DETAILED ACTION
This office action is a response to the amendment and arguments filed on May 4, 2026.
Claims 1, 3, 4, 6, 7, 9-15 and 18-25 are pending.
Claims 1, 3, 4, 6, 7, 9-15 and 18-25 are rejected.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on February 28, 2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments, see page 10-19, with respect to the rejection of Claim 1, 11 and 18 under 35 U.S.C. §103 filed May 4, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Examiner notes the rejection has been revised and set forth below according to the amended claims (See Office Action).
Applicant argues as follows:
In Liu, the first information sent by the first device to the second device is used to trigger the second device to perform a certain operation (i.e., trigger the second device to transmit assistance information) or to be used by the second device in a certain operation of the second device (i.e., be used for the second device to perform resource selection or reservation). In contrast, in the claimed subject matter, the field information included in the control information sent by the first UE is configured to assist the first UE to determine which UEs are the second UEs that the first UE requires in the process of selecting resources, so that the first UE can subsequently perform its own resource selection operation based on the assistance information provided by the second UE. Therefore, the function of the first information sent by the first device in Liu is clearly distinct from the function of the control information (including the field information) sent by the first UE in the claimed subject matter.
Consequently, Applicant submits that Liu does not teach at least "sending control information, wherein the control information comprises field information configured to determine a second UE," as recited by independent claim 1 as hereby amended.
In Liu, after receiving the first information from the first device, the second device performs resource selection based on the first information. That is, the first device sends the first information to the second device, and the first information is used for the second device to perform resource selection. In contrast, in the features recited by independent claim 1 as hereby amended, the first UE sends control information to
determine the second UE, and then the first UE receives assistance information sent by the second UE to perform its own resource selection operation. Therefore, the entity performing resource selection in Liu is clearly distinct from that in the claimed subject matter. In Liu, it is the second device (the receiver of the first information) that performs resource selection; in the claimed subject matter, it is the first UE (the transmitter of the control information) that performs resource selection.
Furthermore, in the features recited by independent claim 1 as hereby amended, the second UE is used to provide assistance information for the first UE to assist the first UE in selecting resources, i.e., there is an assistance relationship between the first UE and the second UE. However, Liu does not disclose the relationship between the first device and the second device. This further illustrates that the information sent and operations performed by the first device and second device in Liu are clearly distinct from those performed by the first UE and second UE in the claimed subject matter.
Consequently, Applicant submits that Liu does not teach at least "the second UE comprises a UE that provides assistance information for the first UE to assist the first UE in selecting resources," as recited by independent claim 1 as hereby amended.
Consequently, Applicant submits that Liu does not teach at least "an identity of the first UE," as recited by independent claim 1 as hereby amended.
Because Liu does not teach each and every feature recited by independent claim 1 as hereby amended, Applicant submits that the 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) rejection of independent claim 1 and its dependent claims 8-10 and 20 should be withdrawn and such action is respectfully requested. Claims 8-10 and 20 are also independently patentable.
Applicant submits that independent claims 11 and 18 as hereby amended recite features that are substantially similar to features recited by independent claim 1 and, therefore, independent claims 11 and 18 should be allowed for at least the same reasons that pertain to independent claim 1.
Accordingly, Applicant submits that the 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) rejection of independent claims 11 and 18 and dependent claims 19, 21, and 22, which depend from independent claim 11, should be withdrawn and such action is respectfully requested.
Examiner respectfully disagrees. Firstly, Examiner notes Applicants claim language merely discloses a method comprising sending control information wherein the control information comprises field information configured to determine a second UE. And the second UE comprises a UE that provides assistance information for the first UE to assist the first UE in selecting resources. That is aside from the intended use the claimed method only requires a first user equipment sensing control information comprising field information configured to determine a second UE. Examiner notes MPEP 2111.03 on transmissional phrases “The transitional term "comprising", which is synonymous with "including," "containing," or "characterized by," is inclusive or open-ended and does not exclude additional, unrecited elements or method steps. See, e.g., Mars Inc. v. H.J. Heinz Co., 377 F.3d 1369, 1376, 71 USPQ2d 1837, 1843 (Fed. Cir. 2004)”
Prior art reference Liu discloses an information transmission method including sending first information to at least one second device, where the first information is used to trigger the second device to transmit assistance information or used for performing resource selection or reservation by the second device (Liu Abstract; Figure 6).
Paragraph [0067-0080] of Liu further discloses where the first device uses the first stage sidelink control information and/or second stage sidelink control information to carry the first information. Liu proceeds to disclose various control information fields included in the first information for triggering transmission of the assistance information. an information source ID indication field; Further paragraph [0268 and 0274] Discloses the transmission of assistance information In another optional embodiment of this application, if the assistance information transmitted by the second device carries an identity of an assistance information receiver, the identity of the assistance information receiver is the same as an identity of the first information sender in the first information.
That is Prior art reference Liu readily discloses sending control information, where the control information comprises field information configured to determine a second UE and the second UE comprises a UE that provides assistance information for the first UE.
Examiner notes the intended use which is not given patentable weight to assist the first UE in selecting resources. Newly cited prior art reference Yu et al. (US 2023/0397230) in the same field of endeavor more explicitly discloses the request to trigger assistance information, reception of assistance information for resource selection taking into account the assistant information. See Yu Figure 4; Paragraph [0046-0055] the UE-A may transmit a request for the assistant information to the UE-B (step 404) when the UE-A needs the assistant information for resource selection. After receiving the assistant information from the UE-B, the UE-A may perform resource selection by taking into account the assistant information from the UE-B).
Thus the references do teach “sending control information, wherein the control information comprises field information configured to determine a second UE, and the second UE comprises a UE that provides assistance information for the first UE to assist the first UE in selecting resources; wherein the field information comprises at least one of the following: a geographical location zone identity; a probability factor; an identity of the first UE; a reference signal receiving power threshold; an angle value between a transmitted signal and a received signal between UEs; or one or more groupcast member identities.”
The rejection has been revised and set forth below according to the amended claims (See Office Action).
Applicant further argues with respect to the dependent claims 3, 4, 6 and 7 as follows:
Additionally, Applicant submits that, based on paragraphs [0093]-[0112] of Wang, one having ordinary skill in the art would readily recognize that the RSRP threshold disclosed in Wang is a local determination threshold configured by the MAC layer inside the UE and provided to the PHY layer for use. The PHY layer uses it to measure and compare the reference signal received power of received sidelink control information (SCI), thereby identifying, classifying, and filtering subsets of sidelink resources belonging to itself, distinguishing available resources from unavailable resources. It can also use differentiated RSRP thresholds for UEs in a specific UE identification list to protect resources reserved by high-priority UEs. This RSRP threshold is only transmitted and used between internal protocol stacks of the UE, being a parameter for local resource selection and resource sensing of the UE, whose sole function is to serve the UE's own sidelink resource selection.
In contrast, the "reference signal receiving power threshold" in the claimed subject matter is one type of field information, included in control information sent by the first UE to other UEs, and is a parameter for determining auxiliary UEs that assist in selecting resources between different UEs, i.e., a screening condition for surrounding other UEs to receive, compare with their own measurement values, and determine whether to become a second UE providing assistance information. Therefore, the "reference signal receiving power threshold" in the claimed subject matter is clearly distinct from the "RSRP threshold" in Wang in terms of the level at which it functions (the former acts within the UE, the latter acts between different UEs) and its function.
Applicant submits that, based on the discussion above, the first information in Liu has a different function from the control information (including field information) in the claimed subject matter, and Liu does not disclose the field information in the claimed subject matter. Moreover, the disclosure of Wang is clearly distinct from the field information in the claimed subject matter. Regardless of any attempt to combine the teachings of Liu with those of Wang, one having ordinary skill in the art would have no motivation to conceive that the first UE could determine, by sending control information containing the above field information, which device is the second UE that can provide assistance information to assist it in selecting resources.
Accordingly, Applicant submits that the 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection of claims 3, 4, 6, 7, 12-14, and 22 should be withdrawn and such action is respectfully requested.
Examiner respectfully disagrees. Examiner notes dependent claim 3, 4, 6, 7, 12-14 and 22 each depend from Claim 1 and the claim 3, 4, 6 and 7 limitations associated with and recite “a probability factor”, “a reference signal receiving power threshold”, “an angle value between a transmitted signal and a received signal between UEs” which are presented in the alternative in Claim 1 and not required and therefore the limitations of Claim 3, 4, 6 and 7 are also deemed as presented in the alternative and not required.
The rejection has been revised and set forth below according to the amended claims (See Office Action).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 4, 6, 7, 9-15 and 18-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al. U.S. Patent Application Publication 2023/0066942, hereinafter Liu, in view of Yu et al. U.S. Patent Application Publication 2023/0397230, hereinafter Yu.
Regarding Claim 1, Liu discloses a method for selecting resources based on assistance information (Abstract; Figure 1, 2 and 6-9), performed by a first user equipment (UE), comprising:
sending control information, wherein the control information comprises field information configured to determine a second UE, and the second UE provides assistance information for the first UE to assist the first UE in selecting resources (Figure 6; Paragraph [0038-0073] First information comprising various field information; Paragraph [0157] Receive first information sent by a first device, where the first information is used to trigger the second device to transmit assistance information or used for performing resource selection or reservation by the second device);
wherein the field information comprises at least one of the following: a geographical location zone identity; a probability factor (note: limitation separated by a recitation “or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and are not required together, i.e., for purposes of patentable weight);
an identity of the first UE (Figure 6; Paragraph [0038-0073] First information comprising various field information including the source ID indication field; Paragraph [0268 and 0274] Discloses the transmission of assistance information In another optional embodiment of this application, if the assistance information transmitted by the second device carries an identity of an assistance information receiver, the identity of the assistance information receiver is the same as an identity of the first information sender in the first information);
a reference signal receiving power threshold; an angle value between a transmitted signal and a received signal between UEs; or one or more groupcast member identities (note: limitation separated by a recitation “or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and are not required together, i.e., for purposes of patentable weight).
Prior art reference Liu readily discloses sending control information, where the control information comprises field information configured to determine a second UE and the second UE comprises a UE that provides assistance information for the first UE, but may not readily disclose the assistance information for the first UE to assist the first UE in selecting resources (Examiner notes the intended use which is not given patentable weight to assist the first UE in selecting resources).
However, Yu more specifically teaches the assistance information for the first UE to assist the first UE in selecting resources (Figure 4; Paragraph [0046-0055] the UE-A may transmit a request for the assistant information to the UE-B (step 404) when the UE-A needs the assistant information for resource selection. After receiving the assistant information from the UE-B, the UE-A may perform resource selection by taking into account the assistant information from the UE-B).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Liu with the teachings of Yu. The method enables transmitting the request for the assistant information on the feedback resources associated with the side-link transmission in response to the indication indicating that the secondary UE includes the ability of providing assistant information for resource selection, thus avoiding hidden-node or half-duplex issue (Yu Abstract; Paragraph [0001-0017]).
Regarding Claim 3, Liu in view of Yu discloses the method for selecting resources based on assistance information according to Claim 1 (Claim 3 depends from Claim 1 the limitations associated with and recite “a probability factor”, “a reference signal receiving power threshold”, “an angle value between a transmitted signal and a received signal between UEs” which are presented in the alternative in Claim 1 and not required and therefore the limitations of Claim 3 are also deemed as presented in the alternative and not required).
Liu in view of Yu disclose wherein a probability factor set comprises one or more probability factors, the probability factor set is determined based on at least one of UE identities or cell identities, and at least one of UE identity or cell identity has a corresponding probability factor set (Claim 3 depends from Claim 1 the limitations associated with and recite “a probability factor”, “a reference signal receiving power threshold”, “an angle value between a transmitted signal and a received signal between UEs” which are presented in the alternative in Claim 1 and not required and therefore the limitations of Claim 3 are also deemed as presented in the alternative and not required).
Regarding Claim 4, Liu in view of Yu discloses the method for selecting resources based on assistance information according to Claim 1 (Claim 4 depends from Claim 1 the limitations associated with and recite “a probability factor”, “a reference signal receiving power threshold”, “an angle value between a transmitted signal and a received signal between UEs” which are presented in the alternative in Claim 1 and not required and therefore the limitations of Claim 4 are also deemed as presented in the alternative and not required).
Liu in view of Yu disclose wherein a probability factor set comprises one or more probability factors, and the probability factor set is a probability factor set corresponding to a UE identity of the second UE, or a probability factor set corresponding to a cell identity of a cell to which the second UE belongs (Claim 4 depends from Claim 1 the limitations associated with and recite “a probability factor”, “a reference signal receiving power threshold”, “an angle value between a transmitted signal and a received signal between UEs” which are presented in the alternative in Claim 1 and not required and therefore the limitations of Claim 4 are also deemed as presented in the alternative and not required).
Regarding Claim 6, Liu in view of Yu discloses the method for selecting resources based on assistance information according to Claim 1 (Claim 6 depends from Claim 1 the limitations associated with and recite “a probability factor”, “a reference signal receiving power threshold”, “an angle value between a transmitted signal and a received signal between UEs” which are presented in the alternative in Claim 1 and not required and therefore the limitations of Claim 6 are also deemed as presented in the alternative and not required).
Liu in view of Yu disclose wherein at least one of the reference signal receiving power threshold or the angle value is determined based on a preconfigured parameter set, the parameter set is determined based on at least one of UE identities or cell identities, and at least one of UE identity or cell identity has a corresponding parameter set (Claim 6 depends from Claim 1 the limitations associated with and recite “a probability factor”, “a reference signal receiving power threshold”, “an angle value between a transmitted signal and a received signal between UEs” which are presented in the alternative in Claim 1 and not required and therefore the limitations of Claim 6 are also deemed as presented in the alternative and not required).
Regarding Claim 7, Liu in view of Yu discloses the method for selecting resources based on assistance information according to Claim 6 (Claim 7 depends from Claim 1 and 6 the limitations associated with and recite “a probability factor”, “a reference signal receiving power threshold”, “an angle value between a transmitted signal and a received signal between UEs” which are presented in the alternative in Claim 1 and not required and therefore the limitations of Claim 7 are also deemed as presented in the alternative and not required).
Liu in view of Yu disclose wherein at least one of the reference signal receiving power threshold or the angle value is determined based on the preconfigured parameter set, and the parameter set is a parameter set corresponding to a UE identity of the second UE or a parameter set corresponding to a cell identity of a cell to which the second UE belongs (Claim 7 depends from Claim 1 and 6 the limitations associated with and recite “a probability factor”, “a reference signal receiving power threshold”, “an angle value between a transmitted signal and a received signal between UEs” which are presented in the alternative in Claim 1 and not required and therefore the limitations of Claim 7 are also deemed as presented in the alternative and not required).
Regarding Claim 9, Liu in view of Yu disclose the method for selecting resources based on assistance information according to Claim 1. Liu in view of Yu further discloses wherein the sending control information comprises: broadcasting second stage sidelink control information (Liu Paragraph [0060-0067] Sidelink control information including 2nd stage SCI; Paragraph [0163] Broadcasting).
Regarding Claim 10, Liu in view of Yu discloses the method for selecting resources based on assistance information according to Claim 1. Liu in view of Yu further discloses receiving assistance information provided by the second UE, and selecting the resources based on the assistance information (Liu Figure 6; Paragraph [0038-0073] First information comprising various field information; Paragraph [0268 and 0274] Discloses the transmission of assistance information In another optional embodiment of this application, if the assistance information transmitted by the second device carries an identity of an assistance information receiver, the identity of the assistance information receiver is the same as an identity of the first information sender in the first information; Yu Figure 4; Paragraph [0046-0055] the UE-A may transmit a request for the assistant information to the UE-B (step 404) when the UE-A needs the assistant information for resource selection. After receiving the assistant information from the UE-B, the UE-A may perform resource selection by taking into account the assistant information from the UE-B).
Regarding Claim 11, Liu discloses a method for selecting resources based on assistance information (Abstract; Figure 1, 2 and 7-9), performed by a second user equipment (UE), comprising:
receiving control information sent by a first UE, wherein the control information comprises field information configured to determine the second UE; and providing assistance information for the first UE based on the field information comprised in the control information to assist the first UE in selecting resources (Figure 6; Paragraph [0038-0073] First information comprising various field information; Paragraph [0157] Receive first information sent by a first device, where the first information is used to trigger the second device to transmit assistance information or used for performing resource selection or reservation by the second device);
wherein the field information comprises at least one of the following: a geographical location zone identity; a probability factor (note: limitation separated by a recitation “or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and are not required together, i.e., for purposes of patentable weight);
an identity of the first UE (Figure 6; Paragraph [0038-0073] First information comprising various field information including the source ID indication field; Paragraph [0268 and 0274] Discloses the transmission of assistance information In another optional embodiment of this application, if the assistance information transmitted by the second device carries an identity of an assistance information receiver, the identity of the assistance information receiver is the same as an identity of the first information sender in the first information);
a reference signal receiving power threshold; an angle value between a transmitted signal and a received signal between UEs; or one or more groupcast member identities (note: limitation separated by a recitation “or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and are not required together, i.e., for purposes of patentable weight).
Prior art reference Liu readily discloses sending control information, where the control information comprises field information configured to determine a second UE and the second UE comprises a UE that provides assistance information for the first UE, but may not readily disclose the assistance information for the first UE to assist the first UE in selecting resources (Examiner notes the intended use which is not given patentable weight to assist the first UE in selecting resources).
However, Yu more specifically teaches the assistance information for the first UE to assist the first UE in selecting resources (Figure 4; Paragraph [0046-0055] the UE-A may transmit a request for the assistant information to the UE-B (step 404) when the UE-A needs the assistant information for resource selection. After receiving the assistant information from the UE-B, the UE-A may perform resource selection by taking into account the assistant information from the UE-B).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Liu with the teachings of Yu. The method enables transmitting the request for the assistant information on the feedback resources associated with the side-link transmission in response to the indication indicating that the secondary UE includes the ability of providing assistant information for resource selection, thus avoiding hidden-node or half-duplex issue (Yu Abstract; Paragraph [0001-0017]).
Regarding Claim 12, Liu in view of Yu discloses the method for selecting resources based on assistance information according to Claim 11. Liu in view of Yu further disclose providing the assistance information for the first UE based on the field information comprised in the control information to assist the first UE in selecting resources comprises: providing the assistance information for the first UE identified by the identity (Liu Figure 6; Paragraph [0038-0073] First information comprising various field information including the source ID indication field; Paragraph [0268 and 0274] Discloses the transmission of assistance information In another optional embodiment of this application, if the assistance information transmitted by the second device carries an identity of an assistance information receiver, the identity of the assistance information receiver is the same as an identity of the first information sender in the first information),
wherein the second UE is a UE in a zone identified by the geographical location zone identity, and a probability factor randomly generated and the probability factor comprised in the control information satisfy a preset size relation (Claim 12 depends from Claim 11 the limitations associated with and recite “a probability factor”, “a reference signal receiving power threshold”, “an angle value between a transmitted signal and a received signal between UEs” which are presented in the alternative in Claim 11 and not required and therefore the limitations of Claim 12 are also deemed as presented in the alternative and not required).
Regarding Claim 13, Liu in view of Yu discloses the method for selecting resources based on assistance information according to Claim 11. Liu in view of Yu further disclose wherein providing the assistance information for the first UE based on the field information comprised in the control information to assist the first UE in selecting resources comprises: providing the assistance information for the first UE identified by the identity (Liu Figure 6; Paragraph [0038-0073] First information comprising various field information including the source ID indication field; Paragraph [0268 and 0274] Discloses the transmission of assistance information In another optional embodiment of this application, if the assistance information transmitted by the second device carries an identity of an assistance information receiver, the identity of the assistance information receiver is the same as an identity of the first information sender in the first information),
wherein a measured reference signal receiving power value of the second UE satisfies the reference signal receiving power threshold, or a measured angle value of the second UE satisfies the angle value comprised in the control information (Claim 13 depends from Claim 11 the limitations associated with and recite “a probability factor”, “a reference signal receiving power threshold”, “an angle value between a transmitted signal and a received signal between UEs” which are presented in the alternative in Claim 11 and not required and therefore the limitations of Claim 13 are also deemed as presented in the alternative and not required).
Regarding Claim 14, Liu in view of Yu disclose the method for selecting resources based on assistance information according to Claim 11. Liu in view of Yu further disclose providing the assistance information for the first UE based on the field information comprised in the control information to assist the first UE in selecting resources comprises: providing the assistance information for the first UE identified by the identity, wherein a member identity of the second UE is the same as a member identity comprised in the control information (Liu Paragraph [0077] Various indication information including source ID, Destination ID; Paragraph [0038-0046 and 0160-0161] groupcast; Paragraph [0067-0080] of Liu further discloses where the first device uses the first stage sidelink control information and/or second stage sidelink control information to carry the first information. Liu proceeds to disclose various control information fields included in the first information for triggering transmission of the assistance information. an information source ID indication field; Further paragraph [0268 and 0274] Discloses the transmission of assistance information In another optional embodiment of this application, if the assistance information transmitted by the second device carries an identity of an assistance information receiver, the identity of the assistance information receiver is the same as an identity of the first information sender in the first information).
Regarding Claim 15, Liu in view of Yu discloses the method for selecting resources based on assistance information of Claim 11. Liu in view of Yu further disclose wherein the receiving the control information sent by the first UE comprises: receiving second stage sidelink control information broadcast by the first UE (Liu Paragraph [0060-0067] Sidelink control information including 2nd stage SCI; Paragraph [0163] Broadcasting ).
Regarding Claim 18, Liu discloses an apparatus for selecting resources based on assistance information, comprising: a processor; and a memory configured to store a processor-executable instruction (Abstract; Figure 1, 2 and 7-9), wherein the processor is configured to:
send control information, wherein the control information comprises field information configured to determine a second user equipment (UE), and the second UE comprises a UE that provides assistance information for a first UE to assist the first UE in selecting resources (Figure 6; Paragraph [0038-0073] First information comprising various field information; Paragraph [0157] Receive first information sent by a first device, where the first information is used to trigger the second device to transmit assistance information or used for performing resource selection or reservation by the second device);
wherein the field information comprises at least one of the following: a geographical location zone identity; a probability factor (note: limitation separated by a recitation “or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and are not required together, i.e., for purposes of patentable weight);
an identity of the first UE (Figure 6; Paragraph [0038-0073] First information comprising various field information including the source ID indication field; Paragraph [0268 and 0274] Discloses the transmission of assistance information In another optional embodiment of this application, if the assistance information transmitted by the second device carries an identity of an assistance information receiver, the identity of the assistance information receiver is the same as an identity of the first information sender in the first information);
a reference signal receiving power threshold; an angle value between a transmitted signal and a received signal between UEs; or one or more groupcast member identities (note: limitation separated by a recitation “or” are interpreted as presented in the alternative and are not required together, i.e., for purposes of patentable weight).
Prior art reference Liu readily discloses sending control information, where the control information comprises field information configured to determine a second UE and the second UE comprises a UE that provides assistance information for the first UE, but may not readily disclose the assistance information for the first UE to assist the first UE in selecting resources (Examiner notes the intended use which is not given patentable weight to assist the first UE in selecting resources).
However, Yu more specifically teaches the assistance information for the first UE to assist the first UE in selecting resources (Figure 4; Paragraph [0046-0055] the UE-A may transmit a request for the assistant information to the UE-B (step 404) when the UE-A needs the assistant information for resource selection. After receiving the assistant information from the UE-B, the UE-A may perform resource selection by taking into account the assistant information from the UE-B).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Liu with the teachings of Yu. The method enables transmitting the request for the assistant information on the feedback resources associated with the side-link transmission in response to the indication indicating that the secondary UE includes the ability of providing assistant information for resource selection, thus avoiding hidden-node or half-duplex issue (Yu Abstract; Paragraph [0001-0017]).
Regarding Claim 19, Liu in view of Yu disclose the method for selecting resources based on assistance information of claim 11. Liu in view of Yu further disclose an apparatus for selecting resources based on assistance information, comprising: a processor; and a memory configured to store a processor-executable instruction, wherein the processor is configured to execute the method for selecting resources based on assistance information of claim 11 (Liu Abstract; Figure 1, 2 and 7-9).
Regarding Claim 20, Liu in view of Yu disclose the method for selecting resources based on assistance information of claim 1. Liu in view of Yu further disclose a non-transitory storage medium, storing an instruction, wherein the instruction in the storage medium enables a first user equipment (UE) to execute the method for selecting resources based on assistance information of claim 1 when executed by a processor of the first UE (Liu Abstract; Figure 1, 2 and 7-9; Paragraph [0465-0468]; Liu Figure 6; Paragraph [0038-0073] First information comprising various field information; Paragraph [0268 and 0274] Discloses the transmission of assistance information In another optional embodiment of this application, if the assistance information transmitted by the second device carries an identity of an assistance information receiver, the identity of the assistance information receiver is the same as an identity of the first information sender in the first information; Yu Figure 4; Paragraph [0046-0055] the UE-A may transmit a request for the assistant information to the UE-B (step 404) when the UE-A needs the assistant information for resource selection. After receiving the assistant information from the UE-B, the UE-A may perform resource selection by taking into account the assistant information from the UE-B).).
Regarding Claim 21, Liu in view of Yu discloses the method for selecting resources based on assistance information of Claim 11. Liu in view of Yu further disclose a non-transitory storage medium, storing an instruction, wherein the instruction in the storage medium enables a second user equipment (UE) to execute the method for selecting resources based on assistance information of claim 11 when executed by a processor of the second UE (Liu Abstract; Figure 1, 2 and 7-9; Paragraph [0465-0468]; Liu Figure 6; Paragraph [0038-0073] First information comprising various field information; Paragraph [0268 and 0274] Discloses the transmission of assistance information In another optional embodiment of this application, if the assistance information transmitted by the second device carries an identity of an assistance information receiver, the identity of the assistance information receiver is the same as an identity of the first information sender in the first information; Yu Figure 4; Paragraph [0046-0055] the UE-A may transmit a request for the assistant information to the UE-B (step 404) when the UE-A needs the assistant information for resource selection. After receiving the assistant information from the UE-B, the UE-A may perform resource selection by taking into account the assistant information from the UE-B)).
Regarding Claim 22, Liu in view of Yu disclose the method for selecting resources based on assistance information according to Claim 11. Liu in view of Yu further disclose providing the assistance information for the first UE based on the field information comprised in the control information to assist the first UE in selecting resources comprises: providing the assistance information for the first UE identified by the identity (Liu Figure 6; Paragraph [0038-0073] First information comprising various field information including the source ID indication field; Paragraph [0268 and 0274] Discloses the transmission of assistance information In another optional embodiment of this application, if the assistance information transmitted by the second device carries an identity of an assistance information receiver, the identity of the assistance information receiver is the same as an identity of the first information sender in the first information),
wherein a measured reference signal receiving power value of the second UE satisfies the reference signal receiving power threshold, and a measured angle value of the second UE satisfies the angle value comprised in the control information (Claim 22 depends from Claim 11 the limitations associated with and recite “a probability factor”, “a reference signal receiving power threshold”, “an angle value between a transmitted signal and a received signal between UEs” which are presented in the alternative in Claim 11 and not required and therefore the limitations of Claim 22 are also deemed as presented in the alternative and not required).
Regarding Claim 23, Liu in view of Yu disclose the method for selecting resources based on assistance information according to Claim 1. Liu in view of Yu further disclose wherein the second UE is a receiving user equipment of direct communication data sent by the first UE for direct communication this time, or the second UE is not the receiving user equipment of the direct communication data sent by the first UE for the direct communication this time (Liu Abstract; Figure 1, 2 and 7-9; Paragraph [0465-0468]; Liu Figure 6; Paragraph [0038-0073] First information comprising various field information; Paragraph [0268 and 0274] Discloses the transmission of assistance information In another optional embodiment of this application, if the assistance information transmitted by the second device carries an identity of an assistance information receiver, the identity of the assistance information receiver is the same as an identity of the first information sender in the first information; Yu Figure 4; Paragraph [0046-0055] the UE-A may transmit a request for the assistant information to the UE-B (step 404) when the UE-A needs the assistant information for resource selection. After receiving the assistant information from the UE-B, the UE-A may perform resource selection by taking into account the assistant information from the UE-B)).
Regarding Claim 24, Liu in view of Yu disclose the method for selecting resources based on assistance information according to Claim 11. Liu in view of Yu further disclose wherein the second UE is a receiving user equipment of direct communication data sent by the first UE for direct communication this time, or the second UE is not the receiving user equipment of the direct communication data sent by the first UE for the direct communication this time (Liu Abstract; Figure 1, 2 and 7-9; Paragraph [0465-0468]; Liu Figure 6; Paragraph [0038-0073] First information comprising various field information; Paragraph [0268 and 0274] Discloses the transmission of assistance information In another optional embodiment of this application, if the assistance information transmitted by the second device carries an identity of an assistance information receiver, the identity of the assistance information receiver is the same as an identity of the first information sender in the first information; Yu Figure 4; Paragraph [0046-0055] the UE-A may transmit a request for the assistant information to the UE-B (step 404) when the UE-A needs the assistant information for resource selection. After receiving the assistant information from the UE-B, the UE-A may perform resource selection by taking into account the assistant information from the UE-B)).
Regarding Claim 25, Liu in view of Yu disclose the apparatus for selecting resources based on assistance information according to Claim 18. Liu in view of Yu further disclose wherein the second UE is a receiving user equipment of direct communication data sent by the first UE for direct communication this time, or the second UE is not the receiving user equipment of the direct communication data sent by the first UE for the direct communication this time (Liu Abstract; Figure 1, 2 and 7-9; Paragraph [0465-0468]; Liu Figure 6; Paragraph [0038-0073] First information comprising various field information; Paragraph [0268 and 0274] Discloses the transmission of assistance information In another optional embodiment of this application, if the assistance information transmitted by the second device carries an identity of an assistance information receiver, the identity of the assistance information receiver is the same as an identity of the first information sender in the first information; Yu Figure 4; Paragraph [0046-0055] the UE-A may transmit a request for the assistant information to the UE-B (step 404) when the UE-A needs the assistant information for resource selection. After receiving the assistant information from the UE-B, the UE-A may perform resource selection by taking into account the assistant information from the UE-B).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
IVAN O. LATORRE
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2409
/IVAN O LATORRE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2409