DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Specification
The use of the term “craftsman”, which is a trade name or a mark used in commerce, has been noted in this application. The term should be accompanied by the generic terminology; furthermore the term should be capitalized wherever it appears or, where appropriate, include a proper symbol indicating use in commerce such as ™, SM , or ® following the term.
Although the use of trade names and marks used in commerce (i.e., trademarks, service marks, certification marks, and collective marks) are permissible in patent applications, the proprietary nature of the marks should be respected and every effort made to prevent their use in any manner which might adversely affect their validity as commercial marks.
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: the craftsman recites all over the disclosure. The trademark name would have been avoided from the disclosure and claim.
The google recites all over the disclosure, this phase would have been avoided from the disclosure too.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-10,12-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
A broad range or limitation together with a narrow range or limitation that falls within the broad range or limitation (in the same claim) may be considered indefinite if the resulting claim does not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of the patent protection desired. See MPEP § 2173.05(c).
The term “degrees/factor” in claims 1,12, and 13, is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “degree” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. The term degree does not provide the boundary of the functionality of the token. Thus, this limitation is indefinite.
Claims 1-10 and 12-15 contains the trademark/trade name “craftsman”. Where a trademark or trade name is used in a claim as a limitation to identify or describe a particular material or product, the claim does not comply with the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph. See Ex parte Simpson, 218 USPQ 1020 (Bd. App. 1982). The claim scope is uncertain since the trademark or trade name cannot be used properly to identify any particular material or product. A trademark or trade name is used to identify a source of goods, and not the goods themselves. Thus, a trademark or trade name does not identify or describe the goods associated with the trademark or trade name. In the present case, the trademark/trade name is used to identify/describe in the specification and claim and, accordingly, the identification/description is indefinite. Thus, the limitation trademark name “craftsman” is indefinite.
As per clams 1 and 13, this claim recite the phases “ ..keys and/or encryption , it is not clear to consider the key and encryption, or key or encryption, this claim also recites the phase “ encrypting and/or decrypting “.. and the token and/ or another node, a form-fit and/or frictionally, one sensor receiving unit and/or at least one sensor. thus, those limitations with the phase and/or do not provide the boundary of the claimed limitation. Thus, claims are indefinite. This claim also recite the phase “ form -fit”, is this physical structure or design of the toke. It can be seen as the form to fit, this limitation does not provide the formation of the token or formation of the physical look of the token. Thus, limitations do not provide the boundary of the claimed limitation.
All the dependent claims are rejected based on the same rational set forth in in the
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-10, and 12-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ljung et al US 2020/0251917 in view of Delitz et al US 2004/0249764.
As per claim 1. Liung discloses a token arrangement comprising a plurality of tokens for craftsman devices of a craftsman equipment(fig.1, numeral 4) , wherein different ones of the tokens ( fig. numeral 2)have different degrees of functionality;
wherein each token comprising: a processor which is configured for control-related interaction with different craftsman devices of the craftsman equipment; an unit configured to communicate the token ((0019 battery unit 2 configured to supply power to different main devices 4, e.g. a power drill and an electric scooter. The battery unit 2 is configured to connect the main device 4 to a server 8 via a wireless network connection 6 and a wireless network 18. A mobile telephone 9 capable of accessing the server 8 is also shown as an optional feature. The disclosure can be applied to a large variety of battery powered main devices such as, but not limited to bicycles, scooters, cars and other vehicles, drones, smart metering systems, portable cameras, garden machines, power tools such as drivers, drills, saws, grinders, sanding machines, milling machines etc. ), , wherein the node is the craftsman device mechanically coupled to the token and/or another node of a communication network in which the token is communicably coupled (fig.1, . [0037] Method 100 comprises identifying S110 the main device to the server using the wireless network connection. For example, the battery module 2 identifies, S110, the main device 4 to the server 8 using the wireless network connection 6 (e.g. to complete the connection between the main device 4 and the server) and
a mechanical coupling device which is configured for mechanical coupling with different craftsman devices of the craftsman equipment, the mechanical coupling device being a physical structure or a form factor of the token which to be coupled in a form-fit and/or frictionally engaged manner to a corresponding opening of the craftsman device in order to thereby form a mechanical connection between the token and the craftsman device ([0029] In order to identify the battery module 2 and the main device 4, each comprise an identifier (ID) such as a serial number. To enable secure authentication of the battery module 2 and main device 4, each may comprise a secure element, 26 and 27 respectively, which comprise the identifier. [0037] Method 100 comprises identifying S110 the main device to the server using the wireless network connection. For example, the battery module 2 identifies, S110, the main device 4 to the server 8 using the wireless network connection 6 (e.g. to complete the connection between the main device 4 and the server 8). The main device 4 is now connected to the server 8 via the battery module 2, and secure transfer of data can be carried out. [0041] FIG. 4 shows a flow-chart illustrating a method 200 performed by the battery module in accordance with other embodiments of this disclosure. Method 200 may be seen as an alternative embodiment involving the same steps as the one or more embodiments of FIG. 3, but in a different order. Here the battery module 2, in step S103, sets up communication to the main device 4. This involves the steps S106 and S108 described in relation to FIG. 3. Thereafter, in step S107, the battery module 2 sets up communication with the server 8, S102, and identifies the battery module 2 and the main device 4 to the server, corresponding to steps S104 and S110 described in relation to FIG. 3. The main device 4 is now connected to the server 8 via the battery module 2, and secure transfer of data can be carried out. [0043] The battery module 2 may comprise the secure entity 26 so that steps S102 and S104 of establishing wireless network connection 6 and identifying the battery module 2 to the server 8 may comprise performing a secure authentication using the secure entity 26 of the battery module 2. The secure entity 26 of battery module 2 may comprise a secure element hardware or software, such as TrustZone technology, in the battery module that enables secure identification of the battery module 2 towards the server 8. The secure entity 26 of battery module may comprise an applet which is configured to enable the secure authentication to establish a secure connection to the server 8 on the wireless network connection 6. The secure connection can be enabled in several ways e.g. via both radio level security as available in e.g. 3rd Generation Partnership Project (3GPP) network such as Long-Term Evolution (LTE) and application level security as with Transport Layer Security (TLS). [0044] Similarly, the main device 4 may comprise the secure entity 27 so that steps S106 and S108 of establishing the data transfer connection and receiving an identifier of the main device 4 comprises performing a secure authentication using the secure entity 27 of the main device 4. The secure entity 27 of the main device may e.g. be a secure element hardware or TrustZone technology in the battery module and/or the main device that enables secure identification of the main device 4 towards the battery module 2. It also enables additional secure applications such as e.g. Near-field Communication (NFC) based local access rights control, e.g. to manage who can use the main device );
wherein each the token is configured to exchange data with said craftsman device by means of the processor by transmission of an electrical control signal from an electrical token contact of the token to an electrical device contact of the craftsman device or via a communication antenna ( 0049 at least partial functionality of the main device 4 is enabled when the battery module 2 is offline. This may be implemented by exchanging offline power tokens between the battery module 2 and the main device 4. This may support guaranteeing continuous operation of the main device 4 even in areas with bad coverage. When coverage is resumed, new tokens are filled up in the battery unit. Hence, according to one or more embodiments of the method performed in the battery modules, when no wireless network connection to the server can be established, the method comprises performing an offline mode operation of the battery module. The offline mode operation may comprise: determining if an offline power token is stored in the memory; if an offline power token is stored in the memory, then supplying power to the main device to operate the main device; and if no offline power token is stored in the memory, then supplying no power to the main device),
when the mechanical coupling device is mechanically coupled to a craftsman device, and in particular to control said craftsman device (FIG. 3, but in a different order. Here the battery module 2, in step S103, sets up communication to the main device 4. This involves the steps S106 and S108 described in relation to FIG. 3. Thereafter, in step S107, the battery module 2 sets up communication with the server 8, S102, and identifies the battery module 2 and the main device 4 to the server );
wherein the tokens of the token arrangement each comprise an identical fixed component contained in each token of the token arrangement, the fixed component comprising the processor, the unit and the mechanical coupling device ( [0050] When the wireless network connection 6 to the server 8 is established, the method performed by the battery module may comprise replenishing offline power tokens in the memory 11 of the battery module 2 up to a predetermined amount. A limited number of offline power tokens are stored in the memory 11 of the battery module 2, so that there is a limit to how long or how many times the main device 4 can be operated with the battery module 2 being offline. When connected to the server 8, the replenishing of offline power tokens may be triggered by the battery module 2 as a result of one or more offline power tokens having been used since it was last online, or there may be a standard check or inquiry after each establishment of the wireless network connection 6.) and
wherein the tokens of the token arrangement each comprise a variable portion which differs from the other tokens in the arrangement with regard to at least one transmit/receive unit, the communication antenna, at least one sensor receiving unit, and/or at least one sensor ([0059] When the main device 4 is in operation, the battery module 2 can transmit sensor data and user data, see S310 and S314 in FIG. 5. Upon receiving such data, the server 8 may store this data in relation to the previously received identifiers of the battery module 2 and main device 4, so that it can be retrieved using one of these identifiers. Hence, the method 400 performed by the server 8 may comprise S412 receiving sensor data for one or more sensors 22, 23 of the battery module 2 and/or of the main device 4 using the wireless network connection 6 and storing the received sensor data in the memory 31. Similarly, the method may comprise S414 receiving usage data associated with the main device 4 using the wireless network connection 6 and storing the received usage data in the memory 31. And [0077] 4. The method according to item 1, wherein the battery module (2) further comprises a secure entity (26) and wherein identifying the battery module (2) to the server (8) comprises performing a secure authentication using the secure entity (26) of the battery module (2)).
Ljung does not discloses wherein the c unit is a crypto-engine of a computer chip which accomplishes encrypted communication based on a use of keys and/or encryption algorithms by encrypting and/or decrypting electrical or electromagnetic signals between the token and a node communicably coupled thereto([0059] In one particularly preferred embodiment of the remuneration protection, the 2D barcode is read and subsequently verified in the mail center by an AFM-2D code reader, or by a hand-held scanner. The associated process steps become clear in the illustration under operation numbers 5-8. To verify the correctness of the 2D barcode, the AFM-2D code reader transfers the full mailing data to the crypto system. There, cryptographical information contained in the mailing data, particularly information associated with the crypto string, is decrypted in order to ascertain the random number used when creating the hash value.).
Ljung and Delitz are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of tool communication.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Garretson to incorporate the teachings of Delitz and provide encryption system for commuication for the hand-held device.
Doing so would provide encryption system, thereby increasing protection for the communication.
As per claim 2. Ljung and Delitz discloses The token arrangement according to claim 1, Ljung disclose s wherein each token is configured as a plug-in element for insertion into a receiving opening of a craftsman device( fig.1 0019 battery unit 2 configured to supply power to different main devices 4, e.g. a power drill and an electric scooter. The battery unit 2 is configured to connect the main device 4 to a server 8 via a wireless network connection 6 and a wireless network 18. A mobile telephone 9 capable of accessing the server 8 is also shown as an optional feature. The disclosure can be applied to a large variety of battery powered main devices such as, but not limited to bicycles, scooters, cars and other vehicles, drones, smart metering systems, portable cameras, garden machines, power tools such as drivers, drills, saws, grinders, sanding machines, milling machines).
As per claim 3. Ljung and Delitz discloses The token arrangement according to claim 1, Ljung discloses comprising one of the following features: wherein each token is formed as a disk, in particular as a circular disk, with a diameter in a range from 1 cm to 10 cm, in particular in a range from 2 cm to 5 cm; wherein each token is configured as a cuboid with an edge length in a range from 1 cm to 10 cm, in particular in a range from 2 cm to 5 cm (0019 battery unit 2 configured to supply power to different main devices 4, e.g. a power drill and an electric scooter. The battery unit 2 is configured to connect the main device 4 to a server 8 via a wireless network connection 6 and a wireless network 18. A mobile telephone 9 capable of accessing the server 8 is also shown as an optional feature. The disclosure can be applied to a large variety of battery powered main devices such as, but not limited to bicycles, scooters, cars and other vehicles, drones, smart metering systems, portable cameras, garden machines, power tools such as drivers, drills, saws, grinders, sanding machines, milling machines ).
As per claim 4. Ljung and Delitz discloses The token arrangement according to claim 1, Ljung discloses wherein the mechanical coupling device of each token is configured to couple the respective token detachably from the craftsman device (0019 battery unit 2 configured to supply power to different main devices 4, e.g. a power drill and an electric scooter. The battery unit 2 is configured to connect the main device 4 to a server 8 via a wireless network connection 6 and a wireless network 18. A mobile telephone 9 capable of accessing the server 8 is also shown as an optional feature. The disclosure can be applied to a large variety of battery powered main devices such as, but not limited to bicycles, scooters, cars and other vehicles, drones, smart metering systems, portable cameras, garden machines, power tools such as drivers, drills, saws, grinders, sanding machines, milling machines ).
As per claim 5. Ljung and Delitz discloses The token arrangement according to claim 1, Ljung discloses wherein the mechanical coupling device of each token comprises an electromechanical interface, in particular an electromechanical interface universal for different craftsman devices (0019 battery unit 2 configured to supply power to different main devices 4, e.g. a power drill and an electric scooter. The battery unit 2 is configured to connect the main device 4 to a server 8 via a wireless network connection 6 and a wireless network 18. A mobile telephone 9 capable of accessing the server 8 is also shown as an optional feature. The disclosure can be applied to a large variety of battery powered main devices such as, but not limited to bicycles, scooters, cars and other vehicles, drones, smart metering systems, portable cameras, garden machines, power tools such as drivers, drills, saws, grinders, sanding machines, milling machines).
As per claim 6. Ljung and Delitz discloses The token arrangement according to claim 1, comprising at least one of the following features: wherein at least one of the tokens is configured to form a communication link, in particular a contactless or contact-based communication link, with the craftsman device when the mechanical coupling device is mechanically coupled to a craftsman device; wherein at least one of the tokens comprises at least one further sensor, in particular selected from a group consisting of a user identification sensor, a gyro sensor, a location sensor, a temperature sensor, a sound pressure sensor, a vibration sensor, an acceleration sensor, a position sensor, a current sensor, a voltage sensor, and a sensor for measuring an electric and/or magnetic field; wherein at least one of the tokens comprises at least the communication antenna, in particular selected from a group consisting of a GPS antenna, a BLE antenna, an ultra-wideband antenna, a Bluetooth antenna, a WLAN antenna, and a narrowband Internet of Things antenna; wherein the processor of each token is selected from a group consisting of a Bluetooth processor, a Narrowband Internet of Things processor, an LTE processor, a 5G processor and an NFC processor; wherein each token comprises a power supply device.
As per claim 7. Ljung and Delitz discloses The token arrangement according to claim 1, Delitz discloses wherein at least one of the tokens comprises a communication device configured to communicate by means of a communication network, in particular to communicate cryptographically using the cryptographic unit ([0059] In one particularly preferred embodiment of the remuneration protection, the 2D barcode is read and subsequently verified in the mail center by an AFM-2D code reader, or by a hand-held scanner. The associated process steps become clear in the illustration under operation numbers 5-8. To verify the correctness of the 2D barcode, the AFM-2D code reader transfers the full mailing data to the crypto system. There, cryptographical information contained in the mailing data, particularly information associated with the crypto string, is decrypted in order to ascertain the random number used when creating the hash value ).
As per claim 8. Ljung and Delitz discloses The token arrangement according to claim 7, Ljung discloses comprising at least one of the following features: wherein at least one of the tokens is configured to communicate by means of the communication device with at least one communicatively coupled node of the communication network, which is selected from a group consisting of another token, a portable user terminal with an app stored thereon, a central control device, and a reordering device for reordering consumables for operating a craftsman device ( 0019 battery unit 2 configured to supply power to different main devices 4, e.g. a power drill and an electric scooter. The battery unit 2 is configured to connect the main device 4 to a server 8 via a wireless network connection 6 and a wireless network 18. A mobile telephone 9 capable of accessing the server 8 is also shown as an optional feature. The disclosure can be applied to a large variety of battery powered main devices such as, but not limited to bicycles, scooters, cars and other vehicles, drones, smart metering systems, portable cameras, garden machines, power tools such as drivers, drills, saws, grinders, sanding machines, milling machines etc); wherein at least one of the tokens is configured to download a data record by means of the communication device from a node of the communication network which is coupled in a communicable manner, in particular a data record defining an operating sequence of the craftsman device and/or a data record defining a user profile, in particular an authorization profile, of a user of the at least one token; wherein at least one of the tokens is configured to upload a data record by means of the communication device to a node of the communication network which is coupled in a communicable manner, in particular a data record indicating operating results and/or operating parameters of an operation of the craftsman device (0049 at least partial functionality of the main device 4 is enabled when the battery module 2 is offline. This may be implemented by exchanging offline power tokens between the battery module 2 and the main device 4. This may support guaranteeing continuous operation of the main device 4 even in areas with bad coverage. When coverage is resumed, new tokens are filled up in the battery unit. Hence, according to one or more embodiments of the method performed in the battery modules, when no wireless network connection to the server can be established, the method comprises performing an offline mode operation of the battery module. The offline mode operation may comprise: determining if an offline power token is stored in the memory; if an offline power token is stored in the memory, then supplying power to the main device to operate the main device; and if no offline power token is stored in the memory, then supplying no power to the main device ).
As per claim 9. Ljung and Delitz discloses The token arrangement according to claim 1, Ljung discloses wherein the processor of each token is configured to control the operation of the craftsman device coupled to the respective token in accordance with a user profile, in particular in accordance with a user authorization profile, of the user of the respective token (0049 at least partial functionality of the main device 4 is enabled when the battery module 2 is offline. This may be implemented by exchanging offline power tokens between the battery module 2 and the main device 4. This may support guaranteeing continuous operation of the main device 4 even in areas with bad coverage. When coverage is resumed, new tokens are filled up in the battery unit. Hence, according to one or more embodiments of the method performed in the battery modules, when no wireless network connection to the server can be established, the method comprises performing an offline mode operation of the battery module. The offline mode operation may comprise: determining if an offline power token is stored in the memory; if an offline power token is stored in the memory, then supplying power to the main device to operate the main device; and if no offline power token is stored in the memory, then supplying no power to the main device ).
As per claim 10. Ljung and Delitz discloses The token arrangement according to claim 9, Ljung discloses comprising at least one of the following features: each token comprising comprises a memory device in which the user profile, in particular the user authorization profile, is stored; wherein the processor of each token is configured to enable operation of the craftsman device coupled to the respective token only if a user identification carried out in advance by means of the respective token has led to the result that an identifying user is authorized to operate the craftsman device(0049 at least partial functionality of the main device 4 is enabled when the battery module 2 is offline. This may be implemented by exchanging offline power tokens between the battery module 2 and the main device 4. This may support guaranteeing continuous operation of the main device 4 even in areas with bad coverage. When coverage is resumed, new tokens are filled up in the battery unit. Hence, according to one or more embodiments of the method performed in the battery modules, when no wireless network connection to the server can be established, the method comprises performing an offline mode operation of the battery module. The offline mode operation may comprise: determining if an offline power token is stored in the memory; if an offline power token is stored in the memory, then supplying power to the main device to operate the main device; and if no offline power token is stored in the memory, then supplying no power to the main device ).
As per claim 12. Ljung and Delitz discloses The token arrangement according to claim 1, Ljung discloses comprising at least one of the following features: wherein the tokens of different degrees of functionality have sensors of different degrees of functionality; wherein the tokens of different degrees of functionality have the communication antennas of different degrees of functionality( [0050] When the wireless network connection 6 to the server 8 is established, the method performed by the battery module may comprise replenishing offline power tokens in the memory 11 of the battery module 2 up to a predetermined amount. A limited number of offline power tokens are stored in the memory 11 of the battery module 2, so that there is a limit to how long or how many times the main device 4 can be operated with the battery module 2 being offline. When connected to the server 8, the replenishing of offline power tokens may be triggered by the battery module 2 as a result of one or more offline power tokens having been used since it was last online).
As per claim 13. Ljung discloses a craftsman equipment (fig.1, numeral 4), comprising: a token arrangement ( fig. numeral 2)according to claim 1 comprising a plurality of tokens for craftsman devices of the craftsman equipment, wherein different ones of the tokens have different degrees of functionality, wherein each token comprising (0019 battery unit 2 configured to supply power to different main devices 4, e.g. a power drill and an electric scooter. The battery unit 2 is configured to connect the main device 4 to a server 8 via a wireless network connection 6 and a wireless network 18. A mobile telephone 9 capable of accessing the server 8 is also shown as an optional feature. The disclosure can be applied to a large variety of battery powered main devices such as, but not limited to bicycles, scooters, cars and other vehicles, drones, smart metering systems, portable cameras, garden machines, power tools such as drivers, drills, saws, grinders, sanding machines, milling machines etc. ): a processor which is configured for control-related interaction with different craftsman devices , wherein the node is the craftsman device mechanically coupled to the token and/or another node of a communication network in which the token is communicably coupled ( 0049 at least partial functionality of the main device 4 is enabled when the battery module 2 is offline. This may be implemented by exchanging offline power tokens between the battery module 2 and the main device 4. This may support guaranteeing continuous operation of the main device 4 even in areas with bad coverage. When coverage is resumed, new tokens are filled up in the battery unit. Hence, according to one or more embodiments of the method performed in the battery modules, when no wireless network connection to the server can be established, the method comprises performing an offline mode operation of the battery module. The offline mode operation may comprise: determining if an offline power token is stored in the memory; if an offline power token is stored in the memory, then supplying power to the main device to operate the main device; and if no offline power token is stored in the memory, then supplying no power to the main device.); and a mechanical coupling device which is configured for mechanical coupling with different craftsman devices of the craftsman equipment, the mechanical coupling device being a physical structure or a form factor of the token which to be coupled in a form-fit and/or frictionally engaged manner to a corresponding opening of the craftsman device in order to thereby form a mechanical connection between the token and the craftsman device ( [0050] When the wireless network connection 6 to the server 8 is established, the method performed by the battery module may comprise replenishing offline power tokens in the memory 11 of the battery module 2 up to a predetermined amount. A limited number of offline power tokens are stored in the memory 11 of the battery module 2, so that there is a limit to how long or how many times the main device 4 can be operated with the battery module 2 being offline. When connected to the server 8, the replenishing of offline power tokens may be triggered by the battery module 2 as a result of one or more offline power tokens having been used since it was last online, or there may be a standard check or inquiry after each establishment of the wireless network connection 6.); wherein each the token is configured to exchange data with said craftsman device by means of the processor by transmission of an electrical control signal from an electrical token contact of the token to an electrical device contact of the craftsman device or via a communication antenna when the mechanical coupling device is mechanically coupled to a craftsman device, and in particular to control said craftsman device ( [0059] When the main device 4 is in operation, the battery module 2 can transmit sensor data and user data, see S310 and S314 in FIG. 5. Upon receiving such data, the server 8 may store this data in relation to the previously received identifiers of the battery module 2 and main device 4, so that it can be retrieved using one of these identifiers. Hence, the method 400 performed by the server 8 may comprise S412 receiving sensor data for one or more sensors 22, 23 of the battery module 2 and/or of the main device 4 using the wireless network connection 6 and storing the received sensor data in the memory 31. Similarly, the method may comprise S414 receiving usage data associated with the main device 4 using the wireless network connection 6 and storing the received usage data in the memory 31. And [0077] 4. The method according to item 1, wherein the battery module (2) further comprises a secure entity (26) and wherein identifying the battery module (2) to the server (8) comprises performing a secure authentication using the secure entity (26) of the battery module (2). ); wherein the tokens of the token arrangement each comprise an identical fixed component contained in each token of the token arrangement, the fixed component comprising the processor, the cryptographic and the mechanical coupling device; and wherein the tokens of the token arrangement each comprise a variable portion which differs from the other tokens in the arrangement with regard to at least one transmit/receive unit, the communication antenna, at least one sensor receiving unit, and/or at least one sensor; and a plurality of craftsman devices, at least some of which comprise a mechanical receiving device the opening for mechanically coupling with the mechanical coupling means of the token tokens of the token arrangement; wherein at least one of the token tokens of the token arrangement is configured for user related the data exchange with, in particular control of, that one the craftsman devices to whose mechanical receiving device the mechanical coupling device of the at least one token is mechanically coupled ( [0029] In order to identify the battery module 2 and the main device 4, each comprise an identifier (ID) such as a serial number. To enable secure authentication of the battery module 2 and main device 4, each may comprise a secure element, 26 and 27 respectively, which comprise the identifier. [0037] Method 100 comprises identifying S110 the main device to the server using the wireless network connection. For example, the battery module 2 identifies, S110, the main device 4 to the server 8 using the wireless network connection 6 (e.g. to complete the connection between the main device 4 and the server 8). The main device 4 is now connected to the server 8 via the battery module 2, and secure transfer of data can be carried out. [0041] FIG. 4 shows a flow-chart illustrating a method 200 performed by the battery module in accordance with other embodiments of this disclosure. Method 200 may be seen as an alternative embodiment involving the same steps as the one or more embodiments of FIG. 3, but in a different order. Here the battery module 2, in step S103, sets up communication to the main device 4. This involves the steps S106 and S108 described in relation to FIG. 3. Thereafter, in step S107, the battery module 2 sets up communication with the server 8, S102, and identifies the battery module 2 and the main device 4 to the server, corresponding to steps S104 and S110 described in relation to FIG. 3. The main device 4 is now connected to the server 8 via the battery module 2, and secure transfer of data can be carried out. [0043] The battery module 2 may comprise the secure entity 26 so that steps S102 and S104 of establishing wireless network connection 6 and identifying the battery module 2 to the server 8 may comprise performing a secure authentication using the secure entity 26 of the battery module 2. The secure entity 26 of battery module 2 may comprise a secure element hardware or software, such as TrustZone technology, in the battery module that enables secure identification of the battery module 2 towards the server 8. The secure entity 26 of battery module may comprise an applet which is configured to enable the secure authentication to establish a secure connection to the server 8 on the wireless network connection 6. The secure connection can be enabled in several ways e.g. via both radio level security as available in e.g. 3rd Generation Partnership Project (3GPP) network such as Long-Term Evolution (LTE) and application level security as with Transport Layer Security (TLS). [0044] Similarly, the main device 4 may comprise the secure entity 27 so that steps S106 and S108 of establishing the data transfer connection and receiving an identifier of the main device 4 comprises performing a secure authentication using the secure entity 27 of the main device 4. The secure entity 27 of the main device may e.g. be a secure element hardware or TrustZone technology in the battery module and/or the main device that enables secure identification of the main device 4 towards the battery module 2. It also enables additional secure applications such as e.g. Near-field Communication (NFC) based local access rights control, e.g. to manage who can use the main device and where.).
Ljung et al fails to disclose
craftsman equipment a cryptographic unit configured to cryptographically communicate the token, wherein the cryptographic unit is a crypto-engine of a computer chip which accomplishes encrypted communication based on a use of keys and/or encryption algorithms by encrypting and/or decrypting electrical or electromagnetic between the token and a node communicably coupled thereto.
However, Delitz discloses craftsman equipment a cryptographic unit configured to cryptographically communicate the token, wherein the cryptographic unit is a crypto-engine of a computer chip which accomplishes encrypted communication based on a use of keys and/or encryption algorithms by encrypting and/or decrypting electrical or electromagnetic between the token and a node communicably coupled thereto ( [0059] In one particularly preferred embodiment of the remuneration protection, the 2D barcode is read and subsequently verified in the mail center by an AFM-2D code reader, or by a hand-held scanner. The associated process steps become clear in the illustration under operation numbers 5-8. To verify the correctness of the 2D barcode, the AFM-2D code reader transfers the full mailing data to the crypto system. There, cryptographical information contained in the mailing data, particularly information associated with the crypto string, is decrypted in order to ascertain the random number used when creating the hash value.).
Ljung and Delitz are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of tool communication.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Garretson to incorporate the teachings of Delitz and provide encryption system for commuication for the hand-held device.
Doing so would provide encryption system, thereby increasing protection for the communication.
As per clam 14. Ljung and Delitz discloses The craftsman equipment according to claim 13, Ljung comprising at least one of the following features: wherein the craftsman devices comprise at least two different elements from a group consisting of an electrical hand-held tool, a tool or a tool set, a storage system, a consumable, and a vehicle; wherein at least one of the craftsman devices is configured as an electric hand- held tool, in particular from a group consisting of a drill, a cordless screwdriver, a cordless drill driver, a rotary screwdriver, a pulse screwdriver, a ratchet screwdriver, an impact driver, in particular a cordless impact driver, a hammer drill, a corded hand-held tool and a compressed air-driven hand-held tool (0019 battery unit 2 configured to supply power to different main devices 4, e.g. a power drill and an electric scooter. The battery unit 2 is configured to connect the main device 4 to a server 8 via a wireless network connection 6 and a wireless network 18. A mobile telephone 9 capable of accessing the server 8 is also shown as an optional feature. The disclosure can be applied to a large variety of battery powered main devices such as, but not limited to bicycles, scooters, cars and other vehicles, drones, smart metering systems, portable cameras, garden machines, power tools such as drivers, drills, saws, grinders, sanding machines, milling machines etc).
As per claim 15. Ljung and Delitz discloses A method of operating craftsman devices of a craftsman equipment by means of a token of the token arrangement according to claim 1( see the rejection for the claim 1), wherein the method comprises: mechanically coupling the mechanical coupling means of the token to a mechanical receiving device of a selected one of the craftsman devices; and after mechanical coupling has taken place, exchanging data with said craftsman device, and in particular controlling the craftsman device, by means of the processor (Ljung 0019 battery unit 2 configured to supply power to different main devices 4, e.g. a power drill and an electric scooter. The battery unit 2 is configured to connect the main device 4 to a server 8 via a wireless network connection 6 and a wireless network 18. A mobile telephone 9 capable of accessing the server 8 is also shown as an optional feature. The disclosure can be applied to a large variety of battery powered main devices such as, but not limited to bicycles, scooters, cars and other vehicles, drones, smart metering systems, portable cameras, garden machines, power tools such as drivers, drills, saws, grinders, sanding machines, milling machines).
Conclusion
/ABU S SHOLEMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2496