DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of claims 1-14 in the reply filed on 8/3/26 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that all of the claims are linked by at least one inventive feature. This is not found persuasive because the inventive feature does not make a contribution over the prior art as set forth below.
Claims 15-19 and 21 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 8/3/26.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-11 and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1) as being anticipated by Hofmeister et al. (US 2007/0026250, cited by applicant).
Hofmeister discloses a thermoformable sheet comprising: an exterior film, the exterior film comprising between 50% and 100% polyolefin-based polymers, by weight; a printed pigment layer (since any of the layers may contain pigments or dyes); an adhesive layer; an inner layer comprising between 60% and 100% of polypropylene polymer, by weight, the inner layer comprising a thickness between 100 microns and 350 microns (since the bulk layer can be made of the same material as the sealant layer which can be polypropylene, paragraphs [0095-0096]); and an interior sealing layer; wherein the printed pigment layer and the adhesive layer are located between the exterior film and the inner layer (paragraphs [0006], [0010-0021], [0036-0040], [0063-0065], [0078], [0083], [0095-0097], [0101], [0104-0106]).
Hofmeister also discloses wherein the exterior film is oriented, wherein the exterior film is unoriented, wherein the exterior film comprises between 50% and 100% polypropylene-based polymers, by weight, wherein the printed pigment layer is directly adjacent to the exterior film, further comprising a thickness between 200 microns and 500 microns, wherein the inner layer further comprises between 2.5% and 30% of a hydrocarbon resin, by weight, wherein the inner layer is unoriented, wherein the interior sealing layer comprises polyethylene-based polymers, wherein the interior sealing layer comprises polypropylene-based polymers and further comprising a barrier layer comprising an ethylene vinyl alcohol copolymer (paragraphs [0006], [0010-0021], [0036-0040], [0063-0065], [0078], [0083], [0095-0097], [0101], [0104-0106]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hofmeister et al. (US 2007/0026250, cited by applicant) in view of Grefenstein et al. (US 10,751,979).
Hofmeister does not disclose wherein the exterior film comprises between 50% and 100% polyethylene-based polymers, by weight, further comprising an overall composition of polyolefin of between 80% and 100%, by weight.
Grefenstein discloses wherein the exterior film comprises between 50% and 100% polyethylene-based polymers, by weight, further comprising an overall composition of polyolefin of between 80% and 100%, by weight in a packaging for the purpose of providing improved recycling with high rigidity and heat resistance and toughness (column 1, lines 5-23 and claim 1).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time applicant’s invention was made to have provided wherein the exterior film comprises between 50% and 100% polyethylene-based polymers, by weight, further comprising an overall composition of polyolefin of between 80% and 100%, by weight in Hofmeister in order to provide improved recycling with high rigidity and heat resistance and toughness as taught or suggested by Grefenstein.
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hofmeister et al. (US 2007/0026250, cited by applicant) in view of Hendrickson-Benkhoff et al. (US 5,512,649).
Hofmeister does not disclose further comprising an overall composition of polypropylene of between 80% and 100%, by weight.
Hendrickson-Benkhoff discloses further comprising an overall composition of polypropylene of between 80% and 100%, by weight in a packaging material for the purpose of providing improved transparency, good machinability and scratch reduction (column 1, lines 4-26, Example 4).
Therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time applicant’s invention was made to have provided further comprising an overall composition of polypropylene of between 80% and 100%, by weight in Hofmeister in order to provide improved transparency, good machinability and scratch reduction as taught or suggested by Hendrickson-Benkhoff.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-14 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,472,727. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,472,727 encompass the scope of instant claims 1-14.
Conclusion
/MICHAEL C MIGGINS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1782
MCM
August 20, 2026