Response to Amendment
The amendment filed May 12, 2026 has been entered. Claims 9 and 11-13 remain pending in the application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on May 12, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
On pp. 5-7 of Applicant’s response, Applicant argues the combination of Convida Wireless and Huawei does not teach the limitations of amended claims 9 and 11-13.
In particular, Applicant argues that Huawei does not teach two BFD-RSs are quasi co- located (QCLed) with a demodulation reference signal (DM-RS) because “[s]ection 2.1 of Huawei discusses that the BFD-RS is QCL with the DMRS of the physical downlink control channel (PDCCH). That is, Huawei at most teaches that one BFD-RS and one DMRS are QCL. However, Huawei fails to teach two BFD-RSs being QCL with one DMRS.” (See p. 6, Applicant’s response). Examiner disagrees.
Huawei describes that “[a]ccording to the agreements, all the beam failure detection RS should be QCLed with DMRS of PDCCH.” (Emphasis added). (Huawei p. 1, line 32). In other words, Huawei is describing that every BFD-RS should be QCLed with DMRS of PDCCH. The Office Action cited Convida Wireless to teach determining “that two BFD-RSs included in the BFD-RS set” of claim 9. On p. 2, line 12 of Convida Wireless, it is described that even with Rel-15/16, the number of RSs in BFD-RS set can be two. Therefore, given the teaching of Huawei to QCL all the BFD-RSs in a BFD-RS set with DMRS of PDCCH, and the teaching of Convida Wireless that you can have 2 RSs in a BFD-RS set, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the invention of Convida Wireless to incorporate the teachings of Huawei to have two BFD-RSs that are QCLed with a DMRS of CORESET with two TCI states.
Applicant further argues that Convida Wireless does not teach the limitation “wherein the processor assesses one radio link quality for the CORESET, based on the two TCI states” of claim 9, and that “Convida Wireless at most teaches that the UE assesses the radio link quality per BFD-RS set that is determined based on a CORESET with two activated TCI states.” (See p. 7, Applicant’s response). Examiner disagrees.
Convida Wireless teaches assessing the radio link quality per BFD-RS set and further teaches that UE determines the BFD-RS set from the RS sets, where the RS sets are indicated by the RRC IE TCI-State for the CORESETs. (see p. 2, lines 1, and 21 and 22, Convida Wireless). Therefore, assessing the radio link quality per BFD-RS set also determines the radio link quality for the CORESET to which BFD-RS set is associated with. Thus, at least under BRI, Convida Wireless teaches “wherein the processor assesses one radio link quality for the CORESET, based on the two TCI states” of claim 9.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 9 and 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Convida Wireless (“On Multi-TRP BFR”; R1-2105590) in view of Huawei et al. (“Summary of remaining issues on beam failure recovery”; R1-1803637).
Regarding claim 9, Convida Wireless teaches “[a] terminal comprising: a receiver that receives a configuration indicating a beam failure detection reference signal (BFD-RS) set” (see p. 2, lines 21 and 22; UE (i.e., terminal) determines the BFD-RS set from the RS sets, where the RS sets are indicated (i.e., the terminal receives) by the RRC IE TCI-State (i.e., configuration) for the CORESETs; UEs (terminal) comprise receivers; thus, a terminal comprises a receiver that receives a configuration indicating a beam failure detection reference signal (BFD-RS) set); and
Convida Wireless further teaches “a processor that determines that two BFD-RSs included in the BFD-RS set . . . of a control resource set (CORESET) associated with two transmission configuration indication (TCI) states” (see p. 2, lines 12-16, 18, 19, and 21 – 23; BFD in the context of a CORESET with two activated TCI states was discussed and it was agreed that the total number of RSs (i.e., BFD-RSs) in two BFD-RS sets per DL BWP is a UE capability and since this UE capability is introduced, there is no need to introduce an additional UE capability for the number RS per BFD-RS set; max number of BFD-RSs in a BFD-RS set can be two; UEs comprise processors; therefore, the terminal comprises processor that can determine that two BFD-RSs included in the BFD-RS set of a control resource set (CORESET) associated with two transmission configuration indication (TCI) states),
Convida Wireless also teaches “wherein the processor assesses one radio link quality for the CORESET, based on the two TCI states” (p. 2, lines 1, 25, and 26; physical layer in the UE assesses the radio link quality per BFD-RS set; since the BFD-RS set can be for a CORESET with two activated TCI states, the UE is at least implicitly assessing the radio link quality based on the two TCI states; thus, the terminal assesses one radio link quality for the CORESET, based on the two TCI states).
Convida Wireless does not explicitly teach BFD-RSs “are quasi co- located (QCLed) with a demodulation reference signal (DM-RS)” of claim 9. However, foregoing limitation was well known prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention. For example, Huawei teaches BFD-RSs “are quasi co- located (QCLed) with a demodulation reference signal (DM-RS)” (see p. 1, line 32; all the beam failure detection RS (i.e. BFD-RS) should be QCLed with DMRS of PDCCH; thus, the BFD-RSs (included in the BFD-RS set) are quasi co- located (QCLed) with a demodulation reference signal (DM-RS)). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the invention of Convida Wireless to incorporate the teachings of Huawei to have two BFD-RSs that are QCLed with a DMRS of CORESET with two TCI states. The suggestion to do so would have been to implement the agreed upon standards for telecommunications (see p. 1, line 17 of Huawei).
Regarding claim 11, it is a method claim corresponding to claim 9 that has been rejected above. Applicant’s attention is directed to the rejection of claim 9. Claim 11 is rejected under the same rationale.
Regarding claim 12, Convida Wireless teaches “[a] base station comprising: a transmitter that transmits a configuration indicating a beam failure detection reference signal (BFD-RS) set” (see p. 2, lines 21 and 22; UE determines the BFD-RS set from the RS sets, where the RS sets are indicated (i.e., the base station transmits) by the RRC IE TCI-State (i.e., configuration) for the CORESETs; base stations comprise transmitters; thus, a base station comprising a transmitter transmits a configuration indicating a beam failure detection reference signal (BFD-RS) set); and
Convida Wireless further teaches “a processor that determines that two BFD-RSs included in the BFD-RS set . . . of a control resource set (CORESET) associated with two transmission configuration indication (TCI) states” (see p. 2, lines 12-16, 18, 19, and 21 – 23; BFD in the context of a CORESET with two activated TCI states was discussed and it was agreed that the total number of RSs (i.e., BFD-RSs) in two BFD-RS sets per DL BWP is a UE capability and since this UE capability is introduced, there is no need to introduce an additional UE capability for the number RS per BFD-RS set; base station comprises processors; therefore, the base station can determine number of BFD-RSs included in the BFD-RS set).
Convida Wireless also teaches “wherein one radio link quality for the CORESET is assessed, based on the two TCI states” (p. 2, lines 1, 25, and 26; physical layer in the UE assesses the radio link quality per BFD-RS set; since the BFD-RS set can be for a CORESET with two activated TCI states, at least implicitly, the radio link quality for the CORESET is being assessed based on the two TCI states; thus, one radio link quality for the CORESET is assessed, based on the two TCI states).
Convida Wireless does not explicitly teach BFD-RSs “are quasi co- located (QCLed) with a demodulation reference signal (DM-RS)” of claim 9. However, foregoing limitation was well known prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention. For example, Huawei teaches BFD-RSs “are quasi co- located (QCLed) with a demodulation reference signal (DM-RS)” (see p. 1, line 32; all the beam failure detection RS (i.e. BFD-RS) should be QCLed with DMRS of PDCCH; thus, the BFD-RSs (included in the BFD-RS set) are quasi co- located (QCLed) with a demodulation reference signal (DM-RS)). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the invention of Convida Wireless to incorporate the teachings of Huawei to have a BFD-RSs that are QCLed with a DMRS of CORESET with two TCI states. The suggestion to do so would have been to implement the agreed upon standards for telecommunications (see p. 1, line 17 of Huawei).
Regarding claim 13, it is a system claim corresponding to claims 9 and 12 that has been rejected above. Applicant’s attention is directed to the rejection of claims 9 and 12. Claim 13 is rejected under the same rationale.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SRIHARSHA REDDY VANGAPATY/ Examiner, Art Unit 2475
/HASHIM S BHATTI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2475