DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 03/01/24 was considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings were received on 02/29/24.
Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” “Disclosed are”, etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed. It does not appear to capture the essence of the disclosed/claimed invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2 and 6-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by the publication CN 101345293 (heretofore CN’293).
As to claims 1-2, 10:
CN’293 discloses that it is known in the art to make an energy storage apparatus comprising a housing/enclosure including an opening/aperture and open space/cavity accommodating a cell element; an end cover/cap connected to the housing/enclosure to cover the opening/aperture and including a second opening/hole; wherein the end cover includes a metallic member/element on inner surface thereof and a protrusion/projection passing through the second opening/hole; and an insulating seal/member disposed between the metallic member/element and the end cover/cap; wherein electrodes of the cell element are electrically connected to the metallic member/element and the end cover/cap or the housing/enclosure, respectively (see page 1, paragraphs 1-5; page 2, paragraphs 1-5; and see FIGURES 1-2).
As to claim 6:
CN’293 teaches the cell element comprising positive and negative electrode components connected to the metallic element/member and the end cover/cap, respectively, a separator-electrolyte interposed therebetween and projecting therefrom, thereby forming a wound laminated/layered structure (see page 1, paragraphs 1-5; page 2, paragraphs 1-5; and see FIGURES 1-2).
As to claims 7-8:
CN’293 teaches the metallic member/element includes explosion proof/venting resistance section/area/region/mark/point/segment/zone (see page 1, paragraphs 1-5; page 2, paragraphs 1-5; and see FIGURES 1-2)
As to claim 9:
CN’293 discloses the insulating seal/member comprises an annular body/shape which is arranged between the metallic element/member and the end cover/cap and extending into the second opening/hole located between the protrusion/projection and the inner surface of the end cover/cap (see page 1, paragraphs 1-5; page 2, paragraphs 1-5; and see FIGURES 1-2).
Thus, the present claims are anticipated.
(at least) Claims 1 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by the publication CN 215911481 (heretofore CN’481).
As to claim 1, 10:
CN’481 discloses that it is known in the art to make an energy storage apparatus (see paragraphs 0001-0006; 0008-0013; 0015-0021; see CLAIMS 1-10; see FIGURE 2) comprising a housing/enclosure including an opening/aperture and open space/cavity accommodating a cell element; an end cover/cap connected to the housing/enclosure to cover the opening/aperture and including a second opening/hole; wherein the end cover includes a metallic member/element on inner surface thereof and a protrusion/projection passing through the second opening/hole; and an insulating seal/member disposed between the metallic member/element and the end cover/cap (see paragraphs 0001-0006; 0008-0013; 0015-0021; see CLAIMS 1-10; see FIGURE 2).
Thus, the present claims are anticipated.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the publication CN 101345293 (heretofore CN’293) as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of the publication CN 112635922 (herein called CN’922).
CN’293 is applied, argued and incorporated herein for the reasons manifested supra. However, the preceding reference does not expressly disclose the specific electrode connector comprising respective first/second/third bending sections connected thereto.
As to claims 3-5:
In the same field of applicant’s endeavor, CN’922 discloses that it is known in the art to make a battery cell element comprising electrode connectors/lead/tabs comprising respective firsts, second, third bending section (bent areas/segment) connected therebetween, to the cell and to the metallic element/member; and also including respective insulating elements/components (paragraphs 0010-0055; see FIGURES 1 & 5).
In view of the above, it would have been within the purview of a skilled artisan prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the specific electrode connector comprising respective first/second/third bending sections connected thereto of CN’922 into the battery cell element of CN’293 because CN’922 teaches that the specifically disclosed electrode connectors assist in preventing burrs from making contact with the battery cell in the welding/contact areas, thereby reducing the risk of corrosive liquid leakage and ensuring effective sealing of the battery cell. Further, all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art. Stated differently, combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results is prima-facie obvious. KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 US- 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1396 (2007). KSR, 550 U.S. at 416, 82 USPQ2d at 1395; Sakraida v. AG Pro, Inc., 425 U.S. 273, 282, 189 USPQ 449, 453 (1976); Anderson’s-Black Rock, Inc. v. Pavement Salvage Co., 396 U.S. 57, 62-63, 163 USPQ 673, 675 (1969); Great Atl. & P. Tea Co. v. Supermarket Equip. Corp., 340 U.S. 147, 152, 87 USPQ 303, 306 (1950).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The following references are concerned with the claimed subject matter: Iwaizono et al’921 and/or Takahashi et al’184.
/RAYMOND ALEJANDRO/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1752