DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to applicant’s filing dated September 4, 2026.
Status of claims
Claims 1, 5, 7, 13, 20, 22, 28, 35, 44, 46, 51, 56, 58, 65-66, 70, 86, 100, 111, 121, 125, 140, 157, 171-174, 177, 181 and 186-187 are pending in the instant application.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1, 5, 7, 13, 20, 22, 28, 35, 44, 46, 51, 56, 58, 65, 173, 174 and 177, drawn to a compound of Formula (I) and Group IV, claim 181, drawn to a method of altering the conformation of a nucleic acid, comprising contacting the nucleic acid with a compound of Formula (I), (II) or (III) in the reply filed on September 4, 2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 66, 70, 86, 100, 111, 121, 125, 140, 157, 171, 172, 186 and 187 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected inventions, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on September 4, 2026.
Applicant’s election without traverse of (1R,3s,5 S)-N-(6-(5-fluoro-4-(1H-pyrazol-4-yl)benzo[d]thiazol-7-yl)pyridazin-3 -yl)-8-azabicyclo[3.2.1]octan-3-amine:
(compound 339, Table 1) as a single species of compound of formula (I) in the reply filed on August 10, 2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 22 and 58 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on August 10, 2026.
Claims 1, 5, 7, 13, 20, 28, 35, 44, 46, 51, 56, 65, 173, 174, 177 and 181 are under consideration in the present office action as related the elected inventions of Groups I and IV and the elected species, compound 339.
Priority
The present application is a 371 of PCT/US2022/075702, filed August 30, 2022 and claims the benefits of priority to U.S. Provisional Application No. 63/238,409, filed on August 30, 2021; U.S. Provisional Application No. 63/238,414, filed on August 30, 2021; and U.S. Provisional Application No. 63/325,502, filed on March 30, 2022.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 02/29/2024 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 44, 177 and 181 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 44, 177 and 181, recite the term “e.g.” which is equivalent to the phrase "for example" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 5, 7, 13, 20, 28, 35, 44, 46, 51, 56, 65, 173, 174, 177 and 181 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Luzzio et al (WO 2019/028440 A1, cited in IDS, filed 02/29/2024, hereinafter Luzzio).
Regarding claims 1, 5, 7, 13, 20, 28, 35, 44, 46, 51, 56, 65, 173, drawn to a compound of Formula (I):
, such as a compound of Formula (I-a):
, where wherein L is -N(R3)- (R3 is H or C1-C6 alkyl); A and B is independently cycloalkyl, heterocyclyl, aryl, or heteroaryl, e.g.: A is
, B is
, fragment
is
or
, R5c is H, C1-C6 alkyl; R7 is C1-C6 alkyl or halogen, n is 0-2. One of the exemplary compounds of Formula (I-a) is
(compound 339, Table 1). The compounds of genus formula (I) are capable of modulating nucleic acid splicing. Instant claims are further drawn to a pharmaceutical composition comprising compound (I) and a pharmaceutically acceptable excipient.
Luzzio teaches small molecule splicing modulators (SMSMs) of formula (IV):
(page 71, [0435]), where fragment
; X is -NR3-, R3 is H or e.g. -CH3; fragment
is
, Q is
or
, RB is halogen, C1-6 alkyl or heteroaryl, m is 1-3 (pages 71 – 72 and 80-81). Luzzio defines “heteroaryl” as an aryl group that includes one or more ring heteroatoms selected from nitrogen, oxygen and sulfur, such as pyrazolyl (page 27, [0263]. Thus, Luzzio teaches all the structural elements equivalent to the instantly claimed compounds. Luzzio further teaches a pharmaceutical composition where the SMSMs are mixed with one or more other chemical components such as carriers or excipients (page 190, [0578]).
Thus, since Luzzio teaches a compound that acts as a nucleic acid splicing modulator where all the structural elements of the molecule are equivalent of those of instant claims, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to select and combine structural elements of the molecule, taught by prior art, and make various structural analogs acting as nucleic acid splicing modulators, to arrive at claimed compounds. The one of ordinary skills would be motivated to do so in search of an active agent, which is capable of modulating nucleic acid splicing and having improved desired properties, with the reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claims 174 and 177, drawn to a compound of formula (I), where the compound is capable of altering a target nucleic acid, binding to a target nucleic acid or stabilizing a target nucleic acid, and where the compound increases splicing at splice site on a target nucleic acid, by about 0.5% to 95%, or more, or the compound decreases splicing at splice site on a target nucleic acid, by about 0.5% to 95%, or more, as determined by qPCR.
Luzzio teaches small molecule splicing modulators (SMSMs) of formula (IV) (see the structure above) wherein splicing modulators bind to a target RNA (page 195, [0603]), and wherein the SMSMs modulate splicing at a splice site sequence of a pre-mRNA and wherein a total amount of the mRNA is increased at least about 10% compared to the total amount of the mRNA encoding the target protein or functional RNA produced in control cells (page 11, [0077]), or wherein the SMSMs modulate splicing at a splice site sequence of a pre-mRNA, and wherein a total amount of the mRNA and/or the functional RNA is at least 10% lower than the total amount of the mRNA and/or the functional RNA in control cells (page 11, [0078]). Luzzio teaches that the levels of various mRNA targets of the SMSMs were determined by performing qPCR (page 380, [01073]). The value “about 10%” of increased total amount of the mRNA compared to the total amount of the mRNA encoding the target protein or functional RNA produced in control cells after contacting with splicing modulators (SMSMs), as well as “10% lower” than the total amount of the mRNA, or the functional RNA in control cells fall within the claimed ranges (see above). MPEP 2144.05 states: In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Regarding claim 181, drawn to a method of altering the conformation of a nucleic acid comprising contacting the nucleic acid with a compound of Formula (I).
Luzzio teaches the method where binding of an SMSM to a polynucleotide or a splicing complex component decreases conformational stability of a splice site sequence, or binding of an SMSM to a polynucleotide increases conformational stability of a splice site sequence (page 267, [0711]). Thus, Luzzio teaches the same methos to be practiced with the compounds of the same or similar structure, thereby rendering the instantly claimed method obvious.
Therefore, the invention as a whole is prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made, as evidenced by the references, especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 5, 7, 13, 20, 28, 35, 44, 46, 51, 56, 65, 173, 174, 177 and 181 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 4, 5, 7, 8, 10, 14, 19, 25, 28, 31, 32, 33, 34, 36, 37, 40, 44 of copending Application No. 17/802,702 (reference application).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because instant claims are directed to a compound of Formula (I):
, such as a compound of Formula (I-a):
, where wherein L is -N(R3)- (R3 is H); A and B is independently cycloalkyl, heterocyclyl, aryl, or heteroaryl, e.g.: A is
, B is
, fragment
is
or
, R5c is H, C1-C6 alkyl; R7 is C1-C6 alkyl or halogen, n is 0-2. One of the exemplary compounds of Formula (I-a) is
(compound 339, Table 1). The compounds of genus formula (I) are capable of modulating nucleic acid splicing. Instant claims are further drawn to a pharmaceutical composition comprising compound I and a pharmaceutically acceptable excipient.
Copending claims are directed to a compound of Formula (I-d):
, such as a compound of formula (I-e):
, where A is
, B is
, fragment
is
or
. the exemplary compounds of Formula (I-d) are:
or
The compounds of genus formula (I-d) are capable of modulating nucleic acid splicing. Instant claims are further drawn to a pharmaceutical composition comprising compound I-d and a pharmaceutically acceptable excipient.
Thus, copending claims are directed to a compounds of the same functionality and the same or similar structure.
Therefore, compounds and methods of copending claims would anticipate instantly claimed compounds and methods.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
Claims 1, 5, 7, 13, 20, 28, 35, 44, 46, 51, 56, 65, 173, 174, 177 and 181 are rejected. No claim is allowed.
/E.V.V./Examiner, Art Unit 1691
/SAVITHA M RAO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1691