DETAILED ACTION
Priority
The instant application, filed on 28 February, 2024 is a 371 of PCT/US2022/075521 filed 26 August, 2022 which claims domestic benefit to US provisional application no. 63/238,726, filed on 30 August 2021 and US provisional application no. 63/240,341, filed on 02 September 2021.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 21 November, 2025 has been considered by the examiner.
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 02 July, 2024 has been considered by the examiner.
Status of Application, Amendments, and/or Claims
The response filed on 28 February, 2024 has been entered in full. These are the amended claims of the original claim set received on 28 February, 2024. In the amendment, claims 1, 3, 4, 7-15, 18-22, 26, and 27 are amended and claims 2, 5, 6, 16, 17, 23, and 24 are cancelled. Therefore, claims 1, 3, 4, 7-15, x18-22, and 25-27 are pending and are the subject of this Office Action.
Nucleotide and/or Amino Acid Sequence Disclosures
REQUIREMENTS FOR PATENT APPLICATIONS CONTAINING NUCLEOTIDE AND/OR AMINO ACID SEQUENCE DISCLOSURES
Items 1) and 2) provide general guidance related to requirements for sequence disclosures.
37 CFR 1.821(c) requires that patent applications which contain disclosures of nucleotide and/or amino acid sequences that fall within the definitions of 37 CFR 1.821(a) must contain a "Sequence Listing," as a separate part of the disclosure, which presents the nucleotide and/or amino acid sequences and associated information using the symbols and format in accordance with the requirements of 37 CFR 1.821 - 1.825. This "Sequence Listing" part of the disclosure may be submitted:
In accordance with 37 CFR 1.821(c)(1) via the USPTO patent electronic filing system (see Section I.1 of the Legal Framework for Patent Electronic System (https://www.uspto.gov/PatentLegalFramework), hereinafter "Legal Framework") as an ASCII text file, together with an incorporation-by-reference of the material in the ASCII text file in a separate paragraph of the specification as required by 37 CFR 1.823(b)(1) identifying:
the name of the ASCII text file;
ii) the date of creation; and
iii) the size of the ASCII text file in bytes;
In accordance with 37 CFR 1.821(c)(1) on read-only optical disc(s) as permitted by 37 CFR 1.52(e)(1)(ii), labeled according to 37 CFR 1.52(e)(5), with an incorporation-by-reference of the material in the ASCII text file according to 37 CFR 1.52(e)(8) and 37 CFR 1.823(b)(1) in a separate paragraph of the specification identifying:
the name of the ASCII text file;
the date of creation; and
the size of the ASCII text file in bytes;
In accordance with 37 CFR 1.821(c)(2) via the USPTO patent electronic filing system as a PDF file (not recommended); or
In accordance with 37 CFR 1.821(c)(3) on physical sheets of paper (not recommended).
When a “Sequence Listing” has been submitted as a PDF file as in 1(c) above (37 CFR 1.821(c)(2)) or on physical sheets of paper as in 1(d) above (37 CFR 1.821(c)(3)), 37 CFR 1.821(e)(1) requires a computer readable form (CRF) of the “Sequence Listing” in accordance with the requirements of 37 CFR 1.824.
If the "Sequence Listing" required by 37 CFR 1.821(c) is filed via the USPTO patent electronic filing system as a PDF, then 37 CFR 1.821(e)(1)(ii) or 1.821(e)(2)(ii) requires submission of a statement that the "Sequence Listing" content of the PDF copy and the CRF copy (the ASCII text file copy) are identical.
If the "Sequence Listing" required by 37 CFR 1.821(c) is filed on paper or read-only optical disc, then 37 CFR 1.821(e)(1)(ii) or 1.821(e)(2)(ii) requires submission of a statement that the "Sequence Listing" content of the paper or read-only optical disc copy and the CRF are identical.
Specific deficiencies and the required response to this Office Action are as follows:
Specific deficiency - This application fails to comply with the requirements of 37 CFR 1.821 - 1.825 because the "Sequence Listing" part of the disclosure submitted as a PDF file (37 CFR 1.821(c)(2)) or on physical sheets of paper (37 CFR 1.821(c)(3)) is not the same as the CRF of the "Sequence Listing" as required by 37 CFR 1.821(e)(1)(ii) or 1.821(e)(2)(ii). Specifically, the sequence marked to show the functional elements of the plasmids for SEQ ID NO:2 (Table 1, entry 4) is missing DNA bases 2401-2410 (based on the numbering of the Sequence listing file).
Required response - Applicant must provide:
A replacement "Sequence Listing" as described above in items 1) c) or d) in accordance with 37 CFR 1.825(b)(1)(ii) or (iii); as well as
An amendment specifically directing its entry into the application as required by 37 CFR 1.825(b)(2)(ii);
A statement that identified the locations of any deletions, replacements or additions to the “Sequence Listing” as required by 37 CFR 1.825(b)(3);
A statement that the "Sequence Listing" added by amendment includes no new matter as required by 37 CFR 1.825(b)(5);
A statement that indicates support for the amendment in the application, as filed, as required by 37 CFR 1.825(b)(4); and
A statement that the content of the previously-filed CRF is identical to the "Sequence Listing" part of the disclosure added by amendment as required by 37 CFR 1.825(b)(7), where provided under item 1) c) or d) (note that where a "Sequence Listing" part of the disclosure is provided under item 1) a) or b), the text file will also serve as the CRF, and the statement of identity is not required);
OR
A CRF as required by 37 CFR 1.821(e)(1) or 1.821(e)(2); and
A statement that the content of the CRF is identical to the "Sequence Listing" part of the disclosure previously submitted as a PDF file (37 CFR 1.821(c)(2)) or on physical sheets of paper (37 CFR 1.821(c)(3)), as required by 37 CFR 1.821(e)(1)(ii) or 1.821(e)(2)(ii).
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because it contains an embedded hyperlink and/or other form of browser-executable code in the reference section. Applicant is required to delete the embedded hyperlink and/or other form of browser-executable code; references to websites should be limited to the top-level domain name without any prefix such as http:// or other browser-executable code. See MPEP § 608.01.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 9 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b), as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, regards as the invention.
Claims 9 and 10 recite the limitation "wherein at least one methylation enzyme." There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim, as both claims depend on claim 1 which only recites claim to one methylation enzyme. However, claim 8 introduces a second methylation enzyme, it is unclear if 9 and 10 should depend on claim 1 or claim 8.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4, 7, 9, 19, 20, 22, 26, and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Escher (US 2014/0286871, of record 07/02/2024).
In regards to claims 1 and 22 Escher anticipates a method of enzymatically methylating a DNA encoding a determinant protein pancreatic glutamic acid decarboxylase (sGAD) which is hypermethylated to induce (attenuate) the immunoregulatory response (pg.16, col 1, lines 24-31/Example 6). The methylation is carried out by the methyltransferase enzyme M.SssI which was incorporated into the genome of an E.coli bacterium (DH5α E.coli) (pg.15, col 1, lines 15-29/ Figure 1/ pg.16, col 1, lines 14-17), and further S-adenosyl methionine (SAM) is used as a substrate to supply methyl in the reaction (pg.6, col 1, lines 29-33). Further the hypermethylation results in a fractional methylation of the DNA (pg.5, col 2, lines 53-60). In regards to “incubating the reaction at a temperature and for a time sufficient to obtain an enzymatically methylated DNA” it is implied by the successful yield of the hypermethylated sGAD DNA an incubation at a time and temperature sufficient to achieve the fractional methylation desired was used.
In regards to claim 3 Escher anticipates the inclusion of a hypomethylated source DNA (BAX) to improve the efficacy of the therapeutic, wherein the hypomethylation results in less than 3% methylation. (pg.4, col 2, lines 16-25/pg.11, col 2, lines 52-57).
In regards to claim 4 Escher anticipates the source DNA is produced in an E.coli cell which has a methyltransferase gene (pg.1, col 2, lines 18-25).
In regards to claim 7 Escher anticipates the DNA encoding sGAD is plasmid DNA constructs under transcriptional control of the SV40 promoter which is still functional after CpG hypermethylation (pg.15, col 2, lines 31-44).
In regards to claim 9 Escher anticipates the integration of the M.SssI methylation enzyme (pg.15, col 1, lines 15-29/ Figure 1).
In regards to claim 19 Escher anticipates sGAD is an autoantigen associated with type 1 diabetes (pg.15, col 2, lines 36-39).
In regards to claim 20 Escher anticipates the hypermethylated DNA encoding sGAD can induce tolerance in mice models of type 1 diabetes (Example 6).
In regards to claims 26 and 27 Escher anticipates delivering the hypermethylated sGAD plasmid DNA in combination with a hypomethylated BAX plasmid DNA as a pharmaceutical composition to treat type 1 diabetes (an autoimmune disease) in mice (pg.16, col 1, lines 24-31).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Escher as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Gowher and Jeltsch (2001) Enzymatic Properties of Recombinant Dnmt3a DNA Methyltransferase from Mouse: The Enzyme Modifies DNA in a Non-processive Manner and also Methylates Non-CpG Sites J. Mol. Biol. 309; 1201-1208.
Escher fails to teach the use of a second methylation enzyme of claim 8, however, Gowher and Jeltsch suggest a method of enzymatically methylating oligodeoxyribonucleotides using two the two methylation enzymes Dnmt1 and Dnmt3a (pg.1202, col 1, lines 38-39), because Dnmt1 is specific to hemimethylated CpG sites but is not effective in embryonic tissue (pg.1201, col 2, line 17 – pg.1202, col 1 line 5). In contrast Dnmt3a is effective in embryonic tissue because it does not have a preference towards unmethylated or hemimethylated CpG sites, however, causes methylation at non-CpG sites (pg.1203, col 1, lines 19-22/ pg.1205, col 1, lines 29-31).
Thus, Escher discloses a method of enzymatically methylating a DNA encoding a determinant protein comprising a methylation enzyme and an enzymatic substrate as outlined above in the 102 rejection, and Gowher and Jeltsch suggest the use of a combination of Dnmt1 and Dnmt3a methylation enzymes to methylate DNA. Therefore, a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found it obvious to try to combine the teachings of Escher with the suggestion of Gowher and Jeltsch with a reasonable expectation of success to develop a method wherein the DNA encoding a determinant protein is methylated using a combination of Dnmt1 and Dnmt3a so as to have specificity to CpG sites provided by Dnmt1 and the lack of preference between unmethylated and hemimethylated CpG sites of Dnmt3a for a more effective method of methylation.
Claims 10-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Escher as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Yew et al. (1999) Contribution of Plasmid DNA to Inflammation in the Lungs after the Administration of Cationic Lipid: DNA complexes Human Gene Therapy 10; 223-234.
Escher fails to teach the concentration of at least 0.1 U of methylation enzyme in the reaction sample of claim 10, the incubation period between 1 min and 24 hours of claim 11, the incubation temperature between 25 and 45 °C of claim 13 and the magnesium ions in the reaction sample of claim 13.
Yew however, in regards to these claims, teaches a method of methylating plasmid DNA with reaction sample comprising NEB buffer which contains 10mM MgCl2 (magnesium ions), SAM, 1-3 mg of pDNA and 1 U of the methylation enzyme SssI methylase per mg of pDNA (pg.225, col 1, lines 27-32). The reaction sample is then incubated at 37C for 18 hours, with additional 4 hours upon a second addition of SAM totaling to 22 hours (pg.225, col 1, lines 32-34). Further Yew teaches this method yielded pDNA which was fully methylated (pg.226, col 1, lines 10-14) and did not induce significant expression of inflammatory cytokines when compared to its unmethylated counterpart when delivered in lipid complexes (Figure 1).
Thus, Escher discloses a method of enzymatically methylating a DNA encoding a determinant protein comprising a methylation enzyme and an enzymatic substrate as outlined above in the 102 rejections, and Yew teaches a method using the same methylating enzyme as Escher in the presence of magnesium ions with 1U per mg of pDNA of methylation enzyme at a temperature of 37 C for 22 hours. Therefore, a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found it obvious to combine the teachings of Escher with the teachings of Yew to use the same methylation enzyme in conditions which lead to full methylation of the pDNA which when integrated into a carrier does not elicit an immune response with a reasonable expectation of success to develop a method wherein the DNA encoding a determinant protein is methylated under the conditions of Yew to yield a fully methylated pDNA which further is more effective in avoiding eliciting an inflammatory response supporting the induction of tolerance.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Escher as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Balagurumoorthy et al. (2008) Method to eliminate linear DNA from mixture containing nicked circular, supercoiled, and linear plasmid DNA Analytical Biochemistry 381; 172-174.
Escher fails to teach treating the source DNA prior to combining to remove one or more associated material that affects DNA accessibility or to cause a conformational change of the source DNA of claim 14. Balagurumoorthy, however, teaches plasmid DNA exist in three topological forms; supercoiled, nicked circular (open circular), and linear (pg.172, col 1, lines 1-2) and that in direct injection into tissue of circular plasmid DNA containing a therapeutic gene of interest it is essential that all plasmid DNA be circular so as to be transfected into mammalian cells (pg.172, col 1, lines 10-14). Further, Balagurumoorthy teaches a method of purifying plasmid DNA to remove linear DNA contaminants (pg.172, col 2, lines 3-14).
Thus, Escher discloses a method of enzymatically methylating a DNA encoding a determinant protein comprising a methylation enzyme and an enzymatic substrate as outlined above in the 102 rejections, and Balagurumoorthy teaches a removing linear DNA from a plasmid DNA therapeutic to ensure the therapeutic can be transfected into mammalian cells. Therefore, a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found it obvious to combine the teachings of Escher with the teachings of Balagurumoorthy to use the method of DNA purification in Balagurumoorthy before the methods of Escher to develop methylated DNA plasmids therapeutic which is more purified and effective in transfecting mammalian cells.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Escher as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Deliyannis et al. (2000) A fusion DNA vaccine that targets antigen-presenting cells increases protection from viral challenge Proc. Natl. Acad. Sci. U.S.A. 97 (12) 6676-6680.
Escher fails to teach treating the enzymatically methylated DNA to alter its structure of claim 15, however, Deliyannis teaches attaching CTLA4 to a hemagglutinin-based influenza DNA vaccine in order to target the vaccine to an antigen-presenting cells (APCs), which accelerated and increased Ab response which was predominated by IgG1 and recognized conformationally dependent viral epitopes (Abstract).
Thus, Escher discloses a method of enzymatically methylating a DNA encoding a determinant protein comprising a methylation enzyme and an enzymatic substrate as outlined above in the 102 rejections and Deliyannis teaches attaching a protein to a DNA vaccine allows for the targeting to the vaccine to antigen presenting cells to increase the antibody response which recognized conformationally dependent viral epitopes. Therefore, a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found it obvious to try the combination of the teachings of Escher with the teachings of Deliyannis to use the enzymatically methylated DNA plasmid of Escher and attach a protein according to the methods of Deliyannis to develop a targeted DNA vaccine encoding a determinant protein for a more effective methylated therapeutic vaccine.
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Escher as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Bina et al. (2006) The Bla2 β-lactamase from the live vaccine strain of Francisella tularensis encodes a functional protein that is only active against penicillin-class β-lactam antibiotics Arch Microbiol 186:219-228.
Escher in regards to claim 18 teaches using and E.coli plasmid which contains an SV-40 promoter, as outlined above. Further Escher teaches a plasmid vector comprising sGAD55 and hBAX for therapeutic use (Example 4).
Escher fails to teach the BLa DNA encoded into the plasmid of claim 18, however, Bina teaches the Bla2 gene encodes a functional β-lactamase protein when expressed in a E.coli vector which hydrolyzed penicillin but did not interact with other cephalosporins which allows BLa2 to be a selection marker for antibody selection (Abstract/ pg.220, col 2, lines 9-13).
Thus, Escher discloses a method of enzymatically methylating a DNA encoding a determinant protein comprising a methylation enzyme and an enzymatic substrate as outlined above in the 102 rejections and a plasmid vector comprising sGAD55, hBAX and a SV40 promoter. Bina teaches incorporating BLa into the plasmid vector to act as an antibiotic selection agent. Therefore, a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found it obvious to combine of the teachings of Escher with the teachings of Bina to use the enzymatically methylated DNA plasmid of Escher wherein a BLa gene is inserted into the plasmid to allow for the creation of a product which can be selected by antibiotic selection.
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Escher as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Wolffe et al. (1999) DNA demethylation Proc. Natl. Acad Sci USA 96; 5894-5896.
Escher fails to teach demethylating the source DNA prior to combining the source DNA with the extracellular methylation enzyme of claim 21, however, Wolffe teaches demethylase a member of the conserved family of MBD which selectively binds to DNA containing methylated CpG dinucelotides for demethylating (pg.5894, col 1, line 50 – pg.5894, col 2, line 7). Further Wolffe suggests control over both DNA methylation and demethylation would enable the manipulation of the two events to achieve the most effective expression of exogenous DNA. (pg.5869, col 1, lines 50-55).
Thus, Escher discloses a method of enzymatically methylating a DNA encoding a determinant protein comprising a methylation enzyme and an enzymatic substrate as outlined above in the 102 rejections and Wolffe teaches demethylase can be used to demethylate methylated DNA at CpG sites and further suggests control over both demethylation and methylation of DNA could allow for the most effective expression of exogenous DNA. Therefore, a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have found it obvious to try the combination of the teachings of Escher with the teachings and suggestions of Wolffe to use the enzymatically methylated DNA plasmid of Escher wherein prior to methylating the plasmid the plasmid is first demethylated for more effective expression of the DNA for an improved therapeutic.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 25 is allowed, with the correction of the specification as outlined above in the Nucleotide and/or Amino Acid Sequence Disclosures section. For the purpose of examination the sequence relied upon for SEQ ID NO: 2 is the sequence recited in the Sequence Listing file.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance.
SEQ ID NO 1 and 2: both relate to DNA sequence for plasmid who encode for the expression of BAX and sGAD55, respectively. No prior art was found when extracting the sequences for these proteins from the overall sequences of the plasmids.
In regards to SEQ ID NO: 1 The closest prior art for the DNA sequence of BAX is SEQ ID NO: 7 of Schaider et al (EP 2 462 952 A1, published 2012) which shares the following alignment with the instant application.
[AltContent: oval]
In regards to SEQ ID NO: 2 The closest prior art for the DNA sequence of sGAD55 is SEQ ID NO: 6 of Escher and Li (WO 2004/034966) which shares the following alignment with the instant application.
[AltContent: oval][AltContent: oval]
[AltContent: oval][AltContent: oval][AltContent: oval]
Both sequences significantly overlap including the single nucleotide polymorphisms (circled) which do not change the amino acid encoded, however despite encoding the same amino acid Hunt et al. (2009) Chapter 2: Silent (Synonymous) SNPs: Should We Care About Them? Method in Molecular Biology 578; 23-39 teaches that synonymous single nucleotide polymorphisms cannot be considered trivial as they can affect mRNA splicing, mRNA stability, mRNA structure, protein translation, and cotranslational protein folding (pg.24, lines 44-48).
Conclusion
/D.A.A/Examiner, Art Unit 1647 /JOANNE HAMA/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1647