DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of group I, claims 1, 3-4, 6-9, and 12 in the reply filed on 06 August 2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 10, 13-14, 17, 21-22, 24-28, and 49 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4, and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Drzal et al. (US 20050119371 A1) (previously cited).
Regarding claim 1, Drzal teaches an epoxy coating comprising a copolymer derived from an epoxide and an epoxide curing agent, wherein the epoxide comprises an epoxidized biomass oil wherein the epoxidized biomass oil comprises an oil extracted from a biomass, which is an extracted biomass oil, and wherein said extracted biomass oil has been epoxidized, wherein the biomass comprises food waste (see vegetable oil) (Drzal, Abstract, Par. 0010-0011, 0081 Claims 1 and 6).
Regarding claim 4, Drzal teaches the epoxide curing agent comprises a phthalic anhydride (Drzal, Par. 0010 and Claim 7).
Regarding claim 9, Drzal teaches the epoxy coating is bio-based (Drzal, Par. 0009).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Drzal as applied to claim 1 under 35 USC § 102 above, further in view of Lin et al. (CN 111732519 A; herein English machine translation used for all citations).
Regarding claim 3, Drzal teaches all of the elements of the claimed invention as stated above for claim 1. Drzal is silent regarding the epoxide curing agent being derived from the extracted biomass oil, the epoxidized biomass oil, or a combination thereof.
Lin teaches an epoxide curing agent derived from extracted biomass oil wherein the biomass oil is a vegetable oil (Lin, Par. 0001, 0011, and 0014).
Drzal and Lin are analogous art as they both teach epoxide curing agents. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use the curing agent derived from extracted vegetable oil of Lin as the epoxide curing agent of Drzal. This would allow for toughened biomass based epoxy resin (Lin, Par. 0001-0004). This would further result in the epoxide curing agent being derived from the extracted biomass oil as required by claim 3.
Claim 6-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Drzal as applied to claim 1 under 35 USC § 102 above, further in view of McCall (US 20220235162 A1) and Chen et al. (US 20150051306 A1).
Regarding claims 6-8, Drzal teaches all of the elements of the claimed invention as stated above for claim 1. Drzal is silent regarding the biomass comprising coffee beans as required by claim 6, is silent regarding the coffee beans comprising green coffee beans, roasted coffee beans, spent coffee grounds, or a combination thereof as required by claim 7, and is silent regarding the biomass comprising spent coffee grounds as required by claim 8.
McCall teaches a copolymer comprising an epoxidized biomass oil wherein the biomass oil may comprise a vegetable oil or a coffee oil (McCall, Par. 0060, 0131, 0144).
Drzal and Mccall are analogous art as they both teach copolymers comprising an epoxidized biomass oil wherein the biomass oil may comprise a vegetable oil. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used coffee oil as the biomass oil of Drzal as it is an art recognized equivalent for the same purpose, see MPEP 2144.06 & 2144.07.
Modified Drzal is silent regarding the coffee being coffee beans as required by claim 6, is silent regarding the coffee beans comprising green coffee beans, roasted coffee beans, spent coffee grounds, or a combination thereof as required by claim 7, and is silent regarding the biomass comprising spent coffee grounds as required by claim 8.
Chen teaches an epoxidized coffee oil wherein the coffee is coffee grounds (Chen, Abstract).
Modified Drzal and Chen are analogous art as they both teach epoxidized coffee oil. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used coffee grounds as the coffee for the coffee oil of modified Drzal as it is an art known recognized equivalent for the same purpose, see MPEP 2144.06 & 2144.07. This would further allow for the use of cheap waste material (Chen, Par. 0004).
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Drzal as applied to claim 1 under 35 USC § 102 above, further in view of Fenn et al. (US 20100331454 A1).
Regarding claim 12, Drzal teaches all of the elements of the claimed invention as stated above for claim 1. Drzal is silent regarding the copolymer comprising an acrylic polymer, a siloxane polymer, or a combination thereof.
Fenn teaches an epoxide copolymer which further comprises an acrylic polymer and/or a polysiloxane polymer (Fenn, Abstract, Par. 0020-0021).
Drzal and Fenn are analogous art as they both teach epoxide copolymers. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included the acrylic and/or siloxane polymer of Fenn with the copolymer of Drzal. This would allow for the coating to be able to be formed into a film (Fenn, Par. 0020-0021).
Conclusion
/THOMAS J KESSLER/Examiner, Art Unit 1782