DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Response to Amendment
The office action is in response to Applicant’s amendment filed 03/17/2026 which has been entered and made of record. Claims 1-2 and 15-16 have been amended. Claims 8-14 have been canceled. Claims 18-28 have been newly added. Claims 1-7, 15-16 and 18-28 are pending in the application. The claim interpretation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) has been withdrawn based on the cancellation of claims 8-14.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed 03/17/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 103 have been fully considered, however they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues The MPEP makes clear: "Examiners may not dissect a claimed invention into discrete elements and then evaluate the elements in isolation. Instead, the claim as a whole must be considered." MPEP 2103 (emphasis added). Here, the Office improperly dissects the claim into discrete elements and evaluates them in isolation.
Examiner respectfully disagree. First, Chuang teaches using the optical flow to advent textures in paragraph [0243-0244] “the optical flow can indicate the directions of motion of image data regions from the projected source texture to the projected target texture …… an intermediate source texture can be determined based at least in part on the projected source texture and the optical flow, e.g., by advecting the projected source texture according to the optical flow.”.
Second, Horn teaches exactly how to compute optical flow based on the motion of brightness in an image by using the brightness on each pixel, on page 6, third paragraph, Horn teaches “Let the measured brightness be Ei,j,k at the intersection of the ith row and jth column in the kth image frame” and Page 24, Sixth paragraph, “A method was developed for computing optical flow from a sequence of images. It is based on the observation that the flow velocity has two components and that the basic equation for the rate of change of image brightness provides only one constraint. Smoothness of the flow was introduced as a second constraint. An iterative method for solving the resulting equation was then developed.”.
Finally, Chuang and Horn are in closely related field of optical flow. Chuang teaches using optical flow, Horn teaches how to define optical flow, it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Horn’s computation of optical flow with the method of Chuang.
Applicant argues:
Horn explicitly discloses that the brightness of a particular point is constant and does not change.
Horn does not disclose the claimed target pixel position that is a pixel position where a brightness value changes over time at a preset brightness change rate.
Horn also does not disclose the target brightness of the target pixel position comprising a brightness value at the current moment and being changed from initial brightness at an initial moment.
Furthermore, Horn does not disclose a mapping relationship in which initial brightness and a brightness change rate of each pixel position are preset as required by claim 1.
Examiner respectfully disagree.
Horn does teach “the brightness of a particular point in the pattern is constant, so that
d
E
d
t
=
0
” on page 3, last paragraph. This is the first constraint brightness constancy assumption taught by Horn. However, this constraint indicates as the particular points in the pattern moves (flows), the brightness of the particular points in the pattern remain the same. This is different from constant brightness at pixel location;
First, Horn does teach the optical flow velocity u and v at image pixel locations. The optical flow is the preset brightness change rate. Chuang teaches the advect procedure on textures based on optical flow in Table 4, line 9, and paragraph [0244] “an intermediate source texture can be determined based at least in part on the projected source texture and the optical flow, e.g., by advecting the projected source texture according to the optical flow. Examples are discussed herein, e.g., with reference to the texture-synthesis module 208 ; Table 4, line 9 ; procedure Advect; and Eqs. (29)-(34).”.
Horn teaches optical flow based on pixel locations and time steps, it defines the rate of change at pixel locations and time step. Chuang’s teaching of using optical flow on texture by an advection step discloses the target brightness of the target pixel position comprising a brightness value at the current moment and being changed from initial brightness at an initial moment.
Furthermore, Horn does teach the optical flow as brightness change velocity u and v at pixel location, and in order to compute the optical flow, the brightness value at the initial textures is used.
Applicant argues for dependent claims 2, 3, 6 and newly added dependent claims, they all depend on independent claims 1, 15 and 16.
Examiner respectfully disagrees. Please refer above for detailed rationale.
Conclusions: The rejections set in the previous Office Action are shown to have been proper, and the claims are rejected below. New citations and parenthetical remarks can be considered new grounds of rejection and such new grounds of rejection are necessitated by the Applicant's amendments to the claims. Therefore, the present Office Action is made final.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 15, 16, 18 and 24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chuang et al. (US 20180012407 A1), hereinafter as Chuang, in view of NPL Horn et al. (“Determining Optical Flow”), hereinafter as Horn.
Regarding claim 1, Chuang teaches A video processing method (Chuang paragraph [0003] “This disclosure describes systems, methods, and computer-readable media for synthesizing processor-generated characters, e.g., for use in rendering computer-generated videos.”), comprising: acquiring three-dimensional reconstruction data of a video image (Chuang paragraph [0045] “Capture system 112 is configured to provide mesh data 120. Mesh data 120 can include vertices and edges, e.g., as described above, for a surface and/or volume of an actor captured during performance 118. Mesh data 120 is depicted as a random polygonal tessellation but is not restricted thereto. Mesh data 120 can include, e.g., triangles, quads, or other polys, in any combination. Mesh data 120 can include, e.g., at least one mesh per captured frame.”) and a first texture image corresponding to a current moment (Chuang paragraph [0046] “Capture system 112 can also be configured to provide texture data 122……Texture data 122 can include, e.g., at least one texture per captured frame.”);
determining …… of a target pixel position on the first texture image corresponding to the current moment based on a mapping relationship …… wherein …… comprises …… at the current moment and is changed from …… at an initial moment (Chuang teaches the source texture as the first texture image at the initial moment, further teaches using an optical flow as a mapping relationship to generate intermediate texture at a current moment, paragraph [0244] “an intermediate source texture can be determined based at least in part on the projected source texture and the optical flow, e.g., by advecting the projected source texture according to the optical flow.”, Table 4, Line 9,
) …… ; adjusting …… of the target pixel position on the first texture image to …… so as to obtain a second texture image (Chuang teaches generating a synthetic texture as the second texture image based on the source texture and optical flow, paragraph [0243-0244] “an optical flow can be determined based at least in part on the projected source texture and the projected target texture. For example, the optical flow can indicate the directions of motion of image data regions from the projected source texture to the projected target texture…….an intermediate source texture can be determined based at least in part on the projected source texture and the optical flow, e.g., by advecting the projected source texture according to the optical flow.”, paragraph [0246] “ the intermediate source texture and the intermediate target texture can be blended to determine the synthetic texture.”);
and mapping the second texture image onto the video image based on the three-dimensional reconstruction data so as to obtain a target video image (Chuang paragraph [0252] “at block 1306, the synthetic meshes can be presented on a display, e.g., as video or still frame(s) of a production. The synthetic meshes can be textured with the respective synthetic textures for presentation. The synthetic meshes (and textures) can be presented sequentially.”).
Chuang is not replied on for the below claim language …… target brightness …… in which initial brightness and a brightness change rate of each pixel position are preset, …… the target brightness…… a brightness value…… initial brightness…… and the target pixel position is a pixel position where a brightness value changes over time at a preset brightness change rate …… brightness…… the target brightness……
Horn teaches …… target brightness …… in which initial brightness and a brightness change rate of each pixel position are preset, …… the target brightness…… a brightness value…… initial brightness…… and the target pixel position is a pixel position where a brightness value changes over time at a preset brightness change rate …… brightness…… the target brightness…… (Horn teaches a method of computing optical flow based on rate of change of brightness, pixel location and time, Page 3, Fourth paragraph, “We will derive an equation that relates the change in image brightness at a point to the motion of the brightness pattern. Let the image brightness at the point (x, y) in the image plane at time t be denoted by E(x, y, t).”, Page 19 and Page 24, Sixth paragraph, “A method was developed for computing optical flow from a sequence of images. It is based on the observation that the flow velocity has two components and that the basic equation for the rate of change of image brightness provides only one constraint. Smoothness of the flow was introduced as a second constraint. An iterative method for solving the resulting equation was then developed.”, on page 6, Third paragraph, “Let the measured brightness be Ei,j,k at the intersection of the ith row and jth column in the kth image frame”).
Chuang and Horn are in the same filed of endeavor, namely image processing. Horn teaches a method of computing optical flow based on brightness rate of change. Chuang teaches using optical flow to generate synthetic textures. Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of the Horn with the method of Chuang to achieve better rendering result.
Regarding claim 2, Chuang in view of Horn teaches The method according to claim 1, wherein the determining target brightness of the target pixel position on the first texture image corresponding to the current moment based on the mapping relationship comprises: and further teach acquiring the initial brightness and the preset brightness change rate of the target pixel position according to the mapping relationship (Horn teaches defining an optical flow with brightness rate of change at pixel position, the optical flow is the preset brightness change rate, Chuang teaches using optical flow with advection step to determine an intermediate source texture, the source texture defines the initial brightness of the target pixel position, it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of brightness change rate of Horn with the source texture of Chuang, Chuang paragraph [0243] “ an optical flow can be determined based at least in part on the projected source texture and the projected target texture. For example, the optical flow can indicate the directions of motion of image data regions from the projected source texture to the projected target texture.”);
determining a brightness variation of the target pixel position corresponding to the current moment based on a time parameter at the current moment and the preset brightness change rate of the target pixel position (Chuang teaches generating a sequence of synthetic texture based on a time sequence, Figure 3, paragraph [0185] “Synthetic transition sequence 310 , shown dashed for clarity, can include a plurality of synthetic frames 312 (−k+1)- 312 (k−1) (individually or collectively 312 ) …… mesh-synthesis module 206 and/or texture-synthesis module 208 can determine frames 312 of synthetic transition sequence 310 so that playing back source frame 304 (s k), followed by synthetic frames 312 (−k+1), 312 (−k+2), . . . , 312 (−1), 312 (0), 312 (1), . . . , 312 (k−2), 312 (k−1) of sequence 310 , followed by target frame 308 (t+k) will provide a visually smooth transition from source frame 304 (s−k) to target frame 308 (t+k).”);
and determining the target brightness of the target pixel position corresponding to the current moment based on the brightness variation of the target pixel position corresponding to the current moment and the initial brightness of the target pixel position (Chuang paragraph [0244] “an intermediate source texture can be determined based at least in part on the projected source texture and the optical flow, e.g., by advecting the projected source texture according to the optical flow. Examples are discussed herein, e.g., with reference to the texture-synthesis module 208 ; Table 4, line 9 ; procedure Advect; and Eqs. (29)-(34).”).
Chuang and Horn are in the same filed of endeavor, namely image processing. Horn teaches a method of computing optical flow based on brightness rate of change. Chuang teaches using optical flow to generate synthetic textures. Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of the Horn with the method of Chuang to achieve better rendering result.
Regarding claim 15, it recites similar limitations of claim 1 but in an electronic device form. The rationale of claim 1 rejection is applied to reject claim 15. In addition, Chuang teaches An electronic device, comprising: a processor and a memory having stored therein a computer program which, when executed by the processor (Chuang paragraph [0310] “A device comprising: a processor; and a computer-readable medium, e.g., a computer storage medium, having thereon computer-executable instructions, the computer-executable instructions upon execution by the processor configuring the device to perform operations as any of paragraphs H-N recites.”).
Regarding claim 16, it recites similar limitations of claim 1 but in a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium form. The rationale of claim 1 rejection is applied to reject claim 16. In addition, Chuang teaches A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium having stored therein a computer program which, when executed by a processor (Chuang paragraph [0317] “The methods and processes described above can be embodied in, and fully automated via, software code modules executed by one or more general purpose computers or processors. The code modules can be stored in any type of computer-readable storage medium or other computer storage medium.”).
Regarding claim 18, claim 18 has similar limitations as claim 2, therefore it is rejected under the same rationale as claim 2.
Regarding claim 24, claim 24 has similar limitations as claim 2, therefore it is rejected under the same rationale as claim 2.
Claim(s) 3, 19 and 25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chuang et al. (US 20180012407 A1), hereinafter as Chuang, in view of NPL Horn et al. (“Determining Optical Flow”), hereinafter as Horn, further in view of NPL Bellini et al. (“Time-varying Weathering in Texture Space”), hereinafter as Bellini.
Regarding claim 3, Chuang in view of Horn teaches The method according to claim 1, wherein the acquiring the first texture image corresponding to the current moment comprises: but fails to teach randomly sampling, for the current moment, a texture on a pre-obtained reference texture image onto at least a portion of pixel positions of a preset template so as to obtain the first texture image corresponding to the current moment. Bellini teaches randomly sampling, for the current moment, a texture on a pre-obtained reference texture image onto at least a portion of pixel positions of a preset template so as to obtain the first texture image corresponding to the current moment (Bellini teaches an input texture in Figure 7(a) as the pre-obtained reference texture image of time t, a square/rectangle shape as the preset template and a texture is randomly chosen as patch P in Figure 7, Page 7, Left Column, Third Paragraph, “The weathering process is illustrated in Figure 7. A patch P is randomly picked in texture ti (a). T”).
Chuang, Horn and Bellini are in the same filed of endeavor, namely image processing. Bellini teaches a method to randomly choose a region for source texture to generate a time varying texture sequence for ease of use and better rendering result (Bellini Page 2, Right Column, Second Paragraph, “Our method incorporates two notable advantages. First, in most cases it does not require user interaction or assistance, since the weathered and un-weathered regions of the input texture are automatically detected. Second, new structures within the texture can be created over time, in addition to smooth color variations.”). Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of the Bellini with the method of Chuang and Horn for ease of use and better rendering result.
Regarding claim 19, claim 19 has similar limitations as claim 3, therefore it is rejected under the same rationale as claim 3.
Regarding claim 25, claim 25 has similar limitations as claim 3, therefore it is rejected under the same rationale as claim 3.
Claim(s) 6, 22 and 28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chuang et al. (US 20180012407 A1), hereinafter as Chuang, in view of NPL Horn et al. (“Determining Optical Flow”), hereinafter as Horn, further in view of NPL Kwatra et al. (“Texturing Fluids”), hereinafter as Kwatra.
Regarding claim 6, Chuang in view of Horn teach The method according to claim 1, and further teach wherein the three- dimensional reconstruction data comprises vertex coordinate information and normal direction information of a three-dimensional mesh (Chuang paragraph [0033-0034] “Various aspects can provide visually seamless transitions between synthetic meshes and captured meshes. In some examples of meshes, edges can define where two mathematically continuous smooth surfaces meet or can connect vertices using straight lines or curves. A vertex can include a position along with other information such as color, normal vector and texture coordinates”); the mapping the second texture image onto the video image based on the three-dimensional reconstruction data so as to obtain the target video image comprises (Chuang paragraph [0252] “at block 1306, the synthetic meshes can be presented on a display, e.g., as video or still frame(s) of a production. The synthetic meshes can be textured with the respective synthetic textures for presentation. The synthetic meshes (and textures) can be presented sequentially.”): but fail to teach performing differential processing on the three-dimensional mesh so as to obtain a fragment in the three- dimensional mesh and an offset position of the fragment in the three-dimensional mesh; determining coordinates and a normal direction of the fragment based on the offset position and vertex coordinates and a normal direction of the three-dimensional mesh; sampling the second texture image based on the coordinates and the normal direction of the fragment; and mapping a texture, which is sampled, onto the fragment.
Kwatra teaches performing differential processing on the three-dimensional mesh so as to obtain a fragment in the three- dimensional mesh and an offset position of the fragment in the three-dimensional mesh (Kwatra teaches a geodesic distance as the offset position, and obtaining a mesh fragment based on the distance, Page 5, Right Column, Fifth Paragraph, “A vertex neighborhood in a mesh is defined as the set of vertices connected to each other and lying within a certain geodeisc distance – distance measured in the local orientation space of the mesh – to a central vertex. Given the vertex c as the center, the 2D location of a vertex in its neighborhood is computed as its displacement from c along the orientation field on the mesh.”);
determining coordinates and a normal direction of the fragment based on the offset position and vertex coordinates and a normal direction of the three-dimensional mesh (Kwatra Page 7, Figure 5, “VERTEX NEIGHBORHOOD CONSTRUCTION: A SET OF CONNECTED POINTS ON THE MESH ARE MAPPED ONTO THE 2D PLANE. THE ORIENTATION VECTOR AT THE CENTRAL VERTEX ALIGNS ITSELF WITH THE PRIMARY AXIS OF THE PLANE. EACH VERTEX MAPS TO A REAL-VALUED 2D LOCATION, AS SHOWN EXPLICITLY FOR THE YELLOW CIRCLED VERTEX.”);
sampling the second texture image based on the coordinates and the normal direction of the fragment (Kwatra Page 7, Figure 5 teaches deciding the 2D mapped location of vertex on the second texture image based on the vertex coordinates and normal) and mapping a texture, which is sampled, onto the fragment (Kwatra Page 7, Figure 5, “GIVEN A PLANAR PIXEL NEIGHBORHOOD, THE COLOR AT A MESH VERTEX IS DETERMINED THROUGH BILINEAR INTERPOLATION OF THE FOUR PIXELS THAT ITS 2D MAPPED LOCATION LIES BETWEEN.”).
Chuang, Horn and Kwatra are in the same filed of endeavor, namely image processing. Kwatra teaches a method to map synthetic texture to dynamic changing 3D surface to improve rendering result (Kwatra Page 10, Right Column, Third Paragraph, “Our work successfully demonstrates transport of textures along 3D fluid flows, which undergo complex topological changes between successive frames, while preserving visual similarity between the input and the output textures.”). Therefore, it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of the Kwatra with the method of Chuang and Horn to improve rendering result.
Regarding claim 22, claim 22 has similar limitations as claim 6, therefore it is rejected under the same rationale as claim 6.
Regarding claim 28, claim 28 has similar limitations as claim 6, therefore it is rejected under the same rationale as claim 6.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4, 5, 7, 20, 21, 23 and 26-27 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claims 4, 20 and 26, the closest prior art of NPL Neyret et al. (“Advected Textures”), hereinafter as Neyret, teaches using a perlin noise texture in Figure 2 to achieve texture animation. However, Neyret fails to teach the below combined limitation as a whole, “wherein the randomly sampling the texture on the pre- obtained reference texture image onto at least a portion of pixel positions of the preset template comprises: randomly selecting, for any pixel position of the at least a portion of pixel positions of the preset template, one pixel position from a pre-obtained noise texture image as a sampling position, the noise texture image comprising information of random coordinates corresponding to the sampling position; extracting the random coordinates corresponding to the sampling position from the noise texture image; and sampling a texture at a position in the reference texture image corresponding to the random coordinates onto the any pixel position.”. Furthermore, no prior art of record either alone or in combination teaches the above limitation as a whole. Therefore, claims 4, 20 and 26 are considered to allowable.
Regarding claims 5, 21 and 27, the closest prior art of Neyret teaches using a perlin noise texture in Figure 2 to achieve texture animation. However, Neyret fails to teach the combined limitation below as a whole, “wherein the randomly sampling the texture on the pre- obtained reference texture image onto at least a portion of pixel positions of the preset template comprises: performing, for any pixel position of the at least a portion of pixel positions of the preset template, coordinate offset processing on coordinates of the any pixel position on the preset template so as to obtain offset coordinates corresponding to the any pixel position; acquiring random coordinates at a corresponding position from a preset noise texture image based on the offset coordinates; and capturing a texture at a position in the reference texture image corresponding to the random coordinates onto the any pixel position. “. Furthermore, no prior art of record either alone or in combination teaches the above limitation as a whole. Therefore, claims 5, 21 and 27 are considered to allowable.
Regarding claims 7 and 23, the closest prior art of Kwatra teaches aligning the orientation vector of the central vertex with the primary axis of the texture plane. However, Kwatra fails to teach the below combined limitation as a whole, “in a case where a distance between a normal and a first coordinate axis in a preset three-dimensional coordinate system is the shortest, mapping the texture, which is sampled, onto the fragment along a direction of the first coordinate axis.”. Furthermore, no prior art of record either alone or in combination teaches the above limitation as a whole. Therefore, claims 7 and 23 are considered to allowable.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KEE M TUNG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2611
/XIAOMING WEI/Examiner, Art Unit 2611