DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 8 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 8 recites “A polyamide resin composition crosslinked material obtainable by”. The claim should instead read “A polyamide resin composition crosslinked material obtained by.”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Analysis
Summary of Claim 1:
A polyamide resin composition which comprises
55 to 78% by mass of an aliphatic polyamide resin (A),
20 to 35% by mass of glass fiber (B),
1 to 9% by mass of a crosslinking agent (C),
0.1 to 1.5% by mass of a heat-resistant agent (D) and
0 to 6% by mass of an inorganic filler other than glass fiber (E) in 100% by mass of the polyamide resin composition, and
the aliphatic polyamide resin (A) has an average number of carbon atoms per one amide group of exceeding 6.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 and 7-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stoppelmann (US 20100237271 as listed on IDS dated February 29, 2024) and as evidence by datasheet PA12 provided in this Office Action.
Regarding claim 1, Stoppelmann discloses a polyamide resin composition Example 8 comprises 67.80 mass% of nylon 12, 15.00 mass% of glass fibers, 1.7 mass% of a crosslinking agent TAI, 0.25 mass% of Irganox 1010 which is a heat-resistant agent (Table 2, Example 8), thereby lying within the claimed range of the aliphatic polyamide resin (A), crosslinking agent, heat resistant agent, and an inorganic filler other than the glass fiber. Nylon 12 has 12 carbons per amide group, thereby lying within the claimed range of an average number of carbon atoms per one amide group of exceeding 6.
Stoppelmann discloses the amount of glass fibers in Example 8 is 15.00 mass%, thereby lying outside the claimed range.
However, Stoppelmann broadly teaches the amount of glass fibers present in the composition is 0 to 30% by mass (claim 1 and 4). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to add the glass fibers to the polyamide composition in the amount taught by Stoppelmann.
Regarding claim 2 and 3, Stopplemann discloses in the resin composition of Example 8 the aliphatic polyamide is polyamide 12 (Table 2), which is known to have a melting point of 178° as evidenced by the datasheet provided and thereby lies within the claimed range of instant claim 2 and the polyamide is a polydodecaneamide homopolymer as recited in instant claim 3.
Regarding claim 4, Stoppelmann discloses in the resin composition of Example 8 the crosslinking agent is TAIC or triallyl isocyanurate, thereby reading on the instant claim.
Regarding claim 7 and 8, Stoppelman discloses the polyamide resin composition of Example 8 is used to produce a molding and crosslinked by irradiation with electrons [0104], thereby reading on the molded product of instant claim 7 and a polyamide resin composition crosslinked material of instant claim 8.
Regarding claim 9, Stoppelman is silent on the density of the polyamide resin composition crosslinked material as recited in the instant claim.
However, Stoppelman teaches a polyamide resin composition crosslinked material that is substantially identical to the claimed material as rejected above in claim 8. In view of the substantially identical polyamide resin composition crosslinked material, the polyamide resin composition crosslinked material of Stoppelman will possess the claimed properties because density is an inherent property. Because the PTO does not have proper means to conduct experiments, the burden of proof is now shifted to Applicant to show otherwise. (See In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 195 USPQ 430 (CCPA 1977); In re Fitzgerald, 205 USPQ 594 (CCPA 1980).)
Claims 5 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Stoppelman (US 20100237271 as listed on IDS dated February 29, 2024) in view of Masai et al. (WO 2010084845 as listed on IDS dated February 29, 2024).
The examiner refers to the machine English translation of Masai et al. provided in this Office Action.
The polyamide resin of claim 1 is incorporated herein by reference.
Regarding claim 5, Stoppelman discloses the polyamide resin composition of Example 8 comprises Irganox 1010, which is an organic heat resistant agent.
Stoppelman is silent on a heat resistant agent that is an inorganic-based resistant agent as recited in the instant claim.
Masai et al. teach a resin composition comprising a thermoplastic resin that is a polyamide resin and a filler (claim 10). Masai et al. further teach the resin composition may comprise heat stabilizers such as hindered phenols, phosphorous compounds, copper compounds and alkali metal halides (page 27, line 9-11), thereby reading on the inorganic-based heat-resistant agent of the instant claim. The examiner notes that the substitution of equivalents (i.e., hindered phenols and alkali metal halides) requires no express motivation as long as the prior art recognizes the equivalency. In re Fount USPQ 532 (CCPA 1982); In re Siebentritt, 152 USPQ 618 (CCPA 1967); Graver Tank & Mfg. Co. Inc. v Linde Air Products Co., 85 USPQ 328 (USSC). Therefore, it is prima facie obvious that hindered phenols and alkali metal halides as heat stabilizers are considered to be equivalent (exchangeable), it is held that substitution of art recognized equivalents is within the level of ordinary skill in the art. (MPEP § 2144.06).
Regarding claim 6, Stoppelman is silent on if the glass fibers used in Example 8 are surface treated as recited in the instant claim.
Masai et al. teach the glass fiber used may be surface treated with a coupling agent (page 16, line 13-14), thereby reading on a glass fiber that is surface treated by a surface treatment agent. Masai et al. further offer the motivation that surface treating the filler with a coupling agent improves adhesion with the thermoplastic resin (A). Stopplemnan also broadly teaches the glass fibers may be surface treated [0074]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to surface treat the glass fiber with a surface treatment agent since it is well known in the art for use in compositions comprising thermoplastic resin such as polyamides and glass fibers to improve compatibility.
Conclusion
/ANDREA WU/Examiner, Art Unit 1763