DETAILED ACTION
Applicant’s election with traverse of Group I, claims 1-9, in the reply filed on 5 March 2026 is acknowledged.
Applicant’s traversal is based on the assertion that the claims are novel in view of the cited reference and provide a single inventive concept. Furthermore, applicant asserts that restriction requirements are optional in all cases. M.P.E.P. § 803. If the search and examination of an entire application can be made without serious burden, the Examiner must examine it on the merits, even though it arguably may include claims to distinct or independent inventions. M.P.E.P. § 803. Moreover, it is submitted that Applicants should not be required to incur the additional costs associated with the filing of multiple divisional applications in order to obtain protection for the claimed subject matter.
This is not persuasive since as previously stated, if there is a common technical feature it is isolated exopolysaccharide from cyanobacteria, which is not novel as it is disclosed in the prior art.
Applicant is correct that the restriction is optional; however, that option belongs to the Examiner. As stated previously, there is an examination and search burden for these patentably distinct inventions due to their mutually exclusive characteristics. The inventions require a different field of search (e.g., searching different classes/subclasses or electronic resources, or employing different search queries); and/or the prior art applicable to one inventions would not likely be applicable to another invention; and/or the invention are likely to raise different non-prior art issues under 35 U.S.C. 101 and/or 35 U.S.C. 112(a). Regarding costs of Applications, Applicant is reminded that applying for a patent is also optional. Finally, the possibility of rejoinder of the method claims if the composition claims are found allowable make the added costs irrelevant.
Claims 10-18 are withdrawn as being directed to a nonelected invention.
Claims 1-9 are presented for examination on the merits.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: the term “and” should be placed immediately before the last item in the list, i.e., “16-25 mole percent glucose”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1, 5-6 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more. Claim 1 (and claims dependent thereon) are directed to a composition comprising natural products. The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Effective January 7, 2019, subject matter eligibility determinations under 35 U.S.C. § 101 follow the procedure explained in the Federal Register notice titled 2019 Revised Patent Subject Matter Eligibility Guidance (Federal Register, Vol. 84, No.4, 50-57), which is found at: https://www.govinfo.gov/content/pkg/FR-2019-01-07/pdf/2018-28282.pdf. Applicants are kindly asked to review this guidance as well as MPEP 2106.
The statutory categories of invention under 35 U.S.C. 101 are processes, machines, manufactures, and compositions of matter. However, certain members of these categories constitute judicial exceptions, i.e., the courts have determined that these entities are not patentable subject matter. These judicial exceptions include abstract ideas, laws of nature, and natural phenomena. The Office released guidance on December 16, 2014 for the examination of claims reciting natural products under 35 U.S.C. 101 in light of the recent Supreme Court decisions in Association for Molecular Pathology v. Myriad Genetics, Inc. (569 U.S. ___, 133 S. Ct. 2107, 2116, 106 USPQ2d 1972 (2013)) and Mayo Collaborative Services v. Prometheus Laboratories (566 U.S. ___, 132 S. Ct. 1289, 101 USPQ2d 1961 (2012)), Diamond v. Chakrabarty, 447 U.S. 303 (1980)) and Funk Brothers Seed Co. v. Kalo Inoculant Co. - 333 U.S. 127 (1948)). (inter alia). See eg. MPEP 2106.04(b)
The Supreme Court has explained that the judicial exceptions reflect the Court’s view that abstract ideas, laws of nature, and natural phenomena are "the basic tools of scientific and technological work", and are thus excluded from patentability because "monopolization of those tools through the grant of a patent might tend to impede innovation more than it would tend to promote it." Alice Corp., 134 S. Ct. at 2354, 110 USPQ2d at 1980 (quoting Myriad, 133 S. Ct. at 2116, 106 USPQ2d at 1978 and Mayo Collaborative Servs. v. Prometheus Labs. Inc., 566 U.S. 66, 71, 101 USPQ2d 1961, 1965 (2012)). The Supreme Court’s concern that drives this "exclusionary principle" is pre-emption. Alice Corp., 134 S. Ct. at 2354, 110 USPQ2d at 1980. The Court has held that a claim may not preempt abstract ideas, laws of nature, or natural phenomena; i.e., one may not patent every "substantial practical application" of an abstract idea, law of nature, or natural phenomenon, even if the judicial exception is narrow.
While preemption is the concern underlying the judicial exceptions, it is not a standalone test for determining eligibility. Rapid Litig. Mgmt. v. CellzDirect, Inc., 827 F.3d 1042, 1052, 119 USPQ2d 1370, 1376 (Fed. Cir. 2016). Instead, questions of preemption are inherent in and resolved by the two-part framework from Alice Corp. and Mayo (the Alice/Mayo test referred to by the Office as Steps 2A and 2B). It is necessary to evaluate eligibility using the Alice/Mayo test, because while a preemptive claim may be ineligible, the absence of complete preemption does not demonstrate that a claim is eligible.
Products of Nature: When a law of nature or natural phenomenon is claimed as a physical product, the courts have often referred to the exception as a "product of nature". Products of nature are considered to be an exception because they tie up the use of naturally occurring things, but they have been labeled as both laws of nature and natural phenomena. See Myriad 133 S. Ct. at 2116-17, 106 USPQ2d at 1979 (claims to isolated DNA held ineligible because they "claim naturally occurring phenomena" and are "squarely within the law of nature exception"); Funk Bros. Seed Co. v. Kalo Inoculant Co., 333 U.S. 127, 130, 76 USPQ 280, 281 (1948) (claims to bacterial mixtures held ineligible as "manifestations of laws of nature" and "phenomena of nature"). Step 2A of the Office’s eligibility analysis uses the terms "law of nature" and "natural phenomenon" as inclusive of "products of nature".
It is important to keep in mind that product of nature exceptions include both naturally occurring products and non-naturally occurring products that lack markedly different characteristics from any naturally occurring counterpart. Instead, the key to the eligibility of all non-naturally occurring products is whether they possess markedly different characteristics from its closest naturally occurring counterpart.
When a claim recites a nature-based product limitation, examiners use the markedly different characteristics analysis discussed in MPEP § 2106.04(c) to evaluate the nature-based product limitation and determine the answer to Step 2A. Nature-based products, as used herein, include both eligible and ineligible products and merely refer to the types of products subject to the markedly different characteristics analysis used to identify product of nature exceptions.
The Markedly Different Characteristics Analysis
The markedly different characteristics analysis is part of Step 2A, because the courts use this analysis to identify product of nature exceptions. If the claim includes a nature-based product that has markedly different characteristics, then the claim does not recite a product of nature exception and is eligible. If the claim includes a nature-based product that does not exhibit markedly different characteristics from its closest naturally occurring counterpart in its natural state, then the claim is directed to a "product of nature" exception (Step 2A: YES), and requires further analysis in Step 2B to determine whether any additional elements in the claim add significantly more to the exception.
Nature-based Product Claim Analysis
Where the claim is to a nature-based product by itself, the markedly different characteristics analysis should be applied to the entire product.
Where the claim is to a nature-based product produced by combining multiple components, the markedly different characteristics analysis should be applied to the resultant nature-based combination, rather than its component parts. Where the claim is to a nature-based product in combination with non-nature based elements, the markedly different characteristics analysis should be applied only to the nature-based product limitation. For a product-by-process claims, the analysis turns on whether the nature-based product in the claim has markedly different characteristics from its naturally occurring counterpart.
The markedly different characteristics analysis compares the nature-based product limitation to its naturally occurring counterpart in its natural state. Markedly different characteristics can be expressed as the product’s structure, function, and/or other properties, and are evaluated based on what is recited in the claim on a case-by-case basis. If the analysis indicates that a nature-based product limitation does not exhibit markedly different characteristics, then that limitation is a product of nature exception. If the analysis indicates that a nature-based product limitation does have markedly different characteristics, then that limitation is not a product of nature exception.
Because the markedly different characteristics analysis compares the nature-based product limitation to its naturally occurring counterpart in its natural state, the first step in the analysis is to select the appropriate counterpart(s) to the nature-based product.
When there are multiple counterparts to the nature-based product, the comparison should be made to the closest naturally occurring counterpart. When the nature-based product is a combination produced from multiple components, the closest counterpart may be the individual nature-based components of the combination. Because there is no counterpart mixture in nature, the closest counterparts to the claimed mixture are the individual components of the mixture, i.e., each naturally occurring species by itself. See, e.g., Funk Bros., 333 U.S. at 130, 76 USPQ at 281 (comparing claimed mixture of bacterial species to each species as it occurs in nature).
Markedly changed characteristics can include structural, functional, chemical changes. In order to show a marked difference, a characteristic must be changed as compared to nature, and cannot be an inherent or innate characteristic of the naturally occurring counterpart or an incidental change in a characteristic of the naturally occurring counterpart. Myriad, 133 S. Ct. at 2111, 106 USPQ2d at 1974-75. Thus, in order to be markedly different, applicant must have caused the claimed product to possess at least one characteristic that is different from that of the counterpart.
If there is no change in any characteristic, the claimed product lacks markedly different characteristics, and is a product of nature exception.
The claims are directed to a composition comprising nature-based components (i.e. isolated exopolysaccharide from cyanobacteria), which is not markedly different from its closest naturally-occurring counterpart because there is no indication that their combination or preparation has caused the nature-based product to have any characteristics that are markedly different from the closest naturally-occurring product and the claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. The rationale for this determination is explained below:
Step 1: Determine if the claims are directed to one of the four statutory categories of patentable subject matter identified by 35 U.S.C. 101: a process, machine, manufacture or composition of matter. YES, the claims are directed to a composition of matter, which is a statutory category within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter.
Step 2A: PRONG ONE: Evaluate whether the claim recites a Judicial Exception
(e.g., law of nature, natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea). YES, the claims are product claims reciting something that appears to be a nature-based product (i.e., isolated exopolysaccharide from cyanobacteria) which is not markedly different from the closest naturally-occurring counterpart (i.e., the individual nature-based products).
Note: with respect to extracts of natural products such as plants, the closest naturally-occurring counterpart is always the same compounds found in the extract, present in the non-isolated form in the source plant material. Extracts that are made simply by separating the extracted components from the non-extracted components, is a partitioning process that absent any specific chemical modification, merely separates the compounds leaving their activities unchanged.
Ingredients recited in the claims are natural products that would occur naturally; thus, the claims involve the use of judicial exceptions. There is no indication in the record of any markedly different characteristics (either structural or functional) of the composition as broadly claimed. For example, there is no evidence of record of a structural difference between the extract(s) in the claimed composition and that of their nature-based counterparts. Consequently, the claimed compositions are structurally the same as their closest naturally- occurring counterparts.
Nor is there any difference in functional characteristics. To show a marked difference, the characteristic(s) must be changed as compared it closest natural-occurring counterpart. For example, and assertion of changed functionality must be accompanied with evidence of a comparison of the claimed composition with its closest naturally-occurring counterpart and should apply to the full scope of the claim. Furthermore, inherent or innate characteristics of the naturally occurring counterpart cannot show a marked difference. Likewise, differences in the characteristics that came about or were produced independently of any effort or influence by Applicant cannot show a marked difference.
The recitation of specific amounts of the ingredients does not affect this analysis because it is well known and routine in the art to mix specific amounts of active ingredients with additional ingredients. Therefore, the claim is not meaningfully limited and does not amount to significantly more than each product of nature by itself. Finally, the claimed mixture is like the novel bacterial mixture of Funk Brothers, which was held ineligible because each species of bacteria in the mixture (like each component in the instantly claimed mixture) continued to have “the same effect it always had”, i.e., it lacked markedly different characteristics. Funk Brothers Seed Co. v. Kalo Inoculant Co., 333 U.S. 127, 131 (1948), discussed in Myriad Genetics, 133 S. Ct. at 2117. While not discussed in the opinion, it is noted that several of the claims held ineligible in Funk Brothers recited specific amounts of the bacterial species in the mixture, e.g., claims 6, 7 and 13. Funk Brothers, 333 U.S. at 128 n.1.
Thus, there is no evidence of record to indicate that the claimed product is markedly different, structurally, chemically, functionally, than its closest naturally occurring counterpart.
PRONG TWO: Evaluate whether the judicial exception is integrated into a practical application. The claims are directed to a composition, not its practical use such as a particular treatment or prophylaxis for a disease or medical condition.
Thus the cited claims are directed to a judicial exception to patentable subject matter.
Step 2b: Determine whether the claim directed to a judicial exception provides an inventive concept. For example, the claims may recite additional elements that amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. In the instant case, NO, the claims are directed to an extract composition without any other components that could add significantly more to the exception. No other specific limitations other than what is well-understood, routine and conventional in the field at a high level of generality have been added to the claimed nature-based product (e.g., addition of well-known ingredients).
Thus, the claimed product is not eligible subject matter under current 35 USC 101 standards.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over over Coragliotti et al. (US 2012/0202768) in view of Gil Vaconcelos Mota et al. (US 2019/0240334) and Mancinelli et al. (US 9,034,632) [cited by Applicant in IDS filed 2/29/2024]
Coragliotti discloses a composition comprising one or more isolated exopolysaccharide (the composition comprises a polysaccharide that is part of a microalgal cell, Para. [013]; the composition may contain a purified microalgal polysaccharide, such as an exopolysaccharide, Para. [014]), wherein the monosaccharide content of the exopolysaccharide (methods of producing polysaccharides with novel monosaccharide compositions, Para. [0098]) comprises 3-9 mole percent arabinose (22 mole percent arabinose, Para. [0173]), 10-15 mole percent rhamnose (15-55 mole percent rhamnose, Para. [0173]), 7-15 mole percent fucose (the polysaccharide contains less than a 0.1%, or less than a 0.01%, molar amount of at least one monosaccharide selected from the group consisting of arabinose, galacturonic acid, fucose, Para. [0183]), 25-35 mole percent xylose (about 26.6 mole percent xylose, Para. [0175]), 5-10 mole percent glucuronic acid (0.1-15 mole percent glucuronic acid, Para. [0173]), 4-12 mole percent mannose (8-16 mole percent mannose, Para. [0174]), 3-5 mole percent galactose (1-45 mole % galactose, Para. [0173]), 16-25 mole percent glucose (0.5-10 mole % glucose, Para. [0173]).
Coragliotti discloses the composition wherein the exopolysaccharide is milled to provide exopolysaccharide particles having an average particle size of in a range of from about 400 microns and about 0.1 microns (wherein the exopolysaccharide is milled to provide exopolysaccharide particles having an average particle size of between about 400 microns and about 0.1 microns, Claim 48).
Coragliotti discloses wherein the average particle size of the exopolysaccharide particles is in a range of from about 50 microns and about 200 microns (isolated exopolysaccharide is milled to an average particle size of between about 50 and about 200 microns, Claim 64).
Coragliotti discloses the composition wherein the exopolysaccharide particles are partially soluble in water (the dried polysaccharide particles are partially soluble such that they are from less than about 70% to less than about 1% soluble in water, Para. [0024]; see also Claim 50).
Coragliotti discloses the composition wherein the exopolysaccharide is suspended in water to have a viscosity of in a range of from about 1 cP and about 1000 cP (dried, purified microalgal polysaccharides that are resuspended in water at a 1% w/v concentration have a viscosity of between 500 cP and 1000 cP, Para. [0196]).
Coragliotti discloses the composition wherein the exopolysaccharide particles increase in volume upon contact with water compared to the anhydrous volume of the exopolysaccharide particles (the polysaccharide particles increase in volume, or swell, on contact with water or water vapor. Thus the volume of the polysaccharide particles increases compared to its anhydrous or partially hydrated volume before exposure to the water or water vapor, Para. [0025]; see also Claim 54).
Coragliotti discloses the composition wherein the exopolysaccharide particles at least double in volume (the particles increase in volume by an amount selected from at least about 5%, at least about 25%, at least about 50%, at least about 100%, at least about 200%, at least about 300%, by at least about 500%, at least about 1000%, or at least about 5000%, Para. [0195]; see also Claim 55).
Coragliotti discloses the composition wherein the exopolysaccharide(s) are formulated with at least one excipient suitable for topical administration (Other compositions include those containing one or more microalgal polysaccharides and a suitable carrier or excipient for topical or oral administration, Para. [0008]; see also Claim 56).
Coragliotti fails to explicitly disclose cyanobacteria of the genus Synechococcus and/or Cyanothece or to explicitly disclose the exopolysaccharide(s) are from Synechococcus CCMP 1333, or Synechococcus PCC 7002, or Cyanothece Miami BG 043511.
Gil Vasconcelos Mota et al. is in the field of cyanobacterium extracellular polymer (Abstract) and teaches cyanobacteria of the genus Cyanothece in cosmetic compositions (a released polysaccharidic polymer (RPS) produced by the unicellular cyanobacterium Cyanothece sp., Para. [0012]; polysaccharide released from Cyanothece sp. CCY0110 for use in medicine, pharmaceutical, cosmetic or food industry, Para. [0013]; and the polysaccharide comprises mannose, glucose, galactose, xylose, arabinose, rhamnose, fucose, galacturonic and glucuronic acids, Para. [0015]).
Mancinelli et al. is in the field of compositions and methods for culturing microorganisms (Abstract) and teaches heteropolysaccharides from Synechococcus CCMP 1333, Synechococcus PCC 7002, and Cyanothece Miami BG 043511 (cyanobacterium extracellular polymer a polysaccharide heteropolysaccharide, Para. [0002]; consortia or groups of cyanobacteria and/or yeast include, by way of non-limiting examples: strains of Synechococcus and Trichodesmium such as CCMP 2669, CCMP1333, and CCMP 1985; strains of Synechococcus, Trichodesmium, and Cyanothecae such as Cyanothece sp. Miami BG043511; strains of Synechococcus and Cyanothecae such as Cyanothece sp. Miami BG043511; and multiple strains of Synechococcus such as PCC 7002 and CCMP 2669, and CCMP 1333, Para. [0051]; see also Claims 1 & 8).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the Application to modify Coragliotti with the teaching of Gil Vasconcelos Mota for the purpose of including cyanobacteria of the genus Synechococcus and/or Cyanothece for making compositions. The motivation for doing so would have been to produce a composition comprising a polysaccharide with a monosaccharide profile wherein the polysaccharide is extracted from cyanobacteria of the genus Synechococcus and/or Cyanothece. Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time to modify Coragliotti with the teaching of Mancinelli et al. for the purpose of extracting polysaccharides from cyanobacteria of the genera Synechococcus CCMP 1333, Synechococcus PCC 7002, and Cyanothece Miami BG 043511 and using the polysaccharides in compositions. The motivation for doing so would have been to extract polysaccharide from cyanobacteria of different genus like Synechococcus CCMP 1333, Synechococcus PCC 7002, and Cyanothece Miami BG 043511 and thereby using it in skin care compositions.
In KSR Int'l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398 (2007), the Supreme Court emphasized a flexible approach to the obviousness question, stating that the analysis under 35 U.S.C. § 103 "need not seek out precise teachings directed to the specific subject matter of the challenged claim, for a court can take account of the inferences and creative steps that a person of ordinary skill in the art would employ." Id. at 418; see also id. at 421 ("A person of ordinary skill is... a person of ordinary creativity, not an automaton."). In KSR, the Supreme Court indicated that the obviousness analysis should consider the “background knowledge possessed by a person having ordinary skill in the art.” KSR Int’l Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398 (2007). Under KSR, information deemed within PHOSITA’s general knowledge is more powerful than that found buried in a prior art reference because we assume that PHOSITA would consider using their general knowledge in combination with the prior art — even absent any express motivation to do so. Under 35 U.S.C. § 103, the obviousness inquiry turns not only on the prior art, but whether “the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious . . . to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains.” 35 U.S.C. § 103. Regardless of the tribunal, the inquiry into whether any “differences” between the invention and the prior art would have rendered the invention obvious to a skilled artisan necessarily depends on such artisan’s knowledge.
The adjustment of particular conventional working conditions is deemed merely a matter of judicious selection and routine optimization which is well within the purview of the skilled artisan. It is well settled that "discovery of an optimum value of a result effective variable in a known process is ordinarily within the skill of the art." In re Boesch, 617 F.2d 272, 276, 205 USPQ 215, 219 (CCPA 1980). See also Merck & Co. V. Biocraft Labs. Inc., 874 F.2d 804, 809, 10 USPQ2d 1843, 1847-48 (Fed. Cir. 1989) As both dosages, routes of administration, dosage frequency and timing are known to the ordinary artisan, it would have been obvious to optimize the mode of administration as well as dosage amounts and frequency. It also would have been prima facie obvious to optimize the dosage regimen for an additive or synergistic therapeutic result because the general conditions of the dosages are disclosed in the prior art and it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation and the art expects that dosages of the invention will vary depending upon such factors as the subject's age, weight, height, sex, general medical conditions and previous medical conditions. See e.g. MPEP2144.05.
Accordingly, the instant claims, where no unexpected results are observed, would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill having the above cited references before him/her.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/RUSSELL G FIEBIG/Examiner, Art Unit 1655