Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 02/29/2024, and 01/29/2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-14, 16-25, 27-28 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yin et al. (US PG Pub 2018/0233981) in view of Kim et al. (US PG Pub 2022/0336930).
As to independent claim 1, Yin et al. teaches a stator core (60) comprising: a stator body from which extends a plurality of spaced apart slot segments (82) between which intermediate slots (66) are defined; and an insulative member (67) disposed within at least one of the intermediate slots (66), wherein the insulative member (67) contains a polymer composition (see abstract) as shown in figure 1.
However Yin et al. teaches the claimed limitation as discussed above except the polymer composition comprising a polymer matrix that includes a thermotropic liquid crystalline polymer, further wherein the polymer composition exhibits a melt viscosity of about 300 Pa-s or less as determined in accordance with ISO 11443:2021 at a shear rate of 1,000 s1 and temperature of about 15°C above the melting temperature of the composition, and a deflection temperature under load of about 170°C or more as determined in accordance with ISO 75:2013 at a load of 1.8 MPa.
Kim et al. teaches teaches the polymer composition comprising a polymer matrix that includes a thermotropic liquid crystalline polymer, further wherein the polymer composition exhibits a melt viscosity of about 300 Pa-s or less as determined in accordance with ISO 11443:2021 at a shear rate of 1,000 s1 and temperature of about 15°C above the melting temperature of the composition, and a deflection temperature under load of about 170°C or more as determined in accordance with ISO 75:2013 at a load of 1.8 MPa (see paragraph [0042-0043] and (see paragraph [0003]), for the advantageous benefit of providing combination of good insulation properties, heat resistance, and mechanical strength.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify Yin et al. by using the polymer composition comprising a polymer matrix that includes a thermotropic liquid crystalline polymer, further wherein the polymer composition exhibits a melt viscosity of about 300 Pa-s or less as determined in accordance with ISO 11443:2021 at a shear rate of 1,000 s1 and temperature of about 15°C above the melting temperature of the composition, and a deflection temperature under load of about 170°C or more as determined in accordance with ISO 75:2013 at a load of 1.8 MPa, as taught by Kim et al., to provide combination of good insulation properties, heat resistance, and mechanical strength.
As to claim 2/1, Yin et al. teaches wherein the stator body has an annular shape (see figure 2) and defines a central bore for receiving a rotor (34) as shown in figure 2.
As to claim 3/2, Yin et al. teaches wherein the slot segments (82) are spaced apart in a circumferential direction and protrude radially toward the central bore as shown in figures 2-3.
As to claim 4/1, Yin et al. in view of Kim et al. teaches the claimed limitation as discussed above except wherein the polymer composition exhibits a melting temperature of about 250°C to about 440°C .
However Kim et al. teaches the polymer composition exhibits a melting temperature of about 250°C to about 440°C (see paragraph [0024]), for the advantageous benefit of providing combination of good insulation properties, heat resistance, and mechanical strength.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify Yin et al. in view of Kim et al. by using the polymer composition exhibits a melting temperature of about 250°C to about 440°C, as taught by Kim et al., to provide combination of good insulation properties, heat resistance, and mechanical strength.
As to claim 5/1, Yin et al. in view of Kim et al. teaches the claimed limitation as discussed above except wherein the thermotropic liquid crystalline polymer contains repeating units derived from one or more aromatic dicarboxylic acids, one or more aromatic hydroxycarboxylic acids, or a combination thereof.
However Kim et al. teaches the thermotropic liquid crystalline polymer contains repeating units derived from one or more aromatic dicarboxylic acids, one or more aromatic hydroxycarboxylic acids, or a combination thereof (see paragraph [0029]), for the advantageous benefit of providing combination of good insulation properties, heat resistance, and mechanical strength.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify Yin et al. in view of Kim et al. by using the thermotropic liquid crystalline polymer contains repeating units derived from one or more aromatic dicarboxylic acids, one or more aromatic hydroxycarboxylic acids, or a combination thereof, as taught by Kim et al., to provide combination of good insulation properties, heat resistance, and mechanical strength.
As to claim 6/5, Yin et al. in view of Kim et al. teaches the claimed limitation as discussed above except wherein the aromatic hydroxycarboxylic acids include 4-hydroxybenzoic acid, 6-hydroxy-2-naphthoic acid, or a combination thereof.
However Kim et al. teaches the aromatic hydroxycarboxylic acids include 4-hydroxybenzoic acid, 6-hydroxy-2-naphthoic acid, or a combination thereof (see paragraph [0029]), for the advantageous benefit of providing combination of good insulation properties, heat resistance, and mechanical strength.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify Yin et al. in view of Kim et al. by using the aromatic hydroxycarboxylic acids include 4-hydroxybenzoic acid, 6-hydroxy-2-naphthoic acid, or a combination thereof, as taught by Kim et al., to provide combination of good insulation properties, heat resistance, and mechanical strength.
As to claim 7/6, Yin et al. in view of Kim et al. teaches the claimed limitation as discussed above except wherein the aromatic dicarboxylic acids include terephthalic acid, isophthalic acid, 2,6-naphthalenedicarboxylic acid, or a combination thereof.
However Kim et al. teaches the aromatic dicarboxylic acids include terephthalic acid, isophthalic acid, 2,6-naphthalenedicarboxylic acid, or a combination thereof (see paragraph [0030]), for the advantageous benefit of providing combination of good insulation properties, heat resistance, and mechanical strength.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify Yin et al. in view of Kim et al. by using the aromatic dicarboxylic acids include terephthalic acid, isophthalic acid, 2,6-naphthalenedicarboxylic acid, or a combination thereof, as taught by Kim et al., to provide combination of good insulation properties, heat resistance, and mechanical strength.
As to claim 8/5, Yin et al. in view of Kim et al. teaches the claimed limitation as discussed above except wherein the liquid crystalline polymer further contains repeating units derived from one or more aromatic diols.
However Kim et al. teaches the liquid crystalline polymer further contains repeating units derived from one or more aromatic diols (see paragraph [0031]), for the advantageous benefit of providing combination of good insulation properties, heat resistance, and mechanical strength.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify Yin et al. in view of Kim et al. by using the liquid crystalline polymer further contains repeating units derived from one or more aromatic diols, as taught by Kim et al., to provide combination of good insulation properties, heat resistance, and mechanical strength.
As to claim 9/8, Yin et al. in view of Kim et al. teaches the claimed limitation as discussed above except wherein the aromatic diols include hydroquinone, 4,4'-biphenol, or a combination thereof.
However Kim et al. teaches the aromatic diols include hydroquinone, 4,4'-biphenol, or a combination thereof (see paragraph [0031]), for the advantageous benefit of providing combination of good insulation properties, heat resistance, and mechanical strength.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify Yin et al. in view of Kim et al. by using the aromatic diols include hydroquinone, 4,4'-biphenol, or a combination thereof, as taught by Kim et al., to provide combination of good insulation properties, heat resistance, and mechanical strength.
As to claim 10/1, Yin et al. in view of Kim et al. teaches the claimed limitation as discussed above except wherein the thermotropic liquid crystalline polymer is wholly aromatic.
However Kim et al. teaches the thermotropic liquid crystalline polymer is wholly aromatic (see paragraph [0031]), for the advantageous benefit of providing combination of good insulation properties, heat resistance, and mechanical strength.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify Yin et al. in view of Kim et al. by using the thermotropic liquid crystalline polymer is wholly aromatic, as taught by Kim et al., to provide combination of good insulation properties, heat resistance, and mechanical strength.
As to claim 11/1, Yin et al. in view of Kim et al. teaches the claimed limitation as discussed above except wherein the thermotropic liquid crystalline polymer includes repeating units derived from naphthenic hydroxycarboxylic and/or dicarboxylic acids in an amount of about 10 mol.% or more.
However Kim et al. teaches the thermotropic liquid crystalline polymer includes repeating units derived from naphthenic hydroxycarboxylic and/or dicarboxylic acids in an amount of about 10 mol.% or more (see paragraph [0032]), for the advantageous benefit of providing combination of good insulation properties, heat resistance, and mechanical strength.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify Yin et al. in view of Kim et al. by using the thermotropic liquid crystalline polymer includes repeating units derived from naphthenic hydroxycarboxylic and/or dicarboxylic acids in an amount of about 10 mol.% or more, as taught by Kim et al., to provide combination of good insulation properties, heat resistance, and mechanical strength.
As to claim 12/1, Yin et al. in view of Kim et al. teaches the claimed limitation as discussed above except wherein the polymer composition exhibits an in- plane thermal conductivity of about 2 W/m-K or more as determined in accordance with ASTM E1461-13(2022).
However Kim et al. teaches the polymer composition exhibits an in- plane thermal conductivity of about 2 W/m-K or more as determined in accordance with ASTM E1461-13 (see paragraph [0036]), for the advantageous benefit of providing combination of good insulation properties, heat resistance, and mechanical strength.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify Yin et al. in view of Kim et al. by using the polymer composition exhibits an in- plane thermal conductivity of about 2 W/m-K or more as determined in accordance with ASTM E1461-13, as taught by Kim et al., to provide combination of good insulation properties, heat resistance, and mechanical strength.
As to claim 13/1, Yin et al. in view of Kim et al. teaches the claimed limitation as discussed above except wherein the polymer composition exhibits a cross-plane thermal conductivity of about 0.8 W/m-K or more as determined in accordance with ASTM E 1461-13(2022).
However Kim et al. teaches the polymer composition exhibits a cross-plane thermal conductivity of about 0.8 W/m-K or more as determined in accordance with ASTM E 1461-13 (see paragraph [0036]), for the advantageous benefit of providing combination of good insulation properties, heat resistance, and mechanical strength.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify Yin et al. in view of Kim et al. by using the polymer composition exhibits a cross-plane thermal conductivity of about 0.8 W/m-K or more as determined in accordance with ASTM E 1461-13, as taught by Kim et al., to provide combination of good insulation properties, heat resistance, and mechanical strength.
As to claim 14/1, Yin et al. in view of Kim et al. teaches the claimed limitation as discussed above except wherein the polymer composition exhibits an in- plane thermal conductivity of from about 4 to about 8 W/m-K, as determined in accordance with ASTM E 1461-13(2022).
However Kim et al. teaches the polymer composition exhibits an in- plane thermal conductivity of from about 4 to about 8 W/m-K, as determined in accordance with ASTM E 1461-13 (see paragraph [0036]), for the advantageous benefit of providing combination of good insulation properties, heat resistance, and mechanical strength.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify Yin et al. in view of Kim et al. by using the polymer composition exhibits an in- plane thermal conductivity of from about 4 to about 8 W/m-K, as determined in accordance with ASTM E 1461-13, as taught by Kim et al., to provide combination of good insulation properties, heat resistance, and mechanical strength.
As to claim 16/1, Yin et al. in view of Kim et al. teaches the claimed limitation as discussed above except wherein the polymer composition further comprises a thermally conductive filler.
However Kim et al. teaches the polymer composition further comprises a thermally conductive filler (see paragraph [0050]), for the advantageous benefit of providing combination of good insulation properties, heat resistance, and mechanical strength.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify Yin et al. in view of Kim et al. by using the polymer composition further comprises a thermally conductive filler, as taught by Kim et al., to provide combination of good insulation properties, heat resistance, and mechanical strength.
As to claim 17/16, Yin et al. in view of Kim et al. teaches the claimed limitation as discussed above except wherein the thermally conductive filler includes mineral particles.
However Kim et al. teaches the thermally conductive filler includes mineral particles (see paragraph [0051]), for the advantageous benefit of providing combination of good insulation properties, heat resistance, and mechanical strength.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify Yin et al. in view of Kim et al. by using the thermally conductive filler includes mineral particles, as taught by Kim et al., to provide combination of good insulation properties, heat resistance, and mechanical strength.
As to claim 18/17, Yin et al. in view of Kim et al. teaches the claimed limitation as discussed above except wherein the mineral particles include talc.
However Kim et al. teaches the mineral particles include talc (see paragraph [0053]), for the advantageous benefit of providing combination of good insulation properties, heat resistance, and mechanical strength.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify Yin et al. in view of Kim et al. by using the mineral particles include talc, as taught by Kim et al., to provide combination of good insulation properties, heat resistance, and mechanical strength.
As to claim 19/17, Yin et al. in view of Kim et al. teaches the claimed limitation as discussed above except wherein the mineral particles constitute from about 70 to about 250 parts by weight per 100 parts by weight of the polymer matrix.
However Kim et al. teaches the mineral particles constitute from about 70 to about 250 parts by weight per 100 parts by weight of the polymer matrix (see paragraph [0036]), for the advantageous benefit of providing combination of good insulation properties, heat resistance, and mechanical strength.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify Yin et al. in view of Kim et al. by using the mineral particles constitute from about 70 to about 250 parts by weight per 100 parts by weight of the polymer matrix, as taught by Kim et al., to provide combination of good insulation properties, heat resistance, and mechanical strength.
As to claim 20/17, Yin et al. in view of Kim et al. teaches the claimed limitation as discussed above except wherein the mineral particles have a median diameter of from about 1 to about 25 micrometers, specific surface area of from about 1 to about 50 m2/g as determined in accordance with DIN 66131:1993, and/or moisture content of about 5% or less as determined in accordance with ISO 787-2:1981 at a temperature of 105°C.
However Kim et al. teaches the mineral particles have a median diameter of from about 1 to about 25 micrometers, specific surface area of from about 1 to about 50 m2/g as determined in accordance with DIN 66131:1993, and/or moisture content of about 5% or less as determined in accordance with ISO 787-2:1981 at a temperature of 105°C (see paragraph [0038]), for the advantageous benefit of providing combination of good insulation properties, heat resistance, and mechanical strength.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify Yin et al. in view of Kim et al. by using the mineral particles have a median diameter of from about 1 to about 25 micrometers, specific surface area of from about 1 to about 50 m2/g as determined in accordance with DIN 66131:1993, and/or moisture content of about 5% or less as determined in accordance with ISO 787-2:1981 at a temperature of 105°C, as taught by Kim et al., to provide combination of good insulation properties, heat resistance, and mechanical strength
As to claim 21/16, Yin et al. in view of Kim et al. teaches the claimed limitation as discussed above except wherein the thermally conductive filler includes mineral fibers.
However Kim et al. teaches the thermally conductive filler includes mineral fibers (see paragraph [0037]), for the advantageous benefit of providing combination of good insulation properties, heat resistance, and mechanical strength.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify Yin et al. in view of Kim et al. by using the thermally conductive filler includes mineral fibers, as taught by Kim et al., to provide combination of good insulation properties, heat resistance, and mechanical strength
As to claim 22/21, Yin et al. in view of Kim et al. teaches the claimed limitation as discussed above except wherein the mineral fibers include wollastonite.
However Kim et al. teaches the mineral fibers include wollastonite (see paragraph [0037]), for the advantageous benefit of providing combination of good insulation properties, heat resistance, and mechanical strength.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify Yin et al. in view of Kim et al. by using the mineral fibers include wollastonite, as taught by Kim et al., to provide combination of good insulation properties, heat resistance, and mechanical strength.
As to claim 23/21, wherein the mineral fibers constitute from about 10 to about 150 parts by weight per 100 parts by weight of the polymer matrix.
As to claim 24/1, Yin et al. in view of Kim et al. teaches the claimed limitation as discussed above except wherein the polymer composition is free of fillers having an intrinsic thermal conductivity of 100 W/m-K or more.
However Kim et al. teaches the polymer composition is free of fillers having an intrinsic thermal conductivity of 100 W/m-K or more (see paragraph [0036]), for the advantageous benefit of providing combination of good insulation properties, heat resistance, and mechanical strength.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify Yin et al. in view of Kim et al. by using the polymer composition is free of fillers having an intrinsic thermal conductivity of 100 W/m-K or more, as taught by Kim et al., to provide combination of good insulation properties, heat resistance, and mechanical strength.
As to claim 25/1, Yin et al. in view of Kim et al. teaches the claimed limitation as discussed above except wherein the polymer composition exhibits a comparative tracking index of about 170 volts or more as determined in accordance with IEC 60112:2003 at a thickness of 3 millimeters.
However Kim et al. teaches the polymer composition is free of fillers having an intrinsic thermal conductivity of 100 W/m-K or more (see paragraph [0003]), for the advantageous benefit of providing combination of good insulation properties, heat resistance, and mechanical strength.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify Yin et al. in view of Kim et al. by using the polymer composition is free of fillers having an intrinsic thermal conductivity of 100 W/m-K or more, as taught by Kim et al., to provide combination of good insulation properties, heat resistance, and mechanical strength.
As to claim 27/1, Yin et al. teaches a stator (36) comprising the stator core (60) at least one winding (68) disposed on a slot segment (66) of the stator core (60), wherein the insulative member (67) is disposed between the winding (68) and the slot segment (66) as shown in figures 2-3.
As to claim 28/27, Yin et al. teahes a power system comprising the stator (36) of and a rotor (34) as shown in figure 2.
Claim(s) 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yin et al. (US PG Pub 2018/0233981) and Kim et al. (US PG Pub 2022/0336930) as applied in claim 1 above, and further in view of Zia et al. (US PG Pub 2022/0403159).
As to claim 15/1, Yin et al. in view of Kim et al. teaches the claimed limitation as discussed above except wherein the polymer composition exhibits a dielectric strength of about 10 kilovolts per millimeter or more as determined in accordance with IEC 60234-1:2013.
However Zia et al. teaches the polymer composition exhibits a dielectric strength of about 10 kilovolts per millimeter or more as determined in accordance with IEC 60234-1:2013 (see paragraph [0042]), for the advantageous benefit of improving electrical tracking resistance, hydrolysis resistance, flame retardance, tensile modulus, break stress, break strain, and Charpy notched impact strength..
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify Yin et al. in view of Kim et al. by using the polymer composition exhibits a dielectric strength of about 10 kilovolts per millimeter or more as determined in accordance with IEC 60234-1:2013, as taught by Zia et al., to improve electrical tracking resistance, hydrolysis resistance, flame retardance, tensile modulus, break stress, break strain, and Charpy notched impact strength.
Claim(s) 26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yin et al. (US PG Pub 2018/0233981) and Kim et al. (US PG Pub 2022/0336930) as applied in claim 1 above, and further in view of Nakatsuka (6,075,304).
As to claim 26/1, Yin et al. in view of Kim et al. teaches the claimed limitation as discussed above except wherein the insulative member is overmolded onto the stator body so that at least a portion of the insulative member is positioned within at least one of the intermediate slots.
Nakatsuka teaches the insulative member (2) is overmolded onto the stator body so that at least a portion of the insulative member (2) is positioned within at least one of the intermediate slots (4) column 5, lines 24-25), for the advantageous benefit of preventing contaminants from spreading from the stator or abrasion of the wound wire of the rotor, and reduce vibration and noise generated by electric current pulses.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify Yin et al. in view of Kim et al. by using the insulative member is overmolded onto the stator body so that at least a portion of the insulative member is positioned within at least one of the intermediate slots, as taught by Nakatsuka, prevent contaminants from spreading from the stator or abrasion of the wound wire of the rotor, and reduce vibration and noise generated by electric current pulses.
Claim(s) 29 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yin et al. (US PG Pub2018/0233981) and Kim et al. (US PG Pub2022/0336930) as applied in claim 1 above, and further in view of Ademane et al. (US PG Pub 2021/0179070).
As to claim 29/1, Yin et al. in view of Kim et al. teaches the claimed limitation as discussed above except an electric vehicle comprising a powertrain that includes at least one electric propulsion source and a transmission that is connected to the propulsion source via at least one power electronics module, wherein the electric vehicle comprises the stator core.
However Ademane et al. teaches an electric vehicle (100) comprising a powertrain that includes at least one electric propulsion source and a transmission (12) that is connected to the propulsion source via at least one power electronics module (129) , wherein the electric vehicle comprises the stator core (see paragraph [0010]) as shown in figure 1, for the advantageous benefit of providing an reliable electric system.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify Yin et al. in view of Kim et al. by using an electric vehicle comprising a powertrain that includes at least one electric propulsion source and a transmission that is connected to the propulsion source via at least one power electronics module, wherein the electric vehicle comprises the stator core, as taught by Ademane et al., providing an reliable electric system.
Conclusion
/JOSE A GONZALEZ QUINONES/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2834 October 31, 2025