DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 3/10/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The arguments relate to the amended claims, which are being rejected by a new reference in response to the amendments, and thus do not apply to the current rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 27, 30, 43, 48, and 49 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hochschild (US Patent Application Publication 20070022540) in view of Lava (US Patent 10413082).
Regarding claim 27,
Hochschild teaches a method for customizing and assembling an elastic pad, comprising: providing a top cover body (Figure 3; 60 and 50) and a bottom cover body (Figure 3; 34); providing side enclosures (Figure 3; 34); providing a desired number and a desired type of elastic module layers (Figure 4; 73 and 74) and elastic pad layers (Figure 4; 46, 42), each elastic module layer including a plurality of elastic modules (Figure 4; 71), each elastic module including a compressed spring (Figure 4; 71); connecting (Figure 3; 39) the top cover body (Figure 3; 50 and 60) to the side enclosure (Figure 3; sides 34); connecting the bottom cover body (Figure 3; bottom of 34 (see Paragraph 19)) to the side enclosure; and placing the elastic pad layers (Figure 4; 52, 54, 46) and the elastic module layers (Figure 4; 73 and 74) in a receiving space formed by the top cover body, the bottom cover body, and the side enclosure.
Hochschild does not teach the side enclosures having a plurality of height dimensions, and selecting a side enclosure having a height dimension corresponding to a total thickness of the selected elastic module layer and the elastic pad layer from the side enclosures having a plurality of height dimensions.
Lava teaches the side enclosures having a plurality of height dimensions (Figures 2-7 show creating side enclosures (12, 28, 14, 36, 32) of multiple different height dimensions, see also Column 5; lines 40-60 for a description of the multiple height dimensions that can be achieved), and selecting a side enclosure having a height dimension corresponding to a total thickness of the selected elastic module layer and the elastic pad layer from the side enclosures having a plurality of height dimensions (Column 5; lines 60-67 describe choosing mattress covers (including side enclosures) to have a tight fit on the inner mattress structure, thus corresponding to the total thickness of the selected inner mattress structure). Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed to have combined Hochschild (directed to an interchangeable mattress and cover) and Lava (directed to a height adjustable mattress cover) and arrived at an interchangeable mattress and height adjustable mattress cover. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a combination to “allow mattress manufacturers to differentiate their mattresses in the market based on appearance rather than solely the internal mattress structure” Lava (Column 6; lines 1-5).
Regarding claim 30, Hochschild teaches the elastic module layer comprises a plurality of elastic modules arranged in an array, each elastic module including a spring (Figure 4; each spring 71 may be considered an elastic module, or each set of 2 springs may be considered an elastic module).
Regarding claim 43, Hochschild teaches the elastic pad is configured to allow use of at least two elastic pad layers and stack the at least two elastic pad layers in different orders to provide different degrees of softness and hardness (Figure 4; 46 and 52, 54, see also paragraphs 40-43 discussing adjustability and different configurations of the mattress).
Regarding claim 48, Hochschild teaches at least one of the top cover body and the bottom cover body is detachably connected to the side enclosure (Figure 3; 39).
Regarding claim 49, Hochschild teaches the top cover body or the bottom cover body is detachably connected to the side enclosure via a zipper (Figure 3; 39).
Claim(s) 28 and 29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hochschild (US Patent Application Publication 20070022540) in view of Lava (US Patent 10413082) in view of Nolte (US Patent Application Publication 20250064225).
Regarding claim 28,
Hochschild teaches the elastic pad layer comprises at least one elastic buffer layer including a first-layer structure, a second-layer structure and a third-layer structure (Figure 4; 54, 52, 46), the third- layer structure having a hardness higher than the second-layer structure, the second- layer structure having a hardness higher than the first-layer structure (Claims 13 and 14, the materials for the three layers allow for a configuration where the first layer would be softest (for example soft urethane foam), the third layer would be hardest (for example hard urethane foam), and the second layer would be in the middle (for example latex foam).
Hochschild does not teach the elastic pad layer comprises an elastic buffer layer including a fabric cover structure with the first, second, and third layers being within the fabric cover structure.
Nolte teaches the elastic pad layer comprises an elastic buffer layer including a fabric cover structure with the first, second, and third layers being within the fabric cover structure (Paragraph 45 describes each foam piece having its own cover).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed to have combined Hochschild (directed to a mattress with various foam components) and Lava (directed to a height adjustable mattress cover) and Nolte (directed to a mattress with various foam components with covers) and arrived at a mattress with various foam components with height adjustable covers. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a combination because "the covers protect the foam, reduce friction between the layers, and provide identification aids so that a user can easily differentiate and manipulate the layers" as taught in Nolte (Paragraph 45).
Regarding claim 29, Hochschild teaches in the elastic buffer layer structure: (i) the first- layer structure is closest to a top surface of the elastic pad (Figure 4; 52 may be designated the first layer) and the third- layer structure is closest to a bottom surface of the elastic pad (Figure 4; 46 may be designated the third layer); or (ii) the second-layer structure is closest to the top surface of the elastic pad, and the third-layer structure is closest to a bottom surface of the elastic pad; or (iii) the third-layer structure is closest to a top surface of the elastic pad, and the first-layer structure is closest to a bottom surface of the elastic pad; or (iv) the first-layer structure is closest to a top surface of the elastic pad and the second-layer structure is closest to a bottom surface of the elastic pad; or(v) the second-layer structure is closest to a top surface of the elastic pad, and the first-layer structure is closest to a bottom surface of the elastic pad; or (vi) the third-layer structure is closest to a top surface of the elastic pad and the second-layer structure is closest to a bottom surface of the elastic pad.
Claim(s) 31 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hochschild (US Patent Application Publication 20070022540) in view of Lava (US Patent 10413082) in view of Hunt (US Patent 1343565).
Regarding claim 31,
Hochschild teaches each elastic module comprises a conical spring (Figure 4; 71), the elastic module layer further comprises an elastic module layer bottom layer (Figure 4; the bottom surface shown which the springs sit on).
Hochschild does not specifically teach a spring support holding the conical spring, and a plurality of rail beams on the elastic module layer bottom layer, and the plurality of elastic modules are configured for mounting and sliding on the rail beams.
Hunt teaches a spring support (Figure 1; 18) holding the conical spring, and a plurality of rail beams (Figure 1; 9 and 10) on the elastic module layer bottom layer, and the plurality of elastic modules are configured for mounting and sliding on the rail beams (Figure 1; as shown).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed to have combined Hochschild (directed to a mattress with springs) and Lava (directed to a height adjustable mattress cover) and Hunt (directed to springs arranged on rail beams) and arrived at a mattress with springs arranged on rail beams and a height adjustable mattress cover. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a combination to "present means for absorbing relatively heavy jars, all without producing objectionable rebound." as taught in Hunt (Column 1; lines 35-38).
Claim(s) 32 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hochschild (US Patent Application Publication 20070022540) in view of Lava (US Patent 10413082) in view of Hunt (US Patent 1343565) further in view of Jewett (US Patent Application Publication 20200288875)
Regarding claim 32,
Hochschild does not teach the elastic module layer bottom layer is integral with the bottom cover body.
Jewett teaches the elastic module layer bottom layer is integral with the bottom cover body (Figure 1; 18 is directly on the outer cover 20 of the mattress, see also Paragraph 77).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed to have combined Hochschild (directed to a mattress with springs) and Lava (directed to a height adjustable mattress cover) and Hunt (directed to springs arranged on rail beams) and Jewett (directed to a spring module situated directly on the bottom outer cover of a mattress) and arrived at a mattress with springs arranged on rail beams oriented directly on the bottom outer cover of a mattress with a height adjustable cover. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a combination to "eliminate or reduce the need for a mattress manufacturer to place one or more foam or fiber layers above the pocketed spring comfort layer" (or below) (Jewett Paragraphs 6- 7).
Claim(s) 33 and 34 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hochschild (US Patent Application Publication 20070022540) in view of Lava (US Patent 10413082) in view of Hunt (US Patent 1343565) further in view of Katan (US Patent Application Publication 20140366275). Examiner notes that Figure 5b of Katan has been annotated below and appears above the claim it is being used to demonstrate for additional clarity in the rejection.
Regarding claim 33,
Hochschild, as modified, does not teach each rail beam is configured to engage sliding modules on left and right sides thereof, respectively, to allow elastic modules on both sides of the rail beam to slide along slide rails of the rail beam independently of each other.
Katan teaches each rail beam (Figure 5b; 111) is configured to engage sliding modules on left and right sides thereof (Figure 5b; 110, and unnumbered 110 on left), respectively, to allow elastic modules on both sides of the rail beam to slide along slide rails of the rail beam independently of each other.
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed to have combined Hochschild (directed to a mattress with springs) and Lava (directed to a height adjustable mattress cover) and Hunt (directed to springs arranged on rail beams) and Katan (directed to a rail beam and attachment with a double sided C shape) and arrived at a mattress with springs arranged on rail beams of a double sided C shape with a height adjustable cover. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a combination because a change in the shape of a prior art device is a design consideration within the level of skill of one skilled in the art. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966).
Regarding claim 34,
Hochschild, as modified, does not teach each rail beam comprises: a vertical support wall connected to a middle portion of a top engaging portion; the top engaging portion forming two downward-opening top-side receiving portions at the top of the rail beam; the vertical support wall connected to a middle portion of a bottom engaging portion a bottom engaging portion forming two upward-opening bottom-side receiving portions at the bottom of the rail beam; wherein left and right sides of the spring support of each elastic module have a mating protrusion configured to mate with the top-side receiving portions and bottom-side receiving portions of the rail beam, and the mating protrusions protrude upward from a front surface on both sides of the bottom of the spring support and protrude upward from a bottom surface on both sides of the bottom of the spring support.
Katan teaches each rail beam comprises: a vertical support wall connected to a middle portion of a top engaging portion; the top engaging portion forming two downward-opening top-side receiving portions at the top of the rail beam; the vertical support wall connected to a middle portion of a bottom engaging portion a bottom engaging portion forming two upward-opening bottom-side receiving portions at the bottom of the rail beam; wherein left and right sides of the spring support of each elastic module have a mating protrusion configured to mate with the top-side receiving portions and bottom-side receiving portions of the rail beam, and the mating protrusions protrude upward from a front surface on both sides of the bottom of the spring support and protrude upward from a bottom surface on both sides of the bottom of the spring support (See annotated Figure 5b of Katan, above).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed to have combined Hochschild (directed to a mattress with springs) and Hunt (directed to springs arranged on rail beams) and Lava (directed to a height adjustable mattress cover) and Katan (directed to a rail beam and attachment with a double sided C shape) and arrived at a mattress with springs arranged on rail beams of a double sided C shape with a height adjustable cover. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a combination because a change in the shape of a prior art device is a design consideration within the level of skill of one skilled in the art. In re Dailey, 357 F.2d 669, 149 USPQ 47 (CCPA 1966).
Claim(s) 40 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hochschild (US Patent Application Publication 20070022540) in view of Lava (US Patent 10413082) in view of Hunt (US Patent 1343565) further in view of Katan (US Patent Application Publication 20140366275) in view of Longman (US Patent Application Publication 20180255937).
Regarding claim 40,
Hochschild, as modified, does not teach each of the rail beams comprises a plurality of rail beam segments, a forwardly-extending projection at a front end of each rail beam segment, a groove recessed inward toward the rail beam segment at a rear end of each rail beam segment, the projection and groove of adjacent rail beam segments configured to mate with each other to connect adjacent rail beam segments together.
Longman teaches each of the rail beams comprises a plurality of rail beam segments (Figure 8; segments 85), a forwardly-extending projection at a front end of each rail beam segment (Figure 8; at 83), a groove recessed inward toward the rail beam segment at a rear end of each rail beam segment (Figure 8; where 83 fits together with the adjoining segment 85), the projection and groove of adjacent rail beam segments configured to mate with each other to connect adjacent rail beam segments together (Figure 8; as shown). ).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed to have combined Hochschild (directed to a mattress with springs) and Lava (directed to a height adjustable mattress cover) and Hunt (directed to springs arranged on rail beams) and Katan (directed to a rail beam and attachment with a double sided C shape) and Longchild (directed to multiple modular rail beam segments) and arrived at a mattress with a height adjustable cover with springs arranged on rail beams of a double sided C shape with modular rail beam segments. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a combination to provide "a spring mattress with an adjustable firmness (which) would combine two highly desirable mattress features into a single mattress" (Longman Paragraph 2).
Claim(s) 41 and 42 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hochschild (US Patent Application Publication 20070022540) in view of Lava (US Patent 10413082) in view of Hunt (US Patent 1343565) further in view of Jewett (US Patent Application Publication 20200288875) in view of Leng (US Patent Application Publication 20180199728).
Regarding claim 41,
Hochschild teaches each elastic module has a truncated cone shape (Figure 4; 71, as shown).
Hochschild does not teach the elastic pad layer further comprises an elastic balancing web layer having a plurality of openings sized to coincide with an outer diameter of the elastic modules at a predetermined height, so that the elastic balancing web layer can sleeve the plurality of elastic modules in the openings.
Leng teaches the elastic pad layer further comprises an elastic balancing web layer (Figure 37b; 136) having a plurality of openings (Figure 37b; 222) sized to coincide with an outer diameter of the elastic modules at a predetermined height, so that the elastic balancing web layer can sleeve the plurality of elastic modules in the openings (Figures 37a and 37b as shown).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed to have combined Hochschild (directed to a mattress with springs) and Lava (directed to a height adjustable mattress cover) and Hunt (directed to springs arranged on rail beams) and Jewett (directed to a spring module situated directly on the bottom outer cover of a mattress) and Leng (directed to a spring module with an web layer) and arrived at a mattress with a height adjustable cover with springs including a web layer arranged on rail beams oriented directly on the bottom outer cover of a mattress. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a combination to "prevent inadvertent displacement of the top end 158 of the spring" (Leng Paragraph 220).
Regarding claim 42,
Hochschild does not teach the openings coincide with an outer diameter at the top of the elastic modules.
Leng teaches the openings coincide with an outer diameter at the top of the elastic modules (Figures 37a and 37b, 222 as shown).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed to have combined Hochschild (directed to a mattress with springs) and Lava (directed to a height adjustable mattress cover) and Hunt (directed to springs arranged on rail beams) and Jewett (directed to a spring module situated directly on the bottom outer cover of a mattress) and Leng (directed to a spring module with an web layer) and arrived at a mattress with a height adjustable cover with springs including a web layer arranged on rail beams oriented directly on the bottom outer cover of a mattress. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a combination to "prevent inadvertent displacement of the top end 158 of the spring" (Leng Paragraph 220).
Claim(s) 44 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hochschild (US Patent Application Publication 20070022540) in view of Lava (US Patent 10413082) in view of Nolte (US Patent Application Publication 20250064225) in view of Leng (US Patent Application Publication 20180199728).
Regarding claim 44,
Hochschild does not teach including rolling up the top cover body, the bottom cover body, the side enclosure and the elastic pad layer.
Leng teaches including rolling up the top cover body, the bottom cover body, the side enclosure and the elastic pad layer (Paragraph 221 discusses rolling up the casing and padding in a mattress after removing the springs, see also Figure 37a).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed to have combined Hochschild (directed to a mattress with springs) and Lava (directed to a height adjustable mattress cover) and Nolte (directed to a mattress with various foam components with covers) and Leng (directed to rollable padding within a mattress) and arrived at a mattress with a height adjustable cover with springs and foam components with covers which are rollable. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a combination so that "can be shipped and stored in a minimized space" Leng (Paragraph 221).
Claim(s) 45 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hochschild (US Patent Application Publication 20070022540) in view of Lava (US Patent 10413082) in view of Hunt (US Patent 1343565) further in view of Katan (US Patent Application Publication 20140366275) in view of Leng (US Patent Application Publication 20180199728).
Regarding claim 45,
Hochschild teaches each elastic module has a truncated cone structure with an open lower end and a hollow interior (Figure 4; 71 as shown).
Hochschild, as modified, does not teach removing all elastic modules from the rail beams and sequentially nesting the elastic modules in a stack. Leng teaches removing all elastic modules from the rail beams and sequentially nesting the elastic modules in a stack (Figures 38a, 39a, and 40a).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the invention was effectively filed to have combined Hochschild (directed to a mattress with springs) and Lava (directed to a height adjustable mattress cover) and Hunt (directed to springs arranged on rail beams) and Katan (directed to a rail beam and attachment with a double sided C shape) and Leng (directed to nesting springs) and arrived at a mattress with a height adjustable cover with nesting springs arranged on rail beams of a double sided C shape. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make such a combination so that "can be shipped and stored in a minimized space" Leng (Paragraph 221).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 35-39 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be
allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any
intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claims 35-36, although the structure is taught in the prior art (see previous rejection dated 12/10/2025), to continue to reject these claims would require the modification of Katan by Hsu, which is already a secondary modification of Hunt by Katan, and thus would be improper hindsight.
Regarding claim 37, rejecting this claim would require a modification of the Katan reference, which teaches the connecting walls, which is already a secondary modification of the primary reference (as Katan is modifying Hunt which is modifying Hochschild). While the modification by Katan is an acceptable modification as it is a straightforward change in shape of the profile of the rail beam, performing a tertiary modification would not be appropriate as it would be improper hindsight, and in addition, this would be a relatively substantial modification of the rail beam structure. While there are references such as Bretis (US Patent Application Publication 20190110606) which teach staggered spring arrangement on a rail beam (see Figure 7), Bretis does not teach staggered positioning of the connecting walls of the rail beam, and again, using an additional reference to modify would be improper hindsight.
Regarding claims 38-39, in order to reject this limitation, the primary reference would first have to be modified to include the rail beams being mounted directly onto the bottom cover body, which would be a modification similar to that of claim 36 with Jewett. This would bring the rejection to a five reference rejection. The modification would then require the bottom cover body of Hochschild as modified by Jewett to contain a plurality of spaced apart sets of detachable rail beam mounting members. This would require the rail beam mounting members of Hunt (See Figure 1; 12) to be modified to be detachably located on the bottom cover body of the mattress. This would be a secondary modification, as well as a six reference rejection. Thus, such a modification would not have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to applicant's filing date without the benefit of improper hindsight. Examiner notes that a reference such as Lesinski does teach rail beam mounting members as shown in Figure 4, which are detachable attached to rail beams 14, and which are attached to the bottom cover (see Figure 1; at 9). However again, such a modification would be a relatively significant modification which, in combination with the other references and modifications already being made, would not have been obvious.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MORGAN J MCCLURE/Examiner, Art Unit 3673