DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, or 365(c) is acknowledged.
Oath/Declaration
Oath/Declaration as filed on March 4, 2024 is noted by the Examiner.
Claim Objections
Claim 14 is objected to because of the following informalities:
The claim recites limitations “a display device”, “a communication component”, and “a display driver component” recited in first thru second lines of the claim, but the limitations are indefinite, because it is unclear as to whether the limitation is referring to a same display device, communication component, and display driver component recited in first thru third lines of claim 1 respectively, or to a display device, communication component, and display driver component. Therefore, Examiner suggests the limitations should be amended, without adding new matter, in a manner that resolves the indefiniteness issue.
Claim Interpretation – 35 USC § 112(f)
be expressed as a means or step for performing a specified function without the recital of
structure, material, or acts in support thereof, and such claim shall be construed to cover
the corresponding structure, material, or acts described in the specification and
equivalents thereof.
performing a specified function without the recital of structure, material, or acts in
support thereof, and such claim shall be construed to cover the corresponding structure,
material, or acts described in the specification and equivalents thereof.
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) are: “an acquisition component configured to” recited in sixth line of claim 1 is considered to read on acquisition component 31 (pg. 17, paragraph[0040]; 31 FIG. 3), “a determination component configured to” recited in eighth line of claim 1 is considered to read on determination component 32 (pg. 17, paragraph[0040]; 32 FIG. 3), and “a control component configured to” recited in eleventh line of claim 1 is considered to read on control component 33 (pg. 17, paragraph[0040]; 33 FIG. 3); “a frequency band detection component configured to” recited in third line of claims 3 and 5, respectively is considered to read on frequency band detection component 35 (pg. 21, paragraph[0052]; 35 FIG. 4A); “an interference detection component configured to” recited in sixth line of claim 5 and fifth line of claim 10 are considered to read on interference detection component 39 (pg. 22, paragraph[0055]; 39 FIG. 4B); “a standard detection component configured to” recited in third line of claim 10 is considered to read on standard detection component 37 (pg. 24, paragraph[0062]; 37 FIG. 5A); “a write unit configured to” recited in sixth line of claim 11 is considered to read on write unit 33 (pg. 28, paragraph[0073]; 33 FIG. 6); “a frequency calibration component configured to” recited in third line of claim 12 is considered to read on frequency calibration component 34 (pg. 30, paragraph[0088]; 34 FIG. 3).
Because these claim limitation(s) are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, they are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 3, 5, 10-12, and 14 application limitation(s) “an acquisition component configured to”, “a determination component configured to”, “a control component configured to”, “a frequency band detection component configured to”, “an interference detection component configured to”, “a standard detection component configured to”, “a write unit configured to”, and “a frequency calibration component configured to” invoke 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to clearly disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed functions and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. In particular, no structure or material that is capable of performing the claimed functions are present or shown in FIGS. 3-5A, and 6 and substantively linked to the claimed function. Therefore, claims 1, 3, 5, 10-12, and 14 are indefinite and are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph. Accordingly, any claim(s) dependent on claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, based at least on same above reasoning.
Moreover, for a computer-implemented means-plus-function claim limitation invoking 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, a general purpose computer is usually only sufficient as the corresponding structure for performing a general computing function (e.g., “means for storing data”), but the corresponding structure for performing a specific function is required to be more than simply a general purpose computer or microprocessor. See In re Katz Interactive Call Processing Patent Litigation, 639 F.3d 1303, 1316, 97 USPQ2d 1737, 1747 (Fed. Cir. 2011). However, neither a specialized computer, a specialized processor circuitry, a general purpose computer, or a general processor circuitry for implementing the functionality of the limitations indicated above is even substantively recited and directly tied with sufficient specificity to each of the above limitations and their functionality in applicable claims 1, 3, 5, 10-12, and 14.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Accordingly, as mentioned above, any claim(s) dependent on claim 1 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, based at least on same above reasoning.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, and 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Oga, U.S. Patent Application Publication 2020/0260250 A1 (hereinafter Oga), in view of Lee et al., U.S. Patent Application Publication 2024/0069675 A1 (hereinafter Lee I).
Regarding claim 1, Oga teaches an oscillation frequency control system for a display device (30, 154 FIGS. 1-2, paragraph[0053] of Oga teaches the mobile station 30 includes a control unit 103, a transmitter 104, a first receiver 105 for downlink signal reception, a second receiver 106 for uplink signal interception, a duplexer 107, and an antenna 108, and See also at least paragraph[0075] of Oga (i.e., Oga teaches a mobile station that includes at least one receiver with at least one corresponding display)), wherein the display device comprises a communication component and (142 and 143 FIGS. 1-2, paragraph[0055] of Oga teaches the transmitter 104 includes a voice signal processing unit (TX-AF) 141, a baseband (BB) signal processing unit (TX-BB) 142, a high-frequency signal processing unit (TX-RF) 143, and an input unit (KEY) 144 for a narrowband frequency channel, and transmits an uplink signal to the base station 20, and See also at least paragraphs[0053]-[0054], [0056]-[0057], and [0075] of Oga (i.e., Oga teaches the mobile station includes a baseband signal processing unit and a high-frequency signal processing unit)) a display driver component, the display driver component comprises at least one oscillator (143, 143c FIGS. 1-2, paragraph[0058] of Oga teaches further, the high-frequency signal processing unit (TX-RF) 143 includes a frequency converter (MIX) 143a, a high-frequency front end (FE) unit (FE) 143b, and an oscillator (LO) 143c, and See also at least paragraphs[0053]-[0057], and [0075] of Oga (i.e., Oga teaches the mobile station includes the baseband signal processing unit and a high-frequency signal processing unit having an oscillator)); and the oscillation frequency control system comprises: an acquisition component configured to acquire current operating information of the communication component (142a and 142b, G13 and P13 FIGS. 1-2, paragraphs[0062]-[0064] of Oga teaches on the other hand, a transmission digital data signal G13 from the input unit 144 is input to the encoding unit 142a and the modulator 142b; the input unit 144 can include a plurality of keys such as a keyboard of a general QWERTY layout or a numeric keypad, a touch sensor or a touch panel, a proximity sensor, and a camera system that discriminates gestures of an operator; the encoding unit 142a encodes the transmission digital data signal G13 and outputs the encoded signal to the modulator 142b as an encode data signal G14; the modulator 142b converts at least one of the encode voice signal G12 or the encode data signal G14 to a transmission analog BB signal (transmission ABB signal) or a transmission intermediate-frequency signal (transmission IF signal) that is an analog signal on the basis of a modulation method specifying signal P12; and the modulator 142b outputs the converted signal to the frequency converter 143a of the high-frequency signal processing unit 143 as a modulation signal G15 (i.e., Oga teaches the baseband processing unit includes an encoding unit and a modulator that both received a transmission digital data signal, and the high-frequency signal processing unit that receives a frequency setting signal));
a determination component configured to determine an oscillation operating frequency corresponding to each oscillator according to the current operating information (143a FIGS. 1-2, paragraphs[0068] of Oga teaches the modulation signal G15 from the modulator 142b and a transmission local oscillation signal (transmission LO signal) G16 from the oscillator 143c are input to the frequency converter 143a; the transmission LO signal G16 is a signal for determining a carrier frequency as a wireless signal; and the frequency converter 143a mixes the modulation signal G15 and the transmission LO signal G16 and outputs the resulting signal to the high-frequency FE unit 143b as a transmission RF signal (transmission high-frequency signal) G17, and See also at least paragraphs[0058], and [0069]-[0071] of Oga (i.e., Oga teaches frequency converter that determines a transmission high-frequency signal that corresponds to a transmission local oscillation signal from the oscillator)); and
a control component configured to control each oscillator to operate at a corresponding oscillation operating frequency,; when each oscillator operates at the corresponding oscillation operating frequency (103 FIGS. 1-2, paragraphs[0069] of Oga teaches a frequency setting signal P13 is information that is input to the oscillator 143c and specifies a frequency of the transmission LO signal G16. The control unit 103 generates the frequency setting signal P13 on the basis of transmission frequency information input by an operation of an operator or transmission frequency information associated with reception frequency information determined by search processing when there is a reception signal search function, and See also at least paragraphs[0058], [0068], and [0070]-[0071] of Oga (i.e., Oga teaches a control unit and method that generates the frequency setting signal, which is information that is input to the oscillator and that specifies a frequency of the transmission local oscillation signal output by the oscillator)), but does not expressly teach wherein a frequency of a harmonic wave generated; falls outside a communication operating frequency band in which the communication component currently operates.
However, Lee I teaches wherein a frequency of a harmonic wave generated; falls outside a communication operating frequency band in which the communication component currently operates (FIG. 2A, paragraph[0032] of Lee I teaches with reference to FIG. 1 and FIG. 2A, it is advantageous to reduce or avoid the electromagnetic interference by shifting the fundamental frequency foscC of the clock signal CLK201 by the frequency shift circuit 110 according to the first setting data acquired from the mode control signal CTR; the fundamental frequency of the clock signal CLK201 may be shifted to a frequency foscC′ which results in harmonics falling outside the first communication frequency band CB1 and also outside the second communication frequency band CB2; and since the frequency spectrum of the clock signal CLK201 does not overlap with the first communication frequency band CB1 or the second communication frequency band CB2, an electromagnetic interference to an electronic device such as a mobile phone caused by the oscillator in the touch and display driver IC is reduced and thereby improving the quality of signal in the electronic device, and See also at least paragraphs[0030]-[0031] of Lee I (i.e., Lee I teaches an oscillator providing a clock having a frequency which results in harmonics falling outside a first communication frequency band and also outside a second communication frequency band, and since the clock does not overlap the first communication frequency band or the second communication frequency band and electromagnetic interference of an electronic device such as a mobile phone cause by the oscillator in a touch and display driver IC is reduced and thereby improve signal quality of the electronic device)).
Furthermore, Oga and Lee I are considered to be analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor with respect to a display device, and involve the same problem of forming a suitable oscillator for use in the display device. Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of Oga based on Lee I wherein a frequency of a harmonic wave generated; falls outside a communication operating frequency band in which the communication component currently operates. One reason for the modification as taught by Lee I is to reduce electromagnetic interference of an electronic device such as a mobile phone cause by an oscillator, and thereby improve signal quality of the electronic device (paragraph[0032] of Lee I). The same motivation and rationale to combine for claim 1 mentioned above, in light of corresponding statement of grounds of rejection, applies to each respective dependent claim mentioned in the corresponding statement of grounds of rejection.
Regarding claim 14, Oga and Lee I teach a display device, comprising: a communication component, a display driver component, and the oscillation frequency control system according to claim 1 (154; 142, 143, and 143c; 30, paragraph[0058] of Oga teaches further, the high-frequency signal processing unit (TX-RF) 143 includes a frequency converter (MIX) 143a, a high-frequency front end (FE) unit (FE) 143b, and an oscillator (LO) 143c, and See also at least paragraphs[0053]-[0057], and [0075] of Oga (i.e., Oga teaches the mobile station includes the baseband signal processing unit and a high-frequency signal processing unit having an oscillator)).
Regarding claim 15, Oga teaches an oscillation frequency control method for a display device, wherein the display device (30, 154 FIGS. 1-2, paragraph[0053] of Oga teaches the mobile station 30 includes a control unit 103, a transmitter 104, a first receiver 105 for downlink signal reception, a second receiver 106 for uplink signal interception, a duplexer 107, and an antenna 108, and See also at least paragraphs[0058], [0068], [0070]-[0071], and [0075] of Oga (i.e., Oga teaches a mobile station that includes at least one receiver with at least one corresponding display, wherein the mobile station includes at least a control unit and method that generates a frequency setting signal, which is information that is input to an oscillator of the mobile station and that specifies a frequency of the transmission local oscillation signal output by the oscillator)) comprises a communication component and (142 and 143 FIGS. 1-2, paragraph[0055] of Oga teaches the transmitter 104 includes a voice signal processing unit (TX-AF) 141, a baseband (BB) signal processing unit (TX-BB) 142, a high-frequency signal processing unit (TX-RF) 143, and an input unit (KEY) 144 for a narrowband frequency channel, and transmits an uplink signal to the base station 20, and See also at least paragraphs[0053]-[0054], [0056]-[0057], and [0075] of Oga (i.e., Oga teaches the mobile station includes a baseband signal processing unit and a high-frequency signal processing unit)) a display driver component, the display driver component comprises at least one oscillator (143, 143c FIGS. 1-2, paragraph[0058] of Oga teaches further, the high-frequency signal processing unit (TX-RF) 143 includes a frequency converter (MIX) 143a, a high-frequency front end (FE) unit (FE) 143b, and an oscillator (LO) 143c, and See also at least paragraphs[0053]-[0057], and [0075] of Oga (i.e., Oga teaches the mobile station includes the baseband signal processing unit and a high-frequency signal processing unit having an oscillator)); and
the oscillation frequency control method comprises: acquiring current operating information of the communication component (G13 and P13 FIGS. 1-2, paragraphs[0062]-[0064] of Oga teaches on the other hand, a transmission digital data signal G13 from the input unit 144 is input to the encoding unit 142a and the modulator 142b; the input unit 144 can include a plurality of keys such as a keyboard of a general QWERTY layout or a numeric keypad, a touch sensor or a touch panel, a proximity sensor, and a camera system that discriminates gestures of an operator; the encoding unit 142a encodes the transmission digital data signal G13 and outputs the encoded signal to the modulator 142b as an encode data signal G14; the modulator 142b converts at least one of the encode voice signal G12 or the encode data signal G14 to a transmission analog BB signal (transmission ABB signal) or a transmission intermediate-frequency signal (transmission IF signal) that is an analog signal on the basis of a modulation method specifying signal P12; and the modulator 142b outputs the converted signal to the frequency converter 143a of the high-frequency signal processing unit 143 as a modulation signal G15 (i.e., Oga teaches the baseband processing unit includes an encoding unit and a modulator that both received a transmission digital data signal, and the high-frequency signal processing unit that receives a frequency setting signal));
determining an oscillation operating frequency corresponding to each oscillator according to the current operating information (FIGS. 1-2, paragraphs[0068] of Oga teaches the modulation signal G15 from the modulator 142b and a transmission local oscillation signal (transmission LO signal) G16 from the oscillator 143c are input to the frequency converter 143a; the transmission LO signal G16 is a signal for determining a carrier frequency as a wireless signal; and the frequency converter 143a mixes the modulation signal G15 and the transmission LO signal G16 and outputs the resulting signal to the high-frequency FE unit 143b as a transmission RF signal (transmission high-frequency signal) G17, and See also at least paragraphs[0058], and [0069]-[0071] of Oga (i.e., Oga teaches frequency converter that determines a transmission high-frequency signal that corresponds to a transmission local oscillation signal from the oscillator)); and
controlling each oscillator to operate at a corresponding oscillation operating frequency,; when each oscillator operates at the corresponding oscillation operating frequency (FIGS. 1-2, paragraphs[0069] of Oga teaches a frequency setting signal P13 is information that is input to the oscillator 143c and specifies a frequency of the transmission LO signal G16. The control unit 103 generates the frequency setting signal P13 on the basis of transmission frequency information input by an operation of an operator or transmission frequency information associated with reception frequency information determined by search processing when there is a reception signal search function, and See also at least paragraphs[0058], [0068], and [0070]-[0071] of Oga (i.e., Oga teaches a control unit and method that generates the frequency setting signal, which is information that is input to the oscillator and that specifies a frequency of the transmission local oscillation signal output by the oscillator)), but does not expressly teach wherein a frequency of a harmonic wave generated; falls outside a communication operating frequency band in which the communication component currently operates.
However, Lee I teaches wherein a frequency of a harmonic wave generated; falls outside a communication operating frequency band in which the communication component currently operates (FIG. 2A, paragraph[0032] of Lee I teaches with reference to FIG. 1 and FIG. 2A, it is advantageous to reduce or avoid the electromagnetic interference by shifting the fundamental frequency foscC of the clock signal CLK201 by the frequency shift circuit 110 according to the first setting data acquired from the mode control signal CTR; the fundamental frequency of the clock signal CLK201 may be shifted to a frequency foscC′ which results in harmonics falling outside the first communication frequency band CB1 and also outside the second communication frequency band CB2; and since the frequency spectrum of the clock signal CLK201 does not overlap with the first communication frequency band CB1 or the second communication frequency band CB2, an electromagnetic interference to an electronic device such as a mobile phone caused by the oscillator in the touch and display driver IC is reduced and thereby improving the quality of signal in the electronic device, and See also at least paragraphs[0030]-[0031] of Lee I (i.e., Lee I teaches an oscillator providing a clock having a frequency which results in harmonics falling outside a first communication frequency band and also outside a second communication frequency band, and since the clock does not overlap the first communication frequency band or the second communication frequency band and electromagnetic interference of an electronic device such as a mobile phone cause by the oscillator in a touch and display driver IC is reduced and thereby improve signal quality of the electronic device)).
Furthermore, Oga and Lee I are considered to be analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor with respect to a display device, and involve the same problem of forming a suitable oscillator for use in the display device. Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system and method of Oga based on Lee I wherein a frequency of a harmonic wave generated; falls outside a communication operating frequency band in which the communication component currently. One reason for the modification as taught by Lee I is to reduce electromagnetic interference of an electronic device such as a mobile phone cause by an oscillator, and thereby improve signal quality of the electronic device (paragraph[0032] of Lee I). The same motivation and rationale to combine for claim 15 mentioned above, in light of corresponding statement of grounds of rejection, applies to each respective dependent claim mentioned in the corresponding statement of grounds of rejection.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable Oga, in view of Lee I, and Darabi, U.S. Patent Application Publication 2010/0203848 A1 (hereinafter Darabi).
Regarding claim 12, Oga and Lee I teach the oscillation frequency control system according to claim 1, further comprising:; but do not teach a frequency calibration component configured to perform frequency calibration on the at least one oscillator.
However, Darabi teaches a frequency calibration component configured to perform frequency calibration on the at least one oscillator (FIG. 3A, paragraph[0040] of Lee I teaches during the open loop calibration, the switch 126 remains in the "OFF" or open state, thus preventing the output from the LF 124 from controlling the VCO 128; instead, the pre-calibration module 136 controls the VCO 128 and enables the VCO 128 output to "lock" to the desired new oscillation frequency (f0) 140; at the same time, the gain calibration module 138 generates a control signal 142 based on the desired new oscillation frequency (f.sub.0) 140 that operates to adjust the charge pump current (ICP) inversely proportional to the square of the desired new oscillation frequency (f0) 140; and once the pre-calibration module 138 locks the VCO 128 onto the desired new oscillation frequency and the gain calibration module 138 programs the charge pump (CP) to compensate for variations in the VCO gain resulting from the change to the new oscillation frequency, the switch 126 closes to enable the control voltage output from the LP 124 to once again control the VCO 128 (i.e., Darabi teaches a pre-calibration module that locks a voltage controlled oscillator (VCO) to output a desired new oscillation frequency)).
Furthermore, Oga, Lee I, and Darabi are considered to be analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor with respect to a display device, and involve the same problem of forming a suitable oscillator for use in the display device. Therefore, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of Oga based on Lee I and Darabi to have a frequency calibration component configured to perform frequency calibration on the at least one oscillator. One reason for the modification as taught by Lee I is to reduce electromagnetic interference of an electronic device such as a mobile phone cause by an oscillator, and thereby improve signal quality of the electronic device (paragraph[0032] of Lee I). Another reason for the modification as taught by Darabi is to suitably compensate for variations in the VCO gain based on the oscillation frequency (ABSTRACT of Darabi).
Potentially Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-11, 13, 16-17, 20-21, and 25 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome applicable rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ) 2nd paragraph indicated above, if any, and if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening, because for each of the claims 2-11, 13, 16-17, 20-21, and 25 the prior art references of record do not teach the combination of all element limitations as presently claimed.
Conclusion
/ABDUL-SAMAD A ADEDIRAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2621