DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 02/29/2024 was filed. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1) as being anticipated by Yamamoto et. al. (US 2011/0013063 A1).
Regarding claim 1 Yamamoto teaches (figs. 1A-1B, 2, and 6A-7B) an optical module comprising:
a casing (300) that houses an optical component (para. 0050; see figs. 1A and 1B);
a first cushioning material (70) to be provided between the optical component and a first surface on an inner side of the casing (para. 0055);
and a piezoelectric element (60) that is provided between the first cushioning material and the first surface (para. 0055) and is capable of expanding and contracting in a direction from the first surface to the optical component (para. 0087 (examiner notes that expanding part 613b is part of actuator 60 as noted on figs. 6A-6C)).
Regarding claim 2 Yamamoto teaches (figs. 1A-1B, 2, and 6A-7B) an optical module, where a voltage to be applied to the piezoelectric element is adjusted based on an optical signal to be output from the optical component, and the piezoelectric element expands and contracts according to magnitude of the adjusted voltage (para. 0098).
Regarding claim 3 Yamamoto teaches (figs. 1A-1B, 2, and 6A-7B) an optical module, further comprising a second cushioning material (90) that is provided between the optical component and a second surface facing the first surface among inner surfaces of the casing (para. 0055).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamamoto et. al. (US 2011/0013063 A1) in view of Kim et. al. (US 2021/0014416 A1)
Regarding claim 4 Yamamoto teaches (figs. 1A-1B, 2, and 6A-7B) an optical module, where the optical component is an optical isolator, an optical coupler, or an optical filter.
Kim teaches where the optical component is an optical isolator, an optical coupler, or an optical filter (112; para. 0009 and 0081).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have modified the optical system as taught by Yamamoto with a filter as taught by Kim for the benefit of further control of the image location on the imager.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Further prior art that teaches similar systems include Tanimura et. al. (US 2011/0026148 A1) and Liu et. al. (US 2023/0152668 A1).
/Robert E. Tallman/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872