DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5, 6, 8 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bachman (US 6,053,384).
Regarding claim 1, Bachman discloses a mounting device (20) for releasably mounting a bicycle accessory (B) to a bicycle rack (14) which is provided with a mounting plug (80), the mounting device comprising: an attachment structure (39) configured for attaching the mounting device to the bicycle accessory; a socket (50) configured for receiving the mounting plug of the bicycle rack therein; and a locking mechanism (65, 66) for releasably locking the mounting plug in the socket when the mounting plug is received in the socket. See Figs. 1-11.
Regarding claim 2, the locking mechanism comprises a locking element which is movable between a locking position and a releasing position, wherein in the locking position the locking element extends into the socket, wherein in the releasing position the locking element extends less or not into the socket. See Figs. 1, 2 and 11.
Regarding claim 3, in the locking position, when the mounting plug is received in the socket, the locking element extends into engagement with the mounting plug. See Fig. 11.
Regarding claim 5, the locking mechanism comprises an operating element (65) coupled to the locking element and configured for moving the locking element between the locking position and the releasing position from outside the socket. See Fig. 11.
Regarding claim 6, the locking mechanism comprises at least one securing element (threads of 66) coupled to the locking element and configured for selectively securing the locking element in the locking position. See Fig. 11.
Regarding claim 8, the attachment structure comprises a through hole (39) which, at one end thereof, opens towards the bicycle accessory during use, and which is configured for receiving a fastening means (screws) therethrough so as to allow the received fastening means to be fastened to the bicycle accessory for thereby attaching the mounting device to the bicycle accessory. See Figs. 1 and 11.
Regarding claim 19, Bachman discloses a method of releasably mounting a bicycle accessory to a bicycle rack which is provided with a mounting plug, comprising: attaching at least one mounting device according to claim 1 to the bicycle accessory using the attachment structure; and causing the mounting plug to be received in the socket, wherein the mounting plug is releasably locked in the socket using the locking mechanism. See Figs. 1-11.
Second Rejection
Claims 1, 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Fidlock (DE 102016216422).
Regarding claim 1, Fidlock discloses a mounting device (Fig. 1) for releasably mounting a bicycle accessory (3) to a bicycle rack which is provided with a mounting plug (410), the mounting device comprising: an attachment structure (2) configured for attaching the mounting device to the bicycle accessory; a socket (5) configured for receiving the mounting plug of the bicycle rack therein; and a locking mechanism (at 50) for releasably locking the mounting plug in the socket when the mounting plug is received in the socket. See Figs. 1-5A.
Regarding claim 19, Fidlock discloses a method of releasably mounting a bicycle accessory to a bicycle rack which is provided with a mounting plug, comprising: attaching at least one mounting device according to claim 1 to the bicycle accessory using the attachment structure; and causing the mounting plug to be received in the socket, wherein the mounting plug is releasably locked in the socket using the locking mechanism. See Figs. 1-5A.
Regarding claim 20, Fidlock discloses a method according to claim 19, further comprising, prior to causing the mounting plug to be received in the socket: attaching to the bicycle accessory a support device which comprises a respective attachment structure configured for attaching the support device to the bicycle accessory independently from the at least one mounting device and at least one support structure for pivotably supporting the support device on a further mounting plug of the bicycle rack; and pivotably supporting the attached support device, and thereby the bicycle accessory, on the further mounting plug of the bicycle rack, wherein causing the mounting plug to be received in the socket comprises pivoting the bicycle accessory with respect to the bicycle rack. See [0048]-[0049] and Fig. 4.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bachman as applied above in further view of Ortlieb (DE 202010004309).
Regarding claim 4, Bachman does not disclose the locking element as claimed. Ortlieb, which is drawn to a mounting device, discloses a locking element (7) that is biased towards the locking position. Thus, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to substitute the locking mechanism of Bachman for that of Ortlieb in order to facilitate the device into the locking position.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bachman as applied above in further view of Aron (US 6,293,450).
Regarding claim 7, Bachman does not disclose a pin as claimed. Aron, which is drawn to a mounting device, discloses at least one securing element (at 52) that comprises at least one eye through which a securing pin (64) can be extended so as to inhibit a locking element from reaching a releasing position. Thus, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to have a securing pin on the locking device of Bachman, as disclosed by Aron, in order to keep the locking element in place.
Claim(s) 9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bachman as applied above in further view of Dubinskiy (US 2009/0152423).
Regarding claim 9, Bachman does not disclose the hole as claimed. Dubinskiy, which is drawn to a mounting device, discloses a through hole (Fig. 1) that opens into the socket (14, 16) at another end thereof. Thus, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to have the through hole of Bachman extend through socket, as disclosed by Dubinskiy, in order to attach and hide the screws.
Regarding claim 10, Bachman does not disclose a guide rail as claimed. Dubinskiy discloses an attachment structure (12) that comprises at least one slot (at 42) which is configured for slideably receiving a guide rail therein, which guide rail is attachable to the bicycle accessory so as to allow attachment of the mounting device to the bicycle accessory via the guide rail. See Fig. 33. Thus, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to have the attachment structure of Bachman have a slot for a receiving a guide rail, as disclosed by Dubinskiy, in order to have the structure be adjustable to fit various circumstances.
Regarding claim 11, as modified above, the at least one slot is provided along an outer face of the mounting device, which outer face faces away from an entrance of the socket. See Dubinskiy, Fig. 33.
Claims 12-17 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bachman, Aron and Dubinskiy as applied above in further view of Golub et al. (US 8,292,139).
Regarding claim 12, as modified above, at least one of: the bicycle accessory, wherein the mounting device is attached, at least attachable, to the bicycle accessory via the attachment structure; the bicycle rack which is provided with the at least one associated mounting plug (80); another bicycle part which is provided with a mounting plug (other 80); a securing pin (Aron, 64) extendable through an eye of the locking mechanism; the guide rail (Dubinskiy, Fig. 33) attachable to the bicycle accessory and receivable in a slot of the attachment structure. Bachman does not disclose a support device as claimed.
Golub, which is drawn to a mounting device, discloses a support device (96) which comprises a respective attachment structure configured for attaching the support device to the bicycle accessory independently from the at least one mounting device and at least one support structure for, at least partially, pivotably supporting the support device on a further mounting plug of the bicycle rack. See Fig. 2. Thus, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to use a support device as disclosed by Golub on the device of Bachman in order to better secure the device to a bicycle.
Regarding claims 13, 14, 16, 17 and 21, Bachman sufficiently discloses the claimed invention. See above.
Regarding claim 15, the locking mechanism comprises a locking element and an operating element coupled to the locking element and configured for moving the locking element between a locking position and a releasing position, further comprising a common handle (anywhere device can be grabbed) which is coupled, at least couplable, to respective operating elements of the mounting devices so as to enable single-handed simultaneous movement of the locking elements of the mounting devices to their releasing positions by movement of the common handle.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See attached Notice of References Cited.
/DEREK J BATTISTI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3734