DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “rotating filter” (see claims 1 and 11-12), “means for blocking” (see claim 6) and “a single mechanical part” (see claim 10) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-12 are objected to because of the following informalities: The claims appear to be a literal translation of a foreign application and contain numerous grammatical errors. For, example, claims 1-10 recite “Appliance”, rather than “An Appliance”. Claim 11 recites “Tool”, rather than “A tool” and claim 12 recites “Cover”, rather than “A cover”. Claim 1 also recites “The appliance also comprises” in line 15, and appears to start a new sentence with the capitalization of the word “The”. Examiner has only provided examples of the numerous grammatical errors. Applicant is advised to review all claims in their entirety for grammatical and/or typographical errors.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
The corresponding structure for performing the term “means” is found at, for example:
Para 0067 recites:
In some variants of embodiment, a blocking means (not shown), for example a lever, prevents any rotation of the pusher 60 relative to an axis parallel to the axis of rotation 25 of the basket 42. The pusher being blocked in rotation by this blocking means, it handles the torque needed to process the fruit or vegetable, preventing it from rotating with the basket 42.
Because these claim limitations are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, they are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
GROUND 1: Claim 6 is rejected under both 112(a) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph, and 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph, because the specification lacks a proper description of any corresponding structure as a result of the 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, analysis above.
As previously explained, the following claim limitations invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph:
Claim 6. Appliance according to claim 5, which also comprises a moveable pusher in the insertion channel of the cover, this pusher having an outer shape corresponding to the shape of an inner wall of the channel, and a means for blocking a rotation of the pusher relative to an axis parallel to the axis of rotation of the basket.
The written description does not disclose the corresponding structure or material for performing the entire claimed function nor does it clearly link the structure or material to the function. Specifically, para 0067 discloses that the means for blocking may be “for example a lever”, but fails to distinguish or illustrate any structural details thereof.
For these reasons, the limitation lacks proper written description and are indefinite, and as a result, claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph, and 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph. See MPEP §§ 2181, subsection IV, and 2185.
To address the section 112 rejections based on the 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, interpretation, Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If Applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure or material perform the claimed function, Applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
GROUND 2: Claims 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 6 recites “Appliance according to claim 5, which also comprises a moveable pusher in the insertion channel of the cover, this pusher having an outer shape corresponding to the shape of an inner wall of the channel, and a means for blocking a rotation of the pusher relative to an axis parallel to the axis of rotation of the basket.”. Again, para 0067 generically defines the means for blocking as a lever but fails to disclose or illustrate any structural details thereof and fail to disclose how the lever is posiotned with rescpt to the pusher, cover and/or basket of the appliance. As such, these limitations lack proper written description under section 112, first paragraph, (for AIA , section 112(a)). As a result, claims 6 contain subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
GROUND 3: Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites, in part, “a rotating electric motor mechanically connected to at least one basket, a rotating filter comprising cylindrical or conical peripheral walls making it possible to extract juice by centrifugation” which leads to confusion over the defined “basket” and “rotating filter” components within the claim, and whether they are the same part or separate and distinct components of the juicer appliance. A “rotating filter” is not labeled in any of the Figures. Para 0065 recites “which scrapes the inner edge of the rotating filter, or basket 42” and thus appears to refer to the component 42 interchangeably. Claims 11 and 12 recite nearly identical limitations.
Claims 1 and 11 recite, in part, “a ramp positioned, in a permanent way during the operation of the appliance” which leads to confusion and one to assume the ramp is in alternate position when the appliance is not in use, which is contrary to the limitation “permanent way”. Furthermore, if the ramp is affixed or secured in a “permanent way”, it is unclear how it would be removed or repositioned when not in use.
The term “close to the inner basket” in claims 1, 4 and 11-12 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “close to” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. It is unclear how “close to” the ramp is positioned in a permanent way.
Claims 2-10 are rejected as being necessarily dependent upon claim 1. Appropriate clarification and correction is required.
Claim 4 recites the limitation "the opening" in line 3 of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claims 5-8 are rejected as being necessarily dependent upon claim 4.
Claim 5 recites the limitation "the fixed residue recovery tool" in line 2 of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Furthermore, it is unclear how the “cover supporting the fixed residue recovery tool by positioning the ramp facing the inner surface of the basket at a predefined distance” if the ramp is “positioned in a permanent way” as defined in claim 1.
Claim 6 recites the limitation "the insertion channel" in line 2 of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 7 recites the limitation "the residue recovery tool" in line 3 of the claim. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 8 recites “Appliance according to claim 5, wherein the channel comprises a cylindrical or conical wall, this wall opening into the inner volume of the basket, in which there is at least one plane perpendicular to the axis of rotation of the basket and passing through the inner volume of the basket, whose intersection with this wall is not circular” which is unclear what the Applicant intends to claim by reciting “whose intersection with this wall is not circular”. That is, it is unclear how any intersection between an axis of rotation and a perpendicular plane could be circular. The language appears to be a literal translation and leads to confusion as to the intended shape and configuration of the wall as claimed.
Claim 10 recites “Appliance according to claim 9, wherein a single mechanical part comprises the basket and the press cone” which leads to confusion if the basket and press cone are joined via a mechanical part (not illustrated) or if the two components are merely formed as a single, integral component of the juicer appliance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
GROUND 4: Claim(s) 1-8 and 11-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent No. 5,355,784 to Franklin et al.
In regard to claims 1 and 11-12, Franklin et al. disclose an appliance 10 for preparing foods, intended to produce fruit and/or vegetable juice from fruit and/or vegetables that are whole or in pieces, which appliance comprises: a rotating electric motor 24 mechanically connected to at least one basket 16, a rotating filter comprising cylindrical or conical peripheral walls making it possible to extract juice by centrifugation (See Col. 4, Lines 3-10), this basket having an inner volume delimited by the cylindrical or conical peripheral walls of the basket, a volume into which the fruit and/or vegetables are introduced and which is equipped with juice drainage openings 30a (see Fig. 16), this basket rotating, in a rotational direction, around an axis of rotation and a lower surface for receiving the juice flowing through the drainage openings of the basket (See Col. 4, Lines 17-27); The appliance also comprises: a fixed tool for recovering residues, comprising a ramp 44 positioned, in a permanent way during the operation of the appliance, close to the inner surface of the basket, the ramp having, in the direction of rotation of the basket, a slope ascending to an upper surface of the inner volume of the basket opposite the lower surface, such that the residues carried by the basket to the ramp move up the ramp to exit from the inner volume of the basket (see Fig. 1 and Col. 4, Lines 52-61). With regard to claim 12, Franklin et al. disclose a cover 18 which supports a fixed recovery residue tool which comprises the ramp (See Fig. 19 and Col. 11, Line 50 – Col. 12, Line 48).
In regard to claim 2, Franklin et al. disclose an appliance, wherein the basket comprises at least one drive surface 216/218 drawing the residues exiting from the ramp outside the inner volume of the basket (See Figs. 16-18).
In regard to claim 3, Franklin et al. disclose an appliance, wherein the basket comprises, on the perimeter of its upper surface, a residue drive collar 216/218 guiding the residues outside the inner volume of the basket (See Figs. 16-18).
In regard to claim 4, Franklin et al. disclose an appliance, which also comprises a residue collection container (not shown) whose opening is positioned outside the inner volume of the basket and close to the upper surface of the basket (see Col. 4, Lines 23-26).
In regard to claim 5, Franklin et al. disclose an appliance, which also comprises a cover 18 supporting the fixed residue recovery tool by positioning the ramp facing the inner surface of the basket at a predefined distance, the cover having a channel 26 for inserting fruit and/or vegetables that opens into the inner volume of the basket, and also surfaces 254, 244 for guiding residues towards the opening of the collection container (See Figs. 1 and 19 and Col. 11, Line 50 – Col. 12, Line 47).
In regard to claim 6, Franklin et al. disclose an appliance, which also comprises a moveable pusher 20 in the insertion channel of the cover, this pusher having an outer shape corresponding to the shape of an inner wall of the channel, and a means (i.e. shape) for blocking a rotation of the pusher relative to an axis parallel to the axis of rotation of the basket (See Fig. 19 and Col. 12, Lines 51-56).
In regard to claim 7, Franklin et al. disclose an appliance, wherein the channel comprises a wall supporting the residue recovery tool (see Figs. 19 and 21).
In regard to claim 8, Franklin et al. disclose an appliance, wherein the channel comprises a cylindrical or conical wall, this wall opening into the inner volume of the basket, in which there is at least one plane perpendicular to the axis of rotation of the basket and passing through the inner volume of the basket, whose intersection with this wall is not circular (See Figs. 1 and 19 and Col. 11, Line 50 – Col. 12, Line 47).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
GROUND 5: Claim(s) 9-10 are is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent No. 5,355,784 to Franklin et al. in view of FR 2912631 to Lebrun et al.
In regard to claims 910, Franklin et al. disclose an appliance 10 for preparing foods, intended to produce fruit and/or vegetable juice from fruit and/or vegetables that are whole or in pieces (see rejection above), but are silent with respect to wherein the basket is attached to a press cone. Lebrun et al. teach of an analogous juicer appliance comprising a pressing cone 5 for extracting juice from fruit/vegetables introduced into the appliance (See Figs. 3 and 13). It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art at the time the invention was filed to replace the cutting blades of Franklin et al. with na press cone to provide an alternate juice bowl that more effectively and efficiently removes juice from foodstuff introduced into the blade basket as taught by Lebrun et al. and is well known in the art.
Conclusion
/MATTHEW J KASZTEJNA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3993