Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 4-5, 7, 10-13, 15-, 16,18-19, 19, 22-24, 27-28 & 31-32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Lu et al. US 2021/0160749 A1.
Claims 1, 27 and 31:
Lu discloses a method for measuring a reference signal, performed by a User Equipment (UE), and comprising: receiving configuration information sent by a network side device (See paras 61 and 128, receiving RRC configuration), wherein the configuration information comprises at least one of a trigger condition corresponding to a frequency point to be measured or a trigger condition corresponding to a cell to be measured (See para 61 and 126, measures cells in the range according to the triggering events), and the trigger condition corresponding to the frequency point to be measured is configured to trigger an update of a measurement configuration of the frequency point to be measured and the trigger condition corresponding to the cell to be measured is configured to trigger an update of a measurement configuration of the cell to be measured (See para 128, “the unmanned aerial vehicle may be configured to: if it is detected that a change in the flight state (including one or more of flight height, flight speed, flight direction, flight trajectory, etc.) of the unmanned aerial vehicle exceeds a predetermined threshold, send a request to the base station, to trigger the base station to update the range of measured cells according to the current flight state of the unmanned aerial vehicle” . Also see para 144-145); sending an update request to the network side device based on the trigger condition (See para 128, “the unmanned aerial vehicle may be configured to: if it is detected that a change in the flight state (including one or more of flight height, flight speed, flight direction, flight trajectory, etc.) of the unmanned aerial vehicle exceeds a predetermined threshold, send a request to the base station, to trigger the base station to update the range of measured cells according to the current flight state of the unmanned aerial vehicle” . Also see para 144-145); receiving information sent, based on the update request, by the network side device (See para 128, “the unmanned aerial vehicle may be configured to: if it is detected that a change in the flight state (including one or more of flight height, flight speed, flight direction, flight trajectory, etc.) of the unmanned aerial vehicle exceeds a predetermined threshold, send a request to the base station, to trigger the base station to update the range of measured cells according to the current flight state of the unmanned aerial vehicle” . Also see para 144-145); and measuring at least one of the frequency point to be measured and/or the cell to be measured based on the information (See paras 128-130 measuring the cells according to the new range. Also see para 215-216, reporting measurement of the cell).
Claims 2 and 16:
Lu discloses that the trigger condition corresponding to the cell to be measured comprises at least one of: the UE failing to detect a measurement reference signal of the cell to be measured;
the UE failing to detect a measurement reference signal of a frequency point corresponding to the cell to be measured; the UE failing to obtain a measurement result of the cell to be measured; or the UE measuring that the measurement result of the cell to be measured is less than a first threshold value (See paras 201-202, negative variation rate for reference signal measurement quality/power); and wherein the trigger condition corresponding to the frequency point to be measured comprises at least one of: the UE failing to detect a measurement reference signal of a cell corresponding to the frequency point to be measured; the UE failing to detect a measurement reference signal of the frequency point to be measured; the UE failing to obtain a measurement result of the cell corresponding to the frequency point to be measured; the UE measuring that a maximum value of measurement results of the frequency point to be measured is less than a second threshold value; the UE measuring that a minimum value of the measurement results of the frequency point to be measured is less than a third threshold value; or the UE measuring that an average value of the measurement results of the frequency point to be measured is less than a fourth threshold value (See paras 201-202, negative variation rate for reference signal measurement quality/power).
Claim 4:
Lu discloses that the sending the update request to the network side device based on the trigger condition comprises: determining whether the trigger condition is satisfied by the UE; and sending the update request to the network side device based on a determination result (See para 128, “the unmanned aerial vehicle may be configured to: if it is detected that a change in the flight state (including one or more of flight height, flight speed, flight direction, flight trajectory, etc.) of the unmanned aerial vehicle exceeds a predetermined threshold, send a request to the base station, to trigger the base station to update the range of measured cells according to the current flight state of the unmanned aerial vehicle” . Also see para 144-145).
Claim 5:
Lu discloses that the determining whether the trigger condition is satisfied by the UE comprises: determining whether the trigger condition is satisfied by the UE by determining a predefined determination method, wherein the predefined determination method comprises at least one of: determining whether the trigger condition is satisfied by the UE based on a latest measurement; determining whether the trigger condition is satisfied by the UE in a measurement within a most recent first duration; determining whether the trigger condition is satisfied by the UE in a measurement within a first time window; or determining whether the trigger condition is satisfied by the UE in a measurement with a most recent first quantity of measurements (See para 200, “where delta(rsrp) represents the variation rate of the RSRP, and delta(rsrq) represents the variation rate of the RSRQ, which may be defined as a variation rate of the RSRP or RSRQ during a period from time at which the user equipment receives the measurement and report configuration related information to time at which the duration (TimeToTrigger) expires”); and wherein the determining the predefined determination method comprises at least one of:
determining the predefined determination method based on an indication from the network side device; determining the predefined determination method based on a provision of a protocol; or independently determining the predefined determination method by the UE (See para 145, “…may be configured to: in a case that a flight state of the user equipment changes, make a request to the base station to trigger the base station to update the range of measured cells for the user equipment”).
Claim 7:
Lu discloses that the sending the update request to the network side device based on the determination result comprises: determining a correspondence between the determination result and the update request (See para 128, “the unmanned aerial vehicle may be configured to: if it is detected that a change in the flight state (including one or more of flight height, flight speed, flight direction, flight trajectory, etc.) of the unmanned aerial vehicle exceeds a predetermined threshold, send a request to the base station, to trigger the base station to update the range of measured cells according to the current flight state of the unmanned aerial vehicle” . Also see paras 200-202, variation rate of RSRP; how much it has changed from the original value); and sending the corresponding update request to the network side device based on the correspondence and the determination result (See para 128, “the unmanned aerial vehicle may be configured to: if it is detected that a change in the flight state (including one or more of flight height, flight speed, flight direction, flight trajectory, etc.) of the unmanned aerial vehicle exceeds a predetermined threshold, send a request to the base station, to trigger the base station to update the range of measured cells according to the current flight state of the unmanned aerial vehicle” . Also see paras 200-202, variation rate of RSRP; how much it has changed from the original value), wherein the correspondence comprises at least one of following: in a case that the determination result is that the trigger condition is satisfied by the UE, the update request comprises at least one of following information: the trigger condition being satisfied by the UE (See para 128, “the unmanned aerial vehicle may be configured to: if it is detected that a change in the flight state (including one or more of flight height, flight speed, flight direction, flight trajectory, etc.) of the unmanned aerial vehicle exceeds a predetermined threshold, send a request to the base station, to trigger the base station to update the range of measured cells according to the current flight state of the unmanned aerial vehicle” . Also see paras 200-202, variation rate of RSRP; how much it has changed from the original value); a request to stop measuring at least one of the frequency point to be measured or the cell to be measured; a request to reduce a measurement opportunity for at least one of the frequency point to be measured or the cell to be measured; or a first parameter of a measurement configuration recommended by the UE, wherein the first parameter is more relaxed than an original parameter of the measurement configuration, or in a case that the determination result is that the trigger condition is not satisfied by the UE, the update request comprises at least one of following information: the trigger condition being not satisfied by the UE (See para 128, “the unmanned aerial vehicle may be configured to: if it is detected that a change in the flight state (including one or more of flight height, flight speed, flight direction, flight trajectory, etc.) of the unmanned aerial vehicle exceeds a predetermined threshold, send a request to the base station, to trigger the base station to update the range of measured cells according to the current flight state of the unmanned aerial vehicle” . Also see paras 200-202, variation rate of RSRP; how much it has changed from the original value); maintaining the measurement opportunity for at least one of the frequency point to be measured or the cell to be measured; a request to increase the measurement opportunity for at least one of the frequency point to be measured or the cell to be measured; or a second parameter of the measurement configuration recommended by the UE, wherein the original parameter of the measurement configuration is more relaxed than the second parameter (See paras 74 and 128, updated measurement increases the range of cells to be measured that are in LOS).
Claim 10:
Lu discloses that determining the correspondence between the determination result and the update request comprises at least one of: obtaining the correspondence comprised included in the configuration information; determining the correspondence based on a provision of a protocol; or independently determining the correspondence by the UE (See para 145, “…may be configured to: in a case that a flight state of the user equipment changes, make a request to the base station to trigger the base station to update the range of measured cells for the user equipment”).
Claim 11:
Lu discloses in a case that the determination result is that the trigger condition is satisfied by the UE, the receiving the information sent, based on the update request, by the network side device comprises: receiving at least one piece of the of following information sent by the network side device: a reconfigured first measurement configuration, wherein the first measurement configuration is more relaxed than an original measurement configuration; a message to stop measurement; a first new parameter corresponding to at least one measurement configuration in the original measurement configuration, wherein the first new parameter is more relaxed than an original parameter corresponding to the at least one measurement configuration; or a first adjustment factor corresponding to the at least one measurement configuration in the original measurement configuration, wherein the first adjustment factor is configured to relax the at least one measurement configuration (See paras 74 and 128, updated measurement increases the range of cells to be measured that are in LOS).
Claim 12:
Lu discloses in a case that the determination result is that the trigger condition is not satisfied by the UE, the receiving the information, based on the update request, sent by the network side device comprises: receiving at least one piece of the of following information sent by the network side device: a message to maintain an original measurement configuration; a reconfigured second measurement configuration, wherein the original measurement configuration is more relaxed than the second measurement configuration; a second new parameter corresponding to at least one measurement configuration in the original measurement configuration, wherein an original parameter corresponding to the at least one measurement configuration is more relaxed than the second new parameter; or a second adjustment factor corresponding to the at least one measurement configuration in the original measurement configuration, wherein the second adjustment factor is configured to increase the measurement opportunity (See paras 74 and 128, updated measurement increases the range of cells to be measured that are in LOS).
Claim 13:
Lu discloses that the information sent by the network side device based on the update request further comprises at least one of a valid duration and/or a valid time window; and the measuring at least one of the frequency point to be measured and/or the cell to be measured based on the information comprises: measuring, within at least one of the valid duration and/or the valid time window, at least one of the frequency point to be measured and/or the cell to be measured based on the information; and measuring, beyond at least one of the valid duration or the valid time window, at least one of the frequency point to be measured or the cell to be measured based on the original measurement configuration (See para 200, “where delta(rsrp) represents the variation rate of the RSRP, and delta(rsrq) represents the variation rate of the RSRQ, which may be defined as a variation rate of the RSRP or RSRQ during a period from time at which the user equipment receives the measurement and report configuration related information to time at which the duration (TimeToTrigger) expires”. See para 95, time period).
Claims 15, 28 and 32:
Lu discloses a method for measuring a reference signal, performed by a network side device, and comprising: sending configuration information to a User Equipment (UE) (See paras 61 and 128, receiving RRC configuration), wherein the configuration information comprises at least one of a trigger condition corresponding to a frequency point to be measured and/or a trigger condition corresponding to a cell to be measured (See para 61 and 126, measures cells in the range according to the triggering events), and the trigger condition corresponding to the frequency point to be measured is configured to trigger an update of a measurement configuration of the frequency point to be measured and/or, and the trigger condition corresponding to the cell to be measured is configured to trigger an update of a measurement configuration of the cell to be measured (See para 128, “the unmanned aerial vehicle may be configured to: if it is detected that a change in the flight state (including one or more of flight height, flight speed, flight direction, flight trajectory, etc.) of the unmanned aerial vehicle exceeds a predetermined threshold, send a request to the base station, to trigger the base station to update the range of measured cells according to the current flight state of the unmanned aerial vehicle” . Also see para 144-145); receiving an update request sent by the UE (See para 128, “the unmanned aerial vehicle may be configured to: if it is detected that a change in the flight state (including one or more of flight height, flight speed, flight direction, flight trajectory, etc.) of the unmanned aerial vehicle exceeds a predetermined threshold, send a request to the base station, to trigger the base station to update the range of measured cells according to the current flight state of the unmanned aerial vehicle” . Also see para 144-145); and sending information to the UE based on the update request (See para 128, “the unmanned aerial vehicle may be configured to: if it is detected that a change in the flight state (including one or more of flight height, flight speed, flight direction, flight trajectory, etc.) of the unmanned aerial vehicle exceeds a predetermined threshold, send a request to the base station, to trigger the base station to update the range of measured cells according to the current flight state of the unmanned aerial vehicle” . Also see para 144-145).
Claim 18:
Lu discloses sending to the UE a predefined determination method configured to determine whether the trigger condition is satisfied by the UE; wherein the predefined determination method comprises at least one of: determining whether the trigger condition is satisfied by the UE based on a latest measurement; determining whether the trigger condition is satisfied by the UE in a measurement within a most recent first duration; determining whether the trigger condition is satisfied by the UE in a measurement within a first time window; or determining whether the trigger condition is satisfied by the UE in a measurement with most recent first quantity (See para 200, “where delta(rsrp) represents the variation rate of the RSRP, and delta(rsrq) represents the variation rate of the RSRQ, which may be defined as a variation rate of the RSRP or RSRQ during a period from time at which the user equipment receives the measurement and report configuration related information to time at which the duration (TimeToTrigger) expires”).
Claim 19:
Lu discloses sending to the UE a correspondence between a determination result and the update request (See para 128, “the unmanned aerial vehicle may be configured to: if it is detected that a change in the flight state (including one or more of flight height, flight speed, flight direction, flight trajectory, etc.) of the unmanned aerial vehicle exceeds a predetermined threshold, send a request to the base station, to trigger the base station to update the range of measured cells according to the current flight state of the unmanned aerial vehicle” . Also see paras 200-202, variation rate of RSRP; how much it has changed from the original value), wherein the determination result comprises a determination result of whether the trigger condition is satisfied by the UE, wherein the correspondence comprises at least one of following: in a case that the determination result is that the trigger condition is satisfied by the UE, the update request comprises at least one of: the trigger condition being satisfied by the UE (See para 128, “the unmanned aerial vehicle may be configured to: if it is detected that a change in the flight state (including one or more of flight height, flight speed, flight direction, flight trajectory, etc.) of the unmanned aerial vehicle exceeds a predetermined threshold, send a request to the base station, to trigger the base station to update the range of measured cells according to the current flight state of the unmanned aerial vehicle” . Also see paras 200-202, variation rate of RSRP; how much it has changed from the original value); a request to stop measuring at least one of the frequency point to be measured or the cell to be measured; a request to reduce a measurement opportunity for at least one of the frequency point to be measured or the cell to be measured; or a first parameter of a measurement configuration recommended by the UE, wherein the first parameter is more relaxed than an original parameter of the measurement configuration, or in a case that the determination result is that the trigger condition is not satisfied by the UE, the update request comprises at least one of: the trigger condition being not satisfied by the UE; maintaining the measurement opportunity for at least one of the frequency point to be measured or the cell to be measured; a request to increase the measurement opportunity for at least one of the frequency point to be measured or the cell to be measured; or a second parameter of the measurement configuration recommended by the UE, wherein the original parameter of the measurement configuration is more relaxed than the second parameter (See paras 74 and 128, updated measurement increases the range of cells to be measured that are in LOS).
Claim 22:
Lu discloses in a case that the determination result is that the trigger condition is satisfied by the UE, the sending the information to the UE based on the update request comprises: sending to the UE at least one of following information: a reconfigured first measurement configuration, wherein the first measurement configuration is more relaxed than an original measurement configuration; a message to stop measurement; a first new parameter corresponding to at least one measurement configuration in the original measurement configuration, wherein the first new parameter is more relaxed than an original parameter corresponding to the at least one measurement configuration; or a first adjustment factor corresponding to the at least one measurement configuration in the original measurement configuration, wherein the first adjustment factor is configured to relax the at least one measurement configuration (See paras 74 and 128, updated measurement increases the range of cells to be measured that are in LOS).
Claim 23:
Lu discloses in a case that the determination result is that the trigger condition is not satisfied by the UE, the sending the information to the UE based on the update request comprises: sending to the UE at least one of following information: a message to maintain an original measurement configuration; a reconfigured second measurement configuration, wherein the original measurement configuration is more relaxed than the second measurement configuration; a second new parameter corresponding to at least one measurement configuration in the original measurement configuration, wherein an original parameter corresponding to the at least one measurement configuration is more relaxed than the second new parameter; or a second adjustment factor corresponding to the at least one measurement configuration in the original measurement configuration, wherein the second adjustment factor is configured to increase the measurement opportunity (See para 200, “where delta(rsrp) represents the variation rate of the RSRP, and delta(rsrq) represents the variation rate of the RSRQ, which may be defined as a variation rate of the RSRP or RSRQ during a period from time at which the user equipment receives the measurement and report configuration related information to time at which the duration (TimeToTrigger) expires”. See para 95, time period).
Claim 24:
Lu discloses that the information sent by the network side device to the UE further comprises at least one of a valid duration and/or a valid time window (See para 200, “where delta(rsrp) represents the variation rate of the RSRP, and delta(rsrq) represents the variation rate of the RSRQ, which may be defined as a variation rate of the RSRP or RSRQ during a period from time at which the user equipment receives the measurement and report configuration related information to time at which the duration (TimeToTrigger) expires”. See para 95, time period).
Conclusion
HASHIM S. BHATTI
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2472
/HASHIM S BHATTI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2475