Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. CHINA 202111017214.6, filed on 08/31/2021.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 4, 49, 52, 53, 54 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 49, 53 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yao et al. (US 20220191754, hereinafter, Yao’s 754) in view of Tang ( US 20210007069, hereinafter, Tang’s 069 ).
Regarding to the claim 1, Yao’s 754 teaches a communication method, performed by a user equipment (UE) and comprising:
receiving, within one period periodicity of a synchronization burst ( For example, an SS burst set periodicity = 10 ms (millisecond), a frame (frame) of 10 ms ) [see Paragraph 0303 and Figure 2 ] , N1 (N1=3) synchronization signal bursts (synchronization system burst (SSB) , SSB#0, SSB#1, SSB#L) [see the figure 2], N1 =3, being an integer greater than 1 [see Figure 2 and Paragraph 0303] ;
wherein a periodicity of the N1 synchronization signal bursts (Each SS burst set is always within an interval of 5 ms, and is a first half part or a second half part of a frame (frame) of 10 ms ) within one periodicity of the synchronization signal burst (a frame (frame) of 10 ms )) is a a first half part or a second half part of a frame (frame) , 5 ms) , and the first half or the second half (5ms) is less than the frame of 10 ms [see Paragraph 303 ].
[0303] A synchronization burst set (synchronization signal burst set, SS burst set) is a set of SSBs included in one beam sweep (beam sweep). An SS burst set periodicity is a periodicity of an SSB corresponding to a specific beam, and may be configured as 5 ms (millisecond), 10 ms, 20 ms, 40 ms, 80 ms, 160 ms, or the like. 20 ms is a default periodicity, that is, a periodicity assumed when the terminal device initially searches for a cell. Currently, one SS burst set periodicity has a maximum of L.sub.max SSBs, where L.sub.max=4, 8, or 64. When a carrier frequency is less than or equal to 3 GHz, L.sub.max=4. To be specific, there are a maximum of four SSBs in one SS burst set periodicity, and a maximum of four beam sweeps can be supported. Each SS burst set is always within an interval of 5 ms, and is a first half part or a second half part of a frame (frame) of 10 ms.
However, Yao’s 754 does not explicitly teach a sub-periodicity.
Tang’s 069, from the same or similar fields of endeavor, teaches wherein a periodicity (First sub-period, Second sub-period) [see Figure 2] of the N1 (N=5, SSB1, SSB2, SSB3, SSB4, SSB5) synchronization signal bursts within one periodicity (First Period) of the synchronization signal burst is a sub-periodicity (First sub-period, Second sub-period), and the sub-periodicity (First sub-period, Second sub-period) is less than the periodicity (First period) of the synchronization signal burst [see Figure 2 and Paragraphs 0121, 0123, 0146 & 0155 & 0162] .
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to modify the system of Yao’s 754 in view of Tang’s 069 because Tang’s 069 suggests that in this case, how to effectively transmit the SSB by the network device is a problem worth studying.
Regarding to the claim 49, Yao’s 754 teaches a communication apparatus, comprising: a transceiver;
a processor, in communication connection with the transceiver; and
a memory, in communication connection with the processor and storing instructions executable by the processor;
the instructions, when executed by the processor, being operable with the processor to: cause the transceiver to receive, within one period periodicity of a synchronization burst ( For example, an SS burst set periodicity = 10 ms (millisecond), a frame (frame) of 10 ms ) [see Paragraph 0303 and Figure 2 ] , N1 (N1=3) synchronization signal bursts (synchronization system burst (SSB) , SSB#0, SSB#1, SSB#L) [see the figure 2], N1 =3, being an integer greater than 1 [see Figure 2 and Paragraph 0303] ;
wherein a periodicity of the N1 synchronization signal bursts (Each SS burst set is always within an interval of 5 ms, and is a first half part or a second half part of a frame (frame) of 10 ms ) within one periodicity of the synchronization signal burst (a frame (frame) of 10 ms )) is a a first half part or a second half part of a frame (frame) , 5 ms) , and the first half or the second half (5ms) is less than the frame of 10 ms [see Paragraph 303 ].
[0303] A synchronization burst set (synchronization signal burst set, SS burst set) is a set of SSBs included in one beam sweep (beam sweep). An SS burst set periodicity is a periodicity of an SSB corresponding to a specific beam, and may be configured as 5 ms (millisecond), 10 ms, 20 ms, 40 ms, 80 ms, 160 ms, or the like. 20 ms is a default periodicity, that is, a periodicity assumed when the terminal device initially searches for a cell. Currently, one SS burst set periodicity has a maximum of L.sub.max SSBs, where L.sub.max=4, 8, or 64. When a carrier frequency is less than or equal to 3 GHz, L.sub.max=4. To be specific, there are a maximum of four SSBs in one SS burst set periodicity, and a maximum of four beam sweeps can be supported. Each SS burst set is always within an interval of 5 ms, and is a first half part or a second half part of a frame (frame) of 10 ms.
However, Yao’s 754 does not explicitly teach a sub-periodicity.
Tang’s 069, from the same or similar fields of endeavor, teaches wherein a periodicity (First sub-period, Second sub-period) [see Figure 2] of the N1 (N=5, SSB1, SSB2, SSB3, SSB4, SSB5) synchronization signal bursts within one periodicity (First Period) of the synchronization signal burst is a sub-periodicity (First sub-period, Second sub-period), and the sub-periodicity (First sub-period, Second sub-period) is less than the periodicity (First period) of the synchronization signal burst [see Figure 2 and Paragraphs 0121, 0123, 0146 & 0155 & 0162] .
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to modify the system of Yao’s 754 in view of Tang’s 069 because Tang’s 069 suggests that in this case, how to effectively transmit the SSB by the network device is a problem worth studying.
Regarding to the claim 53, Yao’s 754 teaches a communication method, performed by a base station and comprising:
sending, within one period periodicity of a synchronization burst ( For example, an SS burst set periodicity = 10 ms (millisecond), a frame (frame) of 10 ms ) [see Paragraph 0303 and Figure 2 ] , N1 (N1=3) synchronization signal bursts (synchronization system burst (SSB) , SSB#0, SSB#1, SSB#L) [see the figure 2], N1 =3, being an integer greater than 1 [see Figure 2 and Paragraph 0303] ;
wherein a periodicity of the N1 synchronization signal bursts (Each SS burst set is always within an interval of 5 ms, and is a first half part or a second half part of a frame (frame) of 10 ms ) within one periodicity of the synchronization signal burst (a frame (frame) of 10 ms )) is a a first half part or a second half part of a frame (frame) , 5 ms) , and the first half or the second half (5ms) is less than the frame of 10 ms [see Paragraph 303 ].
[0303] A synchronization burst set (synchronization signal burst set, SS burst set) is a set of SSBs included in one beam sweep (beam sweep). An SS burst set periodicity is a periodicity of an SSB corresponding to a specific beam, and may be configured as 5 ms (millisecond), 10 ms, 20 ms, 40 ms, 80 ms, 160 ms, or the like. 20 ms is a default periodicity, that is, a periodicity assumed when the terminal device initially searches for a cell. Currently, one SS burst set periodicity has a maximum of L.sub.max SSBs, where L.sub.max=4, 8, or 64. When a carrier frequency is less than or equal to 3 GHz, L.sub.max=4. To be specific, there are a maximum of four SSBs in one SS burst set periodicity, and a maximum of four beam sweeps can be supported. Each SS burst set is always within an interval of 5 ms, and is a first half part or a second half part of a frame (frame) of 10 ms.
However, Yao’s 754 does not explicitly teach a sub-periodicity.
Tang’s 069, from the same or similar fields of endeavor, teaches wherein a periodicity (First sub-period, Second sub-period) [see Figure 2] of the N1 (N=5, SSB1, SSB2, SSB3, SSB4, SSB5) synchronization signal bursts within one periodicity (First Period) of the synchronization signal burst is a sub-periodicity (First sub-period, Second sub-period), and the sub-periodicity (First sub-period, Second sub-period) is less than the periodicity (First period) of the synchronization signal burst [see Figure 2 and Paragraphs 0121, 0123, 0146 & 0155 & 0162] .
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to modify the system of Yao’s 754 in view of Tang’s 069 because Tang’s 069 suggests that in this case, how to effectively transmit the SSB by the network device is a problem worth studying.
Claim(s) 4, 52, 54 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yao et al. (US 20220191754, hereinafter, Yao’s 754) in view of Tang ( US 20210007069, hereinafter, Tang’s 069 ), and further in view of BALASUBRAMANIAN et al. ( US 20220095251, hereinafter, BALASUBRAMANIAN’s 251 ).
Regarding to the claim 4, Yao’s 754 and Tang’s 069 teach the limitations of the claim 1 above.
However, Yao’s 754 does not explicitly teach wherein the periodicity of the synchronization signal burst to 160 milliseconds.
BALASUBRAMANIAN’s 251, from the same or similar fields of endeavor, teaches wherein the periodicity of the synchronization signal burst to 160 milliseconds ([0052] The S-SSBs may be transmitted in a periodic manner, and one or more SSBs may repeated within the SSB period (e.g., a period of 16 frames equaling 160 ms). In other words, there may be an effective sub-period (e.g., an SSB interval) within the main SSB period, such that SSBs in the SSB period are separated in time by the sub-period. For example, a UE may be provided a number N.sub.period.sup.S-SSB of S-SSBs in a period of a specific number of time-domain resources (e.g., 16 frames). The UE may assume that a transmission of the S-SSBs in the period is with a periodicity of the specific number of time-domain resources (e.g., 16 frames)) [see Paragraph 0052].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to modify the combined system ( Yao’s 754 and Tang’s 069), and further in view of BALASUBRAMANIAN’s 251 because BALASUBRAMANIAN’s 251 suggests that as the demand for mobile broadband access continues to increase, there exists a need for further improvements in NR and LTE technology. Preferably, these improvements should be applicable to other multi-access technologies and the telecommunication standards that employ these technologies.
Regarding to the claim 52, Yao’s 754 and Tang’s 069 teach the limitations of the claim 49 above.
However, Yao’s 754 does not explicitly teach wherein the periodicity of the synchronization signal burst to 160 milliseconds.
BALASUBRAMANIAN’s 251, from the same or similar fields of endeavor, teaches wherein the periodicity of the synchronization signal burst to 160 milliseconds ([0052] The S-SSBs may be transmitted in a periodic manner, and one or more SSBs may repeated within the SSB period (e.g., a period of 16 frames equaling 160 ms). In other words, there may be an effective sub-period (e.g., an SSB interval) within the main SSB period, such that SSBs in the SSB period are separated in time by the sub-period. For example, a UE may be provided a number N.sub.period.sup.S-SSB of S-SSBs in a period of a specific number of time-domain resources (e.g., 16 frames). The UE may assume that a transmission of the S-SSBs in the period is with a periodicity of the specific number of time-domain resources (e.g., 16 frames)) [see Paragraph 0052].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to modify the combined system ( Yao’s 754 and Tang’s 069), and further in view of BALASUBRAMANIAN’s 251 because BALASUBRAMANIAN’s 251 suggests that as the demand for mobile broadband access continues to increase, there exists a need for further improvements in NR and LTE technology. Preferably, these improvements should be applicable to other multi-access technologies and the telecommunication standards that employ these technologies.
Regarding to the claim 54, Yao’s 754 and Tang’s 069 teach the limitations of the claim 52 above.
However, Yao’s 754 does not explicitly teach wherein the periodicity of the synchronization signal burst to 160 milliseconds.
BALASUBRAMANIAN’s 251, from the same or similar fields of endeavor, teaches wherein the periodicity of the synchronization signal burst to 160 milliseconds ([0052] The S-SSBs may be transmitted in a periodic manner, and one or more SSBs may repeated within the SSB period (e.g., a period of 16 frames equaling 160 ms). In other words, there may be an effective sub-period (e.g., an SSB interval) within the main SSB period, such that SSBs in the SSB period are separated in time by the sub-period. For example, a UE may be provided a number N.sub.period.sup.S-SSB of S-SSBs in a period of a specific number of time-domain resources (e.g., 16 frames). The UE may assume that a transmission of the S-SSBs in the period is with a periodicity of the specific number of time-domain resources (e.g., 16 frames)) [see Paragraph 0052].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing data of the claimed invention to modify the combined system ( Yao’s 754 and Tang’s 069), and further in view of BALASUBRAMANIAN’s 251 because BALASUBRAMANIAN’s 251 suggests that as the demand for mobile broadband access continues to increase, there exists a need for further improvements in NR and LTE technology. Preferably, these improvements should be applicable to other multi-access technologies and the telecommunication standards that employ these technologies.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Conclusion
/CHUONG T HO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2412