DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . This Office Action is responsive to the Applicant's communication filed May 21, 2026. In view of this communication and the amendment concurrently filed: claims 1-16 were previously pending; no claims were cancelled and no claims were added by amendment; and thus, claims 1-16 are now pending in the application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed May 21, 2026 have been fully considered.
The Applicant's first point (page 7 of Remarks) amends claims 4 and 12 to overcome the 112(b) rejections. The Examiner agrees with the Applicant’s amendment, thus the 112(b) rejections are now moot and removed.
The Applicant's second point (page 7-8 of Remarks) amends claim 1 to include limitations not priorly examined. The limitations introduce new structure that is not taught by the previously presented rejection, thus the amendment necessitates a new grounds of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-10 and 12-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over BOEKER (WO 2016005082 A1) in view of VELLY (US 20220052571 A1).
Regarding claim 1, BOEKER teaches:
An axial flux machine(Fig 5; 1)[0035], comprising:
a rotor(Fig 5; 4) rotatably mounted relative to a stator(Fig 5; 3), wherein the stator (Fig 5; 3)has at least one first disc-shaped stator body (Fig 5; 31)[0037] and the rotor (Fig 5; 4)as well as the first stator body (Fig 5; 31) are arranged such that a first magnetically effective gap (Fig 5; 7) through which a cooling fluid can flow is formed axially between the first stator body (Fig 5; 31)and the rotor(Fig 5; 4) [0034],
wherein the axial flux machine (Fig 5; 1) has at least one first cooling circuit(arrows in Fig 5 denote air circuits, the examiner will reference cooling circuits as C1 and C2 respectfully), in which the cooling fluid(air [abstract]), during operation of the axial flux machine(Fig 5; 1), enters the first gap (Fig 5; 7) at a radially inner periphery(Fig 5; 9), flows through the first gap (Fig 5; 7)outwardly in a radial direction, and exits the first gap(Fig 5; 7) at a radially outer periphery(Fig 5; 8) (indicated by the arrow in Fig 5)[0019],
wherein at least one first cooling channel (Fig 5; C1) through which the cooling fluid can flow is arranged at the outer periphery (Fig 5; 8)of the first gap(Fig 5; 7) and guides the cooling fluid back to the radially inner periphery (Fig 5; 9)of the first gap(Fig 5; 7)[0048].
BOEKER does not teach:
further comprises a flow-control valve or switching element(Fig 3; 43/44) in fluid communication with the at least one first cooling circuit(Fig 2; 14) and configured to remain closed below, and to open automatically above, at least one of a predetermined rotor speed, pressure differential or centrifugal force so that circulation of cooling fluid through the at least one first cooling circuit is enabled.
VELLY teaches:
further comprises a flow-control valve or switching element(Fig 3; 43/44) in fluid communication with the at least one first cooling circuit(Fig 2; 14) and configured to remain closed below, and to open automatically above, at least one of a predetermined rotor speed, pressure differential or centrifugal force so that circulation of cooling fluid through the at least one first cooling circuit is enabled (the valves are set to be at predetermined regulation means based on the calibrated pressure[0078-0080]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify BOEKER by using the valves taught by VELLY, in order to make it possible to balance the flow rates injected by the circuit [0081 VELLY]; thus balancing the means of cooling and improving efficiency.
Additionally, the combination BOEKER/VELLY discloses the claimed invention except for the automation of opening and closing the control valve. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to automate the opening and closing of the valve, since it has been held that broadly providing a mechanical or automatic means to replace manual activity which has accomplished the same result involves only routine skill in the art. In re Venner, 120 USPQ 192.
Regarding claim 2, BOEKER in view of VELLY, teaches the axial flux machine according to claim 1:
wherein the rotor (Fig 5; 4)has a rotor shaft (Fig 5; 5) with at least one first disc-shaped rotor body (Fig 5; 4)[0036] arranged on the rotor shaft (Fig 5; 5)in a non-rotatable manner[0042].
Regarding claim 3, BOEKER in view of VELLY, teaches the axial flux machine according to claim 2:
wherein the stator comprises at least one second disc-shaped stator body(Fig 5; 31)(two units [0036]), which is arranged coaxially to the first stator body (Fig 5; 31)and to the rotor shaft (Fig 5; 5)with axial interposition of one of the rotor bodies(Fig 5; 4) spaced apart from the first stator body(Fig 5; 31).
Regarding claim 4, BOEKER in view of VELLY, teaches the axial flux machine according to claim 3:
wherein the axial flux machine (Fig 5; 1) has at least one second cooling circuit(Fig 5; C2), in which the cooling fluid, during operation of the axial flux machine(Fig 5; 1), enters a second gap (Fig 5; 7)at a radially inner periphery (Fig 5; 9) between a stator body (Fig 5; 31)and the rotor (Fig 5; 4) or a second gap (Fig 5; 7)between the motor housing (Fig 5; 13)and the rotor(Fig 5; 14), flows through the second gap (Fig 5; 7)outwardly in a radial direction, and exits the second gap (Fig 5; 7) at a radially outer periphery(Fig 5; 8) (indicated by the arrow in Fig 5)[0019],
wherein at least one of the first cooling channel (Fig 5; C1)or at least one second cooling channel(Fig 5; C2) through which the cooling fluid can flow is arranged at the outer periphery (Fig 5; 9) of the second gap (Fig 5; 7) and guides the cooling fluid back to the radially inner periphery (Fig 5; 8)of the second gap(Fig 5; 7)[0048].
Regarding claim 5, BOEKER in view of VELLY, teaches the axial flux machine according to claim 4:
wherein at least one of the first stator body (Fig 5; 31) or the second stator body (Fig 5; 31)is accommodated in a stator carrier(Fig 5; 2)[0036].
Regarding claim 6, BOEKER in view of VELLY, teaches the axial flux machine according to claim 5:
wherein the stator (Fig 5; 3) is surrounded by the motor housing (Fig 5; 13) at least in sections, wherein at least one of:
the first cooling channel (Fig 5; C1)or the at least one second cooling (Fig 5; C2)channel is formed at least in sections between the motor housing (Fig 5; 13)and the stator(Fig 5; 3)(space 10 in Fig 5); or
the first cooling channel (Fig 5; C1)or the second cooling channel (Fig 5; C2)is formed at least in sections in the motor housing(Fig 5; 13)(space 25 in Fig 7); or
the first cooling channel (Fig 5; C1)or the second cooling channel (Fig 5; C2)is formed at least in sections in or on one of the stator bodies or the stator carrier(space 10 in Fig 4).
Regarding claim 7, BOEKER in view of VELLY, teaches the axial flux machine according to claim 6:
wherein at least one of the first cooling channel (Fig 5; C1)or the second cooling channel (Fig 5; C2)has, in a region of the outer periphery (Fig 5; 8) of one of the gaps(Fig 5; 7), a first cooling channel section (Fig 5; 14)open in the radial direction towards the gap(Fig 5; 7)[0048].
Regarding claim 8, BOEKER in view of VELLY, teaches the axial flux machine according to claim 7:
wherein the first cooling channel (Fig 5; C1)section has, at least in sections, a channel section associated with the first gap and a channel section associated with the second gap(each gap 7 corresponds to each channel section 10).
Regarding claim 9, BOEKER in view of VELLY, teaches the axial flux machine according to claim 8:
wherein at least one of the first cooling channel (Fig 5; C1)and/or the second cooling channel (Fig 5; C2) has a second cooling channel section extending in the axial direction(Fig 5; 12), which connects the first cooling channel section(Fig 5; 14) to a third cooling channel section extending in the radial direction(Fig 5; 12)(cooling channel 12 has two parts a radial and axial portion).
Regarding claim 10, BOEKER in view of VELLY, teaches the axial flux machine according to claim 9:
wherein the rotor shaft (Fig 5; 5)of the rotor (Fig 5; 4) has at least one fourth cooling channel section (Fig 5; 15)extending in the axial direction, which connects the radially inner periphery (Fig 5; 9)of one of the gaps (Fig 5; 7)to the third cooling channel section(Fig 5; 12).
Regarding claim 12, BOEKER in view of VELLY, teaches the axial flux machine according to claim 4.
BOEKER does not teach:
wherein the flow-control valve or switching element is arranged in the first cooling channel and/or the second cooling channel.
VELLY teaches:
wherein the flow-control valve or switching element (Fig 3; 43/44) is arranged in the first cooling channel and/or the second cooling channel(Fig 3; 33/34).
Regarding claim 13, BOEKER in view of VELLY, teaches the axial flux machine according to claim 12:
wherein the control of the flow rate of cooling fluid is implemented in a temperature- dependent manner(the rotor acts as a compressor, which is a pressure dependent manner; thus by innate property a temperature dependent manner for a closed system[0019]).
Regarding claim 14, BOEKER in view of VELLY, teaches the axial flux machine according to claim 13:
wherein the control of the flow rate of cooling fluid is designed such that a circulation of cooling fluid through one of the first or second cooling channels(Fig 5; C1/C2) is enabled in a field weakening region(the field weakening region occurs in the gap 7, and causes a media build up in the outer periphery[0019]) of the axial flux machine, while a circulation of cooling fluid through one of the first or second cooling channels (Fig 5; 10)outside of the field weakening region (Fig 5; 7)of the axial flux machine is at least reduced.
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over BOEKER (WO 2016005082 A1), in view of VELLY (US 20220052571 A1), in further view of CUI (CN 205319816 U).
Regarding claim 11, BOEKER in view of VELLY, teaches the axial flux machine according to claim 10.
Combination BOEKER/VELLY does not teach:
wherein the rotor shaft has a fifth cooling channel section extending in the axial direction through the rotor shaft, which connects the gaps to one another in a communicating manner.
CUI teaches:
wherein the rotor shaft (Fig 1; 1) has a fifth cooling channel section (Fig 1; 7) extending in the axial direction through the rotor shaft(Fig 1; 1), which connects the gaps to one another in a communicating manner[pg 2; 19-26].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the rotary shaft disclosed in BOEKER by the fifth cooling channel section taught by CUI in order to increase the cooling capacity of the stator disc [pg 1; 24-28 CUI].
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/N.L.S./Examiner, Art Unit 2834
/OLUSEYE IWARERE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2834