DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 4/22/25 and 6/14/26 is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Status
Claims 1-20 are pending and are examined.
Claim Objections
Claim 7 is objected to because of the following informalities: “Th” should be “The”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 16 is objected to because of the following informalities: “The Device” should be “The device”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
Regarding Claim 1, the limitation “a means for remotely communicating” in the specification discloses a processor 31 or equivalents thereof.
Regarding 3, 4, 5, and 7, the limitation “a means for making predictions” in the specification discloses The server 53, which receives information from the sensors of the unit 51, and data and measurements from the perfusion machine 50, stores these values and processes them to make a prediction about changes in at least some of these values and assist the decision-making of the people in charge of the transport and transplant of the graft 12. This is interpreted as a processor that can take data or measurements to be processed and make predictions or equivalents thereof.
Regarding Claim 6, the limitation “a means for geolocation and evaluation” is disclosed in the specification as the unit 11 preferably also comprises a geographic position sensor (see figure 2), for example based on the processing of positioning signals from earth satellites. This is interpreted as a geographic position sensor or equivalents thereof.
Regarding Claim 9, a means for communicating with a central unit of a perfusion machine is disclosed in the specification as - A UART (for "Universal Asynchronous Receiver Transmitter") flash interface 34. This interface 20 is a communications port (communication means). It enables all the card's information to be accessed by connecting it with a computer. This is interpreted as a receiver or equivalents thereof.
Regarding Claims 10 and 11, the limitation “a control means” is disclosed in the specification as a processor. This is interpreted as a processor or equivalents thereof.
Regarding Claim 12, the limitation “a means for detecting the absence of movement” is disclosed in the specification as A movement sensor 45, for example a MEMS (acronym for "Microelectromechanical systems") type of accelerometer. This is interpreted as a type of accelerometer or equivalents thereof.
Regarding Claim 13, the limitation “a means for measuring the distance between the geographic position of the unit and at least one first predefined geographic position” is disclosed in the specification as the processor 31 or the server 19 constitutes a means for measuring the distance between the geographic position of the unit and at least one first predefined geographic position. This is interpreted as a processor or equivalents thereof.
Regarding Claims 14, 15, and 16, the limitation “a distance measurement means, configured to measure a distance to the arrival point” is disclosed in the specification as the processor 31 or the server 19 constitutes a means for measuring the distance between the geographic position of the unit and at least one first predefined geographic position. This is interpreted as a processor or equivalents thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by LeClair (US Pub 2011/0173023).
Regarding Claim 1, LeClair teaches a device for monitoring a graft which comprises, in a standalone unit configured to accompany the graft in a graft transport case, a graft temperature sensor and a means for remotely communicating the temperature of the graft ([0044] The data-logging device 91 may comprise at least one probe 92, or sensor, for monitoring, collecting and reporting data concerning the items being transported. The data-logging device 91 may be a programmable processor and may be adapted to monitor, for example, the temperature of the items being transported for 24 hours or more to meet the courier or recipient's protocols. The data-logging device 91 may include a connection point to enable it to be connected to a computer docking station for downloading the data, or may connect with a computer wirelessly.).
Regarding Claim 2, LeClair teaches the device according to claim 1, which also comprises sensors capturing values of physiological parameters of the graft ([0045] As described in more detail below with respect to FIG. 8, the data-logging device 91 may record more than just temperature, including location, time, accelerations, container opening events, and other sensor recordings (e.g., chemical sensors). In this manner, the data-logging device 91 may be configured to receive and record data from any form of sensor employed for monitoring the extrinsic factors managed in the transport of an organ or other contents.).
Regarding Claim 20, LeClair teaches the device according to claim 1, wherein the unit also comprises an accelerometer, and a control means configured to trigger an alert remotely when the acceleration becomes greater than a predefined acceleration threshold value (the organ transport device 10 may include a processor configured to retrieve data from built-in sensors such as a thermometer, accelerometer and/or Global Positioning System receiver device and transmit that data to the command center 502 via a built in wireless transceiver (e.g., a cellular data network transceiver).)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LeClair (US Pub 2011/0173023), in view of Asselmann (US Pub 2021/0313051).
Regarding Claims 3, 4, 5, 7, and 8, LeClair teaches the device according to claim 2.
LeClair is silent to which also comprises a means for making predictions about changes in the values of physiological parameters while the graft is being transported, wherein the prediction means is based on machine learning performed using physiological parameter values obtained during previous transports, configured to make at least one prediction of physiological parameter values for the time when the graft arrives at the site of its transplant into the body of a recipient patient, configured to propose at least one route for the graft, configured to make predictions of changes in physiological parameters of the graft according to several scenarios of changes in operating setpoints of the transport case and to display these predictions.
Asselmann teaches in the related art of physiological sensors and analyzing data. [0009] Systems, methods, and computer readable media involve predicting based on the plurality of video frames and the stored data relating to prior surgical procedures, at least one expected future event. [0068] In some embodiments, the operating room may include sensors embedded in various components depicted or not depicted in FIG. 1. Examples of such sensors may include: audio sensors; image sensors; motion sensors; positioning sensors; chemical sensors; temperature sensors; barometers; pressure sensors; proximity sensors; electrical impedance sensors; electrical voltage sensors; electrical current sensors; or any other detector capable of providing feedback on the environment or a surgical procedure, including, for example, any kind of medical or physiological sensor configured to monitor patient 143. [0077] A surgical procedure may include any set of medical actions associated with or involving manual or operative activity on a patient's body. a free skin graft. [0189] graft. [0188] a model (such as a statistical model, a machine learning model, a deep learning model, etc.) may be generated based on the prior surgical procedures, and the stored data may include the generated model and/or an indication of at least part of the generated model. For example, a machine learning model and/or a deep learning model may be trained using training examples based on the prior surgical procedures. While a host of correlation models may be used for prediction as discussed throughout this disclosure, exemplary predictive models may include a statistical model fit to historical image-related data (e.g., information relating to remedial actions) and outcomes; and a machine learning models trained to predict outcomes based on image-related data using training data based on historical examples.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have added a means for making predictions about changes in the values of physiological parameters while the graft is being transported, wherein the prediction means is based on machine learning performed using physiological parameter values obtained during previous transports, configured to make at least one prediction of physiological parameter values for the time when the graft arrives at the site of its transplant into the body of a recipient patient, configured to propose at least one route for the graft, configured to make predictions of changes in physiological parameters of the graft according to several scenarios of changes in operating setpoints of the transport case and to display these predictions, as taught by Asselmann, to the device, as taught by LeClair, to allow for analyzing videos to automatically populate a post-operative report, or to view statistical data with links to surgical videos that substantiate the statistic, as taught by Asselmann, in the Abstract.
Regarding Claim 6, LeClair teaches the device according to claim 5.
LeClair is silent to a means for geolocation and evaluation at the time when the graft arrives at the site of its transplant into the body of a recipient patient.
Asselmann teaches [0007] Systems, methods, and computer readable media. The embodiments may further involve evaluating the plurality of video frames with the identified surgical instrument therein to ascertain an interface area corresponding to a location of an interaction between the identified surgical instrument and tissue and accessing stored data characterizing a surgical plane corresponding to the location of the interaction.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have added a means for geolocation and evaluation at the time when the graft arrives at the site of its transplant into the body of a recipient patient, as taught by Asselmann, to the device, as taught by LeClair, to allow for determining where the sample was and where it is currently located.
Regarding Claim 16, LeClair teaches the device according to claim 1.
LeClair is silent to the unit also comprises a distance measurement means configured to measure a distance between the geographic position of the unit and a predefined route, and a control means configured to trigger an alert remotely if the distance to the route is greater than a fourth predefined distance threshold value.
Asselmann teaches [0164] In some embodiments outputting an out-of-surgical plane signal may indicate a deviation from the surgical plane by the surgical instrument. For example, stored data may be used to determine whether the interface area between an instrument and a biological structure is outside of the surgical plane, and upon such a determination, an out-of-surgical plane signal may be outputted indicating a deviation from the surgical plane by the surgical instrument. Outputting the out-of-surgical plane signal may include the signal types disclosed herein. A feedback device (light, sound, haptic) in the operating theater may receive the out-of-surgical plane signal and alert the operating surgeon.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have added a distance measurement means configured to measure a distance between the geographic position of the unit and a predefined route, and a control means configured to trigger an alert remotely if the distance to the route is greater than a fourth predefined distance threshold value, a staught by Asselmann, to the device of LeClair, to allow for continuously monitoring deviations, as taught by Asselmann, in [0165].
Claims 9, 18, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LeClair (US Pub 2011/0173023), in view of Taizou (US Pub 2020/0061259).
Regarding Claim 9, LeClair teaches the device according to claim 1.
LeClair is silent to a means for communicating with a central unit of a perfusion machine configured to receive physiological parameter values for the graft during the transport.
Taizou teaches in the related art of a graft. [0055] As per this preferred iteration, said process control is ensured in processing chamber (A) by at least one active electronic component called a sensor (45), which allows the measurements of humidity and temperature. To facilitate the description, a single sensor is represented. However, the processing chamber (A) may be equipped with speed, temperature, humidity, and luminosity detectors, jointly or independently. Said sensor (45) collects the humidity and temperature values of the adipocytes (G) without altering their qualities and transmits them through its electronic circuit (45′). Said electronic circuit (45′) transmits the data revealed by said sensor (45) to the connection means called a USB port (46) through the connector (46′). [0057] As per this preferred iteration, said monitor (47) allows the device's communication with the user. Said monitor (47) is composed of a TCT or LCD screen (51) that displays the result of a measurement. The display may be analog, i.e., with the unique characteristic of having a system of indicators of temperatures or humidity that is done through the displacement of a needle on a gauge, or digital, i.e. with the indications directly in the form of numbers or letters.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have added a means for communicating with a central unit of a perfusion machine configured to receive physiological parameter values for the graft during the transport, as taught by Taizou, to the device, as taught by LeClair, to allow for monitoring measurements in real-time.
Regarding Claims 18 and 19, LeClair teaches the device according to claim 1.
LeClair is silent to the unit also comprises a hygrometer configured to measure the humidity in the atmosphere of the transport bag, and a control means configured to trigger an alert remotely when the humidity becomes greater than a predefined humidity threshold value, the unit also comprises a luminosity sensor configured to measure the luminosity in the transport bag, and a control means configured to trigger an alert remotely when the luminosity becomes greater than a predefined luminosity threshold value.
Taizou teaches in the related art of a graft. [0055] As per this preferred iteration, said process control is ensured in processing chamber (A) by at least one active electronic component called a sensor (45), which allows the measurements of humidity and temperature. To facilitate the description, a single sensor is represented. However, the processing chamber (A) may be equipped with speed, temperature, humidity, and luminosity detectors, jointly or independently. Said sensor (45) collects the humidity and temperature values of the adipocytes (G) without altering their qualities and transmits them through its electronic circuit (45′). Said electronic circuit (45′) transmits the data revealed by said sensor (45) to the connection means called a USB port (46) through the connector (46′). [0057] As per this preferred iteration, said monitor (47) allows the device's communication with the user. Said monitor (47) is composed of a TCT or LCD screen (51) that displays the result of a measurement. The display may be analog, i.e., with the unique characteristic of having a system of indicators of temperatures or humidity that is done through the displacement of a needle on a gauge, or digital, i.e. with the indications directly in the form of numbers or letters. [0058] The monitor (47) integrates a programmable micro or nano card (52) that has an easily programmable microcontroller, as well as numerous inputs and outputs. It is useful to point out that several microcontrollers exist; they are differentiated by the power of the microcontroller or by the size and the consumption of the card. The selection of the type of card is done based on needs. The card (52) is programmed using free programming software.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have added a comprises a humidity detector (hygrometer) configured to measure the humidity in the atmosphere of the transport bag, and a control means configured to trigger an alert remotely when the humidity becomes greater than a predefined humidity threshold value, the unit also comprises a luminosity sensor configured to measure the luminosity in the transport bag, and a control means configured to trigger an alert remotely when the luminosity becomes greater than a predefined luminosity threshold value, as taught by Taizou, to the device, as taught by LeClair, to allow for monitoring measurements of humidity and luminosity, as taught Taizou, in [0055].
Claims 10, 11, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LeClair (US Pub 2011/0173023), in view of Fishman (AU 2017204594).
Regarding Claim 10, LeClair teaches the device according to claim 1.
LeClair is silent to the unit also comprises a control means configured to command one of two modes of operation of the unit as a function of the temperature measured, between:- a first mode of operation in which the unit has a nominal energy consumption, when the temperature of the graft is lower than a first predefined temperature threshold value; and - a second mode of operation in which the unit has a reduced energy consumption, when the temperature of the graft is higher than said first threshold value.
Fishman teaches in the related art of a lung ex vivo. [0153] Covering the organ chamber serves to minimize the exchange of gases between perfusion fluid 250 and ambient air, Heat loss can be considerable because of the large surface area of the lungs. Heat loss can be an important issue during transport of the lungs when OCS 1000 may be placed into relatively low temperature environments, such as a vehicle, or the outdoors when moving OCS 1000 into and out of a vehicle. Furthermore, prior to transplantation, OCS 1000 may be temporarily placed in a hospital holding area or in an operating theater, both of which typically have temperatures in the range of 15-22 degrees C. At such ambient temperatures, it is important to reduce heat loss from organ chamber 2204 in order to allow heater 230 to maintain the desired perfusate (and lung) temperature of 35-37 degrees C. Scaling the lungs in the organ chamber 2204 also helps to maintain uniformity of the temperature through lungs 404.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have added a control means configured to command one of two modes of operation of the unit as a function of the temperature measured, between:- a first mode of operation in which the unit has a nominal energy consumption, when the temperature of the graft is lower than a first predefined temperature threshold value; and - a second mode of operation in which the unit has a reduced energy consumption, when the temperature of the graft is higher than said first threshold value, as taught by Fishman, to the device, as taught by LeClair, to allow for minimizing the exchange of gases between perfusion fluid and ambient air, as taught by Fishman, in [0153].
Regarding Claim 11, LeClair teaches the device according to claim 10, wherein the control means is configured to put the unit into sleep mode for a first predefined length of time if the temperature of the graft passes a second predefined temperature threshold value, higher than the first predefined temperature threshold value ([0030] When donors and recipients are in different locations, the extrinsic factors must be managed in the process of transporting organs from the donor to the recipient. For example, to preserve the integrity and quality of organs, they must be transported under certain strict conditions. Many organs must be maintained at a temperature between 1oC to 10oC. [0044] The data-logging device 91 may comprise at least one probe 92, or sensor, for monitoring, collecting and reporting data concerning the items being transported. The probe 92 or sensor may be inserted into a protected channel formed in the caddy 50, proximate to the items being transported. The data-logging device 91 may be a programmable processor and may be adapted to monitor, for example, the temperature of the items being transported for 24 hours or more to meet the courier or recipient's protocols. [0048] Methods for cooling, maintaining a constant cold temperature, and registering and storing the temperature of the interior of the organ transport device 10).
Regarding Claim 17, LeClair teaches the device according to claim 1.
LeClair is silent to the unit also comprises an oximeter configured to measure the oxygen available in the graft and/or the graft's consumption of oxygen, and a control means configured to trigger an alert remotely when the oxygen available becomes less than a seventh predefined value and/or when the graft's consumption of oxygen falls below a predefined oximetry threshold value.
Fishman teaches in the related art of a lung ex vivo. [0011] fluid controlller that can control a level of gas content, such as oxygen, in the perfusion fluid. [0015] A part of the perfusion fluid flow passes an oxygen content sensor. [0113] The measured reoxygenation time is the time for perfusion fluid 250 to go from a de-oxygenated state to a predetermined oxygenated level as measured by one or both of pulse oximeter probes 116 and 118 (step 3512).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have added an oximeter and a control means configured to trigger an alert remotely when the oxygen available becomes less than a seventh predefined value and/or when the graft's consumption of oxygen falls below a predefined oximetry threshold value, as taught by LeClair, in the device of LeClair, to measure oxygen.
Claims 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LeClair (US Pub 2011/0173023), in view of Judson (US Pub 2018/0352807).
Regarding Claim 12, LeClair teaches the device according to claim 1.
LeClair is silent to the unit also comprises a means for detecting the absence of movement, and a control means configured to command a third mode of operation of the unit, in which the unit has a reduced nominal consumption, when the unit is motionless during a length of time greater than a second predefined length of time, and/or to transmit an alert remotely when the unit is motionless during a length of time greater than a third predefined length of time.
Judson teaches in the related art of systems and methods of the invention generally relate to prolonging viability of bodily tissue, especially lung tissue in the Abstract. [0093] Input/output devices according to the invention may include one or more an accelerometer.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have added an accelerometer, as taught by Judson, to the device of LeClair, to allow for movement to be detected.
Claims 13, 14, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LeClair (US Pub 2011/0173023), in view of Plank (US Pub 2021/0289768).
Regarding Claims 13, 14, and 15, LeClair teaches the device of claim 1.
LeClair is silent to a means for measuring the distance between the geographic position of the unit and at least one first predefined geographic position, and a control means configured to command one of two modes of operation of the device as a function of each distance measured, between: - a third mode of operation in which the unit transmits its geographic position, when each distance is greater than a first predefined distance threshold value; and - a fourth mode of operation in which the communication means is inhibited, when at least one distance measured is less than said first predefined distance threshold value, a distance measurement means, configured to measure a distance to the arrival point, measuring the distance between the geographic position of the unit and a second predefined geographic position, the destination of the graft, and a control means configured to command the sending of a message to at least one predefined destination terminal when the distance to the arrival point is less than a second predefined distance threshold value, the unit comprises a distance measurement means, configured to measure a distance to the arrival point, measuring the distance between the geographic position of the unit and a second predefined geographic position, the destination of the graft, a lock configured to prohibit the opening of the transport case, and a control means configured to authorise the opening of the lock when the distance to the arrival point is less than a third predefined distance threshold value.
Plank teaches in the related art of preserving organs. See Abstract. [0032] After gaining authenticated access to the system, a user as described above may enter pertinent shipment data, including but not limited to donor information, organ type, donor hospital, donor OPO, recipient information, recipient transplant center, ground transport information, flight information and laboratory and testing information. This may be done by accessing an Internet web site and utilizing a web dashboard, or via downloadable mobile applications. This data is stored within an application database along with data collected from external data sources such as but not limited to weather maps, flight trackers, freight trackers, geolocation systems and user inputs. Each of these external data sources are in communication with the processor over an installed system API. These data, which are dynamic in nature, are also stored within the application database and updated as the shipments move. [0054] By monitoring the environmental pressures exerted upon an asset in transit, to the extent possible and on a frequent basis, and collecting that data for multiple assets over time, a database according to certain embodiments of the present invention may be generated and analyzed for trends that allow for the rating of organs intended for transplant that may be predictive of graft success as well as the duration of recipient survival, thereby giving transplant surgeons a powerful tool to use in their decision-making processes. The real-time information is selected from the group consisting of geolocation, aerospace location, local weather, barometric pressure, organ position, vibrational force, temperature, impact, light intensity, acceleration, organ orientation or combinations thereof. See Claim 9. The examiner notes that the “the transport case” is not positively recited in this claim or in claim 1. Therefore, this structure is not required as part of the claimed invention.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have added a means for measuring the distance between the geographic position of the unit and at least one first predefined geographic position, and a control means, as taught by Plank, to the device, as taught by LeClair, to allow for preserving the quality of a transplantable organ n transit, as taught by Plank in the Abstract.
Conclusion
/JB/
/CHARLES CAPOZZI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1798