DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species A2, B1, C1, and D2 in the reply filed on 02/19/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 4, 8, 18-19, 21-23, 25, and 27 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Species A1, B2, C2, and D1, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 02/19/2026.
The restriction requirement has been made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 5, and 11-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miyake et al. (US 5,942,320 A) in view of Forloni et al. (US 2011/0039098 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Miyake teaches a barrier packaging film (Abstract; Field of Invention) comprising a polyolefin substrate, (Column 5, Lines 24-30, Column 23, Lines 10-15), an inorganic layer having a thickness of 0.01 to 0.5 microns (Column 10-11), which overlaps the claimed range, an polymeric buffer layer, anchor coat layer, positioned between and in direct contact with the polyolefin substrate and the inorganic coating layer having a thickness of 0.01 to 5 microns, which overlaps the claimed range, (Column 6, 10), and a polyolefin sealing layer (Column 15-16).
Miyake teaches the thickness of the inorganic layer is 0.01 to 0.5 microns and the polymeric buffer layer has a thickness of 0.01 to 5 microns. (Column 6, 10-11). This creates a ratio of the thickness of polymeric buffer layer to inorganic coating layer that overlaps the claimed range. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. (MPEP §2144.05).
Miyake does not specifically teach the free shrink of the polyolefin substrate.
Forloni teaches a multilayer gas barrier packaging film comprising multiple polymer layers, including a polyolefin layer (Abstract). Forloni teaches the layers of the film should have a heat shrink of at least 5% at 95 degrees C measured under ASTM D2732 (Paragraph 0031, 0098). Forloni teaches this allows the gas barrier film to be considered heat-shrinkable and be used in various heat shrinkable applications, such as lid packaging. (Paragraph 0031, 0098, 0105). Thus, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to ensure the polyolefin substrate of Miyake to have the claimed free shrink as taught by Forloni to allow the barrier packaging film to be used in heat-shrinkable applications, such as lid packaging.
Miyake teaches the polymeric buffer layer, anchor coat layer, has an elastic/Young’s modulus of 0.1×101 to 1×103 N/mm2 (MPa). (Column 4, Lines 14-25). This overlaps the claimed range of 0.1 to 100 MPa. However, Miyake does not specifically teach the Young’s modulus is determined at 95 degrees C using the claimed ASTM method. Miyake does teach this packaging can be used in high temperatures, such as retort packaging which can go above 120 degrees C. (Column 15). Miyake teaches this soft, low Young’s modulus range, anchor layer improves the blocking properties of the anchor coat. (Column 6). Thus, as Miyake teaches this softer Young’s modulus range provides blocking advantages and the composite can be used at temperatures to 120 degrees C and above, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to set the Young’s modulus of the anchor layer to overlap the claimed range at the 95 degrees C for good blocking properties. Furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art would reasonably expect the Young’s modulus range to apply to all types of measuring, including ASTM E2546-15 Annex X.4, to get the soft and desired properties in Miyake.
Regarding Claim 5, Miyake teaches the polyolefin oriented can be oriented polypropylene (Column 5, Lines 24-55) and the polyolefin sealing layer is a propylene sealing layer. (Column 15, Lines 48-67, Column 16, Lines 1-15).
Regarding Claim 11, Miyake teaches the polyolefin substrate can have a thickness of 3 to 200 microns. (Column 5, Lines 40-50). This overlaps the claimed range. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. (MPEP §2144.05).
Regarding Claim 12, Miyake teaches the polymeric buffer layer, anchor coat layer, having a thickness of 0.01 to 5 microns, which overlaps the claimed range, (Column 6, 10). This overlaps the claimed range. This overlaps the claimed range. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. (MPEP §2144.05).
Regarding Claim 13, Miyake teaches the inorganic layer comprises a metal layer or oxide coating layer and having a thickness of 0.01 to 0.5 microns (Column 10-11), which overlaps the claimed range (Column 10-11). In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. (MPEP §2144.05).
Regarding Claim 14, Miyake teaches the thickness of the inorganic layer is 0.01 to 0.5 microns and the polymeric buffer layer has a thickness of 0.01 to 5 microns. (Column 6, 10-11). This creates a ratio of the thickness of polymeric buffer layer to inorganic coating layer that overlaps the claimed range. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. (MPEP §2144.05).
Regarding Claim 15, Forloni teaches the layers of the film should have a heat shrink of at least 5% at 95 degrees C measured under ASTM D2732 (Paragraph 0031, 0098). This overlaps the claimed range. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. (MPEP §2144.05).
Regarding Claim 16, Miyake teaches the polymeric buffer layer comprises a polyurethane-based resin (Column 6-7).
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miyake and Forloni and in view of Tanaka et al. (US 2022/0153006 A1)
Regarding Claim 2, Miyake teaches the polyolefin substrate is a first exterior layer and the polyolefin sealing layer is a second exterior layer.
Miyake does not specifically teach an adhesive layer is located between the polyolefin sealing layer and the inorganic coating layer.
Tanaka teaches a barrier packaging film comprising polyolefin substrate, inorganic coating layer, anchor coat, and a polyolefin sealing layer, where both the polyolefin substrate and polyolefin sealing layer are exterior layers (Abstract; Claim 1 of Tanaka; Paragraph 0032; Fig. 1). Tanaka teaches using an adhesive layer between the polyolefin sealing layer and the inorganic coating layer (Item S). Tanaka teaches applying the adhesive layer to the sealant layer to be applied to the rest of the film ensures proper bonding at high temperatures for retort treatment. (Paragraph 0082-0083). Thus, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to place an adhesive layer between the polyolefin sealing layer and the inorganic layer of Miyake for better adhesion of the sealant layer at high temperatures.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miyake and Forloni, in further view of Nagai et al. (US 6,106,933 A).
Regarding Claim 6, Miyake does not specifically teach the oriented polypropylene film comprises a homopolymer polypropylene.
Nagai teaches a gas barrier film, where the biaxially oriented substrate can be either homopolymer polypropylene or polypropylene copolymer. (Abstract; Column 3, Lines 20-40). Nagai teaches polypropylene homopolymer, crystalline isotactic, offers better thermal stability. Column 3, Lines 20-40). Thus, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to use a polypropylene homopolymer in Miyake for improved thermal stability.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miyake and Forloni, in further view of Yamada et al. (US 2021/0023828 A1).
Regarding Claim 10, Miyake does not specifically teach the barrier packaging film has a total composition greater than 80% by weight of polyolefin.
Yamada teaches a gas barrier packaging film (Abstract; Paragraph 0119), where the polyolefin comprises 90 mass% or greater of the film. (Paragraph 0049). This overlaps the claimed range. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. (MPEP §2144.05). Yamada teaches this range enhances the recyclability of the film. (Paragraph 0049). Thus it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to set the polyethylene/polyolefin mass% of Miyake to the claimed range to enhance recyclability as taught by Yamada.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 5, and 11-16 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 14, 16, 17, 19, and 22 of copending Application No. 18,022,308 in view of Miyake and Forloni.
Regarding Claim 1, 5, 11-16, copending teaches a barrier film comprise a polymeric substrate layer with an overlapping thickness range, an inorganic coating layer with an overlapping thickness range, a polymeric buffer layer of propylene, polyurethane or polylactic acid, positioned between and in direct contact with the inorganic coating layer, and an overlapping thickness ratio of the polymeric buffer layer and inorganic coating layer. (Claims 14, 16, 17, 19, 22, of copending). Copending does not teach the polyolefin sealing layer, the free shrink of the polyolefin substrate or the Young’s modulus of the polymeric buffer layer.
Forloni teaches a multilayer gas barrier packaging film comprising multiple polymer layers, including a polyolefin layer (Abstract). Forloni teaches the layers of the film should have a heat shrink of at least 5% at 95 degrees C measured under ASTM D2732 (Paragraph 0031, 0098). Forloni teaches this allows the gas barrier film to be considered heat-shrinkable and be used in various heat shrinkable applications, such as lid packaging. (Paragraph 0031, 0098, 0105). Thus, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to ensure the polyolefin substrate of Copending to have the claimed free shrink as taught by Forloni to allow the barrier packaging film to be used in heat-shrinkable applications, such as lid packaging.
Miyake teaches the polymeric buffer layer, anchor coat layer, has an elastic/Young’s modulus of 0.1×101 to 1×103 N/mm2 (MPa). (Column 4, Lines 14-25). This overlaps the claimed range of 0.1 to 100 MPa. However, Miyake does not specifically teach the Young’s modulus is determined at 95 degrees C using the claimed ASTM method. Miyake does teach this packaging can be used in high temperatures, such as retort packaging which can go above 120 degrees C. (Column 15). Miyake teaches this soft, low Young’s modulus range, anchor layer improves the blocking properties of the anchor coat. (Column 6). Thus, as Miyake teaches this softer Young’s modulus range provides blocking advantages and the composite can be used at temperatures to 120 degrees C and above, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to set the Young’s modulus of the anchor layer to overlap the claimed range at the 95 degrees C for good blocking properties. Furthermore, one of ordinary skill in the art would reasonably expect the Young’s modulus range to apply to all types of measuring, including ASTM E2546-15 Annex X.4, to get the soft and desired properties in Copending.
Miyake teaches a barrier packaging film (Abstract; Field of Invention) comprising a polyolefin substrate, (Column 5, Lines 24-30, Column 23, Lines 10-15), an inorganic layer having a thickness of 0.01 to 0.5 microns (Column 10-11), which overlaps the claimed range, an polymeric buffer layer, anchor coat layer, positioned between and in direct contact with the polyolefin substrate and the inorganic coating layer having a thickness of 0.01 to 5 microns, which overlaps the claimed range, (Column 6, 10), and a polypropylene sealing layer (Column 15-16).
Miyake teaches a sealing layer allow for simplified production of the film into a bag (Column 15); therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to add a polyolefin sealing layer to the laminate of copending.
Claim 2 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 14, 16, 17 of copending Application No. 18,022,308 in view of Miyake and Forloni and Tanaka.
Regarding Claim 2, Miyake teaches the polyolefin substrate is a first exterior layer and the polyolefin sealing layer is a second exterior layer.
Miyake does not specifically teach an adhesive layer is located between the polyolefin sealing layer and the inorganic coating layer.
Tanaka teaches a barrier packaging film comprising polyolefin substrate, inorganic coating layer, anchor coat, and a polyolefin sealing layer, where both the polyolefin substrate and polyolefin sealing layer are exterior layers (Abstract; Claim 1 of Tanaka; Paragraph 0032; Fig. 1). Tanaka teaches using an adhesive layer between the polyolefin sealing layer and the inorganic coating layer (Item S). Tanaka teaches applying the adhesive layer to the sealant layer to be applied to the rest of the film ensures proper bonding at high temperatures for retort treatment. (Paragraph 0082-0083). Thus, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to place an adhesive layer between the polyolefin sealing layer and the inorganic layer of copending and Miyake for better adhesion of the sealant layer at high temperatures.
Claim 6 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 14, 16, 17 of copending Application No. 18,022,308 in view of Miyake, Forloni, and Nagai.
Regarding Claim 6, Miyake does not specifically teach the oriented polypropylene film comprises a homopolymer polypropylene.
Nagai teaches a gas barrier film, where the biaxially oriented substrate can be either homopolymer polypropylene or polypropylene copolymer. (Abstract; Column 3, Lines 20-40). Nagai teaches polypropylene homopolymer, crystalline isotactic, offers better thermal stability. Column 3, Lines 20-40). Thus, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to use a polypropylene homopolymer in Miyake for improved thermal stability.
Claim 10 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 14, 16, 17 of copending Application No. 18,022,308 in view of Miyake, Forloni, and Yamada.
Regarding Claim 10, Copending does not specifically teach the barrier packaging film has a total composition greater than 80% by weight of polyolefin.
Yamada teaches a gas barrier packaging film (Abstract; Paragraph 0119), where the polyolefin comprises 90 mass% or greater of the film. (Paragraph 0049). This overlaps the claimed range. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. (MPEP §2144.05). Yamada teaches this range enhances the recyclability of the film. (Paragraph 0049). Thus it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art to set the polyethylene/polyolefin mass% of copending to the claimed range to enhance recyclability as taught by Yamada.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection
Correspondence
/Michael Zhang/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1781