Detailed Action
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
3. Claims 1-6, 11-12, 15, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by KATO (US 20070206884 A1).
Regarding claim 1, KATO discloses an image processing system (Figs. 4 and 8; image processing system), comprising at least one processor (Figs. 4 and 8; processing units) configured to: detect a plurality of character string regions each including any character string from a target object image relating to a target object (Figs. 1-2 and 4; document image or target document) including a standard character string and a non-standard character string (Figs. 1-2; an item name corresponding to a standard character string and an item value corresponding to a non-standard character string; [0022]); determine whether a standard region including the standard character string exists in the plurality of character string regions (Figs. 1-3 and [0023], [0035] and Claim 1; an item name is extracted, an area corresponding to the item name corresponds to a standard region); and identify, when the standard region is determined to exist, a character string region that has a predetermined positional relationship with the standard region as a non-standard region that includes the non- standard character string (Figs. 1-3 and 5-6 and [0023], [0039]-[0041 and [0050]-[0051]; an item value is extracted, the item value has a predetermined positional relationship with the corresponding item name).
Regarding claim 2, KATO discloses the image processing system according to claim 1, wherein the at least one processor is configured to determine, when the character string region exists in a predetermined direction with respect the standard region and within a predetermined distance from the standard region, that the character string region has the predetermined positional relationship with the standard region (Figs. 1-3 and 5-6 and [0023]-[0024], [0039]-[0041] and [0050]-[0051]; the region of the item value has a predetermined positional relationship with the region of the corresponding item name).
Regarding claim 3, KATO discloses the image processing system according to claim 1, wherein the standard region is a quadrangle (Figs. 1-2), and wherein the at least one processor is configured to determine, when the character string region exists on or near a line obtained by extending at least one side of the standard region toward the predetermined direction by the predetermined distance, that the character string region has the predetermined positional relationship with the standard region (Figs. 1-2 and [0039]-[0041] and [0050]-[0051]; the region of the item value has a predetermined positional relationship with the region of the corresponding item name).
Regarding claim 4, KATO discloses the image processing system according to claim 1, wherein the at least one processor is configured to determine, when the character string region exists on or near two lines obtained by extending two sides of the standard region that oppose each other toward the predetermined direction by the predetermined distance, that the character string region has the predetermined positional relationship with the standard region (Figs. 1-2 and [0039]-[0041] and [0050]-[0051]; the region of the item value has a predetermined positional relationship with the region of the corresponding item name).
Regarding claim 5, KATO discloses the image processing system according to claim 1, wherein the at least one processor is configured to: identify, when only one character string region has a predetermined first positional relationship with the standard region among the plurality of character string regions, the one character string region as the non-standard region ([0039]-[0041] and [0050]-[0051]); and identify, when a plurality of character string regions have the predetermined first positional relationship with the standard region, a character string region that has a second positional relationship with the standard region as the non-standard region ([0039]-[0041] and [0050]-[0051]).
Regarding claim 6, KATO discloses the image processing system according to claim 5, wherein the at least one processor is configured to identify, when a plurality of character string regions have the predetermined first positional relationship with the standard region, a character string region that is closest to the standard region among the plurality of character string regions as the character string region that has the second positional relationship with the standard region ([0050]-[0051]).
Regarding claim 11, KATO discloses the image processing system according to claim 1, wherein the at least one processor is configured to: identify a character string region having the number of characters corresponding to the non-standard character string from the plurality of character string regions (e.g., Figs. 2, 5, and 7; item value); and identify the identified character string region as the non-standard region when the identified character string region has the predetermined positional relationship with the standard region (Figs. 1-2 and [0039]-[0041] and [0050]-[0051]; the area of the item value has a predetermined positional relationship with the area indicating the item name).
Regarding claim 12, KATO discloses the image processing system according to claim 1, wherein the at least one processor is configured to: identify a character string region having a size corresponding to the non-standard character string from the plurality of character string regions (e.g., Figs. 2, 5, and 7; item value); and identify the identified character string region as the non-standard region when the identified character string region has the predetermined positional relationship with the standard region (Figs. 1-2 and [0039]-[0041] and [0050]-[0051]; the area of the item value has a predetermined positional relationship with the area indicating the item name).
Regarding claim 15, KATO discloses the image processing system according to claim 1, wherein the at least processor is configured to apply character recognition to the non-standard region ([0024], [0040], [0042], [0048], and [0050]; character recognition to extract item value).
Regarding claim 17, KATO discloses an image processing method (Figs. 4 and 8; image processing system), comprising: detecting a plurality of character string regions each including any character string from a target object image relating to a target object (Figs. 1-2 and 4; document image or target document) including a standard character string and a non-standard character string (Figs. 1-2; an item name corresponding to a standard character string and an item value corresponding to a non-standard character string; [0022]); determining whether a standard region including the standard character string exists in the plurality of character string regions (Figs. 1-3 and [0023], [0035] and Claim 1; an item name is extracted, an area corresponding to the item name corresponds to a standard region); and identifying, when the standard region is determined to exist, a character string region that has a predetermined positional relationship with the standard region as a non-standard region that includes the non-standard character string (Figs. 1-3 and 5-6 and [0023], [0039]-[0041 and [0050]-[0051]; an item value is extracted, the item value has a predetermined positional relationship with the corresponding item name).
Regarding claim 18, KATO discloses a non-transitory computer-readable information storage medium for storing a program for causing a computer (Figs. 4, 8, and 10; image processing system comprising storage and processing units) to detect a plurality of character string regions each including any character string from a target object image relating to a target object (Figs. 1-2 and 4; document image or target document) including a standard character string and a non-standard character string (Figs. 1-2; an item name corresponding to a standard character string and an item value corresponding to a non-standard character string; [0022]); determine whether a standard region including the standard character string exists in the plurality of character string regions (Figs. 1-3 and [0023], [0035] and Claim 1; an item name is extracted, an area corresponding to the item name corresponds to a standard region); and identify, when the standard region is determined to exist, a character string region that has a predetermined positional relationship with the standard region as a non-standard region that includes the non- standard character string (Figs. 1-3 and 5-6 and [0023], [0039]-[0041 and [0050]-[0051]; an item value is extracted, the item value has a predetermined positional relationship with the corresponding item name).
4. Claims 1, 7-8, and 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by CHAE (US 20210209393 A1).
Regarding claim 1, CHAE discloses an image processing system (Figs. 1 and 4; image processing system), comprising at least one processor (Figs. 1 and 4; processing units) configured to: detect a plurality of character string regions each including any character string from a target object image relating to a target object (Figs. 2-3; captured image or target object image I1) including a standard character string and a non-standard character string (Figs. 3 and 5; target image including a fixed part corresponding to a standard character string and a un-fixed part corresponding to a non-standard character string; [0063]-[0065] and claim 1); determine whether a standard region including the standard character string exists in the plurality of character string regions (Figs. 8-9 and [0091], [0095] and claim 4; fixed part is determined, an area indicating the fixed part corresponds to a standard region); and identify, when the standard region is determined to exist, a character string region that has a predetermined positional relationship with the standard region as a non-standard region that includes the non- standard character string (Figs. 13 and 21 and [0110]-[0111], [0163]; un-fixed part is determined, the un-fixed part has a predetermined positional relationship with the corresponding fixed part).
Regarding claim 7, CHAE discloses the image processing system according to claim 1, further comprising a at least one processor configured to shape the non-standard region based on the standard region and an exemplar region relating to an exemplar of the standard region (e.g., Figs. 8-14 and 19-22; first image shaping and second image shaping).
Regarding claim 8, CHAE discloses the image processing system according to claim 7, wherein each of the standard region and the exemplar region is a quadrangle (e.g., Figs. 5 and 8-13; quadrangle), and wherein the at least one processor is configured to shape the non- standard region based on a width of the standard region and a width of the exemplar region (e.g., Figs. 8-14 and 19-22; image shaping based on a width of the area indicating fixed part).
Regarding claim 16, CHAE discloses the image processing system according to claim 1, wherein the target object is an identity verification document (e.g., Figs. 3 and 5; ID document), wherein the standard character string and the non-standard character string are each a character string relating to information required for identity verification (Figs. 3 and 5; a fixed part corresponding to a standard character string and a un-fixed part corresponding to a non-standard character string; [0063]-[0065] and claim 1), and wherein the target object image is an image generated by photographing the identity verification document (Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 17, CHAE discloses an image processing method (Figs. 1 and 4; image processing system), comprising: detecting a plurality of character string regions each including any character string from a target object image relating to a target object (Figs. 2-3; captured image or target object image I1) including a standard character string and a non-standard character string (Figs. 3 and 5; target image including a fixed part corresponding to a standard character string and a un-fixed part corresponding to a non-standard character string; [0063]-[0065] and claim 1); determining whether a standard region including the standard character string exists in the plurality of character string regions (Figs. 8-9 and [0091], [0095] and claim 4; fixed part is determined, an area indicating the fixed part corresponds to a standard region); and identifying, when the standard region is determined to exist, a character string region that has a predetermined positional relationship with the standard region as a non-standard region that includes the non-standard character string (Figs. 13 and 21 and [0110]-[0111], [0163]; un-fixed part is determined, the un-fixed part has a predetermined positional relationship with the corresponding fixed part).
Regarding claim 18, CHAE discloses a non-transitory computer-readable information storage medium for storing a program for causing a computer (Fig. 1; image processing system including storage and processing units) to detect a plurality of character string regions each including any character string from a target object image relating to a target object (Figs. 2-3; captured image or target object image I1) including a standard character string and a non-standard character string (Figs. 3 and 5; target image including a fixed part corresponding to a standard character string and a un-fixed part corresponding to a non-standard character string; [0063]-[0065] and claim 1); determine whether a standard region including the standard character string exists in the plurality of character string regions (Figs. 8-9 and [0091], [0095] and claim 4; fixed part is determined, an area indicating the fixed part corresponds to a standard region); and identify, when the standard region is determined to exist, a character string region that has a predetermined positional relationship with the standard region as a non-standard region that includes the non- standard character string (Figs. 13 and 21 and [0110]-[0111], [0163]; un-fixed part is determined, the un-fixed part has a predetermined positional relationship with the corresponding fixed part).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
6. Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as unpatentable over CHAE (US 20210209393 A1) or KATO (US 20070206884 A1) in view of MUFFAT (US 20200250139 A1).
Regarding claim 14, CHAE or KATO discloses the image processing system according to claim 1, but does not disclose wherein the at least one processor is configured to mask the non-standard region. However, MUFFA (e.g., Figs. 1-2) discloses an image processing system, wherein the at least one processor is configured to mask the non-standard region (Fig. 2 and [0046]-[0047]; data masking). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching from Wang to the image processing system of CHAE to improve an accuracy of data extraction and retrieval.
7. Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as unpatentable over CHAE (US 20210209393 A1) or KATO (US 20070206884 A1) in view of WANG (US 20180330180 A1).
Regarding claim 13, CHAE or KATO discloses the image processing system according to claim 1, wherein the target object includes a plurality of non-standard character strings each of which is the non-standard character string (KATO’s Figs. 1-2 and CHAE’s Fis. 2-3), but does not disclose wherein the at least one processor is configured to determine that the target object is not included in the target object image when the non-standard character string having an unidentified non-standard region exists in the plurality of non-standard character strings. However, Wang discloses an image processing system (e.g., Figs. 9-10), wherein the at least one processor is configured to determine that the target object is not included in the target object image when the non-standard character string having an unidentified non-standard region exists in the plurality of non-standard character strings (e.g., Figs. 6 and 7, steps 625 and 738, matching and validation of ID number).
Allowable Subject Matter
8. Claims 9-10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: The present invention is directed to an image processing system and method. The closet prior arts, KATO (US 20070206884 A1), CHAE (US 20210209393 A1), MUFFAT (US 20200250139 A1), and WANG (US 20180330180 A1), individually or in combination, discloses an image processing system, comprising at least one processor configured to: detect a plurality of character string regions each including any character string from a target object image relating to a target object including a standard character string and a non-standard character string; determine whether a standard region including the standard character string exists in the plurality of character string regions; identify, when the standard region is determined to exist, a character string region that has a predetermined positional relationship with the standard region as a non-standard region that includes the non- standard character string. but fails to teach the at least one processor configured to: determine a transform coefficient relating to shaping of the first non-standard region based on the first standard region and a first exemplar region relating to an exemplar of the first standard region; shape the first non-standard region based on the determined transform coefficient; and shape also the second non-standard region based on the determined transform coefficient; and determine a first transform coefficient relating to shaping of the first non-standard region based on the first standard region and a first exemplar region relating to an exemplar of the first standard region; shape the first non-standard region based on the determined first transform coefficient; determine a second transform coefficient relating to shaping of the second non-standard region based on the second standard region and a second exemplar region relating to an exemplar of the second standard region; and shape the second non-standard region based on the determined second transform coefficient.
Inquiry
/YUZHEN SHEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2623