DETAILED ACTION
This office action is a response to the 371 application entering national stage from PCT/CN2021/116064 filed on September 1, 2021.
Claims 1-15 and 18-22 are pending.
Claims 1-15 and 18-22 are rejected.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on February 28, 2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 8-11, 15 and 18-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Liu et al. U.S. Patent Application Publication 2023/0066942, hereinafter Liu.
Regarding Claim 1, Liu discloses a method for selecting resources based on assistance information (Abstract; Figure 1, 2 and 6-9), performed by a first user equipment (UE), comprises:
sending control information, wherein the control information comprises field information configured to determine a second UE, and the second UE provides assistance information for the first UE (Figure 6; Paragraph [0038-0073] First information comprising various field information; Paragraph [0157] Receive first information sent by a first device, where the first information is used to trigger the second device to transmit assistance information or used for performing resource selection or reservation by the second device).
Regarding Claim 8, Liu discloses the method for selecting resources based on assistance information according to Claim 1. Liu further discloses wherein the field information comprises at least one of: one or more groupcast member identities, or an identity of the first UE (Paragraph [0077] Various indication information including source ID, Destination ID and Zone ID; Paragraph [0038-0046 and 0160-0161] groupcast).
Regarding Claim 9, Liu discloses the method for selecting resources based on assistance information according to Claim 1. Liu further discloses wherein the sending control information comprises: broadcasting second stage sidelink control information (Paragraph [0060-0067] Sidelink control information including 2nd stage SCI; Paragraph [0163] Broadcasting).
Regarding Claim 10, Liu discloses the method for selecting resources based on assistance information according to Claim 1. Liu further discloses receiving assistance information provided by the second UE, and selecting the resources based on the assistance information (Figure 6; Paragraph [0038-0073] First information comprising various field information; Paragraph [0157 and 0279] Receive first information sent by a first device, where the first information is used to trigger the second device to transmit assistance information or used for performing resource selection or reservation by the second device).
Regarding Claim 11, Liu discloses a method for selecting resources based on assistance information (Abstract; Figure 1, 2 and 7-9), performed by a second user equipment (UE), comprises:
receiving control information sent by a first UE, wherein the control information comprises field information configured to determine the second UE; and providing assistance information for the first UE based on the field information comprised in the control information (Figure 6; Paragraph [0038-0073] First information comprising various field information; Paragraph [0157] Receive first information sent by a first device, where the first information is used to trigger the second device to transmit assistance information or used for performing resource selection or reservation by the second device).
Regarding Claim 15, Liu discloses the method for selecting resources based on assistance information of Claim 11. Liu further discloses wherein the receiving control information sent by a first UE comprises: receiving second stage sidelink control information broadcast by the first UE (Paragraph [0060-0067] Sidelink control information including 2nd stage SCI; Paragraph [0163] Broadcasting).
Regarding Claim 18, Liu discloses an apparatus for selecting resources based on assistance information, comprising: a processor; and a memory configured to store a processor-executable instruction (Abstract; Figure 1, 2 and 7-9), wherein the processor is configured to:
send control information, wherein the control information comprises field information configured to determine a second user equipment (UE), and the second UE provides assistance information for a first UE (Figure 6; Paragraph [0038-0073] First information comprising various field information; Paragraph [0157] Receive first information sent by a first device, where the first information is used to trigger the second device to transmit assistance information or used for performing resource selection or reservation by the second device).
Regarding Claim 19, Liu discloses the method for selecting resources based on assistance information of claim 11. Liu further discloses an apparatus for selecting resources based on assistance information, comprising: a processor; and a memory configured to store a processor-executable instruction, wherein the processor is configured to execute the method for selecting resources based on assistance information of claim 11 (Abstract; Figure 1, 2 and 7-9).
Regarding Claim 20, Liu discloses the method for selecting resources based on assistance information of claim 1. Liu further discloses a non-transitory storage medium, storing an instruction, wherein the instruction in the storage medium enables a first user equipment (UE) to execute the method for selecting resources based on assistance information of claim 1 when executed by a processor of the first UE (Abstract; Figure 1, 2 and 7-9; Paragraph [0465-0468]).
Regarding Claim 21, Liu discloses the method for selecting resources based on assistance information of Claim 11. Liu further disclose a non-transitory storage medium, storing an instruction, wherein the instruction in the storage medium enables a second user equipment (UE) to execute the method for selecting resources based on assistance information of claim 11 when executed by a processor of the second UE (Abstract; Figure 1, 2 and 7-9; Paragraph [0465-0468]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-7, 12-14 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu in view of Wang et al. U.S. Patent Application Publication 2022/0174711, hereinafter Wang.
Regarding Claim 2, Liu discloses the method for selecting resources based on assistance information according to Claim 1. Liu discloses wherein the field information comprises at least one of: a geographical location zone identity, or an identity of the first UE (Paragraph [0077] Various indication information including source ID, Destination ID and Zone ID).
Liu fails to disclose a probability factor.
However, Wang more specifically teaches a probability factor (Paragraph [0026-0027 and 0058-0059] Probability for each subset of the one or more subsets for selecting resource for sidelink transmission based on respective probability for the one or more subsets and providing an indication; , the respective probability for the one or more subsets may be based on a traffic priority for the sidelink transmission, or a type of the one or more subsets, or an ID associated with a second UE, or a transmit power for the sidelink transmission, or a transmit power constraint, or a retransmission status of the sidelink transmission, or any combination thereof).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Liu with the teachings of Wang. The method enables allowing a user equipment (UE) to determine the subset of resources available for the sidelink transmission based on the set of parameters, so that the user equipment can determine whether to transmit the resource to the UE based on determining that the resource is available, thus improving performance of the UEs in an efficient manner. The method allows the UEs to determine whether the resources are available for transmission of the resource in an effective manner, thus reducing power consumption of the UEs and improving efficiency of the UEs, and hence improving user experience in a reliable manner (Wang Abstract; Paragraph [0001-0008, 0091-0092 and 0160]).
Regarding Claim 3, Liu in view of Wang discloses the method for selecting resources based on assistance information according to Claim 2. Liu in view of Wang further discloses wherein a probability factor set comprises one or more probability factors, the probability factor set is determined based on at least one of UE identities or cell identities, and at least one of UE identity or cell identity have/has a corresponding probability factor set (Wang Paragraph [0026-0027, 0058-0059 and 0093] Probability for each subset of the one or more subsets for selecting resource for sidelink transmission based on respective probability for the one or more subsets and providing an indication; , the respective probability for the one or more subsets may be based on a traffic priority for the sidelink transmission, or a type of the one or more subsets, or an ID associated with a second UE, or a transmit power for the sidelink transmission, or a transmit power constraint, or a retransmission status of the sidelink transmission, or any combination thereof).
Regarding Claim 4, Liu in view of Wang discloses the method for selecting resources based on assistance information according to Claim 2. Liu in view of Wang further discloses wherein a probability factor set comprises one or more probability factors, and the probability factor set is a probability factor set corresponding to a UE identity of the second UE, or a probability factor set corresponding to a cell identity of a cell to which the second UE belongs (Wang Paragraph [0026-0027, 0058-0059 and 0093] Probability for each subset of the one or more subsets for selecting resource for sidelink transmission based on respective probability for the one or more subsets and providing an indication; , the respective probability for the one or more subsets may be based on a traffic priority for the sidelink transmission, or a type of the one or more subsets, or an ID associated with a second UE, or a transmit power for the sidelink transmission, or a transmit power constraint, or a retransmission status of the sidelink transmission, or any combination thereof).
Regarding Claim 5, Liu discloses the method for selecting resources based on assistance information according to Claim 1. Liu further discloses wherein the field information comprises at least one of: or an identity of the first UE (Paragraph [0077] Various indication information including source ID, Destination ID and Zone ID).
Liu fails to explicitly disclose wherein the field information comprises at least one of: a reference signal receiving power threshold; an angle value between a transmitted signal and a received signal between UE.
However, Wang more specifically teaches wherein the field information comprises at least one of: a reference signal receiving power threshold; an angle value between a transmitted signal and a received signal between UE (Paragraph [0093-0112] As described herein, a PHY layer of a UE 115 (e.g., a UE 115 performing sidelink communications) may report different subsets of the available resources to a MAC layer of the UE 115, which may include reporting a UE ID associated with transmissions scheduled on available resources. Each subset may be associated with a different priority or selection probability, and the MAC layer may use the reported subsets to select a resource for the sidelink transmission. Additionally or alternatively, the MAC layer may maintain a list of UE IDs and may provide the list of the UE IDs to the PHY layer for resource identification. The MAC layer may use the list of UE IDs to indicate UEs 115 receiving a higher level of protection of reserved resources (e.g., a lower RSRP threshold), such as UEs 115 with a higher expected amount of traffic or that are physically located closer to the UE; The MAC layer 210 may update the list of UE IDs 275 periodically, for example, based on data exchange (e.g., communications) with the one or more other UEs 115 (e.g., UEs 115-b and 115-c). The MAC layer 210 may provide the list to the PHY layer 215, and the PHY layer 215 may use the list to determine the available resources (e.g., the set of resources 230) for the sidelink transmission. For example, the PHY layer 215 may apply a different RSRP threshold to UEs 115 associated with the list of UE IDs 275 than to other UEs 115, or may apply a different increase in the RSRP threshold to UEs 115 associated with the list of UE IDs 275 than to other UEs 115, or both. The PHY layer 215 may report the set of available resources to the MAC layer 210, and the MAC layer 210 may select (e.g., randomly select) a resource for the sidelink transmission using the set of available resources).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Liu with the teachings of Wang. The method enables allowing a user equipment (UE) to determine the subset of resources available for the sidelink transmission based on the set of parameters, so that the user equipment can determine whether to transmit the resource to the UE based on determining that the resource is available, thus improving performance of the UEs in an efficient manner. The method allows the UEs to determine whether the resources are available for transmission of the resource in an effective manner, thus reducing power consumption of the UEs and improving efficiency of the UEs, and hence improving user experience in a reliable manner (Wang Abstract; Paragraph [0001-0008, 0091-0092 and 0160]).
Regarding Claim 6, Liu in view of Wang discloses the method for selecting resources based on assistance information according to Claim 5. Liu in view of Wang further discloses wherein at least one of the reference signal receiving power threshold or the angle value are/is determined based on a preconfigured parameter set, the parameter set is determined based on at least one of UE identities or cell identities, and at least one of UE identity or cell identity have/has a corresponding parameter set (Wang Paragraph [0093-0112] As described herein, a PHY layer of a UE 115 (e.g., a UE 115 performing sidelink communications) may report different subsets of the available resources to a MAC layer of the UE 115, which may include reporting a UE ID associated with transmissions scheduled on available resources. Each subset may be associated with a different priority or selection probability, and the MAC layer may use the reported subsets to select a resource for the sidelink transmission. Additionally or alternatively, the MAC layer may maintain a list of UE IDs and may provide the list of the UE IDs to the PHY layer for resource identification. The MAC layer may use the list of UE IDs to indicate UEs 115 receiving a higher level of protection of reserved resources (e.g., a lower RSRP threshold), such as UEs 115 with a higher expected amount of traffic or that are physically located closer to the UE; The MAC layer 210 may update the list of UE IDs 275 periodically, for example, based on data exchange (e.g., communications) with the one or more other UEs 115 (e.g., UEs 115-b and 115-c). The MAC layer 210 may provide the list to the PHY layer 215, and the PHY layer 215 may use the list to determine the available resources (e.g., the set of resources 230) for the sidelink transmission. For example, the PHY layer 215 may apply a different RSRP threshold to UEs 115 associated with the list of UE IDs 275 than to other UEs 115, or may apply a different increase in the RSRP threshold to UEs 115 associated with the list of UE IDs 275 than to other UEs 115, or both. The PHY layer 215 may report the set of available resources to the MAC layer 210, and the MAC layer 210 may select (e.g., randomly select) a resource for the sidelink transmission using the set of available resources).
Regarding Claim 7, Liu in view of Wang discloses the method for selecting resources based on assistance information according to Claim 6. Liu in view of Wang further discloses wherein at least one of the reference signal receiving power threshold or the angle value are/is determined based on the preconfigured parameter set, and the parameter set is a parameter set corresponding to a UE identity of the second UE or a parameter set corresponding to a cell identity of a cell to which the second UE belongs (Wang Paragraph [0093-0112] As described herein, a PHY layer of a UE 115 (e.g., a UE 115 performing sidelink communications) may report different subsets of the available resources to a MAC layer of the UE 115, which may include reporting a UE ID associated with transmissions scheduled on available resources. Each subset may be associated with a different priority or selection probability, and the MAC layer may use the reported subsets to select a resource for the sidelink transmission. Additionally or alternatively, the MAC layer may maintain a list of UE IDs and may provide the list of the UE IDs to the PHY layer for resource identification. The MAC layer may use the list of UE IDs to indicate UEs 115 receiving a higher level of protection of reserved resources (e.g., a lower RSRP threshold), such as UEs 115 with a higher expected amount of traffic or that are physically located closer to the UE; The MAC layer 210 may update the list of UE IDs 275 periodically, for example, based on data exchange (e.g., communications) with the one or more other UEs 115 (e.g., UEs 115-b and 115-c). The MAC layer 210 may provide the list to the PHY layer 215, and the PHY layer 215 may use the list to determine the available resources (e.g., the set of resources 230) for the sidelink transmission. For example, the PHY layer 215 may apply a different RSRP threshold to UEs 115 associated with the list of UE IDs 275 than to other UEs 115, or may apply a different increase in the RSRP threshold to UEs 115 associated with the list of UE IDs 275 than to other UEs 115, or both. The PHY layer 215 may report the set of available resources to the MAC layer 210, and the MAC layer 210 may select (e.g., randomly select) a resource for the sidelink transmission using the set of available resources).
Regarding Claim 12, Liu discloses the method for selecting resources based on assistance information according to Claim 11. Liu further discloses wherein the field information comprises at least one of: a geographical location zone identity, a probability factor or an identity of the first UE (Paragraph [0077] Various indication information including source ID, Destination ID and Zone ID).
Liu fails to explicitly disclose a probability factor and the providing assistance information for the first UE based on the field information comprised in the control information comprises: providing the assistance information for the first UE identified by the identity, wherein the second UE is a UE in a zone identified by the geographical location zone identity, and a probability factor randomly generated and the probability factor comprised in the control information satisfy a preset size relation.
However, Wang more specifically teaches a probability factor and the providing assistance information for the first UE based on the field information comprised in the control information comprises: providing the assistance information for the first UE identified by the identity, wherein the second UE is a UE in a zone identified by the geographical location zone identity, and a probability factor randomly generated and the probability factor comprised in the control information satisfy a preset size relation (Paragraph [0093-0112] As described herein, a PHY layer of a UE 115 (e.g., a UE 115 performing sidelink communications) may report different subsets of the available resources to a MAC layer of the UE 115, which may include reporting a UE ID associated with transmissions scheduled on available resources. Each subset may be associated with a different priority or selection probability, and the MAC layer may use the reported subsets to select a resource for the sidelink transmission. Additionally or alternatively, the MAC layer may maintain a list of UE IDs and may provide the list of the UE IDs to the PHY layer for resource identification. The MAC layer may use the list of UE IDs to indicate UEs 115 receiving a higher level of protection of reserved resources (e.g., a lower RSRP threshold), such as UEs 115 with a higher expected amount of traffic or that are physically located closer to the UE; The MAC layer 210 may update the list of UE IDs 275 periodically, for example, based on data exchange (e.g., communications) with the one or more other UEs 115 (e.g., UEs 115-b and 115-c). The MAC layer 210 may provide the list to the PHY layer 215, and the PHY layer 215 may use the list to determine the available resources (e.g., the set of resources 230) for the sidelink transmission. For example, the PHY layer 215 may apply a different RSRP threshold to UEs 115 associated with the list of UE IDs 275 than to other UEs 115, or may apply a different increase in the RSRP threshold to UEs 115 associated with the list of UE IDs 275 than to other UEs 115, or both. The PHY layer 215 may report the set of available resources to the MAC layer 210, and the MAC layer 210 may select (e.g., randomly select) a resource for the sidelink transmission using the set of available resources).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Liu with the teachings of Wang. The method enables allowing a user equipment (UE) to determine the subset of resources available for the sidelink transmission based on the set of parameters, so that the user equipment can determine whether to transmit the resource to the UE based on determining that the resource is available, thus improving performance of the UEs in an efficient manner. The method allows the UEs to determine whether the resources are available for transmission of the resource in an effective manner, thus reducing power consumption of the UEs and improving efficiency of the UEs, and hence improving user experience in a reliable manner (Wang Abstract; Paragraph [0001-0008, 0091-0092 and 0160]).
Regarding Claim 13, Liu discloses the method for selecting resources based on assistance information according to Claim 11. Liu further discloses wherein the field information comprises at least one of: a reference signal receiving power threshold, an angle value between a transmitted signal and a received signal between UEs, or an identity of the first UE (Paragraph [0077] Various indication information including source ID, Destination ID and Zone ID).
Liu fails to explicitly disclose wherein the field information comprises at least one of: a reference signal receiving power threshold; an angle value between a transmitted signal and a received signal between UE and the providing assistance information for the first UE based on the field information comprised in the control information comprises: providing the assistance information for the first UE identified by the identity, wherein a measured reference signal receiving power value of the second UE satisfies the reference signal receiving power threshold, or a measured angle value of the second UE satisfies the angle value comprised in the control information.
However, Wang more specifically teaches wherein the field information comprises at least one of: a reference signal receiving power threshold; an angle value between a transmitted signal and a received signal between UE and the providing assistance information for the first UE based on the field information comprised in the control information comprises: providing the assistance information for the first UE identified by the identity, wherein a measured reference signal receiving power value of the second UE satisfies the reference signal receiving power threshold, or a measured angle value of the second UE satisfies the angle value comprised in the control information (Paragraph [0093-0112] As described herein, a PHY layer of a UE 115 (e.g., a UE 115 performing sidelink communications) may report different subsets of the available resources to a MAC layer of the UE 115, which may include reporting a UE ID associated with transmissions scheduled on available resources. Each subset may be associated with a different priority or selection probability, and the MAC layer may use the reported subsets to select a resource for the sidelink transmission. Additionally or alternatively, the MAC layer may maintain a list of UE IDs and may provide the list of the UE IDs to the PHY layer for resource identification. The MAC layer may use the list of UE IDs to indicate UEs 115 receiving a higher level of protection of reserved resources (e.g., a lower RSRP threshold), such as UEs 115 with a higher expected amount of traffic or that are physically located closer to the UE; The MAC layer 210 may update the list of UE IDs 275 periodically, for example, based on data exchange (e.g., communications) with the one or more other UEs 115 (e.g., UEs 115-b and 115-c). The MAC layer 210 may provide the list to the PHY layer 215, and the PHY layer 215 may use the list to determine the available resources (e.g., the set of resources 230) for the sidelink transmission. For example, the PHY layer 215 may apply a different RSRP threshold to UEs 115 associated with the list of UE IDs 275 than to other UEs 115, or may apply a different increase in the RSRP threshold to UEs 115 associated with the list of UE IDs 275 than to other UEs 115, or both. The PHY layer 215 may report the set of available resources to the MAC layer 210, and the MAC layer 210 may select (e.g., randomly select) a resource for the sidelink transmission using the set of available resources).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Liu with the teachings of Wang. The method enables allowing a user equipment (UE) to determine the subset of resources available for the sidelink transmission based on the set of parameters, so that the user equipment can determine whether to transmit the resource to the UE based on determining that the resource is available, thus improving performance of the UEs in an efficient manner. The method allows the UEs to determine whether the resources are available for transmission of the resource in an effective manner, thus reducing power consumption of the UEs and improving efficiency of the UEs, and hence improving user experience in a reliable manner (Wang Abstract; Paragraph [0001-0008, 0091-0092 and 0160]).
Regarding Claim 14, Liu discloses the method for selecting resources based on assistance information according to Claim 11. Liu further discloses wherein the field information comprises at least one of: one or more groupcast member identities or an identity of the first UE (Paragraph [0077] Various indication information including source ID, Destination ID and Zone ID; Paragraph [0038-0046 and 0160-0161] groupcast).
Liu may not explicitly disclose the providing assistance information for the first UE based on the field information comprised in the control information comprises: providing the assistance information for the first UE identified by the identity, wherein a member identity of the second UE is the same as a member identity comprised in the control information .
However, Wang more specifically teaches the providing assistance information for the first UE based on the field information comprised in the control information comprises: providing the assistance information for the first UE identified by the identity, wherein a member identity of the second UE is the same as a member identity comprised in the control information (Paragraph [0093-0112] As described herein, a PHY layer of a UE 115 (e.g., a UE 115 performing sidelink communications) may report different subsets of the available resources to a MAC layer of the UE 115, which may include reporting a UE ID associated with transmissions scheduled on available resources. Each subset may be associated with a different priority or selection probability, and the MAC layer may use the reported subsets to select a resource for the sidelink transmission. Additionally or alternatively, the MAC layer may maintain a list of UE IDs and may provide the list of the UE IDs to the PHY layer for resource identification. The MAC layer may use the list of UE IDs to indicate UEs 115 receiving a higher level of protection of reserved resources (e.g., a lower RSRP threshold), such as UEs 115 with a higher expected amount of traffic or that are physically located closer to the UE; The MAC layer 210 may update the list of UE IDs 275 periodically, for example, based on data exchange (e.g., communications) with the one or more other UEs 115 (e.g., UEs 115-b and 115-c). The MAC layer 210 may provide the list to the PHY layer 215, and the PHY layer 215 may use the list to determine the available resources (e.g., the set of resources 230) for the sidelink transmission. For example, the PHY layer 215 may apply a different RSRP threshold to UEs 115 associated with the list of UE IDs 275 than to other UEs 115, or may apply a different increase in the RSRP threshold to UEs 115 associated with the list of UE IDs 275 than to other UEs 115, or both. The PHY layer 215 may report the set of available resources to the MAC layer 210, and the MAC layer 210 may select (e.g., randomly select) a resource for the sidelink transmission using the set of available resources).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Liu with the teachings of Wang. The method enables allowing a user equipment (UE) to determine the subset of resources available for the sidelink transmission based on the set of parameters, so that the user equipment can determine whether to transmit the resource to the UE based on determining that the resource is available, thus improving performance of the UEs in an efficient manner. The method allows the UEs to determine whether the resources are available for transmission of the resource in an effective manner, thus reducing power consumption of the UEs and improving efficiency of the UEs, and hence improving user experience in a reliable manner (Wang Abstract; Paragraph [0001-0008, 0091-0092 and 0160]).
Regarding Claim 22, Liu discloses the method for selecting resources based on assistance information according to Claim 11. Liu further discloses wherein the field information comprises at least one of: a reference signal receiving power threshold, an angle value between a transmitted signal and a received signal between UEs, or an identity of the first UE (Paragraph [0077] Various indication information including source ID, Destination ID and Zone ID).
Liu fails to explicitly disclose wherein the field information comprises at least one of: a reference signal receiving power threshold; an angle value between a transmitted signal and a received signal between UE and the providing assistance information for the first UE based on the field information comprised in the control information comprises: providing the assistance information for the first UE identified by the identity, wherein a measured reference signal receiving power value of the second UE satisfies the reference signal receiving power threshold, and a measured angle value of the second UE satisfies the angle value comprised in the control information.
However, Wang more specifically teaches wherein the field information comprises at least one of: a reference signal receiving power threshold; an angle value between a transmitted signal and a received signal between UE and the providing assistance information for the first UE based on the field information comprised in the control information comprises: providing the assistance information for the first UE identified by the identity, wherein a measured reference signal receiving power value of the second UE satisfies the reference signal receiving power threshold, and a measured angle value of the second UE satisfies the angle value comprised in the control information (Paragraph [0093-0112] As described herein, a PHY layer of a UE 115 (e.g., a UE 115 performing sidelink communications) may report different subsets of the available resources to a MAC layer of the UE 115, which may include reporting a UE ID associated with transmissions scheduled on available resources. Each subset may be associated with a different priority or selection probability, and the MAC layer may use the reported subsets to select a resource for the sidelink transmission. Additionally or alternatively, the MAC layer may maintain a list of UE IDs and may provide the list of the UE IDs to the PHY layer for resource identification. The MAC layer may use the list of UE IDs to indicate UEs 115 receiving a higher level of protection of reserved resources (e.g., a lower RSRP threshold), such as UEs 115 with a higher expected amount of traffic or that are physically located closer to the UE; The MAC layer 210 may update the list of UE IDs 275 periodically, for example, based on data exchange (e.g., communications) with the one or more other UEs 115 (e.g., UEs 115-b and 115-c). The MAC layer 210 may provide the list to the PHY layer 215, and the PHY layer 215 may use the list to determine the available resources (e.g., the set of resources 230) for the sidelink transmission. For example, the PHY layer 215 may apply a different RSRP threshold to UEs 115 associated with the list of UE IDs 275 than to other UEs 115, or may apply a different increase in the RSRP threshold to UEs 115 associated with the list of UE IDs 275 than to other UEs 115, or both. The PHY layer 215 may report the set of available resources to the MAC layer 210, and the MAC layer 210 may select (e.g., randomly select) a resource for the sidelink transmission using the set of available resources).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Liu with the teachings of Wang. The method enables allowing a user equipment (UE) to determine the subset of resources available for the sidelink transmission based on the set of parameters, so that the user equipment can determine whether to transmit the resource to the UE based on determining that the resource is available, thus improving performance of the UEs in an efficient manner. The method allows the UEs to determine whether the resources are available for transmission of the resource in an effective manner, thus reducing power consumption of the UEs and improving efficiency of the UEs, and hence improving user experience in a reliable manner (Wang Abstract; Paragraph [0001-0008, 0091-0092 and 0160]).
Conclusion
IVAN O. LATORRE
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2409
/IVAN O LATORRE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2409