DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I, and the species of water-soluble polymers (claims 1-6, 9, 10, and 18-20) in the reply filed on February 16, 2026 is acknowledged. In view of Thomas (US 2009/0126644, cited below), the species election is hereby withdrawn.
The traversal is on the ground(s) that the method of claim 1 requires “dispersing the particles in an organic liquid non-solvent for the matrix material”, which Postma does not teach. (Remarks, 6, February 16, 2026.) This is not found persuasive because the common technical feature among Groups I and II as represented by amended claims 1 and 7, respectively, does not require “dispersing the particles in an organic liquid non-solvent for the matrix material” as Applicant argues. Claim 1 is drawn to a method, whereas claim 7 is drawn to a product. Claim 7 recites a product which comprises a fragrance-containing particle within a matrix, which “matrix having been subsequently treated with an organic liquid non-solvent for the matrix material prior to its addition to the product”. First it is noted that “subsequently treated” in claim 7 raises indefiniteness as it is a product claim and it is unclear what “subsequently” relates to. Secondly claim 7 is a product claim wherein “treated” means neither of (a) dispersed as in claim 1, nor (b) any “organic liquid non-solvent for the matrix material” present on the “fragrance-containing particles”. Therefore the common technical feature among Groups I and II as represented by claims 1 and 7, respectively, does not require “dispersing the particles in an organic liquid non-solvent for the matrix material” as Applicant argues. The common technical feature is encapsulated fragrance in a particulate matrix wherein the matrix material is water-soluble or water-dispersible, which Thomas (US 2009/0126644) teaches as discussed below.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 7 and 8 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on February 16, 2026.
Claim Objections
Claim 11 is objected to because of the following informalities: “pectines” should be “pectins” because the former refers to the process of extracting pectin from fruits. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-6 and 9-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the resulting particles" in the last line. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Alternatively claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being incomplete for omitting essential steps, such omission amounting to a gap between the steps. See MPEP § 2172.01. The omitted steps are: how “the particles” of step (b) which are solids, form “the resulting particles”. “Dispersing the particles” in step (b) would result in a dispersion comprising the particles and the medium into which the particles are dispersed in. Thus “the resulting particles” are separate from the medium into which “the particles” have been dispersed into; the result of step (b) would be a dispersion, not particles. Because claim 1 recites a method “comprising”, possibly some other process steps, omitted in claim 1, lead to particles without or separate from the dispersion medium. Furthermore it is ambiguous whether “the resulting particles” comprise any of the “organic liquid non-solvent for the matrix material” on the surface or internally.
None of the dependent claims resolves this issue and therefore they are also rejected on this ground.
For the purposes of examination now “the resulting particles" is construed as the particles in solid form or in a dispersion medium, and either comprising or free of the “organic liquid non-solvent for the matrix material”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4, 5, 9-18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by Thomas (US 2009/0126644).
Thomas teaches “solid, free-flowing composition adapted to deliver fragrance or malodor counteractant in a consumer product” comprising a core comprising a fragrance, and an optional protective coating which preferably includes polyethylene glycol (title; abstract; paras. 0006-12, 0036; see entire document). The core comprises fragrance and the materials in instant claims 4 and 9-17 (paras.0025, 0029-35). A “method of forming a delivery system … compris[es] the steps of spraying a fragranced material on to an absorbent material, which thereby becomes the internal absorbent material …[o]ptionally, the resultant encapsulated material can be coated with a coating material” (para.0046). “The fragranced material may be sprayed on to particles, in the form of an emulsion” (para.0047) and then spray dried (paras.0048-49).
“By ‘protective coating’ is meant a thin layer of a material having the function of preventing low levels of moisture present in the product causing breakdown or clumping of the particles, yet which, in the presence of larger amounts of water in use, will break down and allow release of the fragrance.” (Para.0036). The protective “coating material may be provided in the form of a melt, an aqueous solution, emulsion or dispersion” and then “sprayed onto the delivery system” (paras.0045, 0050). A protective coating including polyethylene glycol provided in an emulsion or dispersion would comprise the particles of the core in a dispersion.
The fragrance-containing particles, described as “a solid, free-flowing composition” can be added to products such as those in claim 20 (paras.0063-64).
.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-6 and 9-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Thomas (US 2009/0126644) in view of McGee (US 2003/0072733).
Thomas does not specifically teach the polyethylene glycol of molecular weight from about 200 to about 700 as in claims 3, 6, and 19.
McGee is drawn to “absorbing moisture and/or malodor and providing a fragrance to the surrounding ambience that includes providing a delivery vehicle containing an enrobement material, a fragrance, and a fixative” wherein the fixative is polyethylene glycol having molecular weight of about 400 to about 20,000 Daltons, e.g., 400 Daltons (abstract; claims 3, 4; see title; paras.0014-33). The delivery vehicle is a free-flowing powder and comprises a fragrance material and an absorbent material such as starches (paras.0012-14).
It would have been prima facie obvious for one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the teachings of Thomas and McGee and disperse Thomas’s fragrance-containing particles in polyethylene glycol of molecular weight from about 400 to about 20,000 Daltons, e.g., 400 Daltons, which claims 3, 6, and 19 read on. The skilled person would have been motivated to do so because both references are drawn to free-flowing, fragrance-containing particles that are dispersed in polyethylene glycol, and McGee teaches a suitable molecular weight range for the polyethylene glycol. The range of about 400 to about 20,000 Daltons overlaps that in claims 3, 6, and 19. For result-effective variables, in the case where claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. MPEP § 2144.05 (citations omitted). Furthermore, optimization within prior art conditions or through routine experimentation does not support patentability absent comparative evidence of criticality of the claimed range. See MPEP § 2144.05 (II) (citations omitted).
Conclusion
No claim is allowed.
/H. SARAH PARK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1614