DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Acknowledgement is made of the response filed on June 26, 2026. In that response, claims 1 and 11 were amended. Claims 1-20 are treated on the merits in this action. The following rejections and/or objections are either reiterated or newly applied. They constitute the complete set presently being applied to the instant application.
Claim Objections
Claim 4 is objected to because of the following informalities: in limitation (5) “biodegradable” need not be capitalized. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 4, 9-11, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by Brenner (US 3971852).
Brenner teaches a process of encapsulating an oil such as a fragrance oil “in particulate form, comprising a cellular matrix having oil in the cells thereof in which the matrix comprises polysaccharide and polyhydroxy compounds” (abstract; see entire document including title; col. 8 lines 59-col. 9 line 19). Brenner teaches the matrix materials in instant claims 4 and 9-11, including mannitol as the polyhydroxy compound (col. 10 lines 5-6; Examples 2, 5, 6, 9, 10, 13; claims 4, 7), water soluble polysaccharide or modified starch and gums (abstract; col. 4 lines 40-col. 6 line 40; col. 9 line 61-col. 10 line 25). “The process of making … comprises forming an aqueous phase of the polysaccharide and polyhydroxy compound in proper proportions, …, emulsifying the oil (either of the volatile or non-volatile type) in the aqueous phase and removing moisture while the mass is plastic or flowable, e.g., by spray drying droplets of the emulsion,…” (abstract; see col. 10 line 27-col. 11 line 36), which reads on step (a) in claim 1.
In Example 6, 40 parts of mannitol and 80 parts of polysaccharide X are mixed into an emulsion and then spray dried. “A paper is coated with the fraction of the product that passed through a 325 mesh screen by suspending 6.7 parts thereof and 3.3 parts colloidal silica in 100 cc of benzene containing 1 gram of ethyl cellulose and spraying it with an air atomizer onto the paper” (col. 14 lines 53-), which reads on steps (b) and (c) of claim 1 as benzene is an organic liquid non-solvent for mannitol and polysaccharides.
The particulate forms comprising a fragrance may be used in baby diapers (col. 17 line 34).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4, 5, 9-18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brenner (US 3971852) in view of Thomas (US 2009/0126644).
Brenner does not specifically teach the organic liquid non-solvents or the polymers in claims 2 and 12-17.
Thomas teaches “solid, free-flowing composition adapted to deliver fragrance or malodor counteractant in a consumer product”, comprising a core material “that is dispersed in or coated with a fragranced material, or coated with a fragrance-encapsulating material” (para.0017), a fragrance material, and a “fragrance-encapsulating material” including those in instant claims 4-6 and 9-19 and identical to those in Brenner (paras.0029-35). An optional protective coating preferably includes polyethylene glycol in claim 2 (title; abstract; paras. 0006-12, 0025, 0036; see entire document).
Thoms teaches a process wherein the “fragranced material emulsion may be formed by mixing under high shear the fragrance with an aqueous phase comprising water and the encapsulating materials” (para.0048), and the “emulsion may be applied to the core particles in a spray coating process,” “where the particulate core material is put in motion in such a way that the surface of the particles is homogeneously exposed to the spray providing the atomized fragranced material emulsion” (para.0049). Hence Thomas teaches spray drying the emulsion with the core particles in the stream, which claim 1 here does not exclude.
Thomas further teaches forming a protective coating which preferably includes polyethylene glycol (para.0036). “By ‘protective coating’ is meant a thin layer of a material having the function of preventing low levels of moisture present in the product causing breakdown or clumping of the particles, yet which, in the presence of larger amounts of water in use, will break down and allow release of the fragrance.” (Para.0036). The “resultant encapsulated material can be coated with a coating material” (para.0046).
It would have been prima facie obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the teachings of Brenner and Thomas and provide a protective coating of Thomas over Brenner’s particles or use the encapsulating materials of Thomas as recited in the instant claim(s). The skilled person would have been motivated to do so because both are drawn to fragrance particles encapsulated in water soluble or dispersible polymers, and Thomas teaches that a protective coating has “the function of preventing low levels of moisture present in the product causing breakdown or clumping of the particles, yet which, in the presence of larger amounts of water in use, will break down and allow release of the fragrance.” (Para.0036). Regarding the matrix polymers, substituting equivalents known for the same purpose, where the equivalency has been recognized in the prior art, presents strong evidence of obviousness; an express suggestion to substitute one equivalent component or process for another is not necessary to render such substitution obvious. MPEP §2144.06 (II) (citations omitted). Here both Brenner and Thomas teaches overlapping matrix polymer such as mannitol and modified starch, and Thomas teaches further suitable polymers.
Claim(s) 1-6 and 9-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brenner (US 3971852) in view of Thomas (US 2009/0126644) and McGee (US 2003/0072733).
Brenner and Thomas do not specifically teach the polyethylene glycol of molecular weight from about 200 to about 700 as in claims 3, 6, and 19.
McGee is drawn to “absorbing moisture and/or malodor and providing a fragrance to the surrounding ambience that includes providing a delivery vehicle containing an enrobement material, a fragrance, and a fixative” wherein the fixative is polyethylene glycol having molecular weight of about 400 to about 20,000 Daltons, e.g., 400 Daltons (abstract; claims 3, 4; see title; paras.0014-33). The delivery vehicle is a free-flowing powder and comprises a fragrance material and an absorbent material such as starches (paras.0012-14).
It would have been prima facie obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the teachings of Brenner, Thomas, and McGee and disperse the fragrance-containing particles in polyethylene glycol of molecular weight from about 400 to about 20,000 Daltons, e.g., 400 Daltons, which claims 3, 6, and 19 read on. The skilled person would have been motivated to do so because all references are drawn to free-flowing, fragrance-containing particles, Thomas teaches advantages of providing a protective coating, including of polyethylene glycol, and McGee teaches a suitable molecular weight range therefor. The range of about 400 to about 20,000 Daltons overlaps that in claims 3, 6, and 19. For result-effective variables, in the case where claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. MPEP § 2144.05 (citations omitted). Furthermore, optimization within prior art conditions or through routine experimentation does not support patentability absent comparative evidence of criticality of the claimed range. See MPEP § 2144.05 (II) (citations omitted).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
CONCLUSION
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/H. SARAH PARK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1614