DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Application
This Office action is in response to the amendment of January 9, 2026 which amended claims 1, 3, 5, 7, 19 and 21.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “self-locking feature”, the spindle, and the plural holes or brackets must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
The previous objection to the claims is withdrawn in view of the fact that the claims are clear and the applicant may be their own lexicographer.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “self-locking feature” in claims 7 and 21.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 7 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. The applicant has not shown possession of a “self-locking feature” or described what structure would accomplish the “self-locking” (function) of the spindle “that remains in a given position without the need for continued supply of power” (desired result). The only disclosure provided is at page 7 lines 18-22 which merely sets forth that there is a structure that can lock the spindle in place without the need for a continued supply of power. Because the structure making up the self-locking feature which can accomplish the function and desired result set forth above is not disclosed the applicant has not shown possession of the invention set forth in claims 7 and 21.
Claims 1-5, 7, 8, 11-14 and 17-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 is vague and indefinite because in newly amended lines 11-13 are confusing. Specifically, it is unclear if “the same device” is the device of lines 1 and 2 or a different device. In line 13 it is unclear what the “built-in features” represent structurally and what specifically they are associated with. As written the “built-in features” could be one of the previously set forth structures, a structural part of one of the other elements or the device, or a completely different structure separate from the device. Claim 3 at lines 16-18 is similarly confusing.
Claims 7 and 21 are vague and indefinite because the claim limitation “self-locking ” invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph. However, the written description fails to disclose the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function and to clearly link the structure, material, or acts to the function. The disclosure is devoid of the structures that perfroms the function set forth, i.e., self-locking. The only disclosure is provided at lines 18-22 and only a description of the function is set forth without a clear description of the structure that performs it. Further, the language “self-locking feature that is obtained with a spindle” makes it unclear if the spindle is part of the “self-locking feature” or is the element acted upon by the “self-locking feature”. Therefore, the claim is indefinite and is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph.
Applicant may:
(a) Amend the claim so that the claim limitation will no longer be interpreted as a limitation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph;
(b) Amend the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites what structure, material, or acts perform the entire claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(c) Amend the written description of the specification such that it clearly links the structure, material, or acts disclosed therein to the function recited in the claim, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)).
If applicant is of the opinion that the written description of the specification already implicitly or inherently discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts and clearly links them to the function so that one of ordinary skill in the art would recognize what structure, material, or acts perform the claimed function, applicant should clarify the record by either:
(a) Amending the written description of the specification such that it expressly recites the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the claimed function and clearly links or associates the structure, material, or acts to the claimed function, without introducing any new matter (35 U.S.C. 132(a)); or
(b) Stating on the record what the corresponding structure, material, or acts, which are implicitly or inherently set forth in the written description of the specification, perform the claimed function. For more information, see 37 CFR 1.75(d) and MPEP §§ 608.01(o) and 2181.
Claims not specifically mentioned are indefinite since they depend from one of the above claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 12, 13, 18, 19, 21 and 23-26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Bhattacharya (USPN 11,280,444).
With regards to claims 1-3, Bhattacharya discloses a device for controlling operational vibrations of a pump (106) or pump assembly (104,106) arranged thereon, the device comprising: a mounting plate (labeled in annotated Figs. 1A & 1B below) configured to have the pump or pump assembly arranged on a surface thereof (see Fig. 1A), at least one support (labeled in annotated Figs. 1B) arranged between the mounting plate and a carrying surface (labeled in annotated Figs. 1c) to provide a distance (labeled in annotated Fig. 6C below) there between, the at least one support being configured to carry the weight of the mounting plate and the pump or pump assembly (inherent from the disclosure), at least one actuator (hydraulic jacks 112) configured to switch between: a first state in which the actuator (112) provides a connection (note col. 7 lines 30-50 which discuss the jacks engaging the structure) between the mounting plate and the carrying surface, and a second state (shown in Fig. 6C) in which there is no connection between the mounting plate and the carrying surface via the at least one actuator, wherein activation of the at least one actuator to switch (via console/controller 118 in response to the resonance/vibration sensed in the Wheatstone bridges 114) between the first and the second states is controllable so that resonance characteristics of the pump or pump assembly during operation can be changed by the activation (see col. 7 lines 42-48); and
wherein the location of the at least one actuator with respect to a plane of extension of the mounting plate is adjustable (This limitation is a broad limitation and the switching of the actuators between the first and the second states would satisfy such a broad limitation, for example by the end of the actuator moving towards or away from the mounting plate as labeled in Fig. 6C below representing the location of the end of the actuator being adjusted with respect to the mounting plate; additionally, the Bhattacharya teaches at col. 8 lines 46-48 that the actuators/hydraulic jacks “can also be placed vertically beneath the load sensitive positions of a longitudinal structures as shown in Fig. 6C”; the load sensitive positions would depend upon the particular application or rotary equipment mounted on the top of the device and the location would also be represented by the cracks and structural anomalies discussed in the “BACKGROUND OF THE INVENTION”); so that the same device can be used for different applications by adjusting the device itself accordingly via built-in features (the “built-in features” being represented by the second signals discussed in col. 3 lines 5-23, and by the size and structure of the actuator that allows it to be placed vertically under a load sensitive position).
With regards to claims 4 and 18, the connection between the pump assembly and the actuator in the first state is a physical connection as described at col. 7 lines 35-42.
With regards to claims 12 and 23, Bhattacharya discloses that there can be a plurality of actuators that are individually controllable actuators (112-1 thru 112-N, see col. 3 lines 23-29).
With regards to claims 13 and 24, Bhattacharya disclose the device of claims 1 and 3 and further discloses wherein the device is configured to monitor the resonance characteristics (note the Wheatstone bridges/sensors 114) of the pump or pump assembly during operation and to use the output of the monitoring (the output of the sensors is received at console/controller 118 which switch on the individual actuators, see col. 3 lines 23-29 and col. 7 lines 5-11) to automatically adjust settings of the device when necessary to ensure that vibrational requirements are fulfilled.
With regards to 14, 17, 25 and 26, under the principles of inherency, if a prior art device, in its normal and usual operation, would necessarily perform the method claimed, then the method claimed will be considered to be anticipated by the prior art device. When the prior art device is the same as a device described (note all limitations of claim 1, 3, 13 and 24 are taught as set forth above) in the specification for carrying out the claimed method, it can be assumed the device will inherently perform the claimed process. In re King, 801 F.2d 1324, 231 USPQ 136 (Fed. Cir. 1986). MPEP 2112.02.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7 and 21, as understood, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bhattacharya in view of Doman et al (USPN 10,161,491).
With regards to claims 7 and 21, as set forth above Bhattacharya discloses the invention as disclosed in claims 1 and 3 but does not disclose that the at least one actuator includes a self-locking feature that is obtained with a spindle that remains in a given position without the need for continued supply of power. Doman et al disclose actuator having a spindle 12 having a “self-locking feature” (see the Title, as understood).
At the time of the effective filing date of the application it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to substitute an actuator having a spindle with self-locking feature for an actuator such as taught by Bhattacharya since each of the noted actuators provide a linear force upon actuation (see the field of the invention section in Doman et al) and are recognized as equivalence for their use in the actuation art and selection of any of these known equivalents to provide a linear force would be within the level of ordinary skill in the art (Note MPEP 2144.06).
Claim(s) 8 and 22; and, 5 and 19, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bhattacharya in view of Hodgson et al (USPN 5,174,552).
With regards to claims 8 and 22, as set forth above Bhattacharya discloses the invention as disclosed in claims 1 and 3 but does not disclose that the actuators are electromagnets. Hodgson et al disclose a fluid machine with active vibration dampening (see title) which utilizes an electromagnetic actuator (36 in Figs. 1,3 and 6) as an active damper.
At the time of the effective filing date of the application it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to substitute an electromagnetic actuator of Hodgson et al for the hydraulic actuator of Bhattacharya since hydraulic and electromagnetic actuators are recognized as equivalence for their use in the resonance avoidance art and selection of either of these known equivalents to stiffen the structure to avoid resonance would be within the level of ordinary skill in the art (Note MPEP 2144.06).
With regards to claims 5 and 19, as set forth above Bhattacharya discloses the invention as disclosed in claims 1 and 3 but does not disclose the location of the at least one actuator with respect to the pump or pump assembly is adjustable by providing the mounting plate and/or the carrying surface with a plurality of mounting holes or brackets for fastening of the at least one actuator. Additionally, col. 7 lines 35-38 describe that the actuators can be placed/inserted into the hollow part of the base frame, i.e., along the carrying surface of Fig. 6c; and, as noted above, col. 8 lines 46-48 notes that the actuators/hydraulic jacks “can also be placed vertically beneath the load sensitive positions of a longitudinal structures as shown in Fig. 6C”.
Hodgson et al disclose a machine in the form of fluid mount (10) which vibrates during operation and can have actuators 36 mounted in different locations (note the different locations shown in the annotated figures below) by holes (labeled in the annotated figures below) and brackets (labeled in the annotated figures below) in order to dampen the vibration.
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to apply the technique of utilizing holes and brackets to mount actuators used in vibration control in required positions, as taught by Hodgson et al, to improve the placement of the actuators in the required locations, such as below the load sensitive positions, of Bhattacharya for the predictable result of securing the actuators in the required positions while in a vibrational environment. KSR Int’l C. V. Teleflex Inc. 550 U.S. ___, 82 USPQ 2d 1385 (Supreme Court 2007) (KSR).
Claim(s) 11 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bhattacharya in view of CN 111188796 A (hereafter CN ‘796).
As set forth above Bhattacharya discloses the invention as disclosed in claims 1 and 3 but does not disclose that the supports are adjustable. CN ‘796 discloses a support platform (2,11 see Fig. 1) which includes a support plate 11 holding the pump 1 assembly 10, active vibration dampers (4,5,6,7,8) and adjustable support mechanisms (12,13) for the support 11.
At the time of the invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to utilize adjustable supports in Bhattacharya in order to allow for proper and secure alignment when connecting the pump to the piping at the location of operation.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed January 19, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
With regards to claims 7 and 21 and the previously set forth rejections under 35 USC 112b the applicant argues that:
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. A mere sentence in the disclosure setting forth how an undisclosed structure is intended to operate does not provide a clear written description or definiteness; and in view of the fact that the prior art does not provide a standardized teaching of what such a structure would be the claimed structure cannot clearly be understood, nor has applicant shown possession of such claimed limitation.
With regards to the rejections under 35 USC 102 and the newly amended limitations the Applicant argues, on pages 9 and 10, that Bhattacharya does not disclose “wherein the location of the at least one actuator with respect to the pump is adjustable so that the same device can be used for different applications by adjusting the device itself accordingly via built-in features.” The Applicant further points various structures such as holes brackets, discussed in the specification, and even imagines the use of rails, clamps and screws in the first full paragraph of page 10. As noted in the newly added portions of the rejections above which address the amend limitation, the claimed feature set forth is broader than argued by the applicant. In particular, in response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., the holes brackets, rails, clamps and screws and the noted effect of adjustable fastening) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Su discloses a passive active mount for vibration control having actuators mounted via brackets.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHARLES G FREAY/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3746 CGF
February 15, 2026