DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent Application No. FR2109135, filed on 09/01/2021.
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: claim 1, “an anchoring part connected to a portion attaching the leg of the housing”, does not makes sense. The anchoring part is connected to a portion attaching the leg to the housing? Or the anchoring part is connected to a portion that is attached to the leg of the housing?
For the purposes of substantive examination, it is assumed that the anchoring part is connected to a portion attaching the leg to the housing.
Appropriate correction is required.
Specification
The amendment filed on 02/29/2024 is objected to under 35 U.S.C. 132(a) because it introduces new matter into the disclosure. 35 U.S.C. 132(a) states that no amendment shall introduce new matter into the disclosure of the invention. The added material which is not supported by the original disclosure is as follows:
The incorporation by reference of the international patent application PCT/EP2022/072664 and of the French patent application FR2109135 is ineffective as it was added on the date of entry into the national phase, which is after the filing date of the instant application. The filing date of this national stage application is the filing date of associated PCT, in this case 08/12/2022, see MPEP 1893.03(b). Therefore the specification amendment of 02/29/2024 to include the incorporation by reference is new matter, per MPEP 608.01(p).
Applicant is required to cancel the new matter in the reply to this Office Action by removing the phrase “each of which are incorporated herein by reference in its entirety” from the specification.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that use the word “means” or “step” but are nonetheless not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph because the claim limitation(s) recite(s) sufficient structure, materials, or acts to entirely perform the recited function. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: suspension means, elastic return means, weighing means, and abutment means in claim 1.
If applicant intends to have this/these limitation(s) interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, applicant may: (1) amend the claim limitation(s) to remove the structure, materials, or acts that performs the claimed function; or (2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitation(s) does/do not recite sufficient structure, materials, or acts to perform the claimed function.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 7-13, and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kogure et al. (WO 2013118369 A1, hereinafter Kogure) in view of Van de Vliet (EP 2612117 B1, hereinafter Van).
Regarding claim 1, Kogure discloses a food preparation appliance (Abstract, “rice cooker main body”) comprising:
a housing (Page 2, Para. 2 from end, “rice cooker main body”) including at least one supporting leg configured to rest on a work surface (Page 3, Para. 3 from end, “three fixed legs 30a to 30c and two movable legs (leg bodies) 130a and 130b are disposed on the bottom surface of the rice cooker body 2.”),
the at least one supporting leg including a suspension means (Page 5, Para. 2, “And a lower spring holding member (holding member) 180 that holds the load transmission member 140 and the spring 160 at the same time. As shown in FIG. 4, the weight detection device 100 having the same configuration is provided for each of the two movable legs 130a and 130b.”, where the spring holding member 180 is construed as the suspension means within the supporting leg) comprising a supporting part configured to be positioned on the work surface (Modified Fig. 9, where the supporting part is described),
an anchoring part connected to a portion attaching the leg of the housing (Page 6, Para. 2, “The fixing plate 110 is formed with an elongated rectangular hole 110e. A side plate guide 111 that guides a side plate 142 of a load transmission member 140 (described later) in the vertical direction is fixed to the hole 110e.”), and
an elastic return means connecting the supporting part to the anchoring part such that the supporting part can move relative to the anchoring part (Page 5, Para. 2, “And a lower spring holding member (holding member) 180 that holds the load transmission member 140 and the spring 160 at the same time. As shown in FIG. 4, the weight detection device 100 having the same configuration is provided for each of the two movable legs 130a and 130b.”, where the elastic return means that connects the supporting part or bottom surface of 130 and the anchoring part or fixing plate 110 is construed to be the spring 160);
a work bowl configured to receive food to be prepared (Page 2, Para. 2 from end, “the object requiring weight measurement is a cooked rice (for example, rice and water) accommodated in an inner pot 3”);
weighing means configured to weigh the food to be prepared (Page 3, Para. 4, “Above the bottom plate 2g, a strain sensor 121, which is a weight detection element constituting the weight detection device 100 described later, is installed.”);
an abutment means configured to limit movement of the supporting part relative to the anchoring part (Page 7, Para. 4, “When the upper end of the spring 160 comes into contact with the upper wall of the cylindrical portion 172, the upper end of the spring 160 is held by the upper spring holding member 170.”, where the spring holding member 170 is construed as the abutment means that limits movement of the supporting part relative to the anchoring part through keeping the spring in place).
Modified Figure 9, Kogure
Kogure does not disclose:
wherein the weighing means is positioned between the supporting part and the portion attaching the leg of the housing.
However, Van discloses, in the similar field of weighing apparatuses (Para. 0001, “a weighing module for statically or dynamically weighing loads.”), where the weighing means is positioned between a supporting part and a portion attaching the leg of the housing (Modified Fig. 1, where the weighing means or force sensor 4 is shown to be located between the supporting part and portion attaching the leg of the housing). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the weighing means in Kogure to be located as taught by Van.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to gain the advantage of being able to prevent overloading the force sensor or weighing means, where the positioning of the force sensor allows for housing parts 7 and 8 to engage when the vertical force on the weighing means exceeds a certain value in order to protect the force sensor from overloading, as stated by Van, Para. 0025, “thanks to the elasticity of the second elastic element, and whereby this play is chosen such that when the upward vertical forces on the auxiliary frame exceed a certain value, the vertical play is eliminated and both housing parts come into contact with one another in the vertical direction.”.
Modified Figure 1, Van
Regarding claim 2, modified Kogure teaches the apparatus according to claim 1, as set forth above, discloses wherein the supporting part is configured to move in an axial direction relative to the anchoring part, the axial direction being substantially perpendicular to the work surface (Kogure, Page 8, Para. 2, “Thereby, the load transmission member 140 can move freely up and down.”, where the up and down movement is perpendicular to the work surface that is lateral or side to side), and wherein the abutment means is configured to limit axial displacement of the supporting part relative to the anchoring part beyond a predetermined first force (Kogure, Page 8, Para. 2 from end, “Here, the spring 160 is sandwiched between the upper spring holding member 170 and the lower spring holding member 180 in a state where the spring 160 is contracted more than in the case of no load, that is, in a state where an elastic force is exerted in a direction extending vertically… The transmission member 140 is urged downward. At this time, a load is applied to the spring so that the elastic force is 2 kgf to 5 kgf. This elastic force is defined as an initial elastic force.”, where the abutment means or upper spring holding member 170 limits the axial displacement beyond a predetermined first force being the initial elastic force).
Regarding claim 3, modified Kogure teaches the apparatus according to claim 2, as set forth above, discloses wherein the abutment means includes an abutment part integral with at least one of the housing and the anchoring part (Kogure, Modified Fig. 9, where the abutment means 170 is integral with the anchoring part or fixed plate 110, where this is shown through the part 170 being connected to the fixed plate 110), the abutment part configured to abut a portion of the supporting part in order to limit axial displacement of the supporting part relative to the anchoring part (Kogure, Page 7, Para. 4, “When the upper end of the spring 160 comes into contact with the upper wall of the cylindrical portion 172, the upper end of the spring 160 is held by the upper spring holding member 170.”, where the spring holding member 170 is construed as the abutment means that limits movement of the supporting part relative to the anchoring part through keeping the spring in place, where the abutment means contacts the spring that contacts the supporting part in order to limit the axial displacement).
Regarding claim 7, modified Kogure teaches the apparatus according to claim 2, as set forth above.
Modified Kogure does not disclose:
further comprising a secondary axial abutment means including: a secondary leg abutment integral with the supporting part,
a secondary housing abutment integral with the housing,
the secondary leg abutment configured to abut the secondary housing abutment to limit axial displacement of the supporting part below a second predetermined force.
However, Van discloses where a secondary axial abutment means has a secondary leg abutment integral with the supporting part (Para. 0031, “With a weighing module 1 at rest, thus without load, there is an open play 9 between the two housing parts 7 and 8 at least along two horizontal directions (XX' and Y-Y') that are transverse to one another”, where the side wall of the housing part 8 that engages with the housing part 7 is construed to be integral with the supporting part shown in modified Fig. 4, where the sidewall that prevents lateral displacement is construed as a secondary axial abutment, where the bottom wall that prevents vertical displacement is construed as the first axial abutment similar to that shown in Kogure), and a secondary housing abutment integral with the housing (Para. 0031, “With a weighing module 1 at rest, thus without load, there is an open play 9 between the two housing parts 7 and 8 at least along two horizontal directions (XX' and Y-Y') that are transverse to one another”, where the side wall of the housing part 7 that engages with the housing part 8 is construed to be integral with the housing shown in modified Fig. 4), where the secondary leg abutment abuts the secondary housing abutment to limit axial displacement of the supporting part below a second predetermined force (Para. 0048, “The first housing 7 can then move no further and the horizontal forces will then be passed on directly from the first housing 7 across the second housing 8 to the force sensor 4 and the main frame 2, without exposing the elastic element 6 being exposed to these high forces.”). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the abutment means in modified Kogure to include the secondary axial abutment parts as taught by Van.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to gain the advantage of being able to prevent excessive lateral forces on the elastic element, as stated by Van, Para. 0048, “The first housing 7 can then move no further and the horizontal forces will then be passed on directly from the first housing 7 across the second housing 8 to the force sensor 4 and the main frame 2, without exposing the elastic element 6 being exposed to these high forces.”.
Regarding claim 8, modified Kogure teaches the apparatus according to claim 7, as set forth above, discloses wherein the secondary leg abutment comprises a shoulder configured to contact a shoulder of the secondary housing abutment (Teaching from Van, Fig. 4, where the secondary leg abutment or the sidewall of the housing 8 protrudes outwards to create a shoulder that contacts the secondary housing abutment or the sidewall of the housing 7).
Regarding claim 9, modified Kogure teaches the apparatus according to claim 8, as set forth above.
Modified Kogure does not disclose:
wherein the suspension means is configured to allow lateral displacement of the supporting part relative to the anchoring part in a direction lateral or tangential to the work surface, and wherein the abutment means includes a lateral abutment means positioned between the supporting leg and the housing and configured to limit lateral displacement of the supporting part relative to the anchoring part.
However, Van discloses where the lateral displacement of the supporting part relative to the anchoring part in a direction lateral to the work surface is allowed (Modified Fig. 4, where supporting part is shown; Para. 0018, “thanks to the elasticity of the first elastic element, and whereby this play is chosen such that when the horizontal forces exceed a certain value in an aforementioned horizontal direction, the play in this direction is eliminated and both housing parts come into contact with one another in the horizontal direction”), where the abutment means can include a lateral abutment means positioned between the supporting leg and housing to limit lateral displacement of the supporting part relative to the anchoring part (Modified Fig. 4, where the abutment means is shown the lateral abutment means located between the supporting leg and housing to limit lateral displacement; Para. 0020, “Because the freedom of movement is limited, when the horizontal forces on the auxiliary frame are too large the housing parts will come into direct contact with one another, whereby these forces are no longer guided to the main frame via the elastic element, but directly across the housing parts, which for example are made of metal or another rigid material. As a result, the elastic element is shielded from tensile forces or stresses that are too high.”). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the suspension means in modified Kogure to include lateral displacement and an abutment means to limit the lateral displacement as taught by Van, where the similar lateral displacement prevention system from Van can be used on the abutment device in claim 7 and also on the suspension means in claim 9.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to gain the advantage of using the lateral displacement abutment means to prevent damage to the elastic element from excessive lateral force, as stated by Van, Para. 0020, “whereby these forces are no longer guided to the main frame via the elastic element, but directly across the housing parts, which for example are made of metal or another rigid material. As a result, the elastic element is shielded from tensile forces or stresses that are too high.”.
Modified Figure 4, Van
Regarding claim 10, modified Kogure teaches the apparatus according to claim 9, as set forth above, discloses wherein the lateral abutment means is positioned on a side wall of the footwell of the housing or of the anchoring part, the supporting part configured to abut the side wall of the footwell to limit lateral displacement of the supporting part relative to the anchoring part (Teaching from Van, modified Fig. 4, where the lateral abutment means is shown to be on the side wall of the anchoring part; Para. 0018, “thanks to the elasticity of the first elastic element, and whereby this play is chosen such that when the horizontal forces exceed a certain value in an aforementioned horizontal direction, the play in this direction is eliminated and both housing parts come into contact with one another in the horizontal direction”, where the housing parts are 7 and 8).
Regarding claim 11, modified Kogure teaches the apparatus according to claim 1, as set forth above, discloses wherein the elastic return means includes a compression spring configured to exert a predetermined suspension force to push the supporting part of the anchoring part in a direction normal to the work surface (Kogure, Page 8, Para. 2 from end, “Here, the spring 160 is sandwiched between the upper spring holding member 170 and the lower spring holding member 180 in a state where the spring 160 is contracted more than in the case of no load, that is, in a state where an elastic force is exerted in a direction extending vertically… The transmission member 140 is urged downward. At this time, a load is applied to the spring so that the elastic force is 2 kgf to 5 kgf. This elastic force is defined as an initial elastic force.”, where there is a predetermined suspension force of 2 to 5 kgf applied to the spring in a direction normal to the work surface, where the initial elastic force would compress or contract the spring).
Regarding claim 12, modified Kogure teaches the apparatus according to claim 11, as set forth above, discloses wherein the anchoring part includes an axial housing for receiving the compression spring (Kogure, Page 8, Para. 1, “Next, the upper spring holding member 170 is attached from below the fixing plate 110. Here, the screw boss 170a, the pin boss 170b, and the pin boss 170d of the upper spring holding member 170 are aligned with the holes 110a, 110b, and 11d of the fixing plate 110, respectively, and the upper surface of the upper spring holding member 170 contacts the lower surface of the fixing plate 110. Until then, the upper spring holding member 170 is pressed against the fixing plate 110.”, where the fixing plate 110 or anchoring part includes an axial housing between the holes 110a-d that receives the compression spring) and for positioning an upper part of the supporting part to cause a neutral position or equilibrium position of the supporting part relative to the anchoring part in at least one direction lateral or tangential to the work surface (Kogure, Page 8, Para. 1, “Next, the upper spring holding member 170 is attached from below the fixing plate 110. Here, the screw boss 170a, the pin boss 170b, and the pin boss 170d of the upper spring holding member 170 are aligned with the holes 110a, 110b, and 11d of the fixing plate 110, respectively, and the upper surface of the upper spring holding member 170 contacts the lower surface of the fixing plate 110. Until then, the upper spring holding member 170 is pressed against the fixing plate 110.”, where the anchoring part or fixing plate 110 aligns with the spring holding member and in a lateral direction with respect to the work surface or in a vertical direction, the supporting part is kept in the same vertical position with respect to the work surface which is construed as the neutral position).
Regarding claim 13, modified Kogure teaches the apparatus according to claim 11, as set forth above, discloses wherein the compression spring is positioned between the weighing means and the supporting part (Kogure, modified Fig. 9, where the compression spring or 160 is shown to be located between the weighing means or 121 and the supporting part or the bottom part of the leg 130).
Regarding claim 16, modified Kogure teaches the apparatus according to claim 1, as set forth above, discloses wherein the weighing means comprise at least one of a strain gauge, a strain sensor (Kogure, Page 5, Para. 2, “The weight detection device 100 includes a strain sensor (weight detection element) 121 which is a weight detection element”), and a piezoelectric sensor.
Claims 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kogure et al. (WO 2013118369 A1, hereinafter Kogure) in view of Van de Vliet (EP 2612117 B1, hereinafter Van) in further view of Kimura et al. (JP 2868658 B2, hereinafter Kimura).
Regarding claim 4, modified Kogure teaches the apparatus according to claim 3, as set forth above.
Modified Kogure does not disclose:
wherein the portion of the supporting part forms a peripheral flange defining a contour of the supporting part configured to contact the abutment part.
However, Kimura discloses, in the similar field of weighing devices (Para. 0005, “a weight measuring means for measuring a weight acting on the legs”), where a supporting part includes a peripheral flange that has a contour configured to contact the abutment part that limits movement of the supporting part relative to an anchoring part (Page 4, Para. 5, “In this embodiment, a tubular portion 67 is formed on the upper leg 65 in a downward direction. In the part 67, a protruding part 71 formed upward from a lower leg part 69 abutting on the floor is accommodated so as to be movable in the vertical direction.”, where Fig. 4 shows that there is a flange on the peripheral surface of the supporting part 69 and 71, where that flange engages with the anchoring part 67). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the supporting part and abutment part in modified Kogure to be engaged via a flange connection as taught by Kimura.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to gain the advantage of another physical connection type that still allows for the supporting part to be movable vertically, as stated by Kimura, Page 4, Para. 5, “In this embodiment, a tubular portion 67 is formed on the upper leg 65 in a downward direction. In the part 67, a protruding part 71 formed upward from a lower leg part 69 abutting on the floor is accommodated so as to be movable in the vertical direction.”, where Kogure has a supporting part with a flange in engagement with the suspension part and could also have a similar connection with that of the abutment part.
Claims 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kogure et al. (WO 2013118369 A1, hereinafter Kogure) in view of Van de Vliet (EP 2612117 B1, hereinafter Van) in further view of Saigh et al. (KR 20100023011 A, hereinafter Saigh).
Regarding claim 5, modified Kogure teaches the apparatus according to claim 2, as set forth above, discloses wherein the abutment means includes an abutment part integral with at least one of the housing and the anchoring part (Kogure, Modified Fig. 9, where the abutment means 170 is integral with the anchoring part or fixed plate 110, where this is shown through the part 170 being connected to the fixed plate 110).
Modified Kogure does not disclose:
the abutment configured to abut the work surface to limit axial displacement of the supporting part relative to the anchoring part.
However, Saigh discloses, in the similar field of weighing devices (Abstract, “In a weighing position, the pressure member is coupled directly to the ground, such that the load cell of the load sensor bears the load of the platform.”), where an abutment is configured to abut the work surface (Page 9, Para. 5 from end, “The load sensor 1301 includes a spacer, such as an annular wall 1304, that acts as a leg that supports the pallet 1308 against the ground when the pallet 1308 is not used as a scale, as shown in FIG. 13.”, where the spacer 1304 is construed as the abutment means that abuts the work surface or ground). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the abutment means that limit axial displacement of the supporting part relative to the anchoring part in modified Kogure to include the abutment going against the work surface as taught by Saigh.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to gain the advantage of allowing the weighing sensor have a function of not being used as a scale, where the abutment means can support the entire scale, as stated by Saigh, Page 9, Para. 5 from end, “The load sensor 1301 includes a spacer, such as an annular wall 1304, that acts as a leg that supports the pallet 1308 against the ground when the pallet 1308 is not used as a scale, as shown in FIG. 13.”.
Claims 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kogure et al. (WO 2013118369 A1, hereinafter Kogure) in view of Van de Vliet (EP 2612117 B1, hereinafter Van) in further view of Luo et al. (WO 2018176931 A1, hereinafter Luo) and Saigh et al. (KR 20100023011 A, hereinafter Saigh).
Regarding claim 6, modified Kogure teaches the apparatus according to claim 2, as set forth above.
Modified Kogure does not disclose:
wherein at least one of the housing and the anchoring part includes a footwell forming at least a partial casing for the supporting leg and a lower end contour forming the abutment means.
However, Luo discloses, in the similar field of weighing devices (Abstract, “The weighing device (500) comprises a weighing sensor (510) and a supporting leg (520).”), where the housing includes a footwell that forms a partial casing for the supporting leg (Page 6, Para. 3 from end, “The bottom of the base 100 is provided with a weighing device mounting groove 120, and the weighing device is installed.”). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the weighing device in modified Kogure to be placed within a footwell as taught by Luo.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to gain the advantage of being able to specifically position the weighing devices, where rotation of the weighing devices can be prevented through the footwell, as stated by Luo, Page 7, Para. 4 from end, “horizontal limit of the symmetric weight sensor 510 is realized by the first to fourth support plates 134, the horizontal rotation of the load cell 510 is effectively prevented, and the stability of the load cell 510 in the weighing device mounting groove 120 is improved. And reliability.”.
Further, Saigh discloses, in the similar field of weighing devices (Abstract, “In a weighing position, the pressure member is coupled directly to the ground, such that the load cell of the load sensor bears the load of the platform.”), where an abutment is configured to abut the work surface and is connected to the housing (Page 9, Para. 5 from end, “The load sensor 1301 includes a spacer, such as an annular wall 1304, that acts as a leg that supports the pallet 1308 against the ground when the pallet 1308 is not used as a scale, as shown in FIG. 13.”, where the spacer 1304 is construed as the abutment means that abuts the work surface or ground, where the spacer is connected to the pallet or housing). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the abutment means that limit axial displacement of the supporting part relative to the anchoring part in modified Kogure to include the abutment going against the work surface and being connected to the housing as taught by Saigh, where the lower end contour of the casing would comprise the abutment means.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to gain the advantage of allowing the weighing sensor have a function of not being used as a scale, where the abutment means can support the entire scale, as stated by Saigh, Page 9, Para. 5 from end, “The load sensor 1301 includes a spacer, such as an annular wall 1304, that acts as a leg that supports the pallet 1308 against the ground when the pallet 1308 is not used as a scale, as shown in FIG. 13.”.
Claims 14-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kogure et al. (WO 2013118369 A1, hereinafter Kogure) in view of Van de Vliet (EP 2612117 B1, hereinafter Van) in further view of Anthoine-Milhomme et al. (EP 0852329 A1, hereinafter Anthoine).
Regarding claim 14, modified Kogure teaches the apparatus according to claim 1, as set forth above.
Modified Kogure does not disclose:
wherein the anchoring part includes at least one weighing bar configured to deform when a load is applied to the housing or the work bowl.
However, Anthoine discloses, in the similar field of weighing devices (Abstract, “a plate (1) intended to carry the object to be weighed, and at least one sensor which is deformed under the action of the load applied to the plate.”), where a weighing bar that deforms when a load is applied to the housing is present (Page 6, Para. 5, “a single sensor made up of a metal bar (3) fixed at one end to the plate (1) and at the other end to a base (2) of said weighing device, strain gauges (11) being arranged on the bar (3) and connected to the electronic circuit (6).”). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the weighing system with anchoring part that is connected to a strain sensor in modified Kogure to include the weighing bar as part of the strain sensor connection as taught by Anthoine.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to gain the advantage of being able to use a weighing bar as holder for a strain sensor, where this configuration can allow for the supporting leg and strain sensor to not necessarily need to be aligned, as stated by Anthoine, Page 4, Para. 3, “Similarly, the distortion signal emitted by the strain gauges 11, during deformation of the bar 3, is addressed to the electronic circuit 6 which in turn emits representative electrical signals of the intensity I of the applied load C and of the position X °, Y ° of its point of application on the tray 1.”.
Regarding claim 15, modified Kogure teaches the apparatus according to claim 14, as set forth above, discloses wherein the weighting bar is attached to the portion attaching the leg of the housing (Kogure, Page 6, Para. 2, “The fixing plate 110 is formed with an elongated rectangular hole 110e. A side plate guide 111 that guides a side plate 142 of a load transmission member 140 (described later) in the vertical direction is fixed to the hole 110e.”, where the fixing plate 110 is attached to the leg of the housing, where teaching from Anthoine, Page 6, Para. 5, “a single sensor made up of a metal bar (3) fixed at one end to the plate (1) and at the other end to a base (2) of said weighing device, strain gauges (11) being arranged on the bar (3) and connected to the electronic circuit (6).”, where since the weighing bar is connected to the fixing plate, the weighing bar would be connected to the portion attaching to the leg of the housing).
Claims 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kogure et al. (WO 2013118369 A1, hereinafter Kogure) in view of Van de Vliet (EP 2612117 B1, hereinafter Van) in further view of Ma et al. (CN 113017429 A, hereinafter Ma).
Regarding claim 17, modified Kogure teaches the apparatus according to claim 1, as set forth above.
Modified Kogure does not disclose:
further comprising a working means comprising at least one work tool having a drive motor configured to move the work tool in the work bowl, and a cooking means configured to heat the food to be prepared.
However, Ma discloses, in the similar field of weighing devices (Page 4, Para. 2, “weighing sensor firstly weighing the pot body and the supporting frame and returning to zero, then weighing respectively weight of the grain and water.”), where a working means includes a work tool that has a drive motor to move the work tool (Page 5, last Para., “the rotary stirring module comprises a fan-shaped column valve core 8, a fan-shaped column valve shell 9, a hollow shaft 10 and a driving hollow shaft 10 of the first driving motor 11”), and a cooking means that heats the food to be prepared (Page 6, Para. 2, “the pot body is the existing technology; it can realize the function of heating and cooking”). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have modified the work bowl in modified Kogure to include the stirring and cooking means as taught by Ma.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to gain the advantage of being able to allow for automated cooking, which can save users working time, as stated by Ma, Page 2, Para. 3, “an automatic cooking robot, through the matching of the rotating stirring module and the feeding module, the different grain is put into the pot body through the feeding port; the water inlet and outlet device is used for pumping water, realizing fast cleaning grain and cooking, saving the time of cooking; increasing the working and leisure time.”.
Conclusion
/KEVIN GUANHUA WEN/Examiner, Art Unit 3761
08/03/2026