DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-5, 9-10, and 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Da Silva et al. (US 2024/0107409 A1)(hereinafter “Da Silva”).
Regarding claim 1, Da Silva discloses a user equipment (UE) (Fig. 16, [¶0288]: UE 200), comprising:
one or more non-transitory computer-readable media having computer- executable instructions embodied thereon (Fig. 16, [¶0288]: storage medium 221); and
at least one processor coupled to the one or more non-transitory computer-readable media and configured to execute the computer-executable instructions (Fig. 16, [¶0289]: processing circuitry 201 may be configured to process computer instructions and data.) to:
while maintaining a first Radio Resource Control (RRC) connection with a first base station (BS) of a first network (Figs. 7-8, [¶0076]: the UE is in CONNECTED mode with a first PLMN (PLMN-A) and is connected to a first cell associated to a first gNodeB (source gNodeB (PLMN-A) and in IDLE/INACTIVE mode in a second PLMN (PLMN-B) associated with a gNodeB (PLMN-B).), receive transmissions from a BS of a second network during at least one time period specified in a switch gap configuration ([¶0011]: while in RRC_IDLE, the UE monitors paging channels transmitted by the gNodeB (PLMN-B) of the second PLMN (PLMN-B) during paging occasions. [¶0078]: the UE monitors the second PLMN based using UE gaps according to a gap configuration (“a switch gap configuration”) to allow the UE to perform idle/ or inactive procedures in the second PLMN);
receive an RRC reconfiguration message from the first BS of the first network, the RRC reconfiguration message comprising a first command and a second command, the first command instructing the UE to begin a handover procedure from the first BS of the first network to a second BS of the first network (Fig. 7, [0076]: the method further comprises the UE receiving a handover command (e.g., RRC Reconfiguration including a reconfiguration with sync) from the source gNodeB (PLMN-A).), and the second command controlling usage of the switch gap configuration by the UE following completion of the handover procedure (Fig. 7, [0076]: including a gap configuration (e.g., a measurement gap configuration within measConfig of IE MeasConfigNR where gap configuration is based on the first indication the target gNodeB has received), providing the UE gaps for the UE to perform idle and/or inactive procedures in the second PLMN.);
initiate execution of the handover procedure according to the first command (Fig. 7, [¶0076]: the method further comprises performing a handover to the target cell of the target gNodeB (Second gNodeB), i.e., performing random access and transmitting an RRC Reconfiguration Complete.); and
when the second command suspends continued usage of the switch gap configuration during a time interval following the completion of the handover procedure, suspend reception of transmissions from the BS of the second network during the time interval (Fig. 8, [¶0078]: after completion of the handover procedure, the UE performs idle and/or inactive procedures in the second PLMN based on the UE gaps provided in the gap configuration. Accordingly, usage of the gap configuration is suspended during a time interval following the completion of the handover procedure.).
Regarding claim 3, Da Silva discloses all features of claim 1 as outlined above.
Da Silva also discloses wherein the at least one processor is further configured to execute the computer-executable instructions to: after suspending the reception of transmissions from the BS of the second network during the time interval, resume the reception of transmissions from the BS of the second network after an expiration of the time interval (Fig. 8, [¶0078]: after completion of the handover procedure, the UE performs idle and/or inactive procedures in the second PLMN based on the UE gaps provided in the gap configuration. Accordingly, usage of the gap configuration is suspended during a time interval following the completion of the handover procedure. Fig. 8, [0078]: subsequently, the UE resumes monitoring the second PLMN according to the gap configuration provided in the handover command.).
Regarding claim 4, Da Silva discloses all features of claim 1 as outlined above.
Da Silva also discloses wherein the at least one processor is further configured to execute the computer-executable instructions to: where the second command disables suspension of continued usage of the switch gap configuration, continue to receive transmissions from the BS of the second network following the completion of the handover procedure (Fig. 8, [¶0078]: after completion of the handover procedure, the UE performs idle and/or inactive procedures in the second PLMN based on the UE gaps provided in the gap configuration. Accordingly, usage of the gap configuration is suspended during a time interval following the completion of the handover procedure. Fig. 8, [0078]: subsequently, the UE resumes monitoring the second PLMN according to the gap configuration provided in the handover command.).
Regarding claim 5, Da Silva discloses all features of claim 1 as outlined above.
Da Silva also discloses wherein the RRC reconfiguration message comprises an RRCReconfiguration message (Fig. 7, [0076]: the method further comprises the UE receiving a handover command (e.g., RRC Reconfiguration including a reconfiguration with sync) from the source gNodeB (PLMN-A).).
Regarding claim 9, Da Silva discloses: a base station (BS) of a first network (Fig. 8: source eNodeB (PLMN-A), the BS comprising:
one or more non-transitory computer-readable media having computer- executable instructions embodied thereon (Fig. 15, [¶0247]: device readable medium 180); and
at least one processor coupled to the one or more non-transitory computer-readable media and configured to execute the computer-executable instructions to (Fig. 15, [¶0247]: processing circuitry 170):
maintain a first Radio Resource Control (RRC) connection with a user equipment (UE) while facilitating gaps in communication with the UE according to a switch gap configuration (Figs. 7-8, [¶0076]: the UE is in CONNECTED mode with a first PLMN (PLMN-A) and is connected to a first cell associated to a first gNodeB (source gNodeB (PLMN-A) and in IDLE/INACTIVE mode in a second PLMN (PLMN-B) associated with a gNodeB (PLMN-B). ([¶0011]: while in RRC_IDLE, the UE monitors paging channels transmitted by the gNodeB (PLMN-B) of the second PLMN (PLMN-B) during paging occasions. [¶0078]: the UE monitors the second PLMN based using UE gaps according to a gap configuration (“a switch gap configuration”) to allow the UE to perform idle/ or inactive procedures in the second PLMN)); and
transmit, to the UE, an RRC reconfiguration message comprising a first command and a second command, the first command instructing the UE to begin a handover procedure from the BS of the first network to another BS of the first network (Fig. 7, [0076]: the method further comprises the UE receiving a handover command (e.g., RRC Reconfiguration including a reconfiguration with sync) from the source gNodeB (PLMN-A).), and the second command controlling usage of the switch gap configuration by the UE following completion of the handover procedure (Fig. 7, [0076]: including a gap configuration (e.g., a measurement gap configuration within measConfig of IE MeasConfigNR where gap configuration is based on the first indication the target gNodeB has received), providing the UE gaps for the UE to perform idle and/or inactive procedures in the second PLMN.).
Regarding claim 10, Da Silva discloses all features of claim 9 as outlined above.
Da Silva also discloses the at least one processor further configured to execute the computer-executable instructions to:
transmit, to the other BS of the first network, a handover request message comprising the switch gap configuration ([¶0078]: the method further comprises determining to perform a handover to a second cell associated to a second gNodeB and transmitting to the second gNodeB a message (e.g., Handover Request message) including information associated to UE's required gaps for performing idle/inactive procedures in the second PLMN, e.g., at least the same indication received by the first gNodeB and/or updated versions of the information based on target cell timing properties (system frame number, synchronization, etc.) or another indication based on the occurrence of at least one idle event in the second PLMN.); and
receive, from the other BS in response to the handover request message, a handover request acknowledgment message comprising the first command and the second command ([¶0078]: the method further comprises receiving from the second gNodeB a message acknowledging the handover (e.g., Handover Request Acknowledgement message) that includes an RRCReconfiguration generated by the target that includes a measurement gap configuration. The method further comprises transmitting to the UE a handover command (e.g., RRC Reconfiguration including a reconfiguration with synchronization) including a gap configuration (e.g., a measurement gap configuration within measConfig of IE MeasConfigNR where gap configuration is based on the indication the target gNodeB has received) providing the UE gaps for the UE to perform idle and/or inactive procedures in the second PLMN.).
Regarding claim 12, Da Silva discloses all features of claim 10 as outlined above.
Da Silva further discloses wherein the handover request acknowledgment message comprises an RRCReconfiguration message comprising the first command and the second command ([¶0078]: the method further comprises receiving from the second gNodeB a message acknowledging the handover (e.g., Handover Request Acknowledgement message) that includes an RRCReconfiguration generated by the target that includes a measurement gap configuration. The method further comprises transmitting to the UE a handover command (e.g., RRC Reconfiguration including a reconfiguration with synchronization) including a gap configuration (e.g., a measurement gap configuration within measConfig of IE MeasConfigNR where gap configuration is based on the indication the target gNodeB has received) providing the UE gaps for the UE to perform idle and/or inactive procedures in the second PLMN. [¶0226] the method further comprises receiving from the second gNodeB a message acknowledging the handover (e.g. Handover Request Acknowledgement message). The message includes an RRCReconfiguration generated by the target that includes a measurement gap configuration.).
Regarding claim 13, Da Silva discloses: a base station (BS) of a first network (Fig. 8: source eNodeB (PLMN-A), the BS comprising:
one or more non-transitory computer-readable media having computer- executable instructions embodied thereon (Fig. 15, [¶0247]: processing circuitry 170); and
at least one processor coupled to the one or more non-transitory computer-readable media and configured to execute the computer-executable instructions to (Fig. 15, [¶0247]: processing circuitry 170):
receive, from another BS of the first network, a handover request message for a user equipment (UE), the handover request message comprising a switch gap configuration that specifies at least one time period during which the UE receives transmissions from a BS of a second network ([¶0078]: the method further comprises determining to perform a handover to a second cell associated to a second gNodeB and transmitting to the second gNodeB a message (e.g., Handover Request message) including information associated to UE's required gaps for performing idle/inactive procedures in the second PLMN, e.g., at least the same indication received by the first gNodeB and/or updated versions of the information based on target cell timing properties (system frame number, synchronization, etc.) or another indication based on the occurrence of at least one idle event in the second PLMN.);
generate an RRC reconfiguration message comprising a first command and a second command, the first command instructing the UE to begin a handover procedure from the other BS of the first network to the BS of the first network (Fig. 7, [0076]: the method further comprises the UE receiving a handover command (e.g., RRC Reconfiguration including a reconfiguration with sync) from the source gNodeB (PLMN-A).), and the second command controlling usage of the switch gap configuration by the UE following completion of the handover procedure (Fig. 7, [0076]: including a gap configuration (e.g., a measurement gap configuration within measConfig of IE MeasConfigNR where gap configuration is based on the first indication the target gNodeB has received), providing the UE gaps for the UE to perform idle and/or inactive procedures in the second PLMN.); and
transmit, to the other BS, a handover request acknowledgment message comprising the RRC reconfiguration message ([¶0078]: the method further comprises receiving from the second gNodeB a message acknowledging the handover (e.g., Handover Request Acknowledgement message) that includes an RRCReconfiguration generated by the target that includes a measurement gap configuration. The method further comprises transmitting to the UE a handover command (e.g., RRC Reconfiguration including a reconfiguration with synchronization) including a gap configuration (e.g., a measurement gap configuration within measConfig of IE MeasConfigNR where gap configuration is based on the indication the target gNodeB has received) providing the UE gaps for the UE to perform idle and/or inactive procedures in the second PLMN.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 and 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Da Silva in view of Velev et al. (US 2024/0196468 A1)(hereinafter “Velev”).
Regarding claim 2, Da Silva discloses all features of claim 1 as outlined above.
Da Silva does not disclose wherein the second command comprises an indication of the time interval. However, Velev discloses wherein the second command comprises an indication of the time interval ([¶0235]: in certain embodiments, the processor further determines a service gap time based on the away time, where the RRC reconfiguration information indicates the service gap time (e.g., using parameter ServiceGapTime). In certain embodiments, the processor initiates a timer in response to sending the RRC reconfiguration information, said timer have a value based on the determined service gap time. [¶0091]: during the service gap time the UE does not expect to receive DL data or paging, so that the UE may use the radio transmitter to perform radio procedures (e.g., radio measurements or transmissions) in a different cell or network.). Accordingly, Velev discloses including an indication of a time interval for suspending reception or transmission from a base station within an RRC reconfiguration message.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the RRCReconfiguration message, as taught by Da Silva, to include an indication of a time interval for suspending reception or transmission from a base station within an RRC reconfiguration message, as taught by Velev. Doing so allows for the UE to use the radio transmitter to perform radio procedures (e.g., radio measurements or transmissions) in a different network or cell. (See Velev [¶0091]).
Regarding claim 6, Da Silva discloses all features of claim 5 as outlined above.
Da Silva does not disclose wherein the second command comprises a switch- SuspendIntervalValue command comprising a timer value associated with the time interval. However, Velev discloses wherein the second command comprises a switchSuspendIntervalValue command comprising a timer value associated with the time interval ([¶0235]: in certain embodiments, the processor further determines a service gap time based on the away time, where the RRC reconfiguration information indicates the service gap time (e.g., using parameter ServiceGapTime). In certain embodiments, the processor initiates a timer in response to sending the RRC reconfiguration information, said timer have a value based on the determined service gap time. [¶0091]: during the service gap time the UE does not expect to receive DL data or paging, so that the UE may use the radio transmitter to perform radio procedures (e.g., radio measurements or transmissions) in a different cell or network.). Examiner submits that the ServiceGapTime parameter of Velev is equivalent to the switchSuspendIntervalValue of claim 6.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the RRCReconfiguration message, as taught by Da Silva, to include a timer value associated with a time interval for suspending reception or transmission from a base station within an RRC reconfiguration message, as taught by Velev. Doing so allows for the UE to use the radio transmitter to perform radio procedures (e.g., radio measurements or transmissions) in a different network or cell. (See Velev [¶0091]).
Regarding claim 7, Da Silva in view of Velev discloses all features of claim 6 as outlined above.
Da Silva also discloses wherein the RRCReconfiguration message comprises an OtherConfig information element (IE) ([¶0180]- [¶0181]: the IE OtherConfig contains configuration related to miscellaneous other configurations.). Da Silva fails to disclose that the OtherConfig information element (IE) comprises the switchSuspendIntervalValue command. However, Velev discloses the RRCReconfiguration message comprising the switchSuspendIntervalValue command (([¶0235]: in certain embodiments, the processor further determines a service gap time based on the away time, where the RRC reconfiguration information indicates the service gap time (e.g., using parameter ServiceGapTime). In certain embodiments, the processor initiates a timer in response to sending the RRC reconfiguration information, said timer have a value based on the determined service gap time. [¶0091]: during the service gap time the UE does not expect to receive DL data or paging, so that the UE may use the radio transmitter to perform radio procedures (e.g., radio measurements or transmissions) in a different cell or network.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the OtherConfig IE within the RRCReconfiguration message, as taught by Da Silva, to include a timer value associated with a time interval for suspending reception or transmission from a base station within an switchSuspendIntervalValue command of an RRC reconfiguration message, as taught by Velev. Doing so allows for the UE to use the radio transmitter to perform radio procedures (e.g., radio measurements or transmissions) in a different network or cell. (See Velev [¶0091]).
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Da Silva in view of Lee et al. (US 2023/0048297 A1)(hereinafter “Lee”).
Regarding claim 8, Da Silva discloses all features of claim 1 as outlined above.
Da Silva does not disclose receiving an RRCReconfiguration message comprising a switchGapConfig IE comprising the switch gap configuration. However, Lee discloses receiving an RRCReconfiguration message comprising a switchGapConfig IE comprising the switch gap configuration ([¶0061]: the UE may receive a switching gap configuration through dedicated signaling (e.g., including an RRC reconfiguration (RRCReconfiguration) message, an RRC resume (RRCResume) message, an RRC release (RRCRelease) message (with or without a suspend configuration), and/or a new RRC message) while attaching/connecting to a network. The switching gap configuration may include an Information Element (IE) denoted as MeasGapConfig (e.g., as provided in 3GPP Technical Specification (TS) 38.331 v16.5.0) to determine the switching gap configuration, control the setup/release of measurement gaps, and/or other switching gap related information (e.g., including initial status of the associated switching gap, and/or type of the associated switching gap). In some implementations, the switching gap may be determined by a new switching gap IE (e.g., denoted as MUSIMGapConfig) to specify the switching gap configuration, control setup/release of measurement gaps, and/or other switching-gap-related information (e.g., including initial status of the associated switching gap, type of the associated switching gap, and/or priority) for specific/dedicated multi-USIM use. In some implementations, a UE may receive a switching gap configuration from system information (e.g., via System Information Block 1 (SIB1) and/or other SI).).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the RRCReconfiguration message, as taught by Da Silva, to include the switching gap configuration Information Element (IE) comprising the switch gap information, as taught by Lee. Doing so allows for transmitting the switch gap configuration using signaling that is compliant with existing communication standards (i.e., the 3GPP Technical Specification)(See Lee [¶0061]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 11 and 14-15 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Bae et al. (US 2024/0260121 A1) – Apparatus and Method For Supporting Network Switching Of User Equipment In Wireless Communication System.
Shrivastava et al. (US 2024/0196195 A1) – Method and Apparatus For Managing Link For A MUSIM UE In A Wireless Communication System.
Shrivastava et al. (US 2023/0396984 A1) – GAP Configuration For UE Comprising A Plurality Of SIMS In Wireless Network.
/MICHAEL WAYNE MADDOX/Examiner, Art Unit 2463
/CHI TANG P CHENG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2463