DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on 4/10/2024 & 2/29/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Response to Amendment
Acknowledgement is made of the preliminary amendment(s) filed 7/29/2024
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed. The following title is suggested:
“Standing Wave Vibronic Multi-sensor”
“Vibronic Multi-sensor With Standing Wave Feature.
“Vibronic Multi-sensor With Standing Wave Monitoring Feature.
“Vibronic Multi-sensor With Improved Signal Transmission”
“State Monitoring Vibronic Multi-sensor”
Double Patenting
Claims 15-17 & 24-28 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 14-26 of copending Application No. 18/686,474 (‘474 hereinafter) in view of Vig et al (US 6260408 B1)(‘408 hereinafter).
Regarding claims 15 & 26 ‘474 discloses exciting a sensor unit using an excitation signal such that mechanical oscillations are executed; receiving the mechanical oscillations by the sensor unit and converting the mechanical oscillations into a first received signal; transmitting a transmitted signal from the sensor unit and receiving a second received signal; and calculating a first process variable based on the first received signal and calculating a second process variable based on the second received signal. [Claim 14]. ‘474 does not teach the transmitted signal is selected such that a standing wave is produced at least in a part of the medium between a first component of the sensor unit and a second component of the sensor unit or a wall of the containment. ‘408 teaches fluid property sensing assembly that discloses a transmitted signal is selected such that a standing wave is produced at least in a part of the medium between a first component of the sensor unit and a second component of the sensor unit or a wall of the containment. (Col. 10 lines 8-28)
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary art of vibration sensing systems before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the vibration sensor as taught by ‘474 with a transmitted signal is selected such that a standing wave is produced at least in a part of the medium between a first component of the sensor unit and a second component of the sensor unit or a wall of the containment as taught by ‘408 for the purpose of monitoring the properties of fluid flow via frequency / oscillation induction. This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Regarding claim 16 ‘474 teaches an excitation signal is an electrical signal having at least one predeterminable excitation frequency and a sinusoidal, rectangular, trapezoidal, triangular, or sawtooth shape. [Claims 14-26].
Regarding claim 17 ‘474 teaches the transmitted signal is an electrical signal having at least one predeterminable transmission frequency and a rectangular, trapezoidal, triangular, or sawtooth shape. [Claims 14-26]
Regarding claim 24 ‘474 teaches determining at least a third process variable. [Claim 18]
Regarding claim 25 ‘474 teaches a mechanically oscillatable unit in the form of an oscillatory fork having two oscillatory elements and at least one piezoelectric element, and wherein the at least one piezoelectric element is arranged, at least partially, within an oscillatory element. [Claim 17]
Regarding claim 27 ‘474 teaches at least one piezoelectric element includes a first piezoelectric element and a second piezoelectric element, and wherein the first piezoelectric element is arranged, at least partially, within the first oscillatory element and a second piezoelectric element is arranged, at least partially, within the second oscillatory element. [Claims 14-16]
Regarding claim 28 ‘474 teaches a first transmitted signal is transmitted by the first piezoelectric element, wherein a second transmitted signal is transmitted by the second piezoelectric element, and wherein the first transmitted signal and the second transmitted signal are of equal phase. [Claims 14-19]
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 14-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Vig et al (US 6260408 B1).
Regarding claim 15 Vig et al teaches exciting a sensor unit 10 using an excitation signal such that mechanical oscillations are executed (via oscillators 13 14); receiving the mechanical oscillations 13 14 by the sensor unit 10 and converting the mechanical oscillations into a first received signal (Col. 8 lines 24-67)(Col. 9 lines 1-20); transmitting a transmitted signal from the sensor unit 10 and receiving a second received signal (Col. 9 lines 20-67); and calculating a first process variable (Density, Viscosity, Velocity, Temperature, Shear penetration)(Col. 8 lines 24-36) based on the first received signal (Col. 8 lines 24-67)(Col. 9 lines 1-20) and calculating a second process variable (Density, Viscosity, Velocity, Temperature, Shear penetration)(Col. 8 lines 24-36) based on the second received signal (Col. 8 lines 24-67)(Col. 9 lines 1-20) wherein the transmitted signal is selected such that a standing wave is produced at least in a part of the medium between a first component of the sensor unit and a second component of the sensor unit or a wall of the containment. (Col. 10 lines 8-28).
Regarding claim 16 Vig et al teaches the excitation signal is an electrical signal having at least one predeterminable excitation frequency and a sinusoidal, rectangular, trapezoidal, triangular, or sawtooth shape. (Col. 8 lines 24-67)(Col. 9 lines 1-20) (Col. 14 lines 29-48)
Regarding claim 17 Vig et al teaches the excitation signal is an electrical signal having at least one predeterminable excitation frequency and a sinusoidal, rectangular, trapezoidal, triangular, or sawtooth shape. (Col. 8 lines 24-67)(Col. 9 lines 1-20) (Col. 14 lines 29-48)
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 12369493 B2 Vibronic multisensory
WO 2021170339 A1 VIBRONIC MULTISENSOR
WO 2020249318 A1 VIBRONIC MULTISENSOR
WO 2020094266 A1 VIBRONIC MULTISENSOR
US 12153022 B2 Vibronic multisensor
/ANDRE J ALLEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2855