradable resin comprising the same first and second layer as the instant invention as stated above. Modified Pluquet teaches the same biodegradable resin comprising the same PHA resin for the first layer as the instant invention as stated above. Modified Pluquet teaches the same overall thickness and thickness ratios as the instant invention as stated above. Modified Pluquet teaches the same repeating groups in the same amount in the PHA resin as the instant invention as stated above. Furthermore, the instant specification does not state that any specific modifications are made to achieve the claimed compressive strength. Modified Pluquet thus teaches a biodegradable container comprising that is identical or substantially identical to the claimed invention. Therefore, absent objective evidence to the contrary, the biodegradable container of modified Pluquet would have inherently exhibited the claimed compressive strength, see MPEP 2112.01.
Regarding claim 17, modified Pluquet teaches the biodegradable resin further comprises a PBS (Krishnaswamy, Abstract).
Regarding claim 18, modified Pluquet teaches a ratio of the PHA to PBS is 95/5 to 50/50 (1:0.05 to 1:1) including 50/50 (1:1) (Krishnaswamy, Par. 0087), which lies within the range of the instant invention of 1:0.1 to 1:2.3 and therefore satisfies the claimed range, see MPEP 2131.03.
Regarding claims 19 and 35, modified Pluquet teaches the PHA is a PHA copolymer resin that further comprises 3-HH units (Krishnaswamy, Par. 0010).
Regarding claims 20 and 30-34, modified Pluquet teaches the PHA resin comprising a copolymerized PHA including 3-HB units in an amount of 15-75 wt.% and 4-HB units in an amount of 25-85 wt.% (Krishnaswamy, Par. 0006-0009), resulting in a ratio of 4-HB to 3-HB of 25:75 to 85:15. These ranges overlap the claim 33 range of 20-99 wt.% 3-HB, the claim 20 range of 0.1-60 wt.% 4-HB, and the claim 34 range of 55:45 to 94:6 respectively and therefore establishes a prima facie case of obviousness over the claimed ranges, see MPEP 2144.05, I.
Regarding claim 22 and 36, modified Pluquet teaches a biodegradable container that is identical or substantially identical to the claimed invention. Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977), see MPEP 2112.01. Modified Pluquet teaches a biodegradable resin comprising the same first and second layer as the instant invention as stated above for claim 21. Modified Pluquet teaches the same biodegradable resin comprising the same PHA resin for the first layer as the instant invention as stated above for claim 21. Modified Pluquet teaches the same overall thickness and thickness ratios as the instant invention as stated above for claim 21. Modified Pluquet teaches the same repeating groups in the same amount in the PHA resin as the instant invention as stated above for claim 21. Furthermore, the instant specification does not state that any specific modifications are made to achieve the claimed moisture permeability, oxygen permeability, or melt flow index. Modified Pluquet thus teaches a biodegradable container comprising that is identical or substantially identical to the claimed invention. Therefore, absent objective evidence to the contrary, the biodegradable container of modified Pluquet would have inherently exhibited the claimed moisture permeability, oxygen permeability, and melt flow index, see MPEP 2112.01.
Regarding claims 23-25, modified Pluquet teaches the biodegradable container comprising a sidewall having first layer (resin layer/biodegradable film) comprising PHA and a second layer (biodegradable substrate) comprising PLA or PBS (Pluquet, Abstract, Par. 0001-0003, 0032-0039, 0087-0089, 0115-0118, and 0135-0138). Pluquet teaches the first layer has a thickness of less than 0.3 mm and the second layer has a thickness of 0.3-2.3 mm (Pluquet, Par. 0030), resulting in a total thickness of 0.3-2 mm and a thickness ratio of the first layer to the second layer of greater than 1:1. These ranges overlap the claim 23 range of 0.8-3 mm and the claim 25 range of 1:1 to 1:3 and therefore establishes a prima facie case of obviousness over the claimed ranges, see MPEP 2144.05, I.
Regarding claim 26, modified Pluquet teaches the biodegradable container is used as a biodegradable packaging or tray and is thus used as a disposable container (Pluquet, Par. 0001-0003).
Conclusion
/THOMAS J KESSLER/Examiner, Art Unit 1782