DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to applicant’s filing dated September 16, 2026.
Status of claims
Claims 1, 5, 7, 15, 25, 32, 40-41, 44, 47, 50-51, 56-57, 61, 63, 79, 81, 102, 116-118, 121, 125, 130-131 and 137 are pending in the instant application.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Groups I and III, claims 1, 5, 7, 15, 25, 32, 40-41, 44, 47, 50-51, 56, 117-118, 121, and 125, drawn to compounds of Formula (I) and a method of altering the conformation of a nucleic acid comprising contacting the nucleic acid with a compound of Formula (I) in the reply filed on September 16, 2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 57, 61, 63, 79, 81, 102, 116, 130-131 and 137 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on September 16, 2026.
Applicant’s election without traverse of N-(8-methoxy-2-methylimidazo[1,2-a]pyrazin-6-yl)-5-(piperazin-1-yl)cinnoline-8- carboxamide:
(Specification, page 81, Ex. 179) as a single species of compound of Formula (I) in the reply filed on September 16, 2026 is acknowledged. Upon performing the search of prior art Examiner detected compounds related to non-elected species. Hence, the examination will expand to include non-elected species, compound of formula (I-f, claim 51).
Claim 50 is withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on September 16, 2026.
Claims 1, 5, 7, 15, 25, 32, 40-41, 44, 47, 51, 56, 117-118, 121, and 125 are under examination in the present office action.
Priority
The present application is a 371 of PCT/US2022/075683, filed August 30, 2022, and claims the benefits of priority to U.S. Application No. 63/238,687, filed on August 30, 2021; U.S. Application No. 63/238,693, filed on August 30, 2021; U.S. Application No. 63/238,424, filed on August 30, 2021; U.S. Application No. 63/282,902, filed on November 24, 2021; and U.S. Application No. 63/393,202, filed on July 28, 2022.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 02/29/2024 and 09/16/2026 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 121 and 125 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 121 and 125, reciting the term “e.g.” which is equivalent to the phrase "for example" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claim 56 recites the limitation "compounds shown in Table 1" without a chemical name is ambiguous and indefinite. It is unclear what the scope of the limitation "compounds shown in Table 1" is. Claims must stand alone to define invention, and incorporation into claims by express reference to specification is not permitted, are properly rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112 (b), see Ex parte Fressola, No. 93-0828. Incorporation of the limitation "compounds shown in Table 1" with a chemical name or structure into claim 56 respectively would obviate the rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 5, 7, 15, 25, 32, 40-41, 44, 47, 51, 56, 117-118, 121, and 125 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being obvious over Reynolds et al (WO 2021/174164 A1, cited in IDS, filed 02/29/2024, hereinafter Reynolds).
The applied reference has a common applicant and join inventors with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2).
Regarding claims 1, 5, 7, 15, 25, 32, 40-41, 44, 47, 51, 56 and 117, drawn to a compound of Formula (I):
, such as compound of Formula (I-b):
or Formula (I-f):
, where W, X, Y, and Z are each independently C(R3a) or N, wherein at least one of W, X, Y, and Z is independently N, R3a is hydrogen; m is 0-2; A and B are each independently cycloalkyl, heterocyclyl (e.g.
or
), aryl, or heteroaryl (e.g.
,
or
) each of which is optionally substituted with one or more R1, R1 is hydrogen, C1-C6 alkyl; L1 is absent, C1-C6-alkylene, -O-, -C(O)-, -N(R4)-, -N(R4)C(O)-, or -C(O)N(R4)-, R4 is hydrogen. The exemplary compounds of Formula (I) are:
(Specification, page 81, Ex. 179),
(Specification, page 80, Ex. 170). The instant claims are further drawn to a pharmaceutical composition comprising a compound of Formula (I) and a pharmaceutically acceptable excipient.
Reynolds teaches compounds of Formula (I-a):
,where W, X, Y, and Z are each independently C(R3a) or N, R3a is hydrogen; m is 0-2; A and B are each independently cycloalkyl, heterocyclyl (e.g.
or
), aryl, or heteroaryl (e.g.
,
or
) each of which is optionally substituted with one or more R1, R1 is hydrogen, C1-C6 alkyl; L2 is absent, C1-C6-alkylene, -O-, -C(O)-, -N(R4)-, -N(R4)C(O)-, or -C(O)N(R4)-, R4 is hydrogen. The exemplary compounds of Formula (I) are:
(page 172, Ex. 113),
(page 167, Ex. 100). Reynolds further teaches A pharmaceutical composition comprising a compound of Formula (I-a) and a pharmaceutically acceptable excipient (page 5, 2nd paragraph).
Thus, since Reynolds teaches structurally similar compounds of the same genus formula as instantly claimed, and where all the structural elements of the molecule are equivalent to those of instant claims, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to select and combine known structural elements of the molecule, and make various structural analogs acting as nucleic acid splicing modulators, to arrive at claimed compounds. The one of ordinary skills would be motivated to do so in search of an active agent, which is capable of modulating nucleic acid splicing and having improved desired properties, with the reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claims 118 and 121, drawn to a compound of Formula (I), where the compound is capable of altering a target nucleic acid, binding to a target nucleic acid or stabilizing a target nucleic acid, and where the compound increases splicing at splice site on a target nucleic acid, by about 0.5% to 95%, or more, or the compound decreases splicing at splice site on a target nucleic acid, by about 0.5% to 95%, or more, Reynolds teaches compounds of Formula (I-a), which alters a target nucleic acid or binds to a target nucleic acid, and where the compound increases splicing at splice site on a target nucleic acid, by about 0.5% to 95%, or more, or the compound decreases splicing at splice site on a target nucleic acid, by about 0.5% to 95%, or more (page 4, 3rd paragraph). Thus, compounds taught by Reynolds and instantly claimed compounds exhibit the same mechanism of action in the cell.
Regarding claim 125, drawn to a method of altering the conformation of a nucleic acid (e.g., a DNA, RNA, e.g., a pre-mRNA) comprising contacting the nucleic acid with a compound of Formula (I), Reynolds teaches a method of altering the conformation of a nucleic acid (e.g., a DNA, RNA, e.g., a pre-mRNA) comprising contacting the nucleic acid with a compound of Formula (I). Thus, Reynolds teaches the same method, appling the same compounds, thereby rendeing the claimed method obvious.
Therefore, the invention as a whole is prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made, as evidenced by the references, especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C.102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B); or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement. See generally MPEP § 717.02.
Claims 1, 5, 7, 15, 40-41, 44, 47, 51, 117-118, 121, and 125 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Furet et al (WO 2009/141386 A1, cited in IDS, filed 02/29/2024, hereinafter Furet).
Regarding claims 1, 5, 7, 15, 40-41, 44, 47, 51 and 117, drawn to a compound of Formula (I):
, such as compound of Formula (I-b):
or Formula (I-f):
, where W, X, Y, and Z are each independently C(R3a) or N, wherein at least one of W, X, Y, and Z is independently N, R3a is hydrogen; m is 0-2; A and B are each independently cycloalkyl, heterocyclyl (e.g.
or
), aryl, or heteroaryl (e.g.
,
or
) each of which is optionally substituted with one or more R1, R1 is hydrogen, C1-C6 alkyl; L1 is absent, C1-C6-alkylene, -O-, -C(O)-, -N(R4)-, -N(R4)C(O)-, or -C(O)N(R4)-, R4 is hydrogen. The exemplary compounds of Formula (I) are:
(Specification, page 81, Ex. 179),
(Specification, page 80, Ex. 170). The instant claims are further drawn to a pharmaceutical composition comprising a compound of Formula (I) and a pharmaceutically acceptable excipient.
Furet teaches a compound of formula (I):
, such as a compound of formula IA:
or formula ID:
, where A and B is aryl or heteroaryl such as
pyrazolyl or imidazolyl, m is 0-3 and n is 0-5. The exemplary compounds taught by Furet are:
(page 75, Ex. 15),
(page 96, Ex. 60),
(page 165, Ex. 162),
(page 94, Ex. 55). Furet further teaches pharmaceutical composition, comprising a compound of formula (I) and may comprise excipients (pages 40 – 41). Thus, as illustrated above, the genus formulae IA and ID as well as exemplary compounds taught by Furet fall within the scope of Formula (I) of instant claims 1, 5, 7, 15, 40, 41, 44, 47 and 51.
Thus, since Furet teaches a compound of similar structure, where all the structural elements of the molecule are equivalent of those of instant claims, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to select and combine known structural elements of the molecule, and make various structural analogs to arrive at claimed compounds. The one of ordinary skills would be motivated to do so in search of an active agent, able to treat conditions such as proliferative disease, autoimmune disease or metabolic disease with the reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claims 118 and 121, drawn to a compound of Formula (I), where the compound is capable of altering a target nucleic acid, binding to a target nucleic acid or stabilizing a target nucleic acid, and where the compound increases splicing at splice site on a target nucleic acid, by about 0.5% to 95%, or more, or the compound decreases splicing at splice site on a target nucleic acid, by about 0.5% to 95%, or more, Furet teaches compounds of formula (I), which is structurally identical or similar to the instantly claimed Formula (I), and is useful to treat the same conditions such as proliferative disease, autoimmune disease or metabolic disease (e.g. diabetes).
Although Furet is silent about the compounds to be able to alter a target nucleic acid or increase splicing at splice site on a target nucleic acid, since Furet teaches compounds of the same structure, all the properties are necessarily present, even if prior art is silent as to those properties. A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses (i.e. altering a target nucleic acid, binding to a target nucleic acid or stabilizing a target nucleic acid, and where the compound increases splicing at splice site on a target nucleic acid) and/or claims are necessarily present. "Products of identical chemical composition cannot have mutually exclusive properties." In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990) (see MPEP 2112.01).
Regarding claim 125, drawn to a method of altering the conformation of a nucleic acid (e.g., a DNA, RNA, e.g., a pre-mRNA) comprising contacting the nucleic acid with a compound of Formula (I), Furet teaches a method of treating proliferative disease (cancer), autoimmune disease or metabolic disease (e.g. diabetes), where the in vivo antitumor activity is tested, for example, using bladder carcinoma cell lines, such as the human urinary bladder transitional cell carcinoma RT112 cell line (page 19, lines 20 – 23).
Thus, even Furet does not explicitly teach the method of altering the conformation of a nucleic acid, the “altering the conformation of a nucleic acid" will naturally flow from the teachings of (or method made obvious by) the prior art (see above rejection), since the same compound (compound of formula (I)) is being administered to the same subjects (treating proliferative disease (cancer), autoimmune disease or metabolic disease (e.g. diabetes)). In other words, products of identical or similar composition cannot exert mutually exclusive properties when administered under the same or similar circumstances.
In other words, even though the prior art is silent regarding "altering the conformation of a nucleic acid", by practicing the method made obvious by the prior art: "the administration of an effective amount of compound of formula (I) to a patient suffering from proliferative disease (cancer), autoimmune disease or metabolic disease (e.g. diabetes)", one will also be " altering the conformation of a nucleic acid", even though the prior art was not aware of it.
Apparently, Applicant has discovered a new property or advantage ("altering the conformation of a nucleic acid") of the method made obvious by the prior art ("the administration of an effective amount of compound of formula (I) to a patient suffering from proliferative disease (cancer), autoimmune disease or metabolic disease (e.g. diabetes)"). MPEP 2145 II states: "The fact that Applicant has recognized another advantage which would flow naturally from following the suggestion of the prior art, cannot be the basis for patentability when the differences would otherwise be obvious". Ex parte Obiaya, 227 USPQ 58, 60. (FP 7.37.07, MPEP 707.07(f)).
Therefore, taking all together, taught by prior art, the invention as a whole is prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made, as evidenced by the references, especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 5, 7, 15, 25, 32, 40-41, 44, 47, 51, 56 and 117 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 4, 7, 8, 18, 20 and 22 - 25 of copending Application No. 17/802,863 (reference application).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because instant claims are directed to a compound of Formula (I):
, such as compound of Formula (I-b):
or Formula (I-f):
, where W, X, Y, and Z are each independently C(R3a) or N, wherein at least one of W, X, Y, and Z is independently N, R3a is hydrogen; m is 0-2; A and B are each independently cycloalkyl, heterocyclyl (e.g.
or
), aryl, or heteroaryl (e.g.
,
or
) each of which is optionally substituted with one or more R1, R1 is hydrogen, C1-C6 alkyl; L1 is absent, C1-C6-alkylene, -O-, -C(O)-, -N(R4)-, -N(R4)C(O)-, or -C(O)N(R4)-, R4 is hydrogen. The exemplary compounds of Formula (I) are:
(Specification, page 71, Ex. 113),
(Specification, page 79, Ex. 166). The instant claims are further drawn to a pharmaceutical composition comprising a compound of Formula (I) and a pharmaceutically acceptable excipient.
Claims of copending application are directed to a compound of formula (I-a):
, such as compounds:
,
(Ex. 124).
Thus, the compounds of copending application would anticipate instantly claimed compounds.
Claims 1, 5, 7, 15, 25, 32, 40-41, 44, 47, 51, 56, 117, 118, 121 and 125 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims:
1, 4, 6, 8, 11, 13, 18, 24, 32, 58 of copending Application No. 19/160,794 (reference application);
1 - 33 of copending Application No. 19/820,822 (reference application).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because instant claims are directed to a compound of Formula (I):
, such as compound of Formula (I-b):
or Formula (I-f):
, where W, X, Y, and Z are each independently C(R3a) or N, wherein at least one of W, X, Y, and Z is independently N, R3a is hydrogen; m is 0-2; A and B are each independently cycloalkyl, heterocyclyl (e.g.
or
), aryl, or heteroaryl (e.g.
,
or
) each of which is optionally substituted with one or more R1, R1 is hydrogen, C1-C6 alkyl; L1 is absent, C1-C6-alkylene, -O-, -C(O)-, -N(R4)-, -N(R4)C(O)-, or -C(O)N(R4)-, R4 is hydrogen. The exemplary compounds of Formula (I) are:
(Specification, page 71, Ex. 113),
(Specification, page 79, Ex. 166). The instant claims are further drawn to a pharmaceutical composition comprising a compound of Formula (I) and a pharmaceutically acceptable excipient. Instant claims are further directed to a compound of Formula (I), where the compound is capable of altering a target nucleic acid, binding to a target nucleic acid or stabilizing a target nucleic acid, and where the compound increases splicing at splice site on a target nucleic acid, by about 0.5% to 95%, or more, or the compound decreases splicing at splice site on a target nucleic acid, by about 0.5% to 95%, or more. Instant claims are also directed to a method of altering the conformation of a nucleic acid (e.g., a DNA, RNA, e.g., a pre-mRNA) comprising contacting the nucleic acid with a compound of Formula (I).
Claims of copending application No. 19/160,794 are directed to a compound of formula (I-c):
, such as compounds:
(Ex. 327),
(ex. 339).
Claims of copending application are further directed to a compound of Formula (I-c), where the compound is capable of altering a target nucleic acid, binding to a target nucleic acid or stabilizing a target nucleic acid, and where the compound increases splicing at splice site on a target nucleic acid, by about 0.5% to 95%, or more, or the compound decreases splicing at splice site on a target nucleic acid, by about 0.5% to 95%, or more. Copending claims are also directed to a method of altering the conformation of a nucleic acid (e.g., a DNA, RNA, e.g., a pre-mRNA) comprising contacting the nucleic acid with a compound of Formula (I-c).
Similarly, Claims of copending application No. 19/820,822 are directed to a compound of formula (I-a):
, such as compounds:
(Ex. 111),
(Ex. 103). Claims of copending application are further directed to a compound of Formula (I-a), where the compound is capable of altering a target nucleic acid, binding to a target nucleic acid or stabilizing a target nucleic acid, and where the compound increases splicing at splice site on a target nucleic acid, by about 0.5% to 95%, or more, or the compound decreases splicing at splice site on a target nucleic acid, by about 0.5% to 95%, or more. Copending claims are also directed to a method of altering the conformation of a nucleic acid (e.g., a DNA, RNA, e.g., a pre-mRNA) comprising contacting the nucleic acid with a compound of Formula (I-a).
Thus, the compounds and a method of copending applications would anticipate instantly claimed compounds and the method.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
Claims 1, 5, 7, 15, 25, 32, 40-41, 44, 47, 51, 56, 117-118, 121, and 125 are rejected. No claim is allowed.
/E.V.V./Examiner, Art Unit 1691
/SAVITHA M RAO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1691