DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lukas et al (20120260822).
Lukas teaches a bright noble metal preparation.
Lukas, abstract, teaches the preparation has at least one organic noble metal compound including at least one of an organic gold, platinum, silver and palladium compound, at least one flux that consists of organometallic compounds including Cr in the form of at least one organic compound, such that a Cr content is 0.01 to 1.0 mole per mole of noble metal, and at least one vehicle. The bright noble metal preparation is rhodium-free and has a noble metal content of 6 to 20 wt. %, based on the preparation.
Lukas, paragraph 25 of the PGPUB, teaches the preparation advantageously contains at least one other element from the group B, Al, Ca, Ti, V, Mn, Fe, Zn, Ge, Pb, Sr, Mo, Ru, In, Ba, Ta, W, Os, Ir, and Ce in the form of organic compounds, such that the content of B, Al, Ca, Ti, V, Mn, Fe, Zn, Ge, Pb, Sr, Mo, Ru, In, Ba, Ta, W, Os, Ir, and Ce is up to 0.3 mole each per mole of noble metal, since the luster and color properties can be readily modified in this way.
Pt in the amount of 6-20 wt% as taught by Lukas reads a noble metal as claimed in claim 1.
Ce as taught by Lukas reads on a rare earth metal as claimed in claim 1.
If Ce is added in an amount of .15 mole of platinum, the mass ratio (.15 times 140)/(1 times 195) is about .11.
Regarding claim 2, Lukas, paragraph 24 of the PGPUB, teaches it is advantageous for the preparation to contain at least one other element from the group Cu, Co, Sn, Zr, and Bi in the form of organic compounds, such that the content of Cu, Co, Sn, Zr, and Bi is up to 0.3 mole each per mole of noble metal, since certain properties, especially color, can be modified in this way.
Regarding claim 3, Lukas, paragraph 24 of the PGPUB, teaches it is advantageous for the preparation to contain at least one other element from the group Cu, Co, Sn, Zr, and Bi in the form of organic compounds, such that the content of Cu, Co, Sn, Zr, and Bi is up to 0.3 mole each per mole of noble metal, since certain properties, especially color, can be modified in this way.
If Zr is added in an amount of .3 mole of platinum, the mass ratio is (.3 times 91)/(1 times 195) about .14.
Regarding claim 4, the reference teaches platinum.
Regarding claim 5, the reference teaches platinum wherein the ratio of CPt/CN is 1.
Regarding claim 6, the reference teaches Ce.
Regarding claim 7, Lukas, paragraph 23 of the PGPUB, teaches to achieve especially high abrasion resistance and a modified noble metal color at the same time, it is advantageous for the preparation to contain at least one other element from the group Si and Ni in the form of organic compounds, such that the total content of Si, Cr, and Ni is 0.2 to 2.0 moles per mole of noble metal. This is especially the case, when the total content of Si, Cr, and Ni is 0.25 to 1.50 moles per mole of noble metal.
Regarding claim 8, the reference contains no delimitation as to the ratio of each of the phases. Therefore, an amorphous crystal boundary phase is included.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US20170190867 teaches individual inorganic particles.
/STEFANIE J COHEN/Examiner, Art Unit 1732 9/23/26