DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
This is a reply to the application filed on 10/8/2025, in which, claim(s) 1-15 is/are pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 8/6/2025 and 11/21/2025, has been reviewed. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the examiner is considering the information disclosure statement.
Response to Arguments
Claim Rejections - 35 U.S.C. § 102 and 35 U.S.C. § 103:
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-15 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “receiving means for…”, “coupling means of…”, “communication means of…”, “by means of…”, “configured to…” in claims 1-15.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 6-9 and 11-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ljung et al. (US 20200251917 A1; hereinafter Ljung).
Regarding claims 1 and 15, Ljung discloses a craftsman equipment, comprising:
a plurality of craftsman devices, at least some of which comprise mechanical receiving means for mechanically coupling to a mechanical coupling means of a token (battery unit configured to supply power to different main devices, e.g. a power drill and an electric scooter [Ljung; ¶19-33; Figs. 1-2 and associated texts]); and
the token with a processor and with the mechanical coupling means for selective mechanical coupling with a respective mechanical receiving means of the respective craftsman device (The battery module comprises a processing unit (processor) and a memory. The battery module may be configured to perform any of the methods disclosed herein (e.g. methods disclosed in FIG. 3). The operations of the battery module may be embodied in the form of executable logic routines (e.g., lines of code, software programs, etc.) that are stored on a non-transitory computer readable medium (e.g., the memory) and are executed by the processing unit; furthermore, the battery module 2 may comprise the secure entity 26 (token) so that steps S102 and S104 of establishing wireless network connection 6 and identifying the battery module 2 to the server 8 may comprise performing a secure authentication using the secure entity 26 of the battery module 2. The secure entity 26 of battery module 2 may comprise a secure element hardware or software, such as TrustZone technology, in the battery module that enables secure identification of the battery module 2 towards the server 8. The secure entity 26 of battery module may comprise an applet which is configured to enable the secure authentication to establish a secure connection to the server 8 on the wireless network connection 6, and transmitting S310, by the battery module 2, usage data of the main device 4 to the server 8. Usage data may comprise power usage of the main device 4, such as total charge supplied to the main device 4, power supplied to the main device 4 as a function of time, peak power drawn from the main device 4, etc. Usage data may also comprise sensor data from sensors 22, 23 of the battery module 2 and/or of the main device 4 [Ljung; ¶19-33, 41-52; Figs. 2-5 and associated texts]);
wherein the craftsman devices comprise at least two different elements from a group consisting of an electrical hand-held device, a tool or tool set, a storage system, a consumable, and a vehicle (a large variety of battery powered main devices such as, but not limited to bicycles, scooters, cars and other vehicles, drones, smart metering systems, portable cameras, garden machines, power tools, etc., [Ljung; ¶19-33; Figs. 1-2 and associated texts]);
wherein the token is equipped with a [replaceable] battery and/or the token is configured to be operated by electrical power by a power supply device of the craftsman device when the token is received in the receiving means of the craftsman device (battery module contains secure entity (token) operating with a battery pack (battery) [Ljung; ¶19-33; Figs. 1-2 and associated texts]).
Ljung does not explicilty discloses wherein the token is equipped with a replaceable battery and/or the token is configured to be operated by electrical power by a power supply device of the craftsman device when the token is received in the receiving means of the craftsman device; however, it is well-known in the art that battery packs in a battery module are replaceable. It would have been obvious before the effective filing of the claimed invention to modify Ljung battery to replaceable battery with the motivation for more cost efficient and compatibility, as it would cost less to replace the battery pack than to buy a whole new battery module.
Regarding claim 2, Ljung discloses the craftsman equipment according to claim 1, comprising at least one further token with a further processor and with a mechanical coupling means or selective mechanical coupling with a respective mechanical receiving means of a respective other craftsman device (the battery connecting to a large variety of battery powered main devices such as, but not limited to bicycles, scooters, cars and other vehicles, drones, smart metering systems, portable cameras, garden machines, power tools, etc., [Ljung; ¶19-33; Figs. 1-2 and associated texts]).
Regarding claim 3, Ljung discloses the craftsman equipment according to claim 2, wherein the token has a communication means and the at least one further token has at least one further communication means and the tokens are coupled to one another in a communicable manner by means of the communication means, in particular directly or via a node of a communication network (the battery module may comprise the secure entity so that steps S102 and S104 of establishing wireless network connection and identifying the battery module to the server may comprise performing a secure authentication using the secure entity of the battery module. The secure entity of battery module may comprise a secure element hardware or software, such as TrustZone technology, in the battery module that enables secure identification of the battery module towards the server. The secure entity of battery module may comprise an applet which is configured to enable the secure authentication to establish a secure connection to the server on the wireless network connection 6 [Ljung; ¶19-33, 41-52; Figs. 2-5 and associated texts]).
Regarding claim 4, Ljung discloses the craftsman equipment according to claim 1, wherein the token is configured to control said craftsman device by means of the processor when mechanically coupling the mechanical coupling means to the mechanical receiving means of the respective craftsman device (the battery connecting to a large variety of battery powered main devices such as, but not limited to bicycles, scooters, cars and other vehicles, drones, smart metering systems, portable cameras, garden machines, power tools, etc., [Ljung; ¶19-33; Figs. 1-2 and associated texts]).
Regarding claim 6, Ljung discloses the craftsman equipment according to claims 1, wherein the mechanical coupling means is configured to couple the token detachably from the respective craftsman device (the battery can be attached/detached from the device [Ljung; ¶19-33; Figs. 1-2 and associated texts]).
Regarding claim 7, Ljung discloses the craftsman equipment according to claims 1, comprising at least one of the following features:
wherein the mechanical coupling means has an electromechanical interface, in particular a universal electromechanical interface for different craftsman devices; wherein the token is configured to simultaneously form a communication connection, in particular a contactless or contact-based communication connection, with a craftsman device when the mechanical coupling means is mechanically coupled to the craftsman device (the battery can be attached/detached from the device [Ljung; ¶19-33; Figs. 1-2 and associated texts]).
Regarding claim 8, Ljung discloses the craftsman equipment according to claims 1, wherein the token comprises a communication means configured to communicate by means of a communication network, in particular by means of the public Internet, by means of an intranet and/or by means of a mobile network (the battery module may comprise the secure entity so that steps S102 and S104 of establishing wireless network connection and identifying the battery module to the server may comprise performing a secure authentication using the secure entity of the battery module. The secure entity of battery module may comprise a secure element hardware or software, such as TrustZone technology, in the battery module that enables secure identification of the battery module towards the server. The secure entity of battery module may comprise an applet which is configured to enable the secure authentication to establish a secure connection to the server on the wireless network connection [Ljung; ¶19-33, 41-52; Figs. 2-5 and associated texts]).
Regarding claim 9, Ljung discloses the craftsman equipment according to claims 8, wherein the token is configured to communicate by means of the communication means with at least one communicably coupled node of the communication network selected from a group consisting of another token, a portable user terminal with an app stored thereon, a central control device, and a reordering device for reordering consumables for operating a craftsman device (The secure entity of battery module may comprise a secure element hardware or software, such as TrustZone technology, in the battery module that enables secure identification of the battery module towards the server. The secure entity of battery module may comprise an applet which is configured to enable the secure authentication to establish a secure connection to the server on the wireless network connection [Ljung; ¶19-33, 41-52; Figs. 2-5 and associated texts]).
Regarding claim 11, Ljung discloses the craftsman equipment according to claims 8, wherein the token is configured to upload a data set by means of the communication means to a communicably coupled node of the communication network, in particular a data set containing operating results and/or operating parameters of an operation of the craftsman device (the method 300 comprises transmitting S310, by the battery module 2, usage data of the main device 4 to the server 8. Usage data may comprise power usage of the main device 4, such as total charge supplied to the main device 4, power supplied to the main device 4 as a function of time, peak power drawn from the main device 4, etc. Usage data may also comprise sensor data from sensors 22, 23 of the battery module 2 and/or of the main device 4 [Ljung; ¶41-52; Figs. 2-5 and associated texts]).
Regarding claim 12, Ljung discloses the craftsman equipment according to claims 1, wherein the processor is configured to control the operation of the craftsman device coupled to the token in accordance with a personalized user profile stored in the token or accessible to the token, in particular in accordance with a personalized user authorization profile, of the user of the token (providing access to stored data related to the battery module 2 and/or the main device 4 to a mobile device 9 via the wireless network 18, also enables additional secure applications such as based local access rights control, e.g. to manage who can use the main device and where [Ljung; ¶41-52, 60; Figs. 2-5 and associated texts]).
Regarding claim 13, Ljung discloses the craftsman equipment according to claims 12, comprising at least one of the following features: wherein the processor is configured to permit, set and/or prevent use of the craftsman device by the user based on the personalized authorization profile when coupled with a respective craftsman device; the token having an identification means for identifying a user of the token, in particular the processor being configured to enable operation of the craftsman device coupled to the token only if a user identification carried out in advance by means of the token has led to the result that an identifying user is authorized to operate the craftsman device (providing access to stored data related to the battery module 2 and/or the main device 4 to a mobile device 9 via the wireless network 18, also enables additional secure applications such as based local access rights control, e.g. to manage who can use the main device and where [Ljung; ¶41-52, 60; Figs. 2-5 and associated texts]).
Regarding claim 14, Ljung discloses the craftsman equipment according to claims 1, comprising at least one of the following features:
wherein the craftsman devices comprise at least one electric hand-held device, in particular from a group consisting of a drill, a cordless screwdriver, a cordless drill driver, a rotary screwdriver, a pulse screwdriver, a ratchet screwdriver, an impact wrench, in particular a cordless impact wrench, a hammer drill, a corded hand-held device and a compressed air-operated hand-held device; wherein the tool is configured as a tool from a group consisting of a hammer, pliers, a file, a screwdriver, a drill, a bit and a nut for a ratchet; wherein the storage system is configured as a storage system from a group consisting of a case, a shelf, a drawer and a box; wherein the consumable is formed as a consumable from a group consisting of a screw, a dowel, a bolt anchor, a nail, a rivet, and a package containing such consumables; wherein the vehicle is configured as a vehicle from a group consisting of a vehicle driven by a motor, in particular electrically and/or by means of an internal combustion engine, and a vehicle driven by muscle power; wherein the craftsman devices comprise at least one electrical hand- held device, at least one tool and/or at least one tool set, at least one storage system, at least one consumable, and at least one vehicle (the battery connecting to a large variety of battery powered main devices such as, but not limited to bicycles, scooters, cars and other vehicles, drones, smart metering systems, portable cameras, garden machines, power tools, etc., [Ljung; ¶19-33; Figs. 1-2 and associated texts]).
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ljung et al. (US 20200251917 A1; hereinafter Ljung) in view of Ye (US 20160294028 A1).
Regarding claim 5, Ljung does not explicilty discloses the craftsman equipment according to claims 1, wherein the tokens is formed as a disk, in particular as a circular disk, with a diameter in a range from 1 cm to 10 cm, in particular in a range from 2 cm to 5 cm; however, in a related and analogous art, Ye teaches this feature.
In particular, Ye teaches the diameter (D.sub.3) of the solid state disk battery cell 700 can be about 2 mm, about 5 mm, or about 10 mm to about 5 cm, about 50 cm, or about 100 cm. For example, the diameter (D.sub.3) of the solid state disk battery cell 700 can be about 2 mm to about 100 cm, about 2 mm to about 40 cm, or about 5 mm to about 10 cm. The width (W.sub.3) of the solid state disk battery cell 700 can be about 0.1 mm, about 1 mm, or about 5 mm to about 1 cm, about 5 cm, about 10 cm, or about 50 cm. For example, the width (W.sub.3) of the solid state disk battery cell 700 can be about 0.1 mm to about 50 cm, about 0.1 mm to about 5 cm, or about 0.5 mm to about 1 cm [Ye, ¶89; Figs. 1, 15-16 and associated texts]. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ljung in view of Ye with the motivation to better accommodate both design and power for the tools.
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ljung et al. (US 20200251917 A1; hereinafter Ljung) in view of Funk et al. (US 20190067751 A1; hereinafter Funk).
Regarding claim 10, Ljung does not explicilty discloses the craftsman equipment according to claims 8, wherein the token is configured to download a data set by means of the communication means from a communicatively coupled node of the communication network, in particular a data set defining an operating sequence of the craftsman device and/or a data set defining a user profile of a user of the token; however, in a related and analogous art, Funk teaches this feature.
In particular, Funk teaches the personalizable battery 150 (or another instance that has downloaded the settings from the network 170) is installed in the device (or a device of the same type), the last set of current settings may be duplicated to automatically configure the device in the manner the user had last used to configure the device, when the personalizable battery 150 is installed into a particular device, the personalizable battery 150 may determine whether a specific user profile and/or device profile is applicable for the particular device. The personalizable battery 150 may then provide configuration settings in accordance with the user profile or device profile. However, the personalizable battery 150 may also be configured to receive information that may cause the user profile and/or device profile to be modified and store such modified user profile and/or device profile (locally or via the network 170). [Funk; ¶25, 45]. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ljung in view of Funk with the motivation to allow sync user profiles between different tools for conveniences and easier usability.
Internet Communications
Applicant is encouraged to submit a written authorization for Internet communications (PTO/SB/439, http://www.uspto.gov/sites/default/files/documents/sb0439.pdf) in the instant patent application to authorize the examiner to communicate with the applicant via email. The authorization will allow the examiner to better practice compact prosecution. The written authorization can be submitted via one of the following methods only: (1) Central Fax which can be found in the Conclusion section of this Office action; (2) regular postal mail; (3) EFS WEB; or (4) the service window on the Alexandria campus. EFS web is the recommended way to submit the form since this allows the form to be entered into the file wrapper within the same day (system dependent). Written authorization submitted via other methods, such as direct fax to the examiner or email, will not be accepted. See MPEP § 502.03.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DAO Q HO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2432