Status of the Claims
In the reply of 8/3/26, the following has occurred:
Claim(s) 1-4, 9, 11-15, 20 is/are amended
Claim(s) 5-6, 16 is/are canceled
Claim(s) 21 is/are new
Claim(s) 1-4, 7-15, 17-21 is/are pending
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group II, claims 11-18, in the reply filed on 8/3/26 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the prior art described in the requirement for restriction fails to read on the shared technical features. This is found persuasive; however, the restriction requirement is being maintained for the reasons described below.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claims 1-10, 19 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected Invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 8/3/26.
In particular, the prior art listed below reads on the shared technical feature (updated to reflect the latest claim amendments):
AT 516178 B1 to Markus reads on the shared technical features:
Markus teaches a device for carrying out a method of heating solids in a reactor to produce a heat-treated material (fig. 1), the method comprising:
continuously feeding solids into the reactor at a feeding end of the reactor (material feed, which is understood to receive solids substantially continuously),
conveying the solids through the reactor from the feeding end to a discharge end so as to form a material bed extending from the feeding end to the discharge end (p. 4 para. 5, “The auger ensures a continuous transport and at the same time a constant circulation of the feed material.”),
heating the solids during the conveying step to at least 600°C (pp. 4-5, “The process is preferably carried out so that the waste in the first section of the reaction chamber are heated to a temperature of 600-1,000°C.”),
wherein the material bed is mobilized during the conveying step to renew the surface of the material bed that is exposed to the radiative heating (p. 4 para. 5, “The auger ensures a continuous transport and at the same time a constant circulation of the feed material. When the auger itself is heated, it also causes the permanent renewal of the material in contact with the heated surface.” Where the heat transfer would be at least partially radiative, per se),
wherein the radiative heating comprises emitting thermal radiation from a plurality of radiant heater elements that are arranged at a roof and/or at side walls of the reactor along the material bed (coil 6, p. 5, second to last paragraph, “A coil 6 connectable to a power source surrounds the reactor jacket and forms an inductive heating for the screw conveyor 3.”), and
wherein the radiant heater elements are operated by electrical energy only (p. 4 para. 6, “Advantageously, it is provided that the conveyor is electrically heated, in particular inductive, conductive or capacitive. With such heating, the atmosphere in the first section of the reaction chamber can be kept reliably anoxic.”) or by a mixture of electrical energy and another source of energy (optional limitation, see mapping to alternative).
Claim Interpretation
Regarding claim 11. The claim recites the limitation, “the conveyor is configured to mobilize the solids during the conveying step in order to renew a surface of a material bed of the solids that is exposed to radiative heating from the radiant heater elements”. This limitation is being interpreted consistent with para. 14 of the Applicant’s PGPUB, which states, “Further, the mobilizing of the material bed during the conveying step results in that too high or too low temperatures are avoided within the material bed. The mobilizing step causes a constant renewal of the surface of the material that is exposed to the radiative heating.” Therefore, prior art that simply conveys the material past radiative heaters would not read on claim 11, even though a “new” surface is provided to the radiative heaters as it gets conveyed past. For example, US 3432397 A to Berg, cited as a relevant prior art reference in the conclusion, does not read on claim 11 since the material surface is not “renewed”.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the conveyor details of claims 14-15 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
The claims are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 11 should read, “… heating the solids during the conveying step to at least 600°C[[.]], …” to remove an inadvertent period.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 11-13, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by AT 516178 B1 to Markus.
Note: Reference is made to the attached translation of Markus.
Regarding claim 11. Markus teaches a device (fig. 1) for carrying out a method according to claim 1 (intended use which the device is capable of) comprising:
a reactor (reactor 1) having a feeding opening at a feeding end (material feed 2) and a discharge opening at a discharge end (discharge line 10),
a conveyor arranged within the reactor for conveying solids through the reactor from the feeding end to the discharge end (screw conveyor 3), and
radiant heater elements that are arranged at a roof and/or at side walls of the reactor along the conveyor (coil 6) for heating the solids during the conveying step (p. 5, second to last paragraph, “A coil 6 connectable to a power source surrounds the reactor jacket and forms an inductive heating for the screw conveyor 3.” Where the heating of the material via conveyor would at least partially involve radiative heating, per se) to at least 600°C[[.]] (pp. 4-5, “The process is preferably carried out so that the waste in the first section of the reaction chamber are heated to a temperature of 600-1,000°C.”),
wherein the conveyor is configured to mobilize the solids during the conveying step (it is understood that the conveyor “conveys” the solids through the reactor, i.e. mobilizes the solids) in order to renew a surface of a material bed of the solids that is exposed to radiative heating from the radiant heater elements (p. 4 para. 5, “The auger ensures a continuous transport and at the same time a constant circulation of the feed material. When the auger itself is heated, it also causes the permanent renewal of the material in contact with the heated surface.”),
wherein the radiant heater elements are operated by electrical energy only (p. 4 para. 6, “Advantageously, it is provided that the conveyor is electrically heated, in particular inductive, conductive or capacitive. With such heating, the atmosphere in the first section of the reaction chamber can be kept reliably anoxic.”) or by a mixture of electrical energy and another source of energy (optional limitation, see mapping to alternative).
Regarding claim 12. Markus teaches the device according to claim 11, wherein the conveyor comprises at least one feeding screw extending between the feeding end and the discharge end of the reactor (screw conveyor 3).
Regarding claim 13. Markus teaches the device according to claim 12, wherein the at least one feeding screw is configured as a heating element that is heated by electrical energy (p. 4 para. 6, “Advantageously, it is provided that the conveyor is electrically heated, in particular inductive, conductive or capacitive. With such heating, the atmosphere in the first section of the reaction chamber can be kept reliably anoxic.”).
Regarding claim 20. Markus teaches the device according to claim 11,wherein the radiative heating elements contribute at least 60% of the thermal energy needed for heating the solids during conveying (the coil 6 is the only heating means of the reactor 1 and therefore supplies 100% of the thermal energy during conveying through the reactor 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Markus as applied to claim 11 above, and further in view of US 6375345 B1 to Lepez.
Regarding claim 21. Markus teaches the device according to claim 13,
But fails to teach wherein the electrical energy provides resistance heating to heat the at least one feeding screw.
Lepez teaches electrical energy provides resistance heating to heat the at least one feeding screw (abstract, “At least the helical portion (4) of the transfer member (2) is made in its bulk of an electrically conductive material, and the transfer member (2) has means (11) for connecting it to an electricity power supply so as to constitute heater means.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the device of Markus to implement a suitable resistance heating means as taught by Lepez. This would provide the predictable result and benefit of suitably heating the screw conveyor, and therefore the material, of Markus, as suggested by Lepez in col. 3 l. 60 – col. 4 l. 10.
Claim Interpretation: The inductive heating of Markus is being interpreted as distinct from the claimed resistance heating. In particular, although induction heating relies on a material’s electrical resistance to eddy currents to convert electrical energy into heat, one of ordinary skill in the art would not have considered it as resistance heating, see attached NPL to Induction Technology Solutions, What Is Induction Heating And How Does it Work?, accessed on 9/16/26 (not relied on as prior art). See in particular the first paragraph where induction heating is compared to resistance heating.
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Markus as applied to claim 11 above, and further in view of GB 2493069 A to Stamp.
Regarding claim 17. Markus teaches the device according to claim 11,
But fails to teach further comprising a preheater for preheating the solids before feeding the solids into the reactor.
Stamp teaches a preheater for preheating the solids before feeding the solids into the reactor (pp. 8-9, “A pre-heater 29 is connected to the inlet duct 17 and is arranged to heat limestone prior to introduction into the vessel 11. The pre-heater 29 is connected to the fluid-to-air heat exchanger 28 by pipes 30 so that the hot liquid from the heat exchanger 28 is used to pie-heat the limestone before introduction to the vessel 11.”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the device of Markus to implement a suitable preheater, as taught by Stamp. This would provide the predictable result and benefit of heating the material prior to being introduced into the reactor, as suggested by Stamp in the portion cited above.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 14-15, 18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
Regarding claim 14. Markus, applied to claim 11, represents the closest prior art of record to the claimed invention. The prior art fails to teach, “wherein the conveyor comprises a walking floor conveyor”, in addition to the rest of the claim.
Instead, Markus teaches a screw conveyor, where the screw conveyor is heated inductively. Furthermore, it would not have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide a walking floor conveyor, as claimed, because it would change the principle operation of Markus.
It is known in the art from DE 102004009689 A1 to Morgenroth to provide a walking floor conveyor (fig. 8, copied below, where walking floor 8 conveys the material, as noted in the abstract, “'walking floor' (8) on which solid fuel is carried through the reactor”).
Note: Reference is made to the attached translation of Morgenroth.
However, Morgenroth fails to read on the claimed invention because the walking floor does not mobilize the material bed during the conveying step in order to renew the surface of the material bed that is exposed to radiative heating, see claim interpretation section above, as claimed, in addition to failing to teach radiant heater elements that are operated by electrical energy only or by a mixture of electrical energy and another source of energy.
Regarding claim 15. Markus, applied to claim 11, represents the closest prior art of record to the claimed invention. The prior art fails to teach, “wherein the conveyor comprises a gas inlet for introducing a fluidizing gas that fluidizes the material to transport it.”, in addition to the rest of the claim.
Instead, as noted above with respect to claim 14, Markus teaches a screw conveyor for moving the material through the reactor, where the screw conveyor is heated inductively. Furthermore, it would not have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to replace the screw conveyor of Markus with a fluidizing gas, as claimed, since Markus would no longer be able to achieve the desired heating of the material via the inductively heated screw conveyor.
Regarding claim 18. Markus, applied to claim 11, represents the closest prior art of record to the claimed invention.
Markus teaches the device according to claim 11 (see rejection to claim 11).
The prior art fails to teach, “providing the device according to claim 11 to produce a concentrated CO2 stream from calcined material, where the CO2 content in the stream is at least 80 vol.-%”, in addition to the rest of the claim.
Instead, Markus teaches subjecting waste materials to pyrolysis to produce a syngas, where the syngas is comprised of CO, and not CO2. Furthermore, it would not have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to produce a concentrated CO2 stream, as claimed, since this would go against the principle operation of Markus; see p. 6 para. 2 which suggests a reduced amount of CO2 when operated at the desired temperature range.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
US 3432397 A to Berg, teaches a device in which material is conveyed past heaters, see fig. 3.
/KURT J WOLFORD/Examiner, Art Unit 3762
/STEVEN S ANDERSON II/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3762