DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, the phrase “and continuously manufacturing a hot-dip metal-coated steel strip..." in claim 1 is indefinite because the scope of "continuously manufacturing hot-dip metal-coated steel strip" in describing the hot-dip metal-coated steel strip is unclear whether is the same hot-dip metal-coated steel strip as the preamble.
Regarding claim 1, the phrase “the paired gas wiping nozzles are operated under conditions in a range enclosed by lines expressed by (equation 1) to (equation 5) below: D/B = 0.1 x θ + 9… (equation 2)" in claim 1 is indefinite because the scope of " D/B = 0.1 x θ + 9… (equation 2)" in describing the operation under conditions is unclear, because D/B = 0.1 x θ + 9… (equation 2) is out of range of D/B and θ and not meet the condition of equations 1, 3, 4 and 5.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ohama et al. (US 3,681,118).
Regarding claim 1, Ohama teaches a method for manufacturing a hot-dip metal-coated steel strip (Abstract, Col. 1, lines 39-44), the method comprising: continuously dipping a steel strip (4) in a molten metal bath (3); pulling up the steel strip from the molten metal bath; injecting a gas onto the pulled-up steel strip by using paired gas wiping nozzles (5, 5) arranged on both front and back surface sides of the steel strip, the paired gas wiping nozzles having slit gas injection ports extending in a width direction of the steel strip to a range wider than a width of the steel strip as shown in Fig. 2, the gas being injected through the slit gas injection ports to adjust an adhesion amount of molten metal which adheres to both surfaces of the steel strip as shown in Fig. 3; and continuously manufacturing a hot-dip metal-coated steel strip as shown in Figs, 2 and 3, wherein the wiping nozzles is directed onto the steel strip faces at an angle (θ) of about 3 to 45 degrees, in examples 1 and 2 the angles are 30 or 15 degrees for example, spacing between nozzles to steel strip (D) is 3 to 20 mm, in examples 1 and 2 the distances are 5 and 7 for examples, the openings of the nozzles (B) have a size of about 0.3 to 3 millimeters, in examples 1 and 2 the openings are 0.9 and 1 mm for example, the ratio of D/B =3/0.3 =10, or 20/3=6.7 for examples in the claimed ranges enclosed by the equations (Col. 3 lines 75 – Col. 4 lines 19, Table 4, Col. 9-10, Table 1, Col.12, lines 35-68, Figs. 2 and 3).
Regarding claim 2, Ohama teaches wherein the distance H between each front edge of the gas injection ports of the paired gas wiping nozzles and a liquid surface of the molten metal bath is 250 mm for example, wherein a temperature T (°C) of the gas immediately after injected through the paired gas wiping nozzles is 200 °C to 500 °C for example 400 °C and 500 °C in examples 1 and 2 satisfies a relational expression TM - 150 < T < TM + 250 in relation to a melting point TM (°C) of the molten metal (Zn) is 419 °C (Col.12, lines 35-68, Table 4).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ohama et al. (US 3,681,118) as applied to claims 1-2, and further in view of Terasaki et al. (WO 2020/039869 A1 with US 2021/0310109 A1 as English translation).
Regarding claim 3, Ohama teaches a method for manufacturing a hot-dip metal-coated steel strip as disclosed above. Ohama does not explicitly teach wherein each of the paired gas wiping nozzles has a nozzle header and an upper nozzle member and a lower nozzle member which are connected to the nozzle header, wherein, in a cross-sectional view in a direction perpendicular to the width direction of the steel strip, front edge portions of the upper nozzle member and the lower nozzle member are parallel to and face each other to form the gas injection port, and wherein the gas is passed through the nozzle header and injected through the gas injection port. However, an analogous art, Terasaki teaches a method of producing a hot-dip metal coated steel strip with a pair of gas wiping nozzles (20A and 20B), wherein the nozzle (20A) includes a nozzle header (22) and an upper nozzle member (24) and a lower nozzle member (26) connected to the nozzle header (22) which are connected to the nozzle header, wherein, in a cross-sectional view in a direction perpendicular to the width direction of the steel strip, front edge portions of the upper nozzle member and the lower nozzle member are parallel to and face each other to form the gas injection port, and wherein the gas is passed through the nozzle header and injected through the gas injection port as shown in Figs. 2 and 3 (Abstract, [0035], Figs. 2 and 3). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply wiping nozzles to the method in Ohama, because Terasaki disclosed the use of wiping nozzles excess molten metal is wiped away to adjust the coating weight on both sides of the steel strip S and also uniformize the coating weight in the sheet transverse direction and the sheet longitudinal direction ([0033]).
Regarding claim 4, Ohama teaches a method for manufacturing a hot-dip metal-coated steel strip as disclosed above. Ohama does not explicitly teach wherein each of the paired gas wiping nozzles has a nozzle header and an upper nozzle member and a lower nozzle member which are connected to the nozzle header, wherein, in a cross-sectional view in a direction perpendicular to the width direction of the steel strip, front edge portions of the upper nozzle member and the lower nozzle member are parallel to and face each other to form the gas injection port, and wherein the gas is passed through the nozzle header and injected through the gas injection port. However, an analogous art, Terasaki teaches a method of producing a hot-dip metal coated steel strip with a pair of gas wiping nozzles (20A and 20B), wherein the nozzle (20A) includes a nozzle header (22) and an upper nozzle member (24) and a lower nozzle member (26) connected to the nozzle header (22) which are connected to the nozzle header, wherein, in a cross-sectional view in a direction perpendicular to the width direction of the steel strip, front edge portions of the upper nozzle member and the lower nozzle member are parallel to and face each other to form the gas injection port, and wherein the gas is passed through the nozzle header and injected through the gas injection port as shown in Figs. 2 and 3 (Abstract, [0035], Figs. 2 and 3). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply wiping nozzles to the method in Ohama, because Terasaki disclosed the use of wiping nozzles excess molten metal is wiped away to adjust the coating weight on both sides of the steel strip S and also uniformize the coating weight in the sheet transverse direction and the sheet longitudinal direction ([0033]).
Regarding claim 5, Ohama teaches wherein an internal pressure of the nozzle header is 0.5 kilogram per square centimeter (49 kPa) for example (Col.12, lines 35-68).
Regarding claim 6, Ohama teaches wherein an internal pressure of the nozzle header is 0.5 kilogram per square centimeter (49 kPa) for example (Col.12, lines 35-68).
Regarding claim 7, Ohama teaches a method for manufacturing a hot-dip metal-coated steel strip as disclosed above. Ohama does not explicitly teach wherein baffle plates are placed between the paired gas wiping nozzles so as to face the gas injection ports on outsides of both edges in the width direction of the steel strip. However, an analogous art, Terasaki teaches a method of producing a hot-dip metal coated steel strip with baffle plates (40 and 42) are placed between the paired gas wiping nozzles so as to face the gas injection ports on outsides of both edges in the width direction of the steel strip as shown in Figs. 4-6 (Abstract, [0037], Figs. 4-6). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply baffle plates to the method in Ohama, because Terasaki disclosed the use of baffle plates prevent the gas sprayed from the pair of nozzles from directly colliding with each other, thus contributing to reduced splashing ([0037]).
Regarding claim 8, Ohama teaches a method for manufacturing a hot-dip metal-coated steel strip as disclosed above. Ohama does not explicitly teach wherein baffle plates are placed between the paired gas wiping nozzles so as to face the gas injection ports on outsides of both edges in the width direction of the steel strip. However, an analogous art, Terasaki teaches a method of producing a hot-dip metal coated steel strip with baffle plates (40 and 42) are placed between the paired gas wiping nozzles so as to face the gas injection ports on outsides of both edges in the width direction of the steel strip as shown in Figs. 4-6 (Abstract, [0037], Figs. 4-6). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply baffle plates to the method in Ohama, because Terasaki disclosed the use of baffle plates prevent the gas sprayed from the pair of nozzles from directly colliding with each other, thus contributing to reduced splashing ([0037]).
Regarding claim 9, Ohama teaches a method for manufacturing a hot-dip metal-coated steel strip as disclosed above. Ohama does not explicitly teach wherein baffle plates are placed between the paired gas wiping nozzles so as to face the gas injection ports on outsides of both edges in the width direction of the steel strip. However, an analogous art, Terasaki teaches a method of producing a hot-dip metal coated steel strip with baffle plates (40 and 42) are placed between the paired gas wiping nozzles so as to face the gas injection ports on outsides of both edges in the width direction of the steel strip as shown in Figs. 4-6 (Abstract, [0037], Figs. 4-6). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply baffle plates to the method in Ohama, because Terasaki disclosed the use of baffle plates prevent the gas sprayed from the pair of nozzles from directly colliding with each other, thus contributing to reduced splashing ([0037]).
Regarding claim 10, Ohama teaches a method for manufacturing a hot-dip metal-coated steel strip as disclosed above. Ohama does not explicitly teach wherein baffle plates are placed between the paired gas wiping nozzles so as to face the gas injection ports on outsides of both edges in the width direction of the steel strip. However, an analogous art, Terasaki teaches a method of producing a hot-dip metal coated steel strip with baffle plates (40 and 42) are placed between the paired gas wiping nozzles so as to face the gas injection ports on outsides of both edges in the width direction of the steel strip as shown in Figs. 4-6 (Abstract, [0037], Figs. 4-6). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply baffle plates to the method in Ohama, because Terasaki disclosed the use of baffle plates prevent the gas sprayed from the pair of nozzles from directly colliding with each other, thus contributing to reduced splashing ([0037]).
Regarding claim 11, Ohama teaches a method for manufacturing a hot-dip metal-coated steel strip as disclosed above. Ohama does not explicitly teach wherein baffle plates are placed between the paired gas wiping nozzles so as to face the gas injection ports on outsides of both edges in the width direction of the steel strip. However, an analogous art, Terasaki teaches a method of producing a hot-dip metal coated steel strip with baffle plates (40 and 42) are placed between the paired gas wiping nozzles so as to face the gas injection ports on outsides of both edges in the width direction of the steel strip as shown in Figs. 4-6 (Abstract, [0037], Figs. 4-6). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply baffle plates to the method in Ohama, because Terasaki disclosed the use of baffle plates prevent the gas sprayed from the pair of nozzles from directly colliding with each other, thus contributing to reduced splashing ([0037]).
Regarding claim 12, Ohama teaches a method for manufacturing a hot-dip metal-coated steel strip as disclosed above. Ohama does not explicitly teach wherein baffle plates are placed between the paired gas wiping nozzles so as to face the gas injection ports on outsides of both edges in the width direction of the steel strip. However, an analogous art, Terasaki teaches a method of producing a hot-dip metal coated steel strip with baffle plates (40 and 42) are placed between the paired gas wiping nozzles so as to face the gas injection ports on outsides of both edges in the width direction of the steel strip as shown in Figs. 4-6 (Abstract, [0037], Figs. 4-6). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to apply baffle plates to the method in Ohama, because Terasaki disclosed the use of baffle plates prevent the gas sprayed from the pair of nozzles from directly colliding with each other, thus contributing to reduced splashing ([0037]).
Conclusion
/HAI Y ZHANG/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1717