Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: a first receiving module and a second receiving module in claim 15.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negatived by the manner in which the invention was made.
10. Claims 1, 14, 17-18 and 20-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bai et al. (US 2018/0205589 A1), hereinafter Bai, in view of Lee et al. (US 2021/0075453 A1; “IDS- EP 3570473 A2”), hereinafter referred to as Lee.
Regarding claim 1, Bai discloses: (1) UE 115-a may transmit a request 215 to base station 105-a to ask that the reference signal 205 be sent to UE 115-a. Request 215 may include a number of proposed or recommended parameters for the transmission of reference signal 205 by base station 105-a. The request may include a proposed frequency domain pattern, a time domain pattern, one or more port numbers, a transmission time, a feedback scheme for the frequency offset estimate, or a combination of these proposed parameter. Base station 105-a may, in response to request 215, send signaling to UE 115-a that request 215 is approved (e.g., including the proposed parameters) and proceed to transmit reference signal 205 based on the parameters, see 0075, 0111 (equivalent to receiving reference signal parameters, wherein the reference signal parameters at least comprise the number P of ports of a reference signal; receiving the reference signal according to the reference signal parameters); (2) phase tracking reference signal (PTRS) associated with MCS, see 0067.
Bai, however, fails to teach “wherein the number of ports of the reference signal is determined according to the modulation and coding scheme”.
Lee from the same field of wireless communication similar to that of Bai teaches: (1) the BS transmits a phase tracking reference signal (PTRS) via a layer (or DMRS port) with the highest quality to improve UE’s estimation performance and a MCS is defined per codeword (CW), the BS/UE may know which CW has the best quality. That is, based on the CW features, it is possible to reduce signaling overhead required for indicating the DMRS antenna port (or precoding) with the best channel quality, see 0042; (2) in the new radio (NR) system, up to two CWs are allowed, and the maximum number of layers in each CW may be set to 4. The two CWs may belong to one DMRS (antenna) port group. Alternatively, one CW may have two DMRS antenna port groups, see 0043-0045, 0052, 0068, 0072. Thus, Lee teaches number of ports, i.e., P=2 or 4 according to CW & DMRS antenna port group of the reference signal is determined according to the MCS.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to employ the number of ports of the reference signal determined according to the MCS as taught by Lee into the system of Bai. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been to improve receiving-side operation by providing information on signal transmission for phase noise cancellation in a wireless communication system.
Regarding claim 14, please see the rejection of claim 1. The rejection of claim 1 is for a method for transmitting a reference signal, applied to a terminal, has been described above, and it should be noted that a method for transmitting a reference signal, applied to a base station can be performed in a similar manner.
Regarding claim 17, this claim has similar limitations as those of claim 1. Therefore, it is rejected under Bai-Lee for the same reasons as set forth in the rejection of claim 1. The wireless device 900-fig.9 of Bai should include a non-transitory readable-storage medium, wherein the storage medium stores a computer program, and the computer program is configured to cause, when executed by a processor, the processor to perform the claimed steps.
Regarding claim 18, this claim has similar limitations as those of claim 1. Therefore, it is rejected under Bai-Lee for the same reasons as set forth in the rejection of claim 1. The wireless device 900-fig.9 of Bai includes a memory and a processor, wherein the memory stores a computer program, and the processor is configured to execute the computer program so as to perform the claimed steps.
Regarding claim 20, this claim has similar limitations as those of claim 14. Therefore, it is rejected under Bai-Lee for the same reasons as set forth in the rejection of claim 14. The base station 105-c-fig.5 of Bai should include a non-transitory readable-storage medium, wherein the storage medium stores a computer program, and the computer program is configured to cause, when executed by a processor, the processor to perform the claimed steps.
Regarding claim 21, this claim has similar limitations as those of claim 14. Therefore, it is rejected under Bai-Lee for the same reasons as set forth in the rejection of claim 14. The base station 105-c-fig.5 of Bai include a memory and a processor (not shown), wherein the memory stores a computer program, and the processor is configured to execute the computer program so as to perform the claimed steps.
11. Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bai et al. (US 2018/0205589 A1), hereinafter Bai, in view of Lee et al. (US 2021/0075453 A1; “IDS- EP 3570473 A2”), hereinafter referred to as Lee, in view of Lee, and further in view of Li (US 2017/0064673 A1).
Regarding claim 15, Bai discloses: (1) UE 115-a may transmit a request 215 to base station 105-a to ask that the reference signal 205 be sent to UE 115-a. Request 215 may include a number of proposed or recommended parameters for the transmission of reference signal 205 by base station 105-a. The request may include a proposed frequency domain pattern, a time domain pattern, one or more port numbers, a transmission time, a feedback scheme for the frequency offset estimate, or a combination of these proposed parameter. Base station 105-a may, in response to request 215, send signaling to UE 115-a that request 215 is approved (e.g., including the proposed parameters) and proceed to transmit reference signal 205 based on the parameters, see 0075, 0111 (equivalent to receiving reference signal parameters, wherein the reference signal parameters at least comprise the number P of ports of a reference signal; receiving the reference signal according to the reference signal parameters); (2) phase tracking reference signal (PTRS) associated with MCS, see 0067.
Bai, however, fails to teach the number of ports of the reference signal is determined according to the modulation and coding scheme.
Lee, in the same field of wireless communication as that of Bai, discloses: (1) the BS transmits a phase tracking reference signal (PTRS) via a layer (or DMRS port) with the highest quality to improve UE’s estimation performance and a MCS is defined per codeword (CW), the BS/UE may know which CW has the best quality. That is, based on the CW features, it is possible to reduce signaling overhead required for indicating the DMRS antenna port (or precoding) with the best channel quality, see 0042; (2) in the new radio (NR) system, up to two CWs are allowed, and the maximum number of layers in each CW may be set to 4. The two CWs may belong to one DMRS (antenna) port group. Alternatively, one CW may have two DMRS antenna port groups, see 0043-0045, 0052, 0068, 0072. Thus, Lee teaches number of ports, i.e., P=2 or 4 according to CW & DMRS antenna port group, of the reference signal is determined according to the MCS.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to employ the number of ports of the reference signal determined according to the MCS as taught by Lee into the system of Bai. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been to improve receiving-side operation by providing information on signal transmission for phase noise cancellation in a wireless communication system.
Bai and Lee, however, fail to teach first receiving module and second receiving module.
Li, in the same field of endeavor as that of Bai and Lee, teaches a first receiving module 21-fig.2, see 0210, and a second receiving module 22-fig.2, see 0211.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to employ first receiving module and second receiving module as taught by Li into the combined system of Bai and Lee. The suggestion/motivation for doing so would have been to improve greatly the system throughput and to enhance the system spectrum utilization efficiency with respect to signal transmission.
Allowable subject matter
12. Claim 19 is allowed.
13. Claims 2-13 are rejected based on their dependency, but would be allowable if rewritten or amended to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
14. Claim 15 is being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. If applicant does not intend to have this/these limitation(s) interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, applicant may: (1) amend the claim limitation(s) to avoid it/them being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph (e.g., by reciting sufficient structure to perform the claimed function); or (2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitation(s) recite(s) sufficient structure to perform the claimed function so as to avoid it/them being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph.
Conclusion
15. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Park et al. (US 2018/0110057 A1); Ma et al. (US 2022/0038933)
are cited, and considered pertinent to the instant specification.
/DUC C HO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2465